DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite in that it fails to point out what is included or excluded by the claim language. This claim is an omnibus type claim.
Claim 19 recites in part “an intelligent system, the intelligent system comprising a RIS as described herein”. The recitation “as described herein” is indefinite because it is not clear what the claim includes as “as described herein”. This language renders claim 19 indefinite because one of ordinary skill in the art is not reasonably apprised of the scope of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-9, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arun et al., (US 2020/0350693), hereinafter Arun in view of Jost et al., (US 2016/0165970), hereinafter Jost.
Regarding claim 1 Arun discloses a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) for controlling propagation in a communication system (e.g., Fig. 1B, at 104), the RIS comprising: a plurality of switches (e.g., Fig. 5, at 402); a first plurality of conductive fabrics (e.g., Fig. 1B, at 118; paragraph 0027), wherein each one of the first plurality of conductive fabrics is connected to another one of the first plurality of conductive fabrics by a switch of the plurality of switches (e.g., paragraph 0053); a second plurality of conductive fabrics (e.g., Fig. 5, at 118; paragraph 0027), wherein each one of the second plurality of conductive fabrics is connected to another of the second plurality of conductive fabrics by one switch of the plurality of switches (e.g., paragraph 0053); a non-conductive layer (e.g., paragraph 0029) wherein the first plurality of conductive fabrics and the second plurality of conductive fabrics are attached to the non-conductive layer, the first plurality of conductive fabrics being spaced from the second plurality of conductive fabrics (e.g., paragraph 0029).
Arun does not explicitly disclose wherein the non-conductive layer is fabric.
Jost discloses wherein the non-conductive layer is fabric (e.g., paragraphs 0066 and 0079).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) for controlling propagation in a communication system disclosed by Arun in accordance with the teaching of Jost regarding using a non-conductive fabric layer in order to allow for providing the whole electronic element inside a textile unit (Jost, paragraph 0066).
Regarding claim 3 Arun further discloses the RIS of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of switches is wirelessly controlled by the communication system (paragraph 0059).
Regarding claim 6 Arun does not disclose the RIS of claim 1, wherein both of the first plurality of conductive fabrics and the second plurality of conductive fabrics are knitted to the non-conductive fabric layer.
Jost discloses wherein both of the first plurality of conductive fabrics and the second plurality of conductive fabrics are knitted to the non-conductive fabric layer (e.g., paragraph 0066).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) for controlling propagation in a communication system disclosed by Arun in accordance with the teaching of Jost regarding using a non-conductive fabric layer in order to allow for providing the whole electronic element inside a textile unit (Jost, paragraph 0066).
Regarding claim 7 Arun does not disclose the RIS of claim 1, wherein both of the first plurality of conductive fabrics and the second plurality of conductive fabrics comprise knitted conductive fabrics.
Jost discloses wherein both of the first plurality of conductive fabrics and the second plurality of conductive fabrics comprise knitted conductive fabrics (e.g., paragraph 0066).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) for controlling propagation in a communication system disclosed by Arun in accordance with the teaching of Jost regarding using a non-conductive fabric layer in order to allow for providing the whole electronic element inside a textile unit (Jost, paragraph 0066).
Regarding claim 8 Arun discloses a communication system comprising: a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) comprising (e.g., Fig. 1B, at 104): a plurality of switches (e.g. paragraph 0053), a first plurality of conductive fabrics (e.g., Fig. 1B, at 118; paragraph 0027), wherein each one of the first plurality of conductive fabrics is connected to another one of the first plurality of conductive fabrics by one switch of the plurality of switches (e.g., paragraph 0053), a second plurality of conductive fabrics (e.g., Fig. 5, at 118; paragraph 0027), wherein each one of the second plurality of conductive fabrics is connected to another one of the second plurality of conductive fabrics by one switch of the plurality of switches (e.g., paragraph 0053), and a non-conductive layer (e.g. paragraph 0007), wherein the first plurality of conductive fabrics and the second plurality of conductive fabrics are attached to the non-conductive layer (e.g., paragraph 0029), the first plurality of conductive fabrics being spaced from the second plurality of conductive fabric (e.g., paragraph 0029); and a controller (Fig. 1B, at 116) configured to transmit control signals to the plurality of switches to control propagation (paragraphs 0058-0059).
Arun does not explicitly disclose wherein the non-conductive layer is fabric.
Jost discloses wherein the non-conductive layer is fabric (e.g., paragraphs 0066 and 0079).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) for controlling propagation in a communication system disclosed by Arun in accordance with the teaching of Jost regarding using a non-conductive fabric layer in order to allow for providing the whole electronic element inside a textile unit (Jost, paragraph 0066).
Regarding claim 9 Arun does not disclose the communication system of claim 8, wherein both of the first plurality of conductive fabrics and the second plurality of conductive fabrics are knitted to the non-conductive fabric layer.
Jost discloses wherein both of the first plurality of conductive fabrics and the second plurality of conductive fabrics are knitted to the non-conductive fabric layer (e.g., paragraph 0066).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) for controlling propagation in a communication system disclosed by Arun in accordance with the teaching of Jost regarding using a non-conductive fabric layer in order to allow for providing the whole electronic element inside a textile unit (Jost, paragraph 0066).
Regarding claim 11 Arun further discloses the communication system of claim 8, further comprising: a transmitter (e.g., Fig. 1A, at 106 to 102 thru 104; paragraph 0023) configured to transmit a signal; and a receiver (e.g., Fig. 1A, at 102) configured to receive the signal via the RIS.
Regarding claim 12 the communication system of claim 8, wherein the RIS is integrated into at least one of a drape, a wall covering, an upholstery, and a carpet (e.g., paragraph 0007; see also paragraph 0028).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arun in view of Jost as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Angstrom et al., (WO 2021/239259), hereinafter Angstrom.
Regarding claim 10 Arun as modified by Jost does not disclose the communication system of claim 8, wherein the controller transmits the control signals to the plurality of switches to affect an impedance of the RIS.
Angstrom discloses wherein the controller transmits the control signals to the plurality of switches to affect an impedance of the RIS.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) for controlling propagation in a communication system disclosed by Arun as modified by Jost in accordance with the teaching of Angstrom regarding a controller to affect an impedance of an RIS in order to allow for reconfiguration of the RIS the optimizing the transmitter and receiver setup (Angstrom, page 13, lines 10-15).
Claims 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arun in view of Jost as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Naderi et al., (US 2023/0198313), hereinafter Naderi.
Regarding claim 13 Arun as modified by Jost does not disclose an intelligent system, comprising: a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS), the RIS comprising at least one energy harvesting circuit.
Naderi discloses a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS), the RIS comprising at least one energy harvesting circuit (e.g., paragraph 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) for controlling propagation in a communication system disclosed by Arun as modified by Jost in accordance with the teaching of Naderi regarding using an energy harvesting circuit in order to properly power the RIS (Naderi, paragraph 0038).
Regarding claim 14 Arun as modified by Jost does not disclose the intelligent system of claim 13, wherein the energy harvesting circuit comprises a rectifier.
Naderi discloses wherein the energy harvesting circuit comprises a rectifier (e.g., paragraph 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) for controlling propagation in a communication system disclosed by Arun as modified by Jost in accordance with the teaching of Naderi regarding using a rectifier as an energy harvesting circuit in order to properly power the RIS (Naderi, paragraph 0038).
Regarding claim 15 Arun as modified by Jost does not disclose the intelligent system of claim 14, wherein the rectifier operates according to any one or more of (i) direct rectification, (ii) rectification with DC bias, and (iii) rectification with a radio frequency (RF) amplifier.
Naderi discloses wherein the rectifier operates according to any one or more of (i) direct rectification (e.g., paragraphs 0010 and 0038), (ii) rectification with DC bias (e.g., paragraphs 0010 and 0038), and (iii) rectification with a radio frequency (RF) amplifier (e.g., paragraphs 0010 and 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) for controlling propagation in a communication system disclosed by Arun as modified by Jost in accordance with the teaching of Naderi regarding using a rectifier as an energy harvesting circuit in order to amplify the RIS power (Naderi, paragraph 0038).
Regarding claim 16 Arun as modified by Jost does not disclose the intelligent system of claim 13 wherein the energy harvesting circuit comprises a rectenna.
Naderi discloses the intelligent system of claim 13 wherein the energy harvesting circuit comprises a rectenna (e.g., paragraphs 0010 and 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) for controlling propagation in a communication system disclosed by Arun as modified by Jost in accordance with the teaching of Naderi regarding using a rectifier as an energy harvesting circuit in order to optimize RIS performance (Naderi, paragraph 0038).
Regarding claim 17 Arun as modified by Jost does not disclose the intelligent system of claim 16, wherein the rectenna comprises a unit cell of the RIS and a RF-direct current (DC) conversion circuit.
Naderi discloses wherein the rectenna comprises a unit cell of the RIS and a RF-direct current (DC) conversion circuit (e.g., paragraphs 0010 and 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) for controlling propagation in a communication system disclosed by Arun as modified by Jost in accordance with the teaching of Naderi regarding using a rectifier as an energy harvesting circuit in order to optimize RIS performance (Naderi, paragraph 0038).
Regarding claim 18 Arun as modified by Jost does not disclose the intelligent system of claim 16, further comprising a DC bias and/or DC insertion associated with the rectifier.
Naderi discloses wherein the rectenna comprises a unit cell of the RIS and a RF-direct current (DC) conversion circuit (e.g., paragraphs 0010 and 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) for controlling propagation in a communication system disclosed by Arun as modified by Jost in accordance with the teaching of Naderi regarding using a rectifier as an energy harvesting circuit in order to optimize RIS performance (Naderi, paragraph 0038).
Regarding claim 19 Arun as best understood discloses an intelligent system, the intelligent system comprising a RIS as described herein (e.g., Title, Abstract, see also mapping of claim 13).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-5, and 20-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claim 2, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of wherein each of the first plurality of conductive fabrics includes a knitted pocket, each knitted pocket including one of the plurality of switches attached thereto.
Arun and Jost are all cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including a reconfigurable intelligent surface having a plurality of switches, a first plurality of conductive fabrics, a second plurality of conductive fabrics, and a non-conductive layer.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding dependent claim 4, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of a control fabric layer that includes a plurality of conductive threads configured to carry control signals to the plurality of switches.
Arun and Jost are all cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including a reconfigurable intelligent surface having a plurality of switches, a first plurality of conductive fabrics, a second plurality of conductive fabrics, and a non-conductive layer.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding dependent claim 20, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of developing a harvested energy map or received power distribution of an intelligent system according claim 1.
Arun and Jost are all cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including a reconfigurable intelligent surface having a plurality of switches, a first plurality of conductive fabrics, a second plurality of conductive fabrics, and a non-conductive layer.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
DAVID E. LOTTER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2845
/DAVID E LOTTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845