DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-11, 13-14, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ly (Pub No 20240413874)
Regarding claim 1 and 19,
Ly teaches user equipment (UE), comprising: (see para [0210])
a transceiver; and (para [0158])
a processor configured to, receive, from a radio access network (RAN) and via the transceiver, at least one channel state information (CSI) report configuration, the at least one CSI report configuration identifying two or more codebooks, (interpreted as CSI reporting configuration 220 may indicate one or more codebooks, which may be used to map transmissions (e.g., control information or data, or both) to one or more antenna ports associated with one or more antenna panels 215., see para [0110]) each codebook of the two or more codebooks based on a respective set of antenna ports of two or more sets of antenna ports, the two or more sets of antenna ports including, a first set of antenna ports; and (interpreted as a first codebook corresponding to a first number of antenna ports to utilize for communications with the base station 105-a, see para [0116])
one or more additional sets of antenna ports, each of the one or more additional sets of antenna ports including a respective set of antenna ports selected from the first set of antenna ports; (interpreted as one or more second codebooks corresponding to an antenna port configuration 225 for a second number of antenna ports that is less than the first number of antenna ports, see para [0116]. The UE 115 may receive an antenna port configuration (2,2,2) from the CSI report configuration 805. Based on a fallback codebook (e.g., which may be initiated by an error case, as discussed with reference to FIGS. 5A, 5B, 6A, and 6B), the UE 115 may determine a set of reduced antenna configurations. For example, the UE 115 may determine that the antenna port configuration (2,2,2) may be reduced to (1,2,1), (1,2,2), and (2,2,1), see [0144])
measure CSI based on at least one of the two or more codebooks; and transmit, to the RAN and via the transceiver, at least one CSI report based on the measured CSI. (interpreted as to support wireless communication according to the reduced number of antenna ports, the UE 115 may select a different codebook (also referred to as a fallback codebook) to use for the CSI measurement and CSI reporting based on the reduced number of antenna ports, see para [0103])
Regarding claim 20,
Ly teaches a base station, comprising: (see para [0210])
a transceiver; and (see para [0210])
a processor configured to, transmit, to a user equipment (UE) and via the transceiver, at least one channel state information (CSI) report configuration, the at least one CSI report configuration identifying two or more codebooks, (interpreted as CSI reporting configuration 220 may indicate one or more codebooks, which may be used to map transmissions (e.g., control information or data, or both) to one or more antenna ports associated with one or more antenna panels 215., see para [0110]) each codebook of the two or more codebooks based on a respective set of antenna ports of two or more sets of antenna ports, the two or more sets of antenna ports including, a first set of antenna ports; and (interpreted as one or more second codebooks corresponding to an antenna port configuration 225 for a second number of antenna ports that is less than the first number of antenna ports, see para [0116]. The UE 115 may receive an antenna port configuration (2,2,2) from the CSI report configuration 805. Based on a fallback codebook (e.g., which may be initiated by an error case, as discussed with reference to FIGS. 5A, 5B, 6A, and 6B), the UE 115 may determine a set of reduced antenna configurations. For example, the UE 115 may determine that the antenna port configuration (2,2,2) may be reduced to (1,2,1), (1,2,2), and (2,2,1), see [0144])
one or more additional sets of antenna ports, each of the one or more additional sets of antenna ports including a respective set of antenna ports selected from the first set of antenna ports; and (interpreted as one or more second codebooks corresponding to an antenna port configuration 225 for a second number of antenna ports that is less than the first number of antenna ports, see para [0116]. The UE 115 may receive an antenna port configuration (2,2,2) from the CSI report configuration 805. Based on a fallback codebook (e.g., which may be initiated by an error case, as discussed with reference to FIGS. 5A, 5B, 6A, and 6B), the UE 115 may determine a set of reduced antenna configurations. For example, the UE 115 may determine that the antenna port configuration (2,2,2) may be reduced to (1,2,1), (1,2,2), and (2,2,1), see [0144])
receive, from the UE and via the transceiver, at least one CSI report based on measured CSI for at least one of the two or more codebooks. (interpreted as to support wireless communication according to the reduced number of antenna ports, the UE 115 may select a different codebook (also referred to as a fallback codebook) to use for the CSI measurement and CSI reporting based on the reduced number of antenna ports, see para [0103])
Regarding claim 2,
Ly teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein: the first set of antenna ports comprises antenna ports on K antenna panels, with N1*N2 antenna ports per antenna panel; and at least one of the one or more additional sets of antenna ports includes, antenna ports on fewer than K antenna panels; fewer antenna ports per antenna panel; or fewer antenna ports on fewer antenna panels. (Interpreted as the multi-panel antenna configuration table 800 may be utilized by one or more UEs 115 in determining a reduced antenna port configuration. A UE 115 may utilize one or more codebooks to determine a multi-panel antenna port configuration as indicated by a CSI report configuration 805. The UE 115 may receive an antenna port configuration (e.g., (N.sub.g, N.sub.1, N.sub.2)) via the CSI report configuration 805. In some examples, the UE 115 may receive a second antenna port configuration, which may correspond to a reduced antenna port configuration, may correspond to a subset of the antenna port configuration, or both. The UE 115 may evaluate a codebook (e.g., port configuration indicated by one or more CSI report configuration 805) to determine a number of panels, a number of horizontal antenna ports, and a number of vertical antenna ports to utilize for subsequent configuration. In some cases, however, the UE 115 may determine a reduced antenna configuration set based on one or more fallback codebooks, see para [0143])
Regarding claim 3,
Ly teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein: the processor is configured to, measure CSI based on each of the two or more codebooks; and include, in the at least one CSI report, the measured CSI based on each of the two or more codebooks. (Interpreted as performing a CSI measurement based on the first codebook configuration and the second codebook configuration, and transmitting, to the base station, a CSI report based on the CSI measurement, see para [0006]
Regarding claim 4,
Ly teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein: the processor is configured to, measure CSI based on a subset of codebooks in the two or more codebooks, the subset of codebooks including fewer than all of the codebooks in the two or more codebooks; and include, in the at least one CSI report, the measured CSI based on the subset of codebooks. (interpreted as to support wireless communication according to the reduced number of antenna ports, the communication device may select a codebook (which may also be referred to as a fallback codebook) to use for CSI measurement and reporting based on the reduced number of antenna ports, see para [0005])
Regarding claim 5,
Ly teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein: the processor is configured to, receive, from the RAN and via the transceiver, in radio resource control (RRC) signaling, an indication to measure CSI using a set of one or more codebooks in the two or more codebooks identified in the at least one CSI report configuration; (interpreted as For example, the UE 115 may receive, via control signaling, an antenna port configuration of a set of antenna port configurations associated with the UE 115. The antenna port configuration may correspond to a codebook of a set of codebooks. The UE 115 may receive control signaling indicating a different antenna port configuration, which may include fewer antenna ports. Examples of control signaling may include an RRC message, a MAC-CE, and a DCI, see para [0102])
measure CSI based on the set of one or more codebooks; and include, in the at least one CSI report, the measured CSI based on the set of one or more codebooks. (interpreted as to support wireless communication according to the reduced number of antenna ports, the UE 115 may select a different codebook (also referred to as a fallback codebook) to use for the CSI measurement and CSI reporting based on the reduced number of antenna ports, see para [0103])
Regarding claim 10,
Ly teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one CSI report configuration is a single CSI report configuration. (interpreted as in some cases, the CSI reporting configuration 220 may indicate one or more codebooks, which may be used to map transmissions (e.g., control information or data, or both) to one or more antenna ports associated with one or more antenna panels 215, see para [0110])
Regarding claim 11,
Ly teaches the UE of claim 10, wherein the single CSI report configuration identifies a channel measurement resource (CMR) or CMR set per codebook of the two or more codebooks. (Interpreted as the CSI reporting configuration 220 may link to one or more resource settings associated with different measurement types as described in more detail in FIG. 3. For example, the one or more resource settings may include a non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resource for channel measurement (CMR), a CSI-RS resource for interference measurement (CSI-IM), an NZP CSI-RS for interference measurement, or any combination thereof, see para [0109])
Regarding claim 13,
Ly teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein: the at least one CSI report configuration comprises multiple linked CSI report configurations; and the processor is configured to receive, from the RAN and via the transceiver, an indication of a linkage between the multiple linked CSI report configurations. (Interpreted as in some examples, the UE 115 may receive second control signaling indicating a second antenna port configuration, where the UE 115 may utilize the second antenna port configuration as a fallback codebook, a reduced codebook, or both. In some cases, the second antenna port configuration may correspond to a subset associated with the codebook configuration in the CSI reporting configuration, see para [0131])
Regarding claim 14,
Ly teaches the UE of claim 13, wherein the multiple linked CSI report configurations have a same configuration for at least one of: a report configuration type; a report quantity; a report frequency configuration; a first time restriction for channel measurements; a second time restriction for frequency measurements; a channel quality indicator (CQI) table; or a subband size. (interpreted as Additionally, or alternatively, the CSI reporting configuration 305 may link to a codebook configuration 365 or a report configuration type 370 (e.g., periodic, semi-persistent, aperiodic). In some examples, the UE 115 may perform periodic CSI reporting (e.g., the base station 105 may transmit higher layer signaling scheduling periodic CSI reports), aperiodic CSI reporting (e.g., the base station 105 may dynamically configure a CSI report), see para [0120])
Regarding claim 17,
Ly teaches the UE of claim 13, wherein: the processor is configured to, identify a trigger to measure and report CSI for at least one codebook identified by the multiple linked CSI report configurations; and in response to the trigger, measure and report CSI for all of the codebooks identified by the multiple linked CSI report configurations. (Interpreted as [0222] at 2015, the method may include performing a CSI measurement based on the first codebook configuration and the second codebook configuration. The operations of 2015 may be performed in accordance with examples as disclosed herein. In some examples, aspects of the operations of 2015 may be performed by a CSI component 1430 as described with reference to FIG. 14 [0223] At 2020, the method may include transmitting, to the base station, a CSI report based on the CSI measurement)
Regarding claim 18,
Ly teaches the UE of claim 13, wherein: the processor is configured to, receive, from the RAN and via the transceiver, a set of one or more triggers to measure and report CSI, each trigger in the set of one or more triggers triggering a measurement and reporting of CSI for a respective codebook identified by the multiple linked CSI report configurations. (Interpreted as [0222] at 2015, the method may include performing a CSI measurement based on the first codebook configuration and the second codebook configuration. The operations of 2015 may be performed in accordance with examples as disclosed herein. In some examples, aspects of the operations of 2015 may be performed by a CSI component 1430 as described with reference to FIG. 14 [0223] At 2020, the method may include transmitting, to the base station, a CSI report based on the CSI measurement)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly (Pub No 20240413874) further in view of Li (Pub No 20230057169)
Regarding claim 6,
Ly teaches the UE of claim 1, however does not teach wherein the processor is configured to allocate, for measuring and reporting CSI in accordance with the at least one CSI report configuration, a CSI processing unit (CPU) per codebook of the two or more codebooks.
Li teaches wherein the processor is configured to allocate, for measuring and reporting CSI in accordance with the at least one CSI report configuration, a CSI processing unit (CPU) per codebook of the two or more codebooks. (interpreted as the UE may identify a number of CSI processing units (CPUs) for updating the Type I and Type II codebooks, and may and may process the CSI based on the identified CPUs for each type of codebook, see para [0006])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the codebook taught by Ly to include a CPU for the codebook as taught by Li with the motivation being to have a processor to perform the task.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly (Pub No 20240413874) further in view of Wang (Pub No 20230007659)
Regarding claim 9,
Ly teaches the UE of claim 1, however does not teach wherein: the processor is configured to, transmit, to the RAN and via the transceiver, a UE capability for at least one of a CSI processing unit (CPU) configuration, a CPU occupancy rule, a minimum Z value, or a minimum Z′ value; or receive in radio resource control (RRC) signaling, from the RAN and via the transceiver, at least one of the CPU configuration, the CPU occupancy rule, the minimum Z value, or the minimum Z′ value; the minimum Z value is an offset between a last symbol of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and a first symbol of a CSI report including an optional timing adjustment (TA); and the minimum Z′ value is an offset between a last symbol of a channel measurement resource (CMR) or an interference measurement resource (IMR) and the first symbol of the CSI report including the optional TA.
Wang teaches wherein: the processor is configured to, transmit, to the RAN and via the transceiver, a UE capability for at least one of a CSI processing unit (CPU) configuration, a CPU occupancy rule, a minimum Z value, or a minimum Z′ value; or (interpreted as UE's capability is limited, the total number of CSI processing units is used to signal UE's capability so that gNB would not configure too many CSI calculations beyond UE's capability.
receive in radio resource control (RRC) signaling, from the RAN and via the transceiver, at least one of the CPU configuration, the CPU occupancy rule, the minimum Z value, or the minimum Z′ value; the minimum Z value is an offset between a last symbol of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and a first symbol of a CSI report including an optional timing adjustment (TA); and the minimum Z′ value is an offset between a last symbol of a channel measurement resource (CMR) or an interference measurement resource (IMR) and the first symbol of the CSI report including the optional TA. (rejected as being an alternative limitation)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system taught by Ly to include a UE capability as taught by Wang with the motivation being to signal UE's capability so that gNB would not configure too many CSI calculations beyond UE's capability.
Claim(s) 12, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly (Pub No 20240413874) further in view of Ly (Pub No 20240357393)
Regarding claim 12,
Ly teaches the UE of claim 10, however does not teach wherein: the single CSI report configuration identifies a list of CMRs for the first set of antenna ports; and the processor is configured to identify, for a codebook based on a set of antenna ports of the one or more additional sets of antenna ports, a set of CMRs in the list of CMRs.
Ly’39 wherein: the single CSI report configuration identifies a list of CMRs for the first set of antenna ports; and the processor is configured to identify, for a codebook based on a set of antenna ports of the one or more additional sets of antenna ports, a set of CMRs in the list of CMRs.
(interpreted as CSI report configuration…the non-power saving CMR resources 806 may each include one number of antenna ports (e.g., 32 antenna ports), the power saving CMR resources 808 in resource subset a may each include another number of antenna ports (e.g., 16 antenna ports), and the power saving CMR resources 808 in resource subset b may each include another number of antenna ports (e.g., NZP CMR resources b1−1, b1, and b1+1 may all be associated with 8 antenna ports), see para [0086]. each of the N resources in NZP CMR resource set n 610 (including NZP CMR resource n1 616 and NZP CMR resource n2 622) may be associated with 32 CSI-RS antenna ports according to Table 2 above (Type 1 multiple panel PMI codebook), see para [0077])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the CMR taught by Ly to include CMR resources associated with antenna ports as taught by Ly’39 with the motivation being to associate resources to the ports for configuring transmission.
Regarding claim 15,
Ly teaches the UE of claim 13, however does not teach wherein the processor is configured to receive CMRs for different sets of the two or more sets of antenna ports.
Ly’39 teaches wherein the processor is configured to receive CMRs for different sets of the two or more sets of antenna ports. (interpreted as CSI report configuration…the non-power saving CMR resources 806 may each include one number of antenna ports (e.g., 32 antenna ports), the power saving CMR resources 808 in resource subset a may each include another number of antenna ports (e.g., 16 antenna ports), and the power saving CMR resources 808 in resource subset b may each include another number of antenna ports (e.g., NZP CMR resources b1−1, b1, and b1+1 may all be associated with 8 antenna ports), see para [0086]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the CMR taught by Ly to include CMR resources associated with antenna ports as taught by Ly’39 with the motivation being to associate resources to the ports for configuring transmission.
Regarding claim 16,
Ly teaches the UE of claim 13, however does not teach wherein: the processor is configured to, receive CMRs for the first set of antenna ports; and identify, for a codebook based on a set of antenna ports of the one or more additional sets of antenna ports, a set of CMRs in the received CMRs.
Ly’39 teaches wherein: the processor is configured to, receive CMRs for the first set of antenna ports; and identify, for a codebook based on a set of antenna ports of the one or more additional sets of antenna ports, a set of CMRs in the received CMRs. (interpreted as CSI report configuration…the non-power saving CMR resources 806 may each include one number of antenna ports (e.g., 32 antenna ports), the power saving CMR resources 808 in resource subset a may each include another number of antenna ports (e.g., 16 antenna ports), and the power saving CMR resources 808 in resource subset b may each include another number of antenna ports (e.g., NZP CMR resources b1−1, b1, and b1+1 may all be associated with 8 antenna ports), see para [0086]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the CMR taught by Ly to include CMR resources associated with antenna ports as taught by Ly’39 with the motivation being to associate resources to the ports for configuring transmission.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 7,
Ly teaches the UE of claim 1, however do not teach wherein: the processor is configured to adjust a minimum Z value and a minimum Z′ value based on a number of codebooks in the two or more codebooks; the minimum Z value is an offset between a last symbol of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and a first symbol of a CSI report including an optional timing adjustment (TA); and the minimum Z′ value is an offset between a last symbol of a channel measurement resource (CMR) or an interference measurement resource (IMR) and the first symbol of the CSI report including the optional TA.
Regarding claim 8,
Ly teaches the UE of claim 1, however do not teach wherein: the processor is configured to, allocate, for measuring and reporting CSI in accordance with the at least one CSI report configuration, a number of CSI processing units (CPUs) based on a value of a constant and a number of codebooks in the two or more codebooks; and adjust a minimum Z value and a minimum Z′ value based on the value of the constant and the number of codebooks in the two or more codebooks; the minimum Z value is an offset between a last symbol of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and a first symbol of a CSI report including an optional timing adjustment (TA); and the minimum Z′ value is an offset between a last symbol of a channel measurement resource (CMR) or an interference measurement resource (IMR) and the first symbol of the CSI report including the optional TA.
Conclusion
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/JASON E MATTIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461