DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
1. (Proposed Amendment) A method performed by a terminal of a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving a wakeup-related signal from a base station through a wakeup receiver configured to receive only the wakeup-related signal;
changing an operation state of a main radio, which transmits/receives data, based on the wakeup-related signal;
changing an operation state of the wakeup receiver[[,]] based on the activated or inactivated state of the main radio; and
maintaining independent configuration settings for the wakeup receiver and the main radio.
2. (Proposed Amendment) The method of claim 1, changing the operation state of the main radio based on the wakeup-related signal, wherein when the wakeup-related signal indicates a main radio ON state, the method further comprises controlling the state of the main radio to be ON or transitioning the terminal to a radio resource control (RRC) connected state.
3. (Proposed Amendment) The method of claim 2, wherein, responsive to the wakeup-related signal received via the main radio, the terminal transitions its state to the RRC connected state and initiates a random access procedure either immediately or upon the expiration ofa predetermined time.
4. (Proposed Amendment) The method of claim 1, based on the wakeup-related signal, if the signal indicates that the main radio OFFor changes the terminal state to a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or RRC idle state.
5. (Proposed Amendment) The method of claim 1,
wherein when the determined state of the main radio is OFF, the terminal is in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or an RRC idle state, and
wherein when the determined state of the main radio is ON, the terminal is in an RRC connected state.
6. (Proposed Amendment) The method of claim 1,
wherein, in determining the state of the wakeup receiver[[,]] based on the state of the main radio, if the determined state of the main radio is OFF, the wakeup receiver is controlled to be ON, and
if the determined state of the main radio is ON, the wakeup receiver is controlled to be OFF.
7. (Proposed Amendment) The method of claim 1, further comprising switching the state of the main radio to an OFF state after transmission/reception of the data is completed.
8. (Proposed Amendment) The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving configuration information regarding operations of the wakeup receiver from the base station,
wherein the configuration information includes at least one of a state change period of the wakeup receiver, a state mapping between the wakeup receiver and the main radio, and a signal providing period of the base station.
9. (Proposed Amendment) A terminal of a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising:
a wakeup receiver configured to receive only a wakeup-related signal;
a main radio configured to transmit/receive data; and
at least one processor,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive [[a]] the wakeup-related signal from a base station through [[a]] the wakeup receiver,
determine a state of a main radio based on the wakeup-related signal, and
determine a state of the wakeup receiver[[,]] based on the state of the main radio, and
wherein the wakeup receiver and the main radio operate independently .
10. (Proposed Amendment) The terminal of claim 9, wherein the at least one processor is configured to, when the wakeup-related signal indicates a main radio ON state, turn on the main radio or transition the terminal to a radio resource control (RRC) connected state.
11. (Proposed Amendment) The terminal of claim 10, wherein the at least one processor is configured to, when the wakeup-related signal indicates a main radio ON state, turn on the main radio or transition the terminal to a radio resource control (RRC) connected state.
12. (Proposed Amendment) The terminal of claim 9, wherein the at least one processor is configured to, when the wakeup-related signal indicates a main radio OFF condition, deactivate the main radio or transition the state of the terminal to a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or RRC idle state.
13. (Proposed Amendment) The terminal of claim 9,
wherein when the determined state of the main radio is OFF, the terminal is in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or an RRC idle state, and
wherein when the determined state of the main radio is ON, the terminal is in an RRC connected state.
14. (Proposed Amendment) The terminal of claim 9,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to: configure the wakeup receiver to be ON when the determined state of the main radio is OFF;
and configured the wakeup receiver to be OFF when the determined state of the main radio is ON.
15. (Proposed Amendment) The terminal of claim 9,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive configuration information for the wakeup receiver from the base station,
the configuration information comprises at least one of: a state change period of the wakeup receiver; a state mapping between the wakeup receiver and the main radio; and a signal providing period of the base station.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim 11 is objected under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8, 9-10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KIM et al. (US 2021/0051580 A1), hereinafter “Kim”.
Kim illustrates a WLAN system 500 in FIG. 5 comprises a first wireless UE 510 includes a main radio module 511 and a WUR module 512 and a second wireless UE 520 includes a router or 802.11 radio. The WUR module 512 may transfer a wake-up signal 523 to the main radio module 511 in a doze state (e.g., OFF state) in order to accurately receive a data packet 522 to be received after a wake-up packet 521. The data packet 522 is a WLAN packet and can be implemented based on various PPDU formats, the wake-up signal 523 may be implemented based on an internal primitive of the first wireless UE 510. The wake-up signal 523 is received in the main radio module 511 in the doze state (e.g., OFF state), the first wireless UE 510 may control the main radio module 511 to transition to the awake state (i.e., ON state). The main radio module 511 transitions from the doze state (e.g., OFF state) to the awake state (i.e., ON state), the first wireless UE 510 may activate all or some of a plurality of circuits (not shown) supporting Wi-Fi, BT radio, and BLE radio included in the main radio module 511. Actual data included the wake-up packet 521 may be directly transferred to a memory block (not shown) of a receiving UE even if the main radio module 511 is in the doze state (e.g., OFF state).
FIG. 19 illustrates an example of a UE applying a station (STA) 1900 includes a processor 1910, a memory 1920, and a transceiver 1930. The processor 1910 may implement functions, processes, and/or methods and receive a signal through the transceiver 1930, process the received signal, generate a transmission signal, and perform a control operation for signal transmission. The details of the transceiver 1930 is shown in FIG. 20 and performs signal transmission/reception operations. More specifically, the transceiver 1930 may transmit/receive a WUR packet or IEEE 802.11 packet.
Regarding claim 9, Kim illustrates a terminal (UE 510) of a wireless communication system (WLAN system 500 in FIG. 5, the UE 510 shown in FIG. 19 applies to the STA 1900 includes the processor 1910, the memory 1920, and the transceiver 1930), the terminal comprising: a wakeup receiver (WUR module 512); a main radio (main radio module 511); and at least one processor (processor 1910), wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive a wakeup-related signal (wake-up packet/signal 521) from a base station (router of the UE 520) through the wakeup receiver configured to receive only the wakeup-related signal, determine a state of the main radio (doze state, e.g., OFF state) configured to transmit/receive data, based on the wakeup-related signal, and determine a state (awake state i.e., ON state) of the wakeup receiver, based on the state of the main radio, and wherein the wakeup receiver and the main radio are independently configured.
Applicant note Kim anticipates the apparatus of claim 9 by disclosing a terminal with a wake-up receiver and a main radio that independently and interactively transition between states, including activating Wi-Fi, BT, or BLE circuits, receiving a wakeup-related signal, determining the state of the main radio, and managing the wakeup receiver's state in coordination. For example, the first wireless UE 510 (terminal) comprising the main radio module 511 and the WUR (wake-up receiver) module 512. The second wireless UE 520 or router sending the wake-up packet 521 received by the WUR module 512 in the first UE 510. The WUR module 512 receives the wake-up packet/signal 521 to transition the main radio.
Regarding claim 1, similar to the apparatus claim 9, the recited method steps correspond to the processor features and functions set forth in apparatus claim 9.
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Kim inherently supports the subject matter of the dependent claims because it explicitly discloses transitioning a main radio from a doze/OFF state to an ON/awake state based on a wake-up signal.
Regarding claims 8 and 15, as described in paragraph [0252] and shown in FIG. 18, in step S1810, the WUR STA enters the WUR mode. A method for entering the WUR mode may be variously determined, and, for example, the WUR STA may enter the WUR mode based on the example of FIG. 11, and so on. The WUR mode may be a period during which the WUR module alternates between the WUR on state and the WUR doze state. He inherently applies to the claims because alternating between an “on state” and a “doze state” directly defines a state change period (duty cycling) and operation parameters for the wakeup receiver. For example, alternating between on and doze states inherently establishes a timing cycle or period for state changes. Further, the method where WUR mode entry and state alternation are determined maps to configuration parameters of a wakeup schedule.
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9-11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by HE et al. (US 2021/0051580 A1), hereinafter “He”.
He illustrates a signaling diagram in FIG. 5 for entering into a wakeup radio (WUR) state between a gNG 520 and a UE 505. The UE 505 comprises a main radio (MR) 510 and a wakeup radio (WUR) 515. The MR 510 may be considered a component of a UE transceiver and may include one or more receivers, one or more transmitters, and circuitry for performing network operations in the existing RRC states, while the WUR 515 may comprise only a WUR receiver (WURx) and associated circuitry for performing the various WUR functionalities. In some aspects, the WUR may be used in conjunction with the MR 510 to receive certain signals, e.g., WUR-RS, while the UE 505 is in an existing RRC state. The gNB 520 operating as a serving cell for the UE 505.
As shown in FUG. 5, in optional 525, the UE 505 sends a WUR request to the gNB 520 using the UE MR 510. The WUR request 525 may be used in scenarios where WUR configuration parameters are provided through dedicated RRC signaling. The WUR request 525 may comprise assistance information that the gNB 520 may use to determine whether the request to enable the WUR state should be granted. For example, the assistance information may comprise SS-RSRP measurements, mobility status, throughput profile, traffic profile, etc. In 530, the UE 505 receives from the gNB 520 (on the MR 510) a set of configuration parameters related to WUR operation. A first parameter that may be received from the gNB 520 is for WUR enabling and indicates whether the WUR operation is enabled for the serving cell. A second parameter that may be received from the gNB 520 is for a WUR Reference Signaling (WUR-RS) configuration and includes a time and frequency resource allocation for the WUR-RS reception, including e.g., a periodicity, a timing offset, and a bandwidth. In some embodiments, to be described below, the WUR-RS may be used to allow measurements by the WUR 515 to determine whether the UE should enter into one of the legacy RRC states (e.g., the RRC_CONNECTED state), for example due to UE mobility. A third parameter that may be received from the gNB 520 in the WUR configuration parameters is related to a triggering condition for switching from the WUR state to one of the existing RRC states (e.g., the CONNECTED state). This trigger condition may be, for example, an energy threshold (e.g., RSRP threshold) indicating a threshold value wherein, when the RSRP measurements for WUR-RS are below the threshold for some duration, the UE switches to an existing RRC state to, for example, perform mobility measurements using the MR 510.
FIG. 2 illustrates the UE 110 that may represent any electronic device and may include a processor 205, a memory arrangement 210, a display device 215, an input/output (I/O) device 220, a transceiver 225, other components 230, a wakeup radio (WUR) 235, and a main radio (MR) 238. However, in some exemplary embodiments, the WUR 235 may be a component of the transceiver 225. The transceiver 225 may include the WUR 235 and a main radio (MR) 238. The WUR 235 and MR 238 of the transceiver 225 may be configured to communicate with the 5G-NR RAN 120, the LTE RAN 122 shown in FIG. 1. The processor 205 may be configured to execute a plurality of engines for the UE 110. For example, the engines may include a wakeup radio (WUR) engine 240 for performing operations related to enabling/disabling the WUR 235, performing RRM measurements with the WUR 235, and other operations.
He also teaches that the a processor 205 of the UE 110 is configured to perform operations comprising: entering a radio resource control (RRC) state with a base station wherein network operations are performed using a main radio (MR); receiving a first set of parameters from the base station for wakeup radio (WUR) state operation wherein the UE enables a WUR and powers down the MR to an off state or to a deep sleep state with reduced power consumption, the first set of parameters including a parameter enabling the WUR state operation for the UE and a configuration of WUR reference signaling (WUR-RS); receiving a second set of parameters from the base station for WUR setup and a WUR signal (WUR-S) configuration; and entering the WUR state from the RRC state, wherein, while in the WUR state, the UE performs operations using the WUR including at least one of monitoring for the WUR-S, measuring the WUR-RS, or implementing a WUR discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle for WUR-S and WUR-RS signal monitoring.
Regarding claim 9, He illustrates a terminal (UE 110) of a wireless communication system (network arrangement 100 of FIG. 1), the terminal comprising: a wakeup receiver (WUR 235); a main radio (MR 238); and at least one processor (processor 205), wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive a wakeup-related signal (wake-up packet/signal 521) from a base station (eNB 120A of FIG. 3) through the wakeup receiver configured to receive only the wakeup-related signal, determine a state of the main radio (RRC state of the main radio) configured to transmit/receive data, based on the wakeup-related signal, and determine a state (WUR state) of the wakeup receiver, based on the state of the main radio, and wherein the wakeup receiver and the main radio are independently configured.
Applicant note He discloses entering an RRC state using a main radio (MR) and discloses receiving parameters to enable a wakeup radio (WUR) state. The UE powers down the MR to save power while keeping the WUR active, it matches receiving a wakeup-related signal through a receiver meant for that purpose and controlling the main radio state. He also provides separate sets of parameters for the main radio operations, WUR state setup, and signal configurations (WUR-RS and WUR-S). Powering down the MR while the WUR performs monitoring, measuring, and discontinuous reception (DRX) cycles shows that the states of the WUR and the MR are managed in a coordinated, independent manner based on network parameters.
Regarding claim 1, similar to the apparatus claim 9, the recited method steps correspond to the processor features and functions set forth in apparatus claim 9.
Regarding claims 2 and 10 or 11, He inherently anticipates the dependent claims because the fundamental concept of the wakeup radio (WUR) triggering the main radio (MR) to power on or resume an active connection is structurally and functionally tied to the primary independent acts. For example, a wakeup radio has no practical utility in a low-power state unless its detection of a wakeup signal (WUR-S) results in transitioning the main communication hardware back to an active state. Controlling a primary transceiver state based on a secondary or auxiliary low-power receiver alert is a foundational engineering principle in DRX and dual-radio power management architectures. Transitioning back out of that sleep/WUR state upon receiving an activation indicator directly maps to turning the main radio ON or re-engaging the RRC connected/active mode. Therefore, the dependent claim limitation adds no new, non-anticipated functional distinction over the primary system flow.
Regarding claims 5 and 13, He inherently anticipates the dependent claims because mapping an OFF main radio to RRC Idle/Inactive and an ON main radio to RRC connected maps directly to basic, standard wireless definitions. In 3GPP systems, when the main radio (MR) is completely off or in deep sleep, the device cannot actively exchange data with the network, which defines an RRC Idle or RRC Inactive state. When the main radio is powered on and active, the device maintains an active connection context with the base station, which defines the RRC connected state.
Regarding claims 6, 7, and 14, He states that the UE powers down the main radio to an OFF state and enables the wakeup radio when entering the wakeup radio state. When the main radio is active for normal network operations, the wakeup radio is not needed for primary data and is implicitly or explicitly powered down. These two operational states as mutually exclusive binary toggles explicitly described by He. Further, the independent claim already recites powering down the main radio while enabling the wakeup radio to save battery. Controlling the wakeup radio to be ON when the main radio is OFF, and OFF when the main radio is ON, is a simple complementary control logic.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He.
Regarding claims 3, as applied to claims 1 and 2, although He does not explicitly disclose the limitations of the claim regarding performing a random access immediately or after a predetermined time upon receiving a wakeup signal, He describes transitioning into and operating within a WUR state (monitoring WUR-S and WUR-RS), but it does not state that the UE executes a random access procedure via the main radio (MR) immediately or after a set delay upon a wakeup event. The concept that a terminal must power up its main radio and initiate a random access channel (RACH) procedure to re-establish active communication after receiving a paging or wakeup notification is standard textbook behavior in cellular communications (LTE/5G NR), such as He’s 5G NR-RAN 120 and the LTE-RAN 122 described in at least paragraphs [0022]-[0026].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art as taught by He to combine the specific WUR power-saving framework of He’s communication network with the conventional post-wakeup random access trigger mechanism in order to resume data transfer for fast state transitions.
Regarding claims 4 and 12, as applied to claims 1 and 9, respectively, although He does not explicitly show or teach all limitations of claim 4 or claim 12, He describes powering down the main radio (MR) to an off or deep sleep state while keeping the wakeup radio (WUR) active, but He does not explicitly teach of evaluating a “wakeup-related signal indicating main radio OFF” to actively force the MR to OFF or transition the device state to an explicit RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE state. He teaches the general knowledge in wireless communication standards, such as 5G NR-RAN 120 and the LTE-RAN 122 described in at least paragraphs [0022]-[0026].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art as taught by He to tie a “main radio off” or sleep command to traditional RRC Idle or Inactive states, as these states represent the standard network mechanisms for managing power when main data links are unneeded in order to keep the main radio components shut down or sleep based on signaling triggers to save battery or energy.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PARK et al. (US 2019/0253972 A1) relates to a method, for managing power, performed by means of a first wireless terminal of the present specification comprises the steps of: transmitting to a second wireless terminal a turn-off packet comprising a power indicator, which indicates that a main radio module enters into a deactivated state, and a TWT request parameter set which is for requesting a TWT operation for a WUR module; if a response packet comprising a TWT response parameter set as a response to the TWT request parameter set is received from the second wireless terminal, indicating the WUR module to maintain a turn-off state until entering a TWT service interval in accordance with the TWT response parameter set; indicating the WUR module to enter into a turn-on state from a turn-off state when entering the TWT service interval; determining whether or not update information is received from the second wireless terminal on the basis of the WUR module in the TWT service interval; and, if the update information is received in the TWT service interval, indicating the main radio module to enter into an activated state.
Cox et al. (US 2020/0029302 A1) relates to systems and methods of reducing power consumption associated with paging or cDRX mode are described. A wake-up receiver (WUR) wakes up from an idle mode or cDRX state. Whether a wake-up signal (WUS) has been received by the WUR is determined. The WUS is a low-complexity signal that is less complicated than a PDCCH or PDSCH and is repeated multiple times at resource elements as indicated in a configuration from an eNB. If received, a baseband transceiver wakes up for reception of a PDCCH for the UE in a PO when the UE is in the idle mode or a PDSCH for the UE when the UE is in the cDRX state.
KIM et al. (US 2019/0253972 A1) relates to a method for performing communication based on a power saving operation in a wireless LAN system according to an embodiment includes: receiving, by a first wireless terminal including a main radio module and a wake-up radio (WUR) module for receiving a wake-up packet modulated with on-off keying (OOK), the wake-up packet from a second wireless terminal based on the WUR module in a WUR mode in which the WUR module is controlled to alternate between a turn-on state and a turn-off state based on a power state of the main radio module, the wake-up packet including information related to an individually addressed frame for the first wireless terminal; and controlling, by the first wireless terminal, the main radio module such that the main radio module is in an awake state in a predetermined service period related to the main radio module when a predetermined time has elapsed after reception of the wake-up packet.
MIAO et al. (US 2021/0234657 A1) relates to a method and apparatus of transmitting a reference signal and a method and apparatus of receiving a reference signal are provided. The method of transmitting a reference signal is applied to a network device, and includes transmitting a reference signal to a user equipment, wherein, the reference signal is consecutively transmitted through a preset number of subframes, and the reference signal is used for the user equipment to perform radio resource management RRM measurement or channel parameter measurement or synchronization tracking.
SHRIVASTAVA et al. (US 2022/0217636 A1) relates to a method disclosed herein includes enabling, a User Equipment (UE), to monitor a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) for downlink control information based on a reception of power saving signals from a Base Station with respect to a discontinuous-reception (DRX) cycle. The power saving signals include a Wake Up Signal (WUS), Go To Sleep (GTS) signal and PDCCH adaptation signal. The method further includes enabling the UE to monitor the PDCCH, if the WUS indicates presence of the PDCCH and enables the UE to skip the monitoring of the PDCCH during an On-duration of the DRX cycle, if the WUS indicates absence of the PDCCH. The method further includes enabling the UE to skip the monitoring of the PDCCH in an active time of the DRX cycle, on receiving the GTS signal.
Oteri et al. (US 2024/0196469 A1) relates to a Apparatuses, systems, and methods for a wakeup radio in a wireless communication system, e.g., in 5G NR systems and beyond. An RRC state is introduced to support a wakeup radio/, including defining transition mechanisms to/from existing RRC states. Further, signaling is introduced to activate a wakeup radio/activate an RRC low power state. Additionally, a bandwidth part framework for a wakeup signal is defined in which a base station may configure one or more time/frequency resources or a wakeup signal for a wakeup radio. In addition, various mechanisms are introduced to switch a wakeup radio on as well as to switch a wakeup radio off. Also, mechanisms are introduced for multiplexing multiple wakeup signals in a time/frequency resource, configuring a wakeup signal bandwidth, and configuring which beam a wakeup signal may be received on.
/Young T. Tse/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632