DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/18/2024 is considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
Reference number 130 from Figure 1 is not present in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, 8, 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the phrase “the NIR reflective layer” as claim 1 does not recite or require a NIR reflective layer.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation “wherein at least one NIR transmitting layer comprises at least one pigment” is indefinite as it is unclear whether the phrase “at least one NIR transmitting layer” is referring back to the “at least one NIR transmitting layer” recited by claim 1 or an additional at least one NIR transmitting layer.
It appears that the phrase “wherein at least one NIR transmitting layer” of claim 4 is referring back to and further limiting the “at least one NIR transmitting layer” recited by claim 1. Therefore, the phrase in claim 4 should be amended to recite “wherein the at least one NIR transmitting layer”
Regarding claim 8, the phrase in lines 2-3 reciting “at least partially coating at least one NIR transmitting layer” is indefinite as it is unclear whether the phrase “at least one NIR transmitting layer” is referring back to the “at least one NIR transmitting layer” recited by claim 1 or an additional at least one NIR transmitting layer.
It appears that the phrase “wherein at least one NIR transmitting layer” of claim 8 is referring back to and further limiting the “at least one NIR transmitting layer” recited by claim 1. Therefore, the phrase in claim 8 should be amended to recite ““at least partially coating the at least one NIR transmitting layer”
Regarding claim 9, the limitation reciting “wherein the coating system is a LiDAR visible” is indefinite. It is not clear whether the phrase was unintentionally truncated and was meant to recite “wherein the coating system is a LiDAR visible coating system” or if the “a” should be removed to recite “wherein the coating system is LiDAR visible”, or what further structure was mean to be conveyed by this limitation.
Regarding claim 18, the limitation “A method of preparing the coating system of Claim 1” is indefinite. The claim is directed to a method of preparing the coating system, but does not recite any method steps and therefore it is not clear what structure is required by the claim regarding the claimed method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Decker et al. (WO 2018/081613 A1; cited on IDS and ISR).
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 9, Decker et al. teaches a near IR reflective coating that allows for increased near IR detection distance of an object coated with said coating by LiDAR systems, wherein the coating is comprised of a first coating layer that is transparent to NIR (at least one NIR transmitting layer) partially coating a second coating layer that is a NIR reflective layer (at least one converter layer) ([0015, 0020-0034, 0043, 0082]). The NIR reflective layer (at least one converter layer) has an L* value ranging from 40 to 95 in the CIELAB system and typically exhibits a grey color ([0043-0064]), which overlaps with the claimed L* range of 0-80 of claim 1 of the instant application. It has been held that wherein in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exits.
Regarding claim 3, Decker et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as recited above, and further teaches that the NIR reflective layer (at least one converter layer) comprises a film forming resin and a near-IR reflective pigment ([0044-0062]).
Regarding claims 4, 5 and 6, Decker et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as recited above, and further teaches that the first coating layer that is transparent to NIR (at least one NIR transmitting layer) is comprised of a film forming resin and a visibly absorbing NIR transparent pigment such as the inorganic and organic pigments listed in paragraphs [0037-0039] of the reference ([0028-0039]).
Regarding claim 7, Decker et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as recited above, and further teaches that the second coating of the NIR reflective layer (at least one converter layer) is a primer surfacer coating ([0024]).
Regarding claim 8, Decker et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as recited above, and further teaches that the near IR reflective coating can further comprise a clear coating or top coat positioned over at least a portion of the first coating layer that is transparent to NIR (at least one NIR transmitting layer) ([0025]).
Regarding claims 10, 11 and 12, Decker et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as recited above, and further teaches that the near IR reflective coating has reflectance and is detectable in the near-IR range such as 900-1600nm ([0082]), which is encompassed by the ranges recited in claims 10, 11 and 12 of the instant application.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Decker et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as recited above, and further teaches that the near IR reflective coating is at least partially coated on a substrate such as metallic, non-metallic, plastic, wood, wood composite, cement, glass, ceramic and the like ([0022]).
Regarding claim 15, Decker et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as recited above, and further teaches that the near IR reflective coating is at least partially coated on a substrate including plastic ([0022]), which is disclosed by the instant application as a non-NIR reflective substrate (see pg-pub [0019] of instant application).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Decker et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as recited above, and further teaches that the substrate can be pretreated with an electrodeposited coating (e-coating) ([0023]).
Regarding claim 18, Decker et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as recited above. As stated in the 112b rejection above, claim 18 does not recite or require any specific method steps and therefore is indefinite as to what limitations and features are required. Decker et al. further teaches throughout the disclosure suitable materials used to form the near IR reflective coating, with specific examples of forming various near IR reflective coating disclosed in [0088-0159].
Regarding claim 19, Decker et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as recited above, and further teaches near IR reflective coating is coated onto objects such as vehicles, roofs, road traffic safety products, signage, building, structure and any obstacle that may be located in a path of a moving vehicle ([0015]).
Conclusion
LAURA POWERS
Examiner
Art Unit 1785
/LAURA C POWERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785