DETAILED ACTION
The following Office Action is in response to the Non-Provisional Patent Application filed on October 18, 2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-9, 11-15, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Straub et al. (US 2012/0179181, hereinafter Straub).
Concerning claim 1, the Straub et al. prior art reference teaches a catheter assembly for removal of material from hollow bodies (Figures 1-3 & 12AB), comprising: an outer sheath (Figure 12A; 12); an inner thrombectomy catheter disposed inside of the outer sheath (Figure 3; 3), the inner thrombectomy catheter including a distal end and a conveyor (Figures 4-10), the distal end having a distal tip being closed (Figure 4; distal tip 8 is closed by guidewire 11) and a lateral opening such that the lateral opening receives a removed material (Figure 4; 8a), and the conveyor conveying the removed material toward a proximal end of the inner thrombectomy catheter (Figure 4; 10); and an expandable member disposed between the outer sheath and the inner thrombectomy catheter expanding radially when deployed from the outer sheath and contracting when retracted in the outer sheath (Figures 1-3 & 12AB; 5).
Concerning 5, the Straub reference teaches the catheter assembly of claim 1, wherein an end portion of the expandable member is configured to be substantially parallel to a longitudinal direction of the inner thrombectomy catheter when the expandable member is deployed and expanded (Figure 3; 3, 5).
Concerning claim 6, the Straub reference teaches the catheter assembly of claim 1, wherein the expandable member is substantially symmetric around an axis of the inner thrombectomy catheter (Figures 3 & 5; 5).
Concerning claim 7, the Straub reference teaches the catheter assembly of claim 1, wherein the expandable member is capable of being rotated around an axis of the inner thrombectomy catheter independently of the inner thrombectomy catheter given the inner thrombectomy catheter and expandable member are independent catheters (Figures 1-3).
Concerning claim 8, the Straub reference teaches the catheter assembly of claim 1, wherein the distal end of the inner thrombectomy catheter and the expandable member are capable of being radially overlapped when the expandable member is deployed from the outer sheath while performing removal of the material given the thrombectomy catheter is capable of independent advancement through the expandable member.
Concerning claim 9, the Straub et al. prior art reference teaches a method of using a catheter assembly for removal of material from hollow bodies (Figures 1-3), comprising: positioning the catheter assembly at a remote site (Figures 1-3 | [¶ 0059]), the catheter assembly comprising: an outer sheath (Figure 12A; 12); an inner thrombectomy catheter disposed inside of the outer sheath (Figure 3; 3), the inner thrombectomy catheter including a distal end and a conveyor (Figures 4-10), the distal end having a distal tip being closed (Figure 4; distal tip 8 is closed by guidewire 11) and a lateral opening such that the lateral opening receives a removed material (Figure 4; 8a), and the conveyor conveying the removed material toward a proximal end of the inner thrombectomy catheter (Figure 4; 10); and an expandable member disposed between the outer sheath and the inner thrombectomy catheter expanding radially when deployed from the outer sheath and contracting when the retracted in the outer sheath (Figures 1-3 & 12AB; 5); and advancing the expandable member in a distal direction of the inner thrombectomy catheter such that the expandable member is deployed and expanded radially ([¶ 0059], expandable member is advanced distally into hollow body and deployed before the inner thrombectomy catheter is then advanced in the same direction).
Concerning claim 11, the Straub reference teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising applying aspiration forces through the lateral opening ([¶ 0035]).
Concerning claim 12, the Straub reference teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising receiving the removed material through the lateral opening, and conveying the removed material toward the proximal end of the inner thrombectomy catheter by the conveyor ([¶ 0057-0058]).
Concerning claim 13, the Straub reference teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising retracting the expandable member in the outer sheath ([¶ 0054]).
Concerning claim 14, the Straub et al. prior art reference teaches a catheter assembly for removal of material from hollow bodies (Figures 1-3 & 12AB), comprising: an outer sheath (Figure 12A; 12); an inner thrombectomy catheter disposed inside of the outer sheath (Figure 3; 3), the inner thrombectomy catheter including a distal end and a conveyor (Figures 4-10), the distal end having a distal tip (Figure 4; 8) and a lateral opening such that the lateral opening receives a removed material (Figure 4; 8a), and the conveyor conveying the removed material toward a proximal end of the inner thrombectomy catheter (Figure 4; 10); and an expandable member disposed between the outer sheath and the inner thrombectomy catheter expanding radially when deployed from the outer sheath and contracting when retracted in the outer sheath (Figures 1-3 & 12AB; 5); and a guidewire extendable through the inner thrombectomy catheter (Figure 3; 11).
Concerning claim 15, the Straub reference teaches the surgical device of claim 14, wherein the expandable member is capable of being rotated around an axis of the inner thrombectomy catheter independently of the inner thrombectomy catheter given the inner thrombectomy catheter and expandable member are independent catheters (Figures 1-3).
Concerning claim 19, the Straub reference teaches the surgical device of claim 14, wherein the distal end of the inner thrombectomy catheter and the expandable member are capable of being radially overlapped when the expandable member is deployed from the outer sheath while performing removal of the material given the thrombectomy catheter is capable of independent advancement through the expandable member.
Concerning claim 20, the Straub reference teaches the surgical device of claim 14, further comprising an aspiration device coupled to the inner thrombectomy catheter to create suction within the inner thrombectomy catheter ([¶ 0057], aspiration provided by feed screw 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Straub et al. (US 2012/0179181, hereinafter Straub) in view of Garcia et al. (US 2008/0269774, hereinafter Garcia).
Concerning claims 2-4 and 17-18, the Straub reference teaches the catheter assembly of claim 1 and the surgical device of claim 14, but does not specifically teach the expandable member including at least one prong that extends axially in a distal direction of the inner thrombectomy catheter.
However, the Garcia reference teaches a catheter assembly for removal of material from hollow bodies similar to that of the Straub reference, wherein the Garcia reference teaches an outer sheath (Figure 16A; 30), an inner thrombectomy catheter disposed inside the outer sheath (Figure 16A; 123), and an expandable member (Figure 16A; 121) disposed between the outer sheath and the inner thrombectomy catheter expanding radially when deployed from the outer sheath (Figure 5) and contracting when retracted in the outer sheath (Figure 4), wherein the expandable member may include six prongs that extend axially in a distal direction of the inner thrombectomy catheter (Figure 17A; 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the expandable member of the Straub reference with an expandable member including prongs as in the Garcia reference to allow the expandable member to be used to grasp and clamp down on an object to be removed (Garcia; [¶ 0086]).
Claim(s) 10 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Straub et al. (US 2012/0179181, hereinafter Straub) in view of Dryden (US 2015/0327876).
Concerning claim 10, the Straub reference teaches the method of claim 9, but does not specifically teach rotating the expandable member around an axis of the thrombectomy catheter.
However, the Dryden reference teaches a method of using a catheter assembly at a removal site including an expandable capture basket similar to that of the Straub reference, wherein the Straub reference teaches that the expandable capture basket may be rotated around an axis ([¶ 0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of the Straub reference include rotating the expandable member around an axis of the inner thrombectomy catheter as in the Dryden reference to assist in approaching, engaging, ensnaring, and removing the material from a hollow body (Dryden; [¶ 0019]).
Concerning claim 16, the Straub reference teaches the surgical device of claim 15, but does not specifically teach a driving mechanism to rotate the expandable member.
However, the Dryden reference teaches a catheter assembly for removal of material from hollow bodies including an expandable capture basket similar to that of the Straub reference, wherein the Dryden reference teaches that the expandable capture basket may be rotated around an axis by a drive mechanism such as a knob ([¶ 0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the surgical device of the Straub reference include a driving mechanism to rotate the expandable member as in the Dryden reference to assist in approaching, engaging, ensnaring, and removing the material from a hollow body by transferring rotation from the handle to the expandable member (Dryden; [¶ 0019]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Follmer et al. reference (US 2021/0267613) teaches a catheter assembly for obstruction removal including an inner thrombectomy catheter comprising a conveyor and an expandable member; the Syed reference (US 2019/0357926) teaches a catheter assembly for obstruction removal including an inner thrombectomy catheter and an expandable member including prongs; the Scarpine et al. reference (US 2017/0119407) teaches a thrombectomy catheter including a distal end having a distal tip being closed and a lateral opening; and the Noriega et al. reference (US 2013/0289578) teaches a catheter assembly for removal of material from hollow bodies including an expandable member comprising prongs, the expandable member being rotatable about an axis via a drive mechanism.
/MARTIN T TON/Examiner, Art Unit 3771 1/8/2026