DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Nakajima et al (Translation of WO 2020189172).
Regarding Independent claim 1, Nakajima teaches:
An impedance measurement apparatus (Paragraphs 0001, 0006-0010, 0072, & elsewhere.) comprising:
a measurement container (Fig. 1 Element 10. Paragraphs 0001, 0006-0010, & 0027-0033.) (Paragraphs 0001, 0006-0010, & 0027-0033.);
a plurality of first electrodes arranged in an array on a bottom surface of the measurement container (Fig. 2 Elements 8 & 81. Paragraphs 0036-0041. Paragraph 0036 discloses “the electrode section 8 has a plurality of array electrodes 81, a plurality of peripheral electrodes 82, and an insertion electrode 83.”);
a second electrode and a third electrode that are located inside the measurement container (Fig. 2 Elements 8 & 82. Paragraphs 0036-00041. Paragraph 0036 discloses “the electrode section 8 has a plurality of array electrodes 81, a plurality of peripheral electrodes 82, and an insertion electrode 83.”);
a voltage application circuit that applies a voltage between each of the first electrodes and the second electrode (Fig. 4 Element 31, the voltage application source. See paragraphs 0051-0054.);
a current detection circuit that detects current flowing through each of the first electrodes (Fig. 1 Element 40. See paragraphs 0030, 0046, 0048, 0050, 0056, & elsewhere.); and
a voltage detection circuit that detects a voltage between each of the first electrodes and the third electrode (Fig. 1 Element 30. See paragraphs 0030, 0045, 0048, & 0050-0051.).
Regarding claim 2, Nakajima teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Nakajima teaches the third electrode is located on the bottom surface (Fig. 2 Elements 8 & 83. Paragraphs 0036-0041. Paragraph 0036 discloses “the electrode section 8 has a plurality of array electrodes 81, a plurality of peripheral electrodes 82, and an insertion electrode 83.”).
Regarding claim 3, Nakajima teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Nakajima teaches an electrode selection circuit that selects one first electrode that is to be connected to the current detection circuit, from among the plurality of first electrodes (Fig. 2 Elements 8 & 81. Paragraphs 0036-0041. Paragraph 0036 discloses “the electrode section 8 has a plurality of array electrodes 81, a plurality of peripheral electrodes 82, and an insertion electrode 83.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima et al (Translation of WO 2020189172).
Regarding claim 5, Nakajima teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Nakajima does not explicitly teach a calculation unit that calculates an impedance in accordance with the current detected by the current detection circuit and the voltage detected by the voltage detection circuit.
But it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to have a calculation unit that calculates an impedance in accordance with the current detected by the current detection circuit and the voltage detected by the voltage detection circuit because all necessary variables are present to make this common, well-known calculation and because it would provide more and better information regarding the system.
Regarding claim 6, Nakajima teaches:
An impedance measurement method comprising:
a) applying an alternating voltage between at least one of a plurality of first electrodes and a second electrode (Fig. 4 Element 31, the voltage application source. See paragraphs 0051-0054.), the plurality of first electrodes being arranged in an array on a bottom surface of a measurement container (Fig. 2 Elements 8 & 81. Paragraphs 0036-0041. Paragraph 0036 discloses “the electrode section 8 has a plurality of array electrodes 81, a plurality of peripheral electrodes 82, and an insertion electrode 83.”), the second electrode being located inside the measurement container (Fig. 2 Elements 8 & 821. Paragraphs 0036-0041. Paragraph 0036 discloses “the electrode section 8 has a plurality of array electrodes 81, a plurality of peripheral electrodes 82, and an insertion electrode 83.”);
b) detecting current flowing through the first electrode(s) while the alternating voltage is applied (Fig. 1 Element 40. See paragraphs 0030, 0046, 0048, 0050, 0056, & elsewhere.) by the operation a);
c) detecting a voltage between the first electrode(s) and a third electrode while the alternating voltage is applied (Fig. 1 Element 30. See paragraphs 0030, 0045, 0048, & 0050-0051.) by the operation a); and
Nakajima does not explicitly teach:
d) calculating an impedance of a target object in accordance with the current detected by the operation b) and the voltage detected by the operation c).
But it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to calculate an impedance of a target object in accordance with the current detected by the operation b) and the voltage detected by the operation c) because all necessary variables are present to make this common, well-known calculation and because it would provide more and better information regarding the system.
Claims 5 & 6 are rejected, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima et al (Translation of WO 2020189172) in view of Renaud et al (U.S. PGPub # 2010/0006441).
Regarding claim 5, Nakajima teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Nakajima does not explicitly teach a calculation unit that calculates an impedance in accordance with the current detected by the current detection circuit and the voltage detected by the voltage detection circuit.
Renaud teaches a calculation unit that calculates an impedance in accordance with the current detected by the current detection circuit and the voltage detected by the voltage detection circuit (Paragraph 0295.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Renaud to the teachings of Nakajima such that one would have a calculation unit that calculates an impedance in accordance with the current detected by the current detection circuit and the voltage detected by the voltage detection circuit because all necessary variables are present to make this common, well-known calculation and because it would provide more and better information regarding the system.
Regarding claim 6, Nakajima teaches:
An impedance measurement method comprising:
a) applying an alternating voltage between at least one of a plurality of first electrodes and a second electrode (Fig. 4 Element 31, the voltage application source. See paragraphs 0051-0054.), the plurality of first electrodes being arranged in an array on a bottom surface of a measurement container (Fig. 2 Elements 8 & 81. Paragraphs 0036-0041. Paragraph 0036 discloses “the electrode section 8 has a plurality of array electrodes 81, a plurality of peripheral electrodes 82, and an insertion electrode 83.”), the second electrode being located inside the measurement container (Fig. 2 Elements 8 & 821. Paragraphs 0036-0041. Paragraph 0036 discloses “the electrode section 8 has a plurality of array electrodes 81, a plurality of peripheral electrodes 82, and an insertion electrode 83.”);
b) detecting current flowing through the first electrode(s) while the alternating voltage is applied (Fig. 1 Element 40. See paragraphs 0030, 0046, 0048, 0050, 0056, & elsewhere.) by the operation a);
c) detecting a voltage between the first electrode(s) and a third electrode while the alternating voltage is applied (Fig. 1 Element 30. See paragraphs 0030, 0045, 0048, & 0050-0051.) by the operation a); and
Nakajima does not explicitly teach:
d) calculating an impedance of a target object in accordance with the current detected by the operation b) and the voltage detected by the operation c).
Renaud teaches:
d) calculating an impedance of a target object in accordance with the current detected by the operation b) and the voltage detected by the operation c) (Paragraph 0295.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Renaud to the teachings of Nakajima such that one would have a calculation unit that calculates an impedance in accordance with the current detected by the current detection circuit and the voltage detected by the voltage detection circuit because all necessary variables are present to make this common, well-known calculation and because it would provide more and better information regarding the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art listed does not anticipate alone or combine in an obvious manner to teach the invention claimed by applicant. The requirement to have a “differential-signal detection circuit that detects a difference between an alternating voltage applied by the voltage application circuit and a voltage output from the current detection circuit” is novel over the prior art of record. The technical effect of the difference is that the differential-signal detection circuit produces a coherent, phase-accurate comparison signal (Vy) that directly represents the difference between the applied AC excitation (Vs) and the current-derived voltage (R₂-i) generated by the current detection circuit. This limitation allows one “to reliably obtain the phase relationship between the applied (AC) excitation and the electrode current in order to calculate complex impedance with high accuracy.”
Regarding claim 4, Nakajima teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Nakajima teaches the current detection circuit is capable of outputting a voltage responsive to the current, the impedance measurement apparatus further comprising: a differential-signal detection circuit that detects a difference between an alternating voltage applied by the voltage application circuit and a voltage output from the current detection circuit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed but not cited represents the previous state of the art and analogous art that teaches some of the limitations claimed by applicant.
/CHRISTOPHER P MCANDREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858