DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 9-11, 13, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go et al. (US 20210367727 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US 20200322108 A1)
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 10 Go discloses:
acquiring first SRS resource allocation information of the base station (Paragraph [0210], “A base station may indicate an available (or unavailable) symbol resource in a slot through a DCI specific field when triggering an (aperiodic) SRS resource set through DCI to enhanced UE” and paragraph [0212], “a base station recognizes that an additional SRS collides with another UL channel or another SRS… facilitating flexible resource allocation by dynamically indicating an available (or unavailable) symbol resource in a slot when triggering an additional SRS.” The base station is able to acquire the first and second SRS through the resource availability of the UE or having knowledge of configuration.)
and allocating an SRS resource according to the first SRS resource allocation information and the second SRS resource allocation information. (Paragraph [0212], “a base station recognizes that an additional SRS collides with another UL channel or another SRS… facilitating flexible resource allocation by dynamically indicating an available (or unavailable) symbol resource in a slot when triggering an additional SRS.”)
Go does not disclose:
in response to determining that at least one target carrier among multiple carriers corresponding to a user terminal is not allocated an SRS resource,
and second SRS resource allocation information of the multiple carriers;
Liu discloses:
in response to determining that at least one target carrier among multiple carriers corresponding to a user terminal is not allocated an SRS resource, (Paragraph [0154], “The network may need to first configure a UE with SRS on all TDD CCs, even if the UE UL CA capability is much less.” Even if the UE does not have the capability for all these CC the network determines that among the multiple CC it still needs to configure the SRS resource for all of them.)
and second SRS resource allocation information of the multiple carriers; (paragraph [0191], “The network indicates the switching orders or SRS transmission orders by one or more UEs. For example, it may indicate the UE with (1, 3, 4, 5) for a subframe, the UE then switches from CC1 to CC3 then to CC4 and CC5 in the subframe. The switching gaps are considered, so the SRS on CC3 may be at the 4.sup.th and 5.sup.th symbols (for different RBs and antenna ports on these 2 symbols), then uses 6.sup.th and 7.sup.th to switch to CC4, transmits SRS on 8.sup.th and 9.sup.th…” The network acquires knowledge of the srs transmissions of multiple CCs.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Go’s SRS resource allocation for multiple component carriers taught in Liu. One would have been motivated to do this to “reduce overhead” and “the number of collisions” (Liu [0204 and 0207]).
Regarding claims 2 and 18 Go discloses:
The SRS resource reallocation method according to claim 1, wherein the allocating an SRS resource to the target carrier according to the first SRS resource allocation information and the second SRS resource allocation information comprises: acquiring an idle first SRS resource according to the first SRS resource allocation information and the second SRS resource allocation information; (Paragraph [0208], “when a base station recognizes that an additional SRS collides with another UL channel or another SRS (or an UL channel/a RS of another UE) in the same UL slot (e.g., a symbol level collision), there is an advantage of facilitating flexible resource allocation by dynamically indicating a symbol level offset value for a starting position (startPosition) of SRS resources in an (aperiodic) SRS resource set when triggering an additional SRS.” And paragraph [0210], “A base station may indicate an available (or unavailable) symbol resource in a slot through a DCI specific field when triggering an (aperiodic) SRS resource set through DCI to enhanced UE” Based on the BRI idle resources are functionally similar to available resources. The BS has information of the current SRS (First) and information about the additional SRS (second).)
and allocating the first SRS resource to the target carrier. (Paragraph [0210], “ In other words, in available symbol resources in a slot indicated by the DCI, SRS resources in a triggered SRS resource set are transmitted.” The base station will allocate RSR resources when there are available (IDLE) symbols.)
Regarding claims 3 and 19 Go discloses:
The SRS resource reallocation method according to claim 2, wherein the first SRS resource allocation information comprises an SRS transmission time point corresponding to each SRS resource, (Paragraph [0194], “an SRS resource configuration may be configured in all symbols in a slot and accordingly, may be configured up to 14 symbols. Accordingly, a ‘startPosition’ parameter of an (additional) SRS resource may have a value of ‘0 to 13’ for all of 14 symbols in a slot. For an (additional) SRS resource configuration, a parameter, ‘nrofSymbols’ which means the number of symbols spanning in a slot, may be also extended up to 14 symbols. In other words, an (additional) SRS resource may be guaranteed full flexibility with regard to time domain resource allocation in a slot.” Each resource has a start position and full flexibility on its time duration given BRI it is functionally the same as the transmission time point.)
Go does not disclose:
and the second SRS resource allocation information comprises an SRS transmission time point corresponding to an SRS resource allocated to each of the multiple carriers;
and the acquiring an idle first SRS resource according to the first SRS resource allocation information and the second SRS resource allocation information comprises: determining, according to the SRS transmission time point corresponding to each SRS resource and the SRS transmission time point corresponding to the SRS resource allocated to each of the multiple carriers, whether there is an idle SRS resource whose SRS transmission time point differs from the SRS transmission time point corresponding to the SRS resource allocated to each of the multiple carriers;
and in response to determining that there is the idle SRS resource whose SRS transmission time point differs from the SRS transmission time point corresponding to the SRS resource allocated to each of the multiple carriers, acquiring the idle SRS resource, and determining the idle SRS resource as the first SRS resource.
Liu discloses:
and the second SRS resource allocation information comprises an SRS transmission time point corresponding to an SRS resource allocated to each of the multiple carriers; (paragraph [0180], “UE supports n carrier UL CA “ and paragraph [0206], “If the SRS symbol position design considers SRS switching time, then such collisions may be avoided, or at least mitigated. SRS collisions may also be caused by the difference in timing advances between different UEs (e.g., UEs in different TA groups (TAGs)). Those SRS collisions may be eliminated, or at least mitigated, if the SRS symbol position accounts for timing advance difference, e.g., if the SRS symbol positions account for the maximum potential TA differences.” Liu discloses multiple carriers and the transmission time point of multiple carriers needing to be different to avoid collisions.)
and the acquiring an idle first SRS resource according to the first SRS resource allocation information and the second SRS resource allocation information comprises: determining, according to the SRS transmission time point corresponding to each SRS resource and the SRS transmission time point corresponding to the SRS resource allocated to each of the multiple carriers, whether there is an idle SRS resource whose SRS transmission time point differs from the SRS transmission time point corresponding to the SRS resource allocated to each of the multiple carriers; (Paragraph [0206], “If the SRS symbol position design considers SRS switching time, then such collisions may be avoided, or at least mitigated. SRS collisions may also be caused by the difference in timing advances between different UEs (e.g., UEs in different TA groups (TAGs)). Those SRS collisions may be eliminated, or at least mitigated, if the SRS symbol position accounts for timing advance difference, e.g., if the SRS symbol positions account for the maximum potential TA differences.” Liu discloses the idea of trying to have different transmission time point for the SRS.)
and in response to determining that there is the idle SRS resource whose SRS transmission time point differs from the SRS transmission time point corresponding to the SRS resource allocated to each of the multiple carriers, acquiring the idle SRS resource, and determining the idle SRS resource as the first SRS resource. (Paragraph [0206], “If the SRS symbol position design considers SRS switching time, then such collisions may be avoided, or at least mitigated. SRS collisions may also be caused by the difference in timing advances between different UEs (e.g., UEs in different TA groups (TAGs)). Those SRS collisions may be eliminated, or at least mitigated, if the SRS symbol position accounts for timing advance difference, e.g., if the SRS symbol positions account for the maximum potential TA differences.” Liu teaches transmission time point differing to avoid collision while Go discloses flexible symbols (including idle/available ones) that can be used as SRS resource.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Go’s available symbol with the differing transmission time point of the multiple carrier of Liu. One would have been motivated to do this to avoid collisions.
Regarding claim 6 Go does not disclose:
in response to determining that there are two target carriers, acquiring an idle fourth SRS resource, and allocating the fourth SRS resource to a first target carrier of the two target carriers;
and allocating an SRS resource to a second target carrier of the two target carriers according to the first SRS resource allocation information and an SRS transmission time point corresponding to the fourth SRS resource.
Liu discloses:
in response to determining that there are two target carriers, acquiring an idle fourth SRS resource, and allocating the fourth SRS resource to a first target carrier of the two target carriers; (Paragraph [0152], “In CA, a UE may be capable of transmitting PUSCH, SRS, RACH, and DMRS on 1 UL CC, 2 UL CCs, or even more UL CCs… One of the UL CCs is configured as PCell for the UE on which the UE transmits PUCCH, and the other UL CCs, if any, are configured as SCells…” and paragraph [0162], “To allow a UE to transmit SRS on more TDD CCs or potentially even all TDD CCs over time, it is necessary to allow SRS to be configured on these TDD CCs, even if the UE does not support UL CA on all the TDD CCs.” Liu discloses that all the CCs will be allocated SRS resources given the BRI “fourth” SRS is not differentiated from other SRS. They also teach primary and secondary cell (2 target carriers) in which they’re also allocated SRS resources.)
and allocating an SRS resource to a second target carrier of the two target carriers according to the first SRS resource allocation information and an SRS transmission time point corresponding to the fourth SRS resource. (Paragraph [0152], “In CA, a UE may be capable of transmitting PUSCH, SRS, RACH, and DMRS on 1 UL CC, 2 UL CCs, or even more UL CCs… One of the UL CCs is configured as PCell for the UE on which the UE transmits PUCCH, and the other UL CCs, if any, are configured as SCells…” and paragraph [0162], “To allow a UE to transmit SRS on more TDD CCs or potentially even all TDD CCs over time, it is necessary to allow SRS to be configured on these TDD CCs, even if the UE does not support UL CA on all the TDD CCs.” Liu discloses that all the CCs will be allocated SRS resources given the BRI “fourth” SRS is not differentiated from other SRS. They also teach primary and secondary cell (2 target carriers) in which they’re also allocated SRS resources.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Go’s resource allocation with Liu CA and CCs. One would have been motivated to do this for better resource management and higher data rates.
Regarding claim 11 Go does not disclose:
detecting, at a preset time interval, whether the multiple carriers corresponding to the user terminal are not allocated an SRS resource.
Liu discloses:
detecting, at a preset time interval, whether the multiple carriers corresponding to the user terminal are not allocated an SRS resource. (Paragraph [0083], “The UE 210 then uses the periodic SRS switching parameter to configure a periodic SRS switching schedule, and transmits SRS symbols 361, 371, 381 over the component carrier 341 during different intervals in a sequence of periodic intervals according to the periodic SRS switching schedule.” Outside of this interval that corresponds to the SRS switching schedule the multiple carriers will not receive the SRS resource.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Go’s SRS resource allocation with Liu’s multiple carrier and SRS scheduling. One would have been motivated to do this to reduce overhead and interference.
Regarding claim 13 Go does not disclose:
wherein in a case where there is only one target carrier, the target carrier is a primary carrier or a secondary carrier; in a case where there are two target carriers, the target carriers comprise both a primary carrier and a secondary carrier.
Liu discloses:
wherein in a case where there is only one target carrier, the target carrier is a primary carrier or a secondary carrier; (Paragraph [0087], “the DCI message 622 triggers transmission of the SRS symbol 672 over the component carrier 642. In such an example, the DCI message 622 may have been communicated over the component carrier 642. Alternately, the DCI message 622 may have been communicated over one of the component carrier 641, 645 (e.g., over a primary cell or primary component carrier (PCC)…”)
in a case where there are two target carriers, the target carriers comprise both a primary carrier and a secondary carrier.(Paragraph [0140], “In the context of carrier aggregation, one high-power node may operate and control several component carriers, thereby forming a primary cell (Pcell) and secondary cell (Scell).” In multiple carrier situation it comprises both cells.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Go’s UE and network system with Liu’s component carrier. One would have been motivated to do this to increase reliability and have a higher throughput.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 7-8, 12, 14-17, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach, “The SRS resource reallocation method according to claim 3, wherein after the determining whether there is an idle SRS resource whose SRS transmission time point differs from the SRS transmission time point corresponding to the SRS resource allocated to each of the multiple carriers, the SRS resource reallocation method further comprises: in response to determining that there is no idle SRS resource whose SRS transmission time point differs from the SRS transmission time point corresponding to the SRS resource allocated to each of the multiple carriers, acquiring an idle second SRS resource, wherein the SRS transmission time point corresponding to the second SRS resource is the same as the SRS transmission time point corresponding to the SRS resource allocated to at least one of the multiple carriers; determining whether there is an idle third SRS resource, wherein the SRS transmission time point corresponding to the third SRS resource differs from the SRS transmission time point corresponding to the second SRS resource and the SRS transmission time point corresponding to the SRS resource allocated to each of the multiple carriers; in response to determining that there is the idle third SRS resource, acquiring the third SRS resource; and allocating the second SRS resource to the target carrier, and allocating the third SRS resource to a carrier whose SRS transmission time point is the same as the SRS transmission time point corresponding to the second SRS resource.” In combination with other limitation of the claims.
Regarding claim 5 it is dependent on claim 4 which is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach, “The SRS resource reallocation method according to claim 6, wherein the allocating the fourth SRS resource to a first target carrier of the two target carriers comprises: acquiring a time stamp when each of the two target carriers initiates SRS resource reallocation; and determining, according to the time stamp when each of the two target carriers initiates the SRS resource reallocation, a target carrier which initiates the SRS resource reallocation earliest as the first target carrier, and allocating the fourth SRS resource to the first target carrier.” In combination with other limitation of the claims.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach, “The SRS resource reallocation method according to claim 1, wherein after the allocating an SRS resource to the target carrier according to the first SRS resource allocation information and the second SRS resource allocation information, the SRS resource reallocation method further comprises: updating the first SRS resource allocation information according to the SRS resource allocated to the target carrier.” In combination with other limitations of the claims.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach, “The SRS resource reallocation method according to claim 11, further comprising: in a case of determining that there is a carrier not allocated an SRS resource in the multiple carriers, starting a timer corresponding to the carrier not allocated the SRS resource; and when a timing duration of the timer reaches a preset duration, determining the carrier not allocated the SRS resource as the target carrier.” In combination with other limitations of the claims.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach, “The SRS resource reallocation method according to claim 3, further comprising: in response to determining that there are multiple idle SRS resources whose SRS transmission time points differ from the SRS transmission time point corresponding to the SRS resource allocated to each of the multiple carriers, acquiring the multiple idle SRS resources, determining an SRS transmission period corresponding to each of the multiple idle SRS resources, and selecting an idle SRS resource corresponding to a minimum SRS transmission period from the multiple idle SRS resources as the first SRS resource.” In combination with other limitations of the claims
Regarding claim 15 it is dependent on claim 4 which is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Regarding claim 16 it is dependent on claim 4 which is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Regarding claim 17 it is dependent on claim 5 which is dependent on claim 4 which is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Regarding claim 20, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach, “The base station according to claim 19, wherein the computer program, when being executed by the processor, causes the processor to implement the following operations after the determining whether there is an idle SRS resource whose SRS transmission time point differs from the SRS transmission time point corresponding to the SRS resource allocated to each of the multiple carriers: in response to determining that there is no idle SRS resource whose SRS transmission time point differs from the SRS transmission time point corresponding to the SRS resource allocated to each of the multiple carriers, acquiring an idle second SRS resource, wherein the SRS transmission time point corresponding to the second SRS resource is the same as the SRS transmission time point corresponding to the SRS resource allocated to at least one of the multiple carriers; determining whether there is an idle third SRS resource, wherein the SRS transmission time point corresponding to the third SRS resource differs from the SRS transmission time point corresponding to the second SRS resource and the SRS transmission time point corresponding to the SRS resource allocated to each of the multiple carriers; in response to determining that there is the idle third SRS resource, acquiring the third SRS resource; and allocating the second SRS resource to the target carrier, and allocating the third SRS resource to a carrier whose SRS transmission time point is the same as the SRS transmission time point corresponding to the second SRS resource.” In combination with other limitation of the claims.
Conclusion
/NAM P. CAO/ Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479