DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The preliminary amendment filed on 10/18/2024 is acknowledged. Claims 1-4, 6-8, 11-17, 20-24, 26 and 28-30 are currently pending and under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 11/26/2024 and 10/09/2025 is acknowledged and has been considered except where lined through.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 11 recites the phrase “or about” twice in a row.
Claims 8, 21-23, 26 and 28-30 recite acronyms which have not been previously defined. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The Examiner is interpreting the claims in the following manner:
-Deudomperidone is being interpreted also be interchangeable with “d4-domperidone” and “CIN-102” (see specification, paragraph 0035).
-The various test used to characterize the patient population and/or determine the efficacy of the treatment such as GEBT and ANMS GCSI-DD are known in the art and appear to be associated with measurements useful for the diagnosis/prognosis of gastroparesis (see paragraphs 0044 and 0046 of the specification). It is noted that while these two measurements characterize the patient population and efficacy of the treatment, the Examiner recognizes that the claims do not specifically require an active step of measuring these two scores.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 12 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 8 and 12, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 26, the claim recite the phrases “the pulse rate (PR) interval” and “the QRS interval”. However, there is no recitation of these two limitations recited in claim 1. As such, claim 26 lacks antecedent basis for the phrases.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, 11, 13-17, 23-24, 26 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2020086947A1 to Cindome Pharma Inc (2020-04-30, IDS), referred to herein as Cindome.
Cindome teach pharmaceutical formulations comprising d4-domperidone having the formula
and a method of treating gastroparesis or nausea and/or vomiting associated with gastroparesis comprising administration to a patients a formulation comprising d4-domperidone (abstract). With regards to the patients, Cindome teaches that the patient is a human. With regards to the pharmaceutical formulation, Cindome teaches that the pharmaceutical formulation contain about 1 to about 50 mg of d4-domperidone (Paragraph 00039). For example, Cindome teaches formulations comprising 10 mg of d4-domperidone which are suitable for oral administration as a tablet or capsule (paragraph 00074 and 00075).
Regarding the “results” limitations of claim 14-17, 23-24, 26 and 28, the instant limitations appear to be directly correlated with the administration of d4-domperidone to a patient having gastroparesis in the amount claimed. Accordingly, since the prior art teaches administration of the claimed compound to the claimed patient population in the claimed about, such limitations appear to be met by the prior art teachings. See MPEP 2112.01 and 2111.02.
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, 11, 14-17, 23-24 and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pearce et al. (US 10,266,516B2, 2019-04-23).
Pearce et al. teach a method of treating a disorder that is gastroparesis or nausea that is associated with gastroparesis in a patient in need thereof, comprising administering to a patient a formulation comprising d4-domperidone, wherein the amount is 5mg to 100 mg of d4-domperidone (see claims 1-4 and 7-14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 12 and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2020086947A1 to Cindome Pharma Inc (2020-04-30, IDS), as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 6, 11, 13-17, 23-24, 26 and 28 above, in view of NCT04026997 version 10 (“A Phase 2 Study of CIN-102 in Adults With Idiopathic and Diabetic Gastroparesis”, ClinicalTrials.gov, 2021-03-09).
Cindome teach pharmaceutical formulations comprising d4-domperidone having the formula
and a method of treating gastroparesis or nausea and/or vomiting associated with gastroparesis comprising administration to a patients a formulation comprising d4-domperidone (abstract). With regards to the patients, Cindome teaches that the patient is a human. With regards to the pharmaceutical formulation, Cindome teaches that the pharmaceutical formulation contain about 1 to about 50 mg of d4-domperidone (Paragraph 00039). For example, Cindome teaches formulations comprising 10 mg of d4-domperidone which are suitable for oral administration as a tablet or capsule (paragraph 00074 and 00075).
Cindome does not specifically teach that the patients is suffering from idiopathic or diabetic gastroparesis or that the formulation is administered twice daily or that the amount is 30 mg or 60 mg of d4-domperidone.
NCT04026997 teaches a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study to evaluate the safety, efficacy, pharmacokinetics, and dose Response of oral CIN-102 in adults with idiopathic and diabetic gastroparesis (Official Title). With regards to the dose, NCT04026997 teaches three dosing protocols that will be used, dose 1, dose 2 and dose 3 giving in the form of tablets by mouth twice daily for 14 days (see Arms and Interventions). Moreover, NCT04026997 teaches that the primary outcome measured will be change from baseline in gastric emptying and secondary outcomes will be change from baseline in gastric emptying terminal phase elimination half life, change from baseline in ANMS GCSI-DD total scores and change from baseline in ANMS GCSI-DD subscale scores (Outcome Measures). With regards to the adults, NCT04026997 teaches that the adults have a current diagnosis of idiopathic or diabetic gastroparesis OR documented delayed gastric emptying and presence of moderate to severe nausea (Eligibility).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the method taught by Cindome to treat patients suffering from idiopathic and diabetic gastroparesis with d4-domperidone, e.g. CIN-102, in view of the teachings of NCT04026997. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
- NCT04026997 teaches evaluating the safety, efficacy, pharmacokinetics, and dose response of oral CIN-102 in adults with idiopathic and diabetic gastroparesis.
Moreover, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to optimize the 10 mg dose of d4-domperidone taught by Cindome in the method of treating patients suffering from gastroparesis with d4-domperidone, e.g. CIN-102, in view of the teachings of NCT04026997. One would have been motivated to make such an optimization, with a reasonable expectation of success because:
- NCT04026997 teaches a study using three different doses given twice a day to determine the safety, efficacy, pharmacokinetics, and dose response of oral CIN-102.
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Claim(s) 7-8 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2020086947A1 to Cindome Pharma Inc (2020-04-30, IDS) in view of NCT04026997 version 10 (“A Phase 2 Study of CIN-102 in Adults With Idiopathic and Diabetic Gastroparesis”, ClinicalTrials.gov, 2021-03-09, as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 11-17, 23-24, 26 and 28-30 above) in further view of Sarosiek et al. (Clinical Gastroenterology and Hepatology 2022; 20:e452-e464, IDS).
The combination of Cindome and NCT04026997 have been discussed above and incorporated herein.
The combination does not specifically teach the clinical or “baseline” characteristics of the patients suffering from gastroparesis prior to treatment with d4-domperidone.
Sarosiek et al. discuss the results of a dynamic cohort study on the effect of domperidone therapy on gastroparesis symptoms (Title). Regarding the study, Sarosiek et al. teach that the study was designed to investigate the patients who enrolled in 2 long-term perspective studies which enrolled patients with documented diabetic and idiopathic gastoparesis, as well as patients with typical GP symptoms but normal gastric emptying (Page e453, 2nd column, Study data). Specifically, Sarosiek et al. disclose the baseline characteristics, including the clinical characteristics, of patients at enrollment and at initiation of domperidone during follow up:
(see e456, Table 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the method taught by the combination so as to obtain baseline information of the patient by using the various tests available at the time the application was filed in view of the teachings of Sarosiek et al.. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-The specification teaches that techniques such as GEBT and ANMS GCSI-DD are known in the art and appear to be associated with measurements useful for the diagnosis/prognosis of gastroparesis; and
-In view of the teachings of Sarosiek et al, it is typical to obtain clinical characteristics prior to administration of a therapeutic agent.
It is noted that a review of the specification does not appear to identify anything special about this specific patient population and its correlation to the efficacy of the drug. Moreover, the teachings of the specification appear to be a clinical trial and similar to the teachings of Sarosiek et al, it is an effort to gather clinical characteristics which are used as a baseline for comparisons later. In the instant case, Applicants appear to be using a different test to identify a baseline for those test and the patient populations appear to be the same.
Claim(s) 2, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearce et al. (US 10,266,516B2, 2019-04-23), as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 6, 11, 14-17, 23-24 and 28-30 above, in view of NCT04026997 version 10 (“A Phase 2 Study of CIN-102 in Adults With Idiopathic and Diabetic Gastroparesis”, ClinicalTrials.gov, 2021-03-09).
Pearce et al. teach a method of treating a disorder that is gastroparesis or nausea that is associated with gastroparesis in a patient in need thereof, comprising administering to a patient a formulation comprising d4-domperidone, wherein the amount is 5mg to 100 mg of d4-domperidone (see claims 1-4 and 7-14).
Pearce et al. does not specifically teach that the patients is suffering from idiopathic or diabetic gastroparesis or that the formulation is administered twice daily.
NCT04026997 teaches a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study to evaluate the safety, efficacy, pharmacokinetics, and dose Response of oral CIN-102 in adults with idiopathic and diabetic gastroparesis (Official Title). With regards to the dose, NCT04026997 teaches three dosing protocols that will be used, dose 1, dose 2 and dose 3 giving in the form of tablets by mouth twice daily for 14 days (see Arms and Interventions). Moreover, NCT04026997 teaches that the primary outcome measured will be change from baseline in gastric emptying and secondary outcomes will be change from baseline in gastric emptying terminal phase elimination half life, change from baseline in ANMS GCSI-DD total scores and change from baseline in ANMS GCSI-DD subscale scores (Outcome Measures). With regards to the adults, NCT04026997 teaches that the adults have a current diagnosis of idiopathic or diabetic gastroparesis OR documented delayed gastric emptying and presence of moderate to severe nausea (Eligibility).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the method taught by Pearce et al. to treat patients suffering from idiopathic and diabetic gastroparesis with d4-domperidone, e.g. CIN-102, in view of the teachings of NCT04026997. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
- NCT04026997 teaches evaluating the safety, efficacy, pharmacokinetics, and dose response of oral CIN-102 in adults with idiopathic and diabetic gastroparesis.
Moreover, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to optimize the 10 mg dose of d4-domperidone taught by Pearce et al. in the method of treating patients suffering from gastroparesis with d4-domperidone, e.g. CIN-102, in view of the teachings of NCT04026997. One would have been motivated to make such an optimization, with a reasonable expectation of success because:
- NCT04026997 teaches a study using three different doses given twice a day to determine the safety, efficacy, pharmacokinetics, and dose response of oral CIN-102.
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Claim(s) 7-8 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearce et al. (US 10,266,516B2, 2019-04-23) in view of NCT04026997 version 10 (“A Phase 2 Study of CIN-102 in Adults With Idiopathic and Diabetic Gastroparesis”, ClinicalTrials.gov, 2021-03-09, as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 11-17, 23-24, 26 and 28-30 above) in further view of Sarosiek et al. (Clinical Gastroenterology and Hepatology 2022; 20:e452-e464, IDS).
The combination of Pearce et al. and NCT04026997 have been discussed above and incorporated herein.
The combination does not specifically teach the clinical or “baseline” characteristics of the patients suffering from gastroparesis prior to treatment with d4-domperidone.
Sarosiek et al. discuss the results of a dynamic cohort study on the effect of domperidone therapy on gastroparesis symptoms (Title). Regarding the study, Sarosiek et al. teach that the study was designed to investigate the patients who enrolled in 2 long-term perspective studies which enrolled patients with documented diabetic and idiopathic gastoparesis, as well as patients with typical GP symptoms but normal gastric emptying (Page e453, 2nd column, Study data). Specifically, Sarosiek et al. disclose the baseline characteristics, including the clinical characteristics, of patients at enrollment and at initiation of domperidone during follow up:
(see e456, Table 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the method taught by the combination so as to obtain baseline information of the patient by using the various tests available at the time the application was filed in view of the teachings of Sarosiek et al.. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-The specification teaches that techniques such as GEBT and ANMS GCSI-DD are known in the art and appear to be associated with measurements useful for the diagnosis/prognosis of gastroparesis; and
-In view of the teachings of Sarosiek et al, it is typical to obtain clinical characteristics prior to administration of a therapeutic agent.
It is noted that a review of the specification does not appear to identify anything special about this specific patient population and its correlation to the efficacy of the drug. Moreover, the teachings of the specification appear to be a clinical trial and similar to the teachings of Sarosiek et al, it is an effort to gather clinical characteristics which are used as a baseline for comparisons later. In the instant case, Applicants appear to be using a different test to identify a baseline for those test and the patient populations appear to be the same.
Double Patenting
At least Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 11, 14-17, 23-24 and 28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 4, 5-6, 20-21 and 23-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12514852B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the method of treating a disorder that is gastroparesis or nausea that is associated with gastroparesis in a patient in need thereof, comprising orally administering to a patient a formulation comprising d4-domperidone, wherein the amount is 5mg to 20 mg of d4-domperidone overlaps in scope with the instantly claimed method.
Note: US Patent 12514852B2 is a 371 of WO2020086947A1. Accordingly, the obviousness rationale setforth above can also be applied to claims 2, 7-8, 12, 21-22 and 29-30 using US Patent 12514852B2 for WO2020086947A1 as an NSDP.
At least Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 11, 14-17, 23-24 and 28-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1-4 and 7-14 of U.S. Patent No. 10590110B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the method of treating a disorder that is gastroparesis or nausea that is associated with gastroparesis in a patient in need thereof, comprising administering to a patient a formulation comprising d4-domperidone, wherein the amount is 5mg to 100 mg of d4-domperidone overlaps in scope with the instantly claimed method.
Note: The obviousness rationale setforth above can also be applied claims 2, 7-8, 12 and 21-22 using US Patent 10590110B2 as an NSDP.
Conclusion
Therefore, No Claim is allowed.
BRANDON J. FETTEROLF, PHD
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1626
/BRANDON J FETTEROLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626