DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged with the benefit of an earlier filing date of April 24, 2022 for PCT/CN2022/088810.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 18, 2024 and June 23, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 12, and 15 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuanfeng He (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0349192), and further in view of Kumar et al (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0417853). Hereinafter He and Kumar.
Regarding claim 1, He discloses a wireless communication method, wherein the method is performed by a terminal, and the method comprises:
waking up a second type transceiver through a first type transceiver in response to the first type transceiver receiving a wakeup signal (the terminal device includes transceiver module that receives a first wake-up signal or a second wake-up signal based on at least one of a predetermined rule, a DRX state, indication information, or a current state of the terminal device, wherein the first wake-up signal is carried over a WUR signal, and the second wake-up signal is not carried over the WUR signal, paragraph [0126]; UE includes wake-up receiver that receives the energy saving signal, where a primary receiver of the UE is turned on by the wake-up signal, paragraphs [0049], [0073]; the wake-up receiver is “first type” and primary receiver is the “second type”).
While He teaches the UE receiving the first wake-up signal in the wake-up signal receiving method 1 (i.e. wake-up receiver), starting timer immediately or upon a time period in response to receiving the first wake-up signal, and receives the second wake-up signal during the operation of the timer in the wake-up signal receiving method 2 (i.e. primary receiver), where the UE receives the control/data channel in the receiving method 2 (paragraph [0085]), but He does not explicitly disclose “wherein the second type transceiver comprises at least one of: a first transceiver, configured to perform data monitoring based on a discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter of a first DRX group; or a second transceiver, configured to perform data monitoring based on a DRX parameter of a second DRX group.”
Kumar discloses the serving gNB sends a WUS signal to the UE indicating that the UE is the wake up during next ON time during DRX cycle, where the serving gNB updates the dormancy configuration to remove the one or more SCells from the dormancy list to wake up the selected monitoring occasions, and sends the updated WUS configuration to the UE to remove the one or more SCells from dormancy list (paragraphs [0125], [0129], [0130]); the wireless nodes operate in multiple frequency ranges, FR1 (from 450 to 6000 MHz), FR2 (from 24250 to 52600 MHz), FR3 (above 52600 MHz), and FR4 (between FR1 and FR2), and one of the frequencies utilized by the base stations is an anchor carrier (or “PCell”) and other frequencies utilized by the base stations are secondary carriers (“SCells”) (paragraphs [0050] – [0051]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of He and Kumar before him or her, to incorporate the serving gNB sending WUS configuration as taught by Kumar, to improve the UE of He for activating first transceiver to monitor PCell or activating second transceiver to monitor SCell. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption (paragraph [0004] of Kumar).
Regarding claim 2, He and Kumar disclose the method according to claim 1, but He does not explicitly disclose wherein waking up the second type transceiver through the first type transceiver in response to the first type transceiver receiving the wakeup signal comprises:
waking up the first transceiver through the first type transceiver in response to the first type transceiver receiving the wakeup signal.
Kumar discloses the serving gNB sends a WUS signal to the UE indicating that the UE is the wake up during next ON time during DRX cycle, where the serving gNB updates the dormancy configuration to remove the one or more SCells from the dormancy list to wake up the selected monitoring occasions, and sends the updated WUS configuration to the UE to remove the one or more SCells from dormancy list (paragraphs [0125], [0129], [0130]); the wireless nodes operate in multiple frequency ranges, FR1 (from 450 to 6000 MHz), FR2 (from 24250 to 52600 MHz), FR3 (above 52600 MHz), and FR4 (between FR1 and FR2), and one of the frequencies utilized by the base stations is an anchor carrier (or “PCell”) and other frequencies utilized by the base stations are secondary carriers (“SCells”) (paragraphs [0050] – [0051]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of He and Kumar before him or her, to incorporate the serving gNB sending WUS configuration as taught by Kumar, to improve the UE of He for activating first transceiver to monitor PCell or activating second transceiver to monitor SCell. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption (paragraph [0004] of Kumar).
Regarding claim 3, He and Kumar disclose the method according to claim 2, but He does not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises:
waking up the second transceiver through the first transceiver in response to the first transceiver receiving a predetermined instruction sent by an access network device.
Kumar discloses the serving gNB sends a WUS signal to the UE indicating that the UE is the wake up during next ON time during DRX cycle, where the serving gNB updates the dormancy configuration to remove the one or more SCells from the dormancy list to wake up the selected monitoring occasions, and sends the updated WUS configuration to the UE to remove the one or more SCells from dormancy list (paragraphs [0125], [0129], [0130]); the wireless nodes operate in multiple frequency ranges, FR1 (from 450 to 6000 MHz), FR2 (from 24250 to 52600 MHz), FR3 (above 52600 MHz), and FR4 (between FR1 and FR2), and one of the frequencies utilized by the base stations is an anchor carrier (or “PCell”) and other frequencies utilized by the base stations are secondary carriers (“SCells”) (paragraphs [0050] – [0051]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of He and Kumar before him or her, to incorporate the serving gNB sending WUS configuration as taught by Kumar, to improve the UE of He for activating first transceiver to monitor PCell or activating second transceiver to monitor SCell. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption (paragraph [0004] of Kumar).
Regarding claim 4, He and Kumar disclose the method according to claim 1, but He does not explicitly disclose wherein waking up the second type transceiver through the first type transceiver in response to the first type transceiver receiving the wakeup signal comprises:
waking up at least one of the first transceiver or the second transceiver through the first type transceiver in response to the first type transceiver receiving the wakeup signal.
Kumar discloses the serving gNB sends a WUS signal to the UE indicating that the UE is the wake up during next ON time during DRX cycle, where the serving gNB updates the dormancy configuration to remove the one or more SCells from the dormancy list to wake up the selected monitoring occasions, and sends the updated WUS configuration to the UE to remove the one or more SCells from dormancy list (paragraphs [0125], [0129], [0130]); the wireless nodes operate in multiple frequency ranges, FR1 (from 450 to 6000 MHz), FR2 (from 24250 to 52600 MHz), FR3 (above 52600 MHz), and FR4 (between FR1 and FR2), and one of the frequencies utilized by the base stations is an anchor carrier (or “PCell”) and other frequencies utilized by the base stations are secondary carriers (“SCells”) (paragraphs [0050] – [0051]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of He and Kumar before him or her, to incorporate the serving gNB sending WUS configuration as taught by Kumar, to improve the UE of He for activating first transceiver to monitor PCell or activating second transceiver to monitor SCell. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption (paragraph [0004] of Kumar).
Regarding claim 5, He and Kumar disclose the method according to claim 1, but He does not explicitly disclose wherein the first type transceiver comprises a third transceiver and a fourth transceiver; and waking up the second type transceiver through the first type transceiver in response to the first type transceiver receiving the wakeup signal comprises at least one of:
waking up the first transceiver through the third transceiver in response to the third transceiver receiving the wakeup signal;
or,
waking up the second transceiver through the fourth transceiver in response to the fourth transceiver receiving the wakeup signal.
Kumar discloses the serving gNB sends a WUS signal to the UE indicating that the UE is the wake up during next ON time during DRX cycle, where the serving gNB updates the dormancy configuration to remove the one or more SCells from the dormancy list to wake up the selected monitoring occasions, and sends the updated WUS configuration to the UE to remove the one or more SCells from dormancy list (paragraphs [0125], [0129], [0130]); the wireless nodes operate in multiple frequency ranges, FR1 (from 450 to 6000 MHz), FR2 (from 24250 to 52600 MHz), FR3 (above 52600 MHz), and FR4 (between FR1 and FR2), and one of the frequencies utilized by the base stations is an anchor carrier (or “PCell”) and other frequencies utilized by the base stations are secondary carriers (“SCells”) (paragraphs [0050] – [0051]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of He and Kumar before him or her, to incorporate the serving gNB sending WUS configuration as taught by Kumar, to improve the UE of He for activating first transceiver to monitor PCell or activating second transceiver to monitor SCell. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption (paragraph [0004] of Kumar).
Regarding claim 6, He and Kumar disclose the method according to claim 1, but He does not explicitly disclose wherein a frequency range of the first DRX group is a first frequency range FR1; or a frequency range of the second DRX group is a second frequency range; or the frequency range of the first DRX group is the first frequency range FR1 and the frequency range of the second DRX group is the second frequency range.
Kumar discloses the serving gNB sends a WUS signal to the UE indicating that the UE is the wake up during next ON time during DRX cycle, where the serving gNB updates the dormancy configuration to remove the one or more SCells from the dormancy list to wake up the selected monitoring occasions, and sends the updated WUS configuration to the UE to remove the one or more SCells from dormancy list (paragraphs [0125], [0129], [0130]); the wireless nodes operate in multiple frequency ranges, FR1 (from 450 to 6000 MHz), FR2 (from 24250 to 52600 MHz), FR3 (above 52600 MHz), and FR4 (between FR1 and FR2), and one of the frequencies utilized by the base stations is an anchor carrier (or “PCell”) and other frequencies utilized by the base stations are secondary carriers (“SCells”) (paragraphs [0050] – [0051]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of He and Kumar before him or her, to incorporate the serving gNB sending WUS configuration as taught by Kumar, to improve the UE of He for activating first transceiver to monitor PCell or activating second transceiver to monitor SCell. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption (paragraph [0004] of Kumar).
Regarding claim 7, He and Kumar disclose the method according to claim 1, but He does not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises at least one of:
in response to the first transceiver being woken up, performing monitoring of the wakeup signal or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) based on the DRX parameter of the first DRX group;
or,
in response to the second transceiver being woken up, performing monitoring of the wakeup signal or the PDCCH based on the DRX parameter of the second DRX group.
He discloses the UE acquires DRX related information from a system information block (SIB) 2, where the paging message is received by monitoring the PDCCH on a Paging Occasion (PO) in the DRX cycle, and the UE is only required to monitor to its own PO, such that the UE monitors and receives downlink channels and signals, including the PDCCH, within the “on duration” of the DRX cycle (paragraphs [0050] – [0054]), and Kumar discloses the serving gNB sends a WUS signal to the UE indicating that the UE is the wake up during next ON time during DRX cycle, where the serving gNB updates the dormancy configuration to remove the one or more SCells from the dormancy list to wake up the selected monitoring occasions, and sends the updated WUS configuration to the UE to remove the one or more SCells from dormancy list (paragraphs [0125], [0129], [0130]); the wireless nodes operate in multiple frequency ranges, FR1 (from 450 to 6000 MHz), FR2 (from 24250 to 52600 MHz), FR3 (above 52600 MHz), and FR4 (between FR1 and FR2), and one of the frequencies utilized by the base stations is an anchor carrier (or “PCell”) and other frequencies utilized by the base stations are secondary carriers (“SCells”) (paragraphs [0050] – [0051]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of He and Kumar before him or her, to incorporate the serving gNB sending WUS configuration as taught by Kumar, to improve the UE of He for activating first transceiver to monitor the PDCCH based on the DRX parameter of the PCell or activating second transceiver to monitor the PDCCH based on the DRX parameter of the SCell. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption (paragraph [0004] of Kumar).
Regarding claim 8, He and Kumar disclose the method according to claim 1, but He does not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises at least one of:
in response to the first transceiver being woken up, starting an inactive timer of the first DRX group corresponding to the first transceiver;
or,
in response to the second transceiver being woken up, starting an inactive timer of the second DRX group corresponding to the second transceiver.
Kumar discloses the serving gNB sends a WUS signal to the UE indicating that the UE is the wake up during next ON time during DRX cycle, where the serving gNB updates the dormancy configuration to remove the one or more SCells from the dormancy list to wake up the selected monitoring occasions, and sends the updated WUS configuration to the UE to remove the one or more SCells from dormancy list (paragraphs [0125], [0129], [0130]); where PDCCH-based WUS indicates there is no DL grant (i.e., WUS indicates UE is to remain in inactive mode) and indicates there is an instance of a DL grant (i.e., WUS indicates that the UE is to wake-up at the next ON mode of the DRX cycle) (paragraph [0106]); the DRX configuration includes the time the UE is awake/active (the “active time”) based on the length of the DRX inactivity timer and the time at which the PDCCH is received, specifically, the UE starts the DRX inactivity timer and stays in the active state until the expiration of that timer when the PDDCH is received (which is reset each time a PDDCH is received during the active time) (paragraph [0093]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of He and Kumar before him or her, to incorporate the serving gNB sending WUS configuration as taught by Kumar, to improve the UE of He for activating first transceiver to monitor the PDCCH based on the DRX parameter of the PCell or activating second transceiver to monitor the PDCCH based on the DRX parameter of the SCell. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption (paragraph [0004] of Kumar).
Regarding claim 9, He and Kumar disclose the method according to claim 1, but He does not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises:
receiving capability information sent by an access network device;
wherein, the capability information is configured to indicate: supporting the first type transceiver to wake up at least one of the first transceiver or the second transceiver in the second type transceiver after the first type transceiver receives the wakeup signal.
Kumar discloses the serving gNB sends a WUS signal to the UE indicating that the UE is the wake up during next ON time during DRX cycle, where the serving gNB updates the dormancy configuration to remove the one or more SCells from the dormancy list to wake up the selected monitoring occasions, and sends the updated WUS configuration to the UE to remove the one or more SCells from dormancy list (paragraphs [0125], [0129], [0130]); where the dormancy configuration includes the SCELL list configured for dormancy in the initial RRC configuration, e.g. as part of the initial capability signaling from the serving base station (paragraph [0116]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of He and Kumar before him or her, to incorporate the serving gNB sending WUS configuration as taught by Kumar, to improve the UE of He for activating first transceiver to monitor the PCell or activating second transceiver to monitor the SCell. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption (paragraph [0004] of Kumar).
Regarding claim 10, He discloses a wireless communication method, wherein the method is performed by an access network device, and the method comprises:
sending capability information to a terminal (the terminal device includes transceiver module that receives a first wake-up signal or a second wake-up signal based on at least one of a predetermined rule, a DRX state, indication information, or a current state of the terminal device, wherein the first wake-up signal is carried over a WUR signal, and the second wake-up signal is not carried over the WUR signal, paragraph [0126]; UE includes wake-up receiver that receives the energy saving signal, where a primary receiver of the UE is turned on by the wake-up signal, paragraphs [0049], [0073]; the wake-up receiver is “first type” and primary receiver is the “second type”);
wherein, the capability information is configured to wake up a second type transceiver of the terminal after the first type transceiver receives a wakeup signal (the terminal device includes transceiver module that receives a first wake-up signal or a second wake-up signal based on at least one of a predetermined rule, a DRX state, indication information, or a current state of the terminal device, wherein the first wake-up signal is carried over a WUR signal, and the second wake-up signal is not carried over the WUR signal, paragraph [0126]; UE includes wake-up receiver that receives the energy saving signal, where a primary receiver of the UE is turned on by the wake-up signal, paragraphs [0049], [0073]; the wake-up receiver is “first type” and primary receiver is the “second type”).
While He teaches the UE receiving the first wake-up signal in the wake-up signal receiving method 1 (i.e. wake-up receiver), starting timer immediately or upon a time period in response to receiving the first wake-up signal, and receives the second wake-up signal during the operation of the timer in the wake-up signal receiving method 2 (i.e. primary receiver), where the UE receives the control/data channel in the receiving method 2 (paragraph [0085]), but He does not explicitly disclose “sending capability information to a terminal; wherein, the capability information is configured to indicate whether a first type transceiver of the terminal is supported or not supported to wake up a second type transceiver of the terminal after the first type transceiver receives a wakeup signal; and wherein the second type transceiver comprises at least one of: a first transceiver, configured to perform data monitoring based on a discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter of a first DRX group; or a second transceiver, configured to perform data monitoring based on a DRX parameter of a second DRX group.”
Kumar discloses the serving gNB sends a WUS signal to the UE indicating that the UE is the wake up during next ON time during DRX cycle, where the serving gNB updates the dormancy configuration to remove the one or more SCells from the dormancy list to wake up the selected monitoring occasions, and sends the updated WUS configuration to the UE to remove the one or more SCells from dormancy list (paragraphs [0125], [0129], [0130]); the wireless nodes operate in multiple frequency ranges, FR1 (from 450 to 6000 MHz), FR2 (from 24250 to 52600 MHz), FR3 (above 52600 MHz), and FR4 (between FR1 and FR2), and one of the frequencies utilized by the base stations is an anchor carrier (or “PCell”) and other frequencies utilized by the base stations are secondary carriers (“SCells”) (paragraphs [0050] – [0051]); where the dormancy configuration includes the SCELL list configured for dormancy in the initial RRC configuration, e.g. as part of the initial capability signaling from the serving base station (paragraph [0116]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of He and Kumar before him or her, to incorporate the serving gNB sending WUS configuration as taught by Kumar, to improve the UE of He for activating first transceiver to monitor PCell or activating second transceiver to monitor SCell. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption (paragraph [0004] of Kumar).
Regarding claim 11, He discloses a wireless communication apparatus, wherein the apparatus comprises:
a processor (the terminal device includes memory storing executable program codes and transceiver module coupled to the memory, where the one or more instructions when loaded and executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method according to the present disclosure paragraphs [0015] – [0022], [0126], [0157], [0160]); and
a memory storing instructions executable by the processor (the terminal device includes memory storing executable program codes and transceiver module coupled to the memory, where the one or more instructions when loaded and executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method according to the present disclosure paragraphs [0015] – [0022], [0126], [0157], [0160]);
wherein in the processor is configured to:
wake up a second type transceiver through a first type transceiver in response to the first type transceiver receiving a wakeup signal (the terminal device includes transceiver module that receives a first wake-up signal or a second wake-up signal based on at least one of a predetermined rule, a DRX state, indication information, or a current state of the terminal device, wherein the first wake-up signal is carried over a WUR signal, and the second wake-up signal is not carried over the WUR signal, paragraph [0126]; UE includes wake-up receiver that receives the energy saving signal, where a primary receiver of the UE is turned on by the wake-up signal, paragraphs [0049], [0073]; the wake-up receiver is “first type” and primary receiver is the “second type”).
While He teaches the UE receiving the first wake-up signal in the wake-up signal receiving method 1 (i.e. wake-up receiver), starting timer immediately or upon a time period in response to receiving the first wake-up signal, and receives the second wake-up signal during the operation of the timer in the wake-up signal receiving method 2 (i.e. primary receiver), where the UE receives the control/data channel in the receiving method 2 (paragraph [0085]), but He does not explicitly disclose “wherein the second type transceiver comprises at least one of: a first transceiver, configured to perform data monitoring based on a discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter of a first DRX group; or a second transceiver, configured to perform data monitoring based on a DRX parameter of a second DRX group.”
Kumar discloses the serving gNB sends a WUS signal to the UE indicating that the UE is the wake up during next ON time during DRX cycle, where the serving gNB updates the dormancy configuration to remove the one or more SCells from the dormancy list to wake up the selected monitoring occasions, and sends the updated WUS configuration to the UE to remove the one or more SCells from dormancy list (paragraphs [0125], [0129], [0130]); the wireless nodes operate in multiple frequency ranges, FR1 (from 450 to 6000 MHz), FR2 (from 24250 to 52600 MHz), FR3 (above 52600 MHz), and FR4 (between FR1 and FR2), and one of the frequencies utilized by the base stations is an anchor carrier (or “PCell”) and other frequencies utilized by the base stations are secondary carriers (“SCells”) (paragraphs [0050] – [0051]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of He and Kumar before him or her, to incorporate the serving gNB sending WUS configuration as taught by Kumar, to improve the UE of He for activating first transceiver to monitor PCell or activating second transceiver to monitor SCell. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption (paragraph [0004] of Kumar).
Regarding claim 12, He discloses a wireless communication apparatus, wherein the apparatus comprises:
a processor (the network device includes memory storing executable program codes and transceiver module coupled to the memory, where the one or more instructions when loaded and executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method according to the present disclosure paragraphs [0019] – [0023], [0141], [0184]); and
a memory storing instructions executable by the processor (the network device includes memory storing executable program codes and transceiver module coupled to the memory, where the one or more instructions when loaded and executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method according to the present disclosure paragraphs [0019] – [0023], [0141], [0184]);
wherein in the processor is configured to perform the wireless communication method according to claim 10 (the network device includes memory storing executable program codes and transceiver module coupled to the memory, where the one or more instructions when loaded and executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method according to the present disclosure paragraphs [0019] – [0023], [0141], [0184]; see rejection of Claim 10).
Regarding claim 15, He and Kumar disclose the apparatus according to claim 11, but He does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to:
wake up the first transceiver through the first type transceiver in response to the first type transceiver receiving the wakeup signal.
Kumar discloses the serving gNB sends a WUS signal to the UE indicating that the UE is the wake up during next ON time during DRX cycle, where the serving gNB updates the dormancy configuration to remove the one or more SCells from the dormancy list to wake up the selected monitoring occasions, and sends the updated WUS configuration to the UE to remove the one or more SCells from dormancy list (paragraphs [0125], [0129], [0130]); the wireless nodes operate in multiple frequency ranges, FR1 (from 450 to 6000 MHz), FR2 (from 24250 to 52600 MHz), FR3 (above 52600 MHz), and FR4 (between FR1 and FR2), and one of the frequencies utilized by the base stations is an anchor carrier (or “PCell”) and other frequencies utilized by the base stations are secondary carriers (“SCells”) (paragraphs [0050] – [0051]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of He and Kumar before him or her, to incorporate the serving gNB sending WUS configuration as taught by Kumar, to improve the UE of He for activating first transceiver to monitor PCell or activating second transceiver to monitor SCell. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption (paragraph [0004] of Kumar).
Regarding claim 16, He and Kumar disclose the apparatus according to claim 15, but He does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to:
wake up the second transceiver through the first transceiver in response to the first transceiver receiving a predetermined instruction sent by an access network device.
Kumar discloses the serving gNB sends a WUS signal to the UE indicating that the UE is the wake up during next ON time during DRX cycle, where the serving gNB updates the dormancy configuration to remove the one or more SCells from the dormancy list to wake up the selected monitoring occasions, and sends the updated WUS configuration to the UE to remove the one or more SCells from dormancy list (paragraphs [0125], [0129], [0130]); the wireless nodes operate in multiple frequency ranges, FR1 (from 450 to 6000 MHz), FR2 (from 24250 to 52600 MHz), FR3 (above 52600 MHz), and FR4 (between FR1 and FR2), and one of the frequencies utilized by the base stations is an anchor carrier (or “PCell”) and other frequencies utilized by the base stations are secondary carriers (“SCells”) (paragraphs [0050] – [0051]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of He and Kumar before him or her, to incorporate the serving gNB sending WUS configuration as taught by Kumar, to improve the UE of He for activating first transceiver to monitor PCell or activating second transceiver to monitor SCell. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption (paragraph [0004] of Kumar).
Regarding claim 17, He and Kumar disclose the apparatus according to claim 11, but He does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to:
wake up at least one of the first transceiver or the second transceiver through the first type transceiver in response to the first type transceiver receiving the wakeup signal.
Kumar discloses the serving gNB sends a WUS signal to the UE indicating that the UE is the wake up during next ON time during DRX cycle, where the serving gNB updates the dormancy configuration to remove the one or more SCells from the dormancy list to wake up the selected monitoring occasions, and sends the updated WUS configuration to the UE to remove the one or more SCells from dormancy list (paragraphs [0125], [0129], [0130]); the wireless nodes operate in multiple frequency ranges, FR1 (from 450 to 6000 MHz), FR2 (from 24250 to 52600 MHz), FR3 (above 52600 MHz), and FR4 (between FR1 and FR2), and one of the frequencies utilized by the base stations is an anchor carrier (or “PCell”) and other frequencies utilized by the base stations are secondary carriers (“SCells”) (paragraphs [0050] – [0051]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of He and Kumar before him or her, to incorporate the serving gNB sending WUS configuration as taught by Kumar, to improve the UE of He for activating first transceiver to monitor PCell or activating second transceiver to monitor SCell. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption (paragraph [0004] of Kumar).
Regarding claim 18, He and Kumar disclose the apparatus according to claim 11, but He does not explicitly disclose wherein the first type transceiver comprises a third transceiver and a fourth transceiver; and the processor is further configured to perform at least one of:
waking up the first transceiver through the third transceiver in response to the third transceiver receiving the wakeup signal;
or,
waking up the second transceiver through the fourth transceiver in response to the fourth transceiver receiving the wakeup signal.
Kumar discloses the serving gNB sends a WUS signal to the UE indicating that the UE is the wake up during next ON time during DRX cycle, where the serving gNB updates the dormancy configuration to remove the one or more SCells from the dormancy list to wake up the selected monitoring occasions, and sends the updated WUS configuration to the UE to remove the one or more SCells from dormancy list (paragraphs [0125], [0129], [0130]); the wireless nodes operate in multiple frequency ranges, FR1 (from 450 to 6000 MHz), FR2 (from 24250 to 52600 MHz), FR3 (above 52600 MHz), and FR4 (between FR1 and FR2), and one of the frequencies utilized by the base stations is an anchor carrier (or “PCell”) and other frequencies utilized by the base stations are secondary carriers (“SCells”) (paragraphs [0050] – [0051]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of He and Kumar before him or her, to incorporate the serving gNB sending WUS configuration as taught by Kumar, to improve the UE of He for activating first transceiver to monitor PCell or activating second transceiver to monitor SCell. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption (paragraph [0004] of Kumar).
Regarding claim 19, He and Kumar disclose the apparatus according to claim 11, but He does not explicitly disclose wherein a frequency range of the first DRX group is a first frequency range FR1; or a frequency range of the second DRX group is a second frequency range; or the frequency range of the first DRX group is the first frequency range FR1 and the frequency range of the second DRX group is the second frequency range.
Kumar discloses the serving gNB sends a WUS signal to the UE indicating that the UE is the wake up during next ON time during DRX cycle, where the serving gNB updates the dormancy configuration to remove the one or more SCells from the dormancy list to wake up the selected monitoring occasions, and sends the updated WUS configuration to the UE to remove the one or more SCells from dormancy list (paragraphs [0125], [0129], [0130]); the wireless nodes operate in multiple frequency ranges, FR1 (from 450 to 6000 MHz), FR2 (from 24250 to 52600 MHz), FR3 (above 52600 MHz), and FR4 (between FR1 and FR2), and one of the frequencies utilized by the base stations is an anchor carrier (or “PCell”) and other frequencies utilized by the base stations are secondary carriers (“SCells”) (paragraphs [0050] – [0051]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of He and Kumar before him or her, to incorporate the serving gNB sending WUS configuration as taught by Kumar, to improve the UE of He for activating first transceiver to monitor PCell or activating second transceiver to monitor SCell. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption (paragraph [0004] of Kumar).
Regarding claim 20, He and Kumar disclose the apparatus according to claim 11, but He does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to perform at least one of:
in response to the first transceiver being woken up, performing monitoring of the wakeup signal or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) based on the DRX parameter of the first DRX group;
or,
in response to the second transceiver being woken up, performing monitoring of the wakeup signal or the PDCCH based on the DRX parameter of the second DRX group.
He discloses the UE acquires DRX related information from a system information block (SIB) 2, where the paging message is received by monitoring the PDCCH on a Paging Occasion (PO) in the DRX cycle, and the UE is only required to monitor to its own PO, such that the UE monitors and receives downlink channels and signals, including the PDCCH, within the “on duration” of the DRX cycle (paragraphs [0050] – [0054]), and Kumar discloses the serving gNB sends a WUS signal to the UE indicating that the UE is the wake up during next ON time during DRX cycle, where the serving gNB updates the dormancy configuration to remove the one or more SCells from the dormancy list to wake up the selected monitoring occasions, and sends the updated WUS configuration to the UE to remove the one or more SCells from dormancy list (paragraphs [0125], [0129], [0130]); the wireless nodes operate in multiple frequency ranges, FR1 (from 450 to 6000 MHz), FR2 (from 24250 to 52600 MHz), FR3 (above 52600 MHz), and FR4 (between FR1 and FR2), and one of the frequencies utilized by the base stations is an anchor carrier (or “PCell”) and other frequencies utilized by the base stations are secondary carriers (“SCells”) (paragraphs [0050] – [0051]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of He and Kumar before him or her, to incorporate the serving gNB sending WUS configuration as taught by Kumar, to improve the UE of He for activating first transceiver to monitor the PDCCH based on the DRX parameter of the PCell or activating second transceiver to monitor the PDCCH based on the DRX parameter of the SCell. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption (paragraph [0004] of Kumar).
Regarding claim 21, He and Kumar disclose the apparatus according to claim 11, but He does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to perform at least one of:
in response to the first transceiver being woken up, starting an inactive timer of the first DRX group corresponding to the first transceiver;
or,
in response to the second transceiver being woken up, starting an inactive timer of the second DRX group corresponding to the second transceiver.
Kumar discloses the serving gNB sends a WUS signal to the UE indicating that the UE is the wake up during next ON time during DRX cycle, where the serving gNB updates the dormancy configuration to remove the one or more SCells from the dormancy list to wake up the selected monitoring occasions, and sends the updated WUS configuration to the UE to remove the one or more SCells from dormancy list (paragraphs [0125], [0129], [0130]); where PDCCH-based WUS indicates there is no DL grant (i.e., WUS indicates UE is to remain in inactive mode) and indicates there is an instance of a DL grant (i.e., WUS indicates that the UE is to wake-up at the next ON mode of the DRX cycle) (paragraph [0106]); the DRX configuration includes the time the UE is awake/active (the “active time”) based on the length of the DRX inactivity timer and the time at which the PDCCH is received, specifically, the UE starts the DRX inactivity timer and stays in the active state until the expiration of that timer when the PDDCH is received (which is reset each time a PDDCH is received during the active time) (paragraph [0093]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of He and Kumar before him or her, to incorporate the serving gNB sending WUS configuration as taught by Kumar, to improve the UE of He for activating first transceiver to monitor the PDCCH based on the DRX parameter of the PCell or activating second transceiver to monitor the PDCCH based on the DRX parameter of the SCell. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption (paragraph [0004] of Kumar).
Regarding claim 22, He and Kumar disclose the apparatus according to claim 11, but He does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to:
receive capability information sent by an access network device;
wherein, the capability information is configured to indicate: supporting the first type transceiver to wake up at least one of the first transceiver or the second transceiver in the second type transceiver after the first type transceiver receives the wakeup signal.
Kumar discloses the serving gNB sends a WUS signal to the UE indicating that the UE is the wake up during next ON time during DRX cycle, where the serving gNB updates the dormancy configuration to remove the one or more SCells from the dormancy list to wake up the selected monitoring occasions, and sends the updated WUS configuration to the UE to remove the one or more SCells from dormancy list (paragraphs [0125], [0129], [0130]); where the dormancy configuration includes the SCELL list configured for dormancy in the initial RRC configuration, e.g. as part of the initial capability signaling from the serving base station (paragraph [0116]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of He and Kumar before him or her, to incorporate the serving gNB sending WUS configuration as taught by Kumar, to improve the UE of He for activating first transceiver to monitor the PCell or activating second transceiver to monitor the SCell. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption (paragraph [0004] of Kumar).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
HWANG et al (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0306953) – the communication device transmits a WUS for setting a group WUS configuration related to the setting of a WUS resource for each UE group, transmitting the set group WUS configuration, and transmitting a WUS on the basis of the group WUS configuration, wherein the group WUS configuration is divided into a second WUS configuration for discontinuous reception (DRX) and a first WUS configuration for eDRX
SEO et al (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0124623) – the WUS is monitored in the monitoring occasion if a monitoring occasion is present in a monitoring window for monitoring DCI (WUS) comprising a wake-up indication, and the relevant operation is performed in a DRX ON duration on the basis if the WUS is detected, where the WUS indicates whether or not to wake up from a plurality of DRX cycles, indicates various configurations in accordance with the length of the DRX cycles, and the terminal wakes up from a DRX cycle linked to the monitoring occasion and performs PDCCH monitoring for a general DCI detection not comprising a wake-up indication monitoring occasion is not present in the monitoring window
LYU et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0309061) – the terminal in a first terminal group receives PEI (paging early indication) sent by a network device, where the PEI indicates whether at least one terminal in the terminal group is to receive paging indication information, and the terminal group corresponds to a paging occasion (PO) group
/Kai Chang/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468