DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s filing dated August 25, 2025.
Status of claims
Claims 30 - 59 are pending in the instant application. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s amendments filed August 25, 2025. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s cancelation of claims 1 -29 and addition of a new claims 30 - 59.
Priority
The present application is a 371 of PCT/EP2023/060001, filed March 12, 2026, and claims the benefits of priority to UK Patent application GB2205715.2ed April 19, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on August 25, 2025 and July 17, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Acknowledgement is made of the drawings received on October 18, 2024. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 34, reciting: “[…]wherein the neutrophilic dermatoses is not solely hidradenitis suppurativa (HS)”, was interpreted as the conditions where the subject suffers from another form of neutrophilic dermatoses (e.g. pyoderma gangrenosum) which is concomitant or associated with HS, but that the subject is not suffering from HS alone, i.e. in the absence of a further form of neutrophilic dermatoses, as described in Specification (page 5, [0026]).
Claim 40, reciting: “wherein the subject does not have HS, was interpreted as the conditions where the subject suffers from another form of neutrophilic dermatoses (e.g. pyoderma gangrenosum) and does not have concomitant hidradenitis suppurativa (HS) (see Specification, page 5, [0024]-[0027]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 30 – 35 and 40 – 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for the treatment of pyoderma gangrenosum and conditions concomitant or associated with pyoderma gangrenosum, does not reasonably provide enablement for the entire spectrum of neutrophilic dermatoses with compound of formula (I) (orismilast). The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. This is a scope of enablement rejection.
To be enabling, the specification of the patent application must teach those skilled in the art how to make and use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557, 1561 (Fd. Cir. 1993). Explaining what is meant by "undue experimentation," the Federal Circuit has stated that: The test is not merely quantitative, since a considerable amount of experimentation is permissible, if it is merely routine, or if the specification in question provides a reasonable amount of guidance with respect to the direction in which experimentation should proceed to enable the determination of how to practice a desired embodiment of the claimed invention. PPG v. Guardian, 75 F.3d 1558, 1564 (Fed. Cir. 1996). As pointed out by the court in /n re Angstadt, 537 F.2d 498 at 504 (CCPA 1976), the key word is "undue", not "experimentation". The factors that may be considered in determining whether a disclosure would require undue experimentation are set forth In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (CAFC 1988) at 1404 wherein, citing Ex parte Forman, 230 USPQ 546 (Bd. Apls. 1986) at 547 the court recited eight factors:
1- the quantity of experimentation necessary,
2- the amount of direction or guidance provided,
3- the presence or absence of working examples,
4- the nature of the invention,
5- the state of the prior art,
6- the relative skill of those in the art,
7- the predictability of the art, and
8- the breadth of the claims.
These factors are always applied against the background understanding that scope of enablement varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability involved. In re Fisher, 57 CCPA 1099, 1108, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (1970). Keeping that in mind, the Wands factors are relevant to the instant fact situation for the following reasons:
Nature of the invention and the Breadth of the claims.
The invention is drawn to a method for treating any neutrophilic dermatoses with compound of formula (I) (orismilast). The breadth of the claims is extensive as it includes variety of heterogeneous diseases, including multisystem disorders and thus requiring a complex treatment approach. Some of those conditions are genetic and might not be responsive to PDE4 inhibition (e.g. Acute febrile Neutrophilic dermatosis, Necrotizing Neutrophilic Dermatosis). All of these conditions are claimed to be treatable with the PDE4 inhibitor orismilast.
The relative skill of those in the art.
The relative skill of those in the art is high, generally that of an M.D. or Ph.D. The artisan using Applicant’s invention would generally be a physician with an M.D. degree and several years of experience. However, given the state of the art as set forth above, the artisan would not accept without undue experimentation, that all the above conditions can be effectively treated with PDE4 inhibitor orismilast.
The predictability or unpredictability of the art and the state of the prior art.
The present claims relate to the mechanism underlying the treatment of the claimed diseases with the compound of the instant invention. Although the discovery of such a mechanism may be an important piece of scientific knowledge, it still needs to be turned into a practical application in the form of a specified actual treatment of the pathological conditions. The factor is outweighed, however, by the unpredictable nature of the art. Ex parte Sudilovsky 21 USPQ2d 1702 (Applicant’s invention concerns pharmaceutical activity. Because there is no evidence of record of analogous activity for similar compounds, the art is relatively unpredictable); In re Wright 27 USPQ2d 1510 (the physiological activity of RNA viruses was sufficiently unpredictable that success in developing specific avian vaccine was uncertain). In the instant case, the art is undeveloped, and there is no current scientific evidence that PDE4 inhibitors and specifically orismilast are known to be equally or similarly effective in the treatment of all neutrophilic dermatoses. Since it is known that neutrophilic dermatoses are highly diverse, some variants may not be driven by molecular pathways sensitive to PDE4 inhibition. As illustrative of the state of the art, the examiner cites: Starita-Fajardo et al (Int. J. Mol. Sci. 2023, 24, 15622), Chau et al (J Clin Aesthet Dermatol. 2025;18(12):50–65) and Greene et al (JAAD Reviews, Volume 9, 2026, Pages 273-276).
With regards to unpredictability, Starita-Fajardo et al., cited for evidentiary purpose teaches: Neutrophilic dermatoses (NDs) are a group of noninfectious disorders characterized by the presence of a sterile neutrophilic infiltrate without vasculitis histopathology. The location of the neutrophil infiltrate (epidermis, dermis, and/or subcutaneous, the clinical presentation, and the chronicity, which make them unique from the rest, are used to classify each entity. The pathogenesis of ND is not clearly understood and has been related to abnormal neutrophil function, inflammasome activation, the malignant transformation of neutrophils that infiltrate the dermis, as well as genetic predisposition.
The treatment of ND varies according to each subtype. For example:
Sweet’s Syndrome (SS). The pathogenesis is not exactly known. In case of SS it is crucial to influence the underlying pathology or disorder as the possible causative agent.
Pyoderma Gangrenosum. The etiopathogenesis underlying is unknown. It is believed to be based on a dysregulation of innate and acquired immunity. There is an alteration in the response of the immune system to superantigens as well as neutrophil, TNF-α, IL-12/IL-23 dysfunction, and genetic predisposition. Regarding treatment, the first line is based on topical treatment, with both analgesia and topical corticosteroids (pages 3-4, §3).
Hidradenitis Suppurativa. The primary event consists of follicular hyperkeratosis that, consequently, produces a rupture of the hair follicle and inflammation of the apocrine glands. Both interleukin IL-17 and TNF- α play fundamental roles. Elevated levels of TNF- α in the skin and serum IL-17 correlate with the severity of the disease. Treatment depends on the severity of the disease (pages 7-8, §4).
Generalized Pustular Psoriasis. The sustained activation of IL-1 and IL-36 in GPP suggests that the IL-1/IL-36 inflammatory axis is the main physiopathological mechanism in GPP, caused by mutations in IL36RN (gene that encodes the interleukin-36 receptor antagonist). Mutations in caspase recruitment domain family member 14 (CARD14) and mutations in the adapter protein family 1 (AP1S3) have also been associated with pustular psoriasis. Treatment options include topical therapies, phototherapy, and systemic therapies (page 11, §5).
Starita-Fajardo et al. conclude that there are certain limitations when it comes to establishing action protocols in each disease, mainly due to the low quality of scientific evidence at present. Most of the publications are based on case reports. There are few randomized, controlled clinical trials; in most cases, the existing publications have small sample sizes, due to low prevalence rates. Likewise, in many cases, the drugs used for the treatment of neutrophilic dermatoses tend to have been developed recently, which is why it is essential to subsequently elucidate the pathophysiology and molecular pathways to extend the follow-up times of these patients and to closely monitor both the evolution and the side effects, in order to construct standardized treatment algorithms in the future (page 15, §6).
Furthermore, with regards to unpredictability, Chau et al., cited for evidentiary purposes, teaches: Many inflammatory skin conditions share mechanistic pathways involving multiple receptors and cytokines. Targeting the phosphodiesterase 4 (PDE4) enzyme, which exists at the crux of several pathways that contribute to inflammatory skin diseases, offers an avenue by which the pathogenesis of multiple conditions may be interrupted. This suggests that PDE4 inhibitors may assume a similar complementary framework for treating "PDE4 inhibitor-responsive dermatoses." (abstract). An FDA approved apresmilast, while demonstrated marked efficacy in clinical trials, several factors modulate patient outcomes in the clinical setting. Continued use of apremilast in patient populations is complicated by its dosing and adverse events. Chau et al. conclude that despite recent advances in the availability of advanced targeted topical (ATT) treatments, for a variety of dermatologic conditions, steroid-based treatment has persisted. However, it seems that PDE4 inhibitors can safely and effectively treat a wide variety of inflammatory conditions encountered in dermatology daily. It is expected that the volume and quality of the evidence supporting this concept will grow and evolve (pages 53-54, “conclusion”).
Moreover, with regards to unpredictability, Greene et al., cited for evidentiary purposes, teaches: In treatment of neutrinophilic dermatoses Alternative targeted therapeutics demonstrated improved non-steroidal clinical efficacy. While dysregulation of IL-6, IL-23, and IL-36 contributes to neutrophilic-driven disease, the extent to which these mechanisms therapeutically impact PG, Sweet syndrome, VEXAS, and other neutrophilic conditions is unclear. While apremilast is FDA-approved for oral ulcers due to BD, NDs overall remain refractory to non-steroidal therapeutics. PG, Sweet Syndrome, and VEXAS lack any FDA approved option and are additionally frequently associated with comorbidities. Current evidence is limited by small sample sizes, heterogeneity in outcome reporting, and lack of comparative trials. Prospective controlled studies particularly for rarer ND are essential for long-term safety, sustained remission, and clinical utility (pages 4 – 5).
These articles plainly demonstrate that the art of developing and testing therapies to treat all neutrophilic dermatoses with the compound of formula (I) of instant claims is unpredictable. More generally, the invention is directed toward medicine and is therefore physiological in nature, and physiological activity is generally considered to be an unpredictable factor. See In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970).
The amount of direction or guidance provided and the presence or absence of working examples.
The instant claims, directed to a method of treating all neutrophilic dermatoses with the compound of formula (I) (orismilast) are extremely broad in contrast with the specification that only provides data, showing therapeutic activity of orismilast on BALB/cABomTac mice and clinical study, showing efficacy of orismilast on two patients, one with pyoderma gangrenosum and concomitant HS, the other with PASH syndrome . Although specification provides directions or guidance of formulations, administration regimen, route or dosage e.g.:
- Patients received a titrated dose of Orismilast of up to 40 mg twice daily for 16 weeks (page 46, [00212]);
- a formulation comprising the compound of formula (I), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, solvate or hydrate thereof, may be topically applied to the skin at a site affected by neutrophilic dermatoses (e.g. PG), for example by topically applying the formulation directly to a lesion (e.g. an ulcer associated with PG);
- For topical administration, the compound of formula I may typically be present in the formulation in an amount of from 0.01 to 20% by weight of the composition (page 13, [0062], [0063]), necessary to treat all of the various diseases encompassed by the claims, the supporting data is presented only for the narrow group of specific conditions. Absence of working examples is a critical factor to be considered, especially in a case involving an unpredictable and undeveloped art. See MPEP 2164.
The quantity of experimentation necessary.
Because of the known unpredictability of the art (as discussed supra) and in the absence of experimental evidence commensurate in scope with the claims, the skilled artisan would not accept that the compound of formula (I) (orismilast) is capable of treating all diseases encompassed by claims. Genentech Inc. vs. Nova Nordisk states, "[A] patent is not a hunting license. It is not a reward for a search but a compensation for its successful conclusion and ‘patent protection’ is granted in return for an enabling disclosure of an invention, not for vague intimations of general ideas that may or may not be workable" (42 USPQ 2d 1001, Fed. Circuit 1997). As noted above, the experimentation provided is drawn to the treatment of pyoderma gangrenosum (PG) and conditions concomitant or associated with pyoderma gangrenosum, whereas claims recite a large umbrella of heterogeneous multisystem diseases. Determining if the claimed compound would treat any particular claimed disease would require formulation of plant extract or isolated compound into a suitable dosage form and subjecting it to clinical trials or to testing in an assay known to correlate to clinical efficacy of such treatment.
Accordingly, the instant claims do not comply with the enablement requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a), since to practice the claimed invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have to engage in undue experimentation, with no assurance of success.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30 – 39, 41, 46, 47, 52, 53 and 55 - 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puig Duran et al (WO 2021/204626 A1, hereinafter Puig Duran).
Regarding claims 30, 34 – 39, 41, 46, 47, 52 and 53, drawn to a method of treating neutrophilic dermatoses, such as pyoderma gangrenosum or PASH syndrome (pyoderma gangrenosum, acne and hidradenitis suppurativa). Said method comprises administering to the human subject a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of formula (I) (orismilast), where orismilast is administered orally or topically and where orismilast is administered within a modified-release formulation.
Puig Duran teaches the method of treatment of the dermatological pathological condition or disease in human or animal body, where the disease is pyoderma gangrenosum (PASH) (page 5, lines 10-11 and 20-24). Said method comprises administering a therapeutically effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition, where the composition comprises the inhibitors of Tyk2, together with one or more other therapeutic agents such as LEO-32731 (orismilast; Orismilast (LEO-32731) | PDE4 Inhibitor | MedChemExpress) (page 265, line 30; page 266, lines 21-25 and 30-32). Said pharmaceutical compositions are made up in a form suitable for oral or topical administration. Formulations for topical administration may be formulated to be a modified release (page 267, lines 6-7 and 24-25).
Thus, since Puig Duran teaches the method of treatment of the same conditions (pyoderma gangrenosum) applying pharmaceutical compositions, where the pharmaceutical compositions comprise the same agent (orismilast), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to select and apply known pharmaceutical compositions in the method of treatment of the same pathological conditions to arrive at claimed method. The one of ordinary skills would be motivated to do so in search for an improved method to effectively treat pyoderma gangrenosum and associated with it conditions with the reasonable expectation of success, especially since prior art teaches that pharmaceutical compositions comprising orismilast are effective in the method of treatment of relevant pathological conditions.
Regarding claims 31 – 33, drawn to a method of treatment, where administering a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of formula (I) (orismilast) reduces inflammation and pain caused by or associated with pyoderma gangrenosum, eliminates, promotes healing of, or reduces the severity of ulcers or sores.
Puig Duran teaches the method of treatment of pyoderma gangrenosum (PASH) comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition, where the composition comprises orismilast. Puig Duran defines the term "therapeutically effective amount", as an amount sufficient to effect treatment when administered to a patient in need of treatment, where the term "treatment" refers to:
- ameliorating the disease or medical condition, i.e., causing regression of the disease or medical condition in a patient;
- suppressing the disease or medical condition, i.e., slowing the development of the disease or medical condition in a patient; or
- alleviating the symptoms of the disease or medical condition in a patient (page 19, lines 22 – 31).
Thus, Puig Duran teaches the same method where administering to the patient an effective amount of pharmaceutical composition comprising orismilast produces the same therapeutic effect as recited by instant claims, thereby rendering the claimed method obvious.
Regarding claims 55 – 57, drawn to a method where orismilast is administered in combination with a further therapy, such as a hormone, an antibiotic, a retinoid, an anti-inflammatory agent, an analgesic, an immunosuppressive agent or wherein the further therapy is a TNF-α inhibitor.
Puig Duran teaches the method of treatment of pyoderma gangrenosum, where the method comprises administering a therapeutically effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition, where the composition comprises the inhibitors of Tyk2, together with one or more other therapeutic agents such as orismilast, corticosteroids , anti-inflammatories, tumor necrosis factor-alpha (TNF-alpha) blockers (pages 264-265, “Combinations”).
Thus, Puig Duran teaches the same method to be used with the same or similar pharmaceutical compositions, thereby rendering instantly claimed method obvious.
Regarding claims 58 and 59, drawn to a method, where the administration of therapeutically effective amount of orismilast to the patient suffering from pyoderma gangrenosum provides selective inhibition of PDE4D and/or PDE4B or wherein said treatment provides selective inhibition of PDE4D3 and/or PDE4B2.
Puig Duran teaches the method of treatment of pyoderma gangrenosum (PASH) comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition, where the composition comprises PDE4 inhibitor orismilast. Puig Duran does not explicitly teach that administering a therapeutically effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition comprising orismilast provides selective inhibition of PDE4D and/or PDE4B or wherein said treatment provides selective inhibition of PDE4D3 and/or PDE4B2.
However, "selective inhibition of PDE4D and/or PDE4B or selective inhibition of PDE4D3 and/or PDE4B2" will naturally flow from the teachings of (or method made obvious by) the prior art (the method of treatment of pyoderma gangrenosum), since the same compound (orismilast) is being administered to the same subjects (subjects suffering from pyoderma gangrenosum and associated conditions). In other words, products of identical or similar composition cannot exert mutually exclusive properties when administered under the same or similar circumstances. In other words, even though the prior art is silent regarding " selective inhibition of PDE4D and/or PDE4B or selective inhibition of PDE4D3 and/or PDE4B2", by practicing the method made obvious by the prior art: "the administration of an effective amount of orismilast to a subject suffering from pyoderma gangrenosum", one will also be " selectively inhibiting PDE4D and/or PDE4B or selectively inhibiting PDE4D3 and/or PDE4B2", even though the prior art was not aware of it. MPEP 2145 II states: "The fact that Applicant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art, cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious". Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60. (FP 7.37.07, MPEP 707.07(f)).
Claims 30, 40 and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puig Duran et al (WO 2021/204626 A1) as applied to claims 30 – 39, 41, 42, 46, 47, 52, 53 and 55 - 59 above, and further in view of Cohen (Am J Clin Dermatol. 2009;10(5):301-12).
Puig Duran teaches all the limitations of claims 30, 40 and 54 as discussed supra and are applied here in the same manner, except where the subject does not have HS associated with pyoderma gangrenosum, or wherein the subject is suffering from a comorbidity such as inflammatory bowel disease or inflammatory arthritis.
However, Cohen teaches pyoderma gangrenosum associated conditions, where the most commonly associated conditions are inflammatory bowel disease (including both inflammatory bowel disease [Crohn regional enteritis] and ulcerative colitis) and rheumatoid arthritis. Cohen does not recite hidradenitis suppurativa (HS) as a common condition associated pyoderma gangrenosum, this indicates that not all the cases of pyoderma gangrenosum have concomitant hidradenitis suppurativa (HS).
Thus, since Puig Duran teaches the same method to be used with the same or similar pharmaceutical compositions, and since Cohen teaches conditions commonly associated with pyoderma gangrenosum, it would be within the ordinary skills in the art to recognize that if the patient suffers from pyoderma gangrenosum, the patient will most likely have comorbid conditions such as inflammatory bowel disease or rheumatoid arthritis. Thus, practicing the method taught by Puig Duran, the one will also be treating patients with comorbid conditions (e.g. pyoderma gangrenosum and inflammatory bowel disease) with the reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 30, 42 – 45 and 47 - 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puig Duran et al (WO 2021/204626 A1) in view of Rasmussen et al (WO 2020/148271 A1, cited in IDS, filed 08/25/2025, hereinafter Rasmussen).
Regarding claims 30 and 43 - 45 drawn to a method of treating neutrophilic dermatoses, such as pyoderma gangrenosum or PASH syndrome (pyoderma gangrenosum, acne and hidradenitis suppurativa). Said method comprises administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of formula (I) (orismilast), where orismilast is administered in a dose of 20 mg twice per day; (ii) in a dose of 30 mg twice per day; or (iii) in a dose of 40 mg twice per day in a total daily dose of no more than 80 mg.
Puig Duran teaches the method of treatment of pyoderma gangrenosum, where the method comprises administering a therapeutically effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition comprising orismilast. Puig Duran does not teach daily dosages of orismilast.
However, Rasmussen teaches a method of treatment or alleviation of dermal diseases such as proliferative and inflammatory skin disorders, comprising administering to the subject a formulation comprising PDE4 inhibitors, such as a compound of formula (I):
, which structure is equivalent to PDE4 inhibitor orismilast. Rasmussen further teaches that in an oral dose clinical trial orismilast was administered twice daily in doses of: 10 mg on Days 1-2, 20 mg on Days 3-4, 30 mg on Days 5-6, 40 mg on Days 7-8 (page 12, Example 3). The dosages of orismilast taught by Rasmussen are equivalent to instantly claimed dosages.
Thus, since Puig Duran teaches the method of treatment of pyoderma gangrenosum, comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition comprising orismilast, and since Rasmussen teaches a method of treatment of the same or similar conditions (proliferative and inflammatory skin disorders) comprising administering to the subject a formulation comprising orismilast in the amounts equivalent to the instantly claimed, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to adapt formulations taught by Rasmussen to the method taught by Puig Duran with the reasonable expectation of success, since prior art teaches these formulations and dosages effectively treat relevant conditions.
Regarding claim 42, drawn to the method, wherein orismilast is administered to the subject for at least 4 weeks. Rasmussen teaches the method where the subject received formulations comprising orismilast for 17 days, which is equal to approximately two and a half weeks. Although Rasmussen teaches slightly shorter period of orismilast administration, it would be within the skill of an ordinary artisan to be able to modify the duration of an administration of pharmaceutical composition in order to obtain the desired therapeutic effect. It is noted that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438, 4 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.").
Regarding claims 47 – 51, drawn to a method where orismilast is administered within a modified-release formulation, wherein the modified-release formulation comprises orismilast and a hydrophilic matrix former, wherein the hydrophilic matrix former comprises hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose and wherein the modified-release formulation comprises orismilast and 15 %w/w to 25 %w/w of hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose. Said modified-release formulation releases a mean amount of from about 11 % to about 65 % of orismilast after 45 minutes and more than 80% after 180 minutes when placed in a dissolution medium of 900 ml 0.5% sodium dodecyl sulfate in 0.1N HCl using Ph. Eur. 2.9.3 Apparatus II and a paddle speed of 75 rpm.
Rasmussen teaches the method where modified-release formulations comprising orismilast contain a hydrophilic matrix former, such as hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (HPMC), where HPMC could be present at various concentrations from about 15 %w/w to about 25 %w/w HPMC (page 7, lines 30 – 38). Rasmussen further teaches dissolution profiles for modified-release formulations F1 and F2, where the modified release formulation F1 releases a mean 36% of orismilast after 45 min and 81% after 180 min.; the modified release formulation F2 releases a mean 39% of orismilast after 45 min and 82% after 180 min., and where the dissolution method was performed in dissolution apparatus USP/Ph.Eur. app.II (paddles) 75 rpm, 900 ml 0.1N HCI +0.5%SDS (sodium dodecyl sulfate).
Thus, prior art teaches the same method where modified-release formulations have the same composition and dissolution profile as instantly claimed method and formulations. Taken together, all this would result in the practice of the claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, taking all together, taught by prior art, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 30 - 33, 35, 41, 44 - 56 and 58 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 6, 9 - 22 , 25 - 29 of copending Application No. 18/551,157 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims are directed to a method of treating neutrophilic dermatoses, comprising administering to the human subject a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of formula (I) (orismilast). Hidradenitis suppurativa is one of the entities of neutrophilic dermatoses or concomitant condition of other neutrophilic dermatoses. Copending claims are directed to a method of treating hidradenitis suppurativa, comprising administering to the human subject a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of formula (I) (orismilast).
Thus, instant and copending claims are directed to the method of treating the same or similar pathological conditions using the same pharmaceutical compositions.
Therefore, the method of copending claims would anticipate instantly claimed method.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 30 – 59 are rejected. No claim is allowed.
/E.V.V./ Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/SAVITHA M RAO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1691