DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-12, 14-17 and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Ingale et al. (US 2020/0053607 A1, hereinafter “Ingale”, IDS disclosed by applicant).
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 16, Ingale discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one antenna; at least one radio coupled to the at least one antenna; and a processor coupled to the at least one radio; wherein the UE is configured to perform operations comprising: receiving from a base station a trigger for triggering reporting of CSI during a RACH procedure (see para. 0011, 0017, 0020, 0056, 0069, transmit measurement report associated with target cell to serving cell in response to handover event triggered at the UE. The method includes receiving a handover command comprising at least CS-RS configuration of the target cell); and reporting, to the base station, CSI during the RACH procedure. (see para. 0011, 0017, 0020, 0056, 0069, transmit measurement report associated with target cell to serving cell in response to handover event triggered at the UE. The method includes receiving a handover command comprising at least CS-RS configuration of the target cell).
Regarding claims 2, 12, and 17, Ingale discloses wherein the reporting, to the base station, CSI during the RACH procedure further comprises one of the following: reporting CSI in Msg3 for a 4-step RACH procedure; reporting CSI in MsgA for a 2-step RACH procedure; or reporting CSI in Msg3 during a fallback operation for a 2-step RACH procedure (see para. 00150081, MSG3 of RACH).
Regarding claims 4, and 19, Ingale discloses wherein the operations further comprise: receiving from the base station, PRACH resource configuration in SI or RRC configuration, the PRACH resource configuration includes available PRACH resources from a PRACH resource pool associated with supporting of the reporting of CSI during a RACH procedure (see para. 0073, 0085, PRCH using the dedicated preamble and/or resources); and sending communication to the base station using a PRACH resource from the available PRACH resources (see para. 0101, PRACH resource to Beam-Id).
Regarding claims 5, and 20, Ingale discloses wherein the operations further comprise: receiving, from the base station, CSI report configuration (see para. 0011, receiving CSI-RS configuration), wherein the CSI report configuration comprises at least one of the following: (i) reference signal configuration used for CSI measurement (see para. 0013, CSI-RS resource identifier for measurement), or (ii) report quantity configuration for CSI reporting; and performing CSI measurement and CSI reporting based on the CSI report configuration (see para. 0013-0014, best CSI-RS resources).
Regarding claims 6, and 21, Ingale discloses wherein at least a part of the CSI report configuration is included in one of the following:
(i) System Information (SI) or RRC configuration;
(ii) MAC CE; or
(iii) DCI. (see para. 0067, CSI-RS configuration is provided to UE in the system information).
Regarding claims 7, 22, Ingale discloses wherein a reference signal for CSI measurement is either SSB or CSI-RS (see para. 0081, CSI-resource).
Regarding claim 8, Ingale discloses wherein report quantity configuration for CSI reporting includes at least one of the following:
(i) L1-RSRP;
(ii) L1-SINR; or
(iii) cri-RI-PMI-CQI, cri-RI-LI-PMI-CQI, cri-Rl-il, cri-RI-il-CQI or cri-RI-CQI (see para. 0060, 0081, 0084, CSI-RS RSRP; para. 0070, CSI-RSRQ).
Regarding claim 9, Ingale discloses wherein the UE performs CSI measurement and CSI reporting during the RACH procedure based on timeline constrains, wherein the timeline constrains comprise a first minimum time required for the UE to measure the CSI and generate a CSI report (see para. 0071, 0084, 0094, measurement timing configuration).
Regarding claim 10, Ingale discloses wherein the timeline constrains further comprise a second minimum time required for the UE to finish processing of the trigger for the CSI report (see para. 0066, trigger based on handover command; para. 0071, signal time window).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3,13 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingale in view of Zhou et al. (US 2019/0208436 A1, hereinafter “Zhou”).
Regarding claims 3, 13, and 18, Ingale discloses all the subject matter but fails to mention explicitly wherein the trigger is included in one of the following: (i) System Information (SI) or RRC configuration; (ii) MAC CE; or (iii) DCI. However, Zhou from a similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the trigger is included in one of the following: (i) System Information (SI) or RRC configuration; (ii) MAC CE; or (iii) DCI (see para. 0472 and 0493, configuration parameter with CSI trigger index). Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to include Zhou configuration scheme into Ingle configuration scheme. The method can be implemented in a message. The motivation of doing this is to trigger report of one or more CSI.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang et al. (US 2017/0373741 A1) disclose UE ULDL configuration detects DCI from a serving cell and UE performs CSI reporting triggered by the CSI request (para. 0126).
Cirik et al. (US 2020/0351682 A1) disclose receiving a DCI with CSI request field indicating a trigger state, the wireless device may perform measurement if CSI-RS and reporting according to configuration).
MOHAMMAD S. ANWAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2463
/MOHAMMAD S ANWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463