Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bar-Cohen et al. (US 2004/0007387, hereafter Bar-Cohen) in view of Doster et al. (US 2020/0149367).
With regards to claims 1 and 18, Bar-Cohen discloses a vibratory burrowing probe and method for probing subsurface regions within a granular medium (para 1, 2), said probe comprising: a probe tip (18) shaped for penetration thereof through the granular medium in an axial direction denoted by a longitudinal axis of the probe (para 30); and a vibratory mechanism (12) operably coupled to the probe tip and operable, in at least one mode of operation (para 41). Bar-Cohen shows all the limitation of the present invention except, it doesn’t explicitly disclose the tip, in at least one mode of operation, imparts non-longitudinal vibration thereto such that at least a partial component direction of said non-longitudinal vibration has a transversely oriented relationship to said longitudinal axis. Doster discloses an apparatus for downhole drilling which imparts non-longitudinal vibration thereto such that at least a partial component direction of said non-longitudinal vibration has a transversely oriented relationship to said longitudinal axis (para 38). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vibration disclosed in Doster with the apparatus taught in Bar-Cohen with a reasonable expectation of success. This would be done to increase drilling speed, reduce drag and allow for efficient energy transfer (Doster para 6).
With regards to claims 2 and 18, Doster discloses said non-longitudinal vibration is lateral vibration whose peak vibrational amplitude cyclically alternates back and forth from a first location on a first side of a bisecting midplane of the probe and a second location on a second side of said bisecting midplane (Fig. 16-20, para 45, shows the source of the vibrations are symmetrically aligned with the longitudinal axis of the bit which would be read as the “bisecting midplane”).
With regards to claims 3 and 19, Doster discloses said non-longitudinal vibration is a stirring-motion vibration whose peak vibrational amplitude cycles circumferentially around the longitudinal axis (Fig. 16-20, para 45, rotational motion of the adjacent plates will cause a stirring motion in the vibration).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is allowed.
Claims 4 and 6-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art all show similar features to those of the claimed invention.
/DANIEL P STEPHENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676