DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 10/18/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 6, 10, 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites “wherein the first message include an MBSBroadcastConfiguration message, and the second message include an MBSinterestlndication message”. “include” should be plural, ie. “includes”. It should read “wherein the first message includes an MBSBroadcastConfiguration message, and the second message includes an MBSinterestlndication message”. This same objection applies to Claims 6, 10, 14.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
112(b):
Claim(s) 3, 7, 11, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3, 7, 11, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: plurality of MBS broadcast sessions. Claims 3, 7, 11, 15 recite “wherein each of the MBS broadcast session includes a different QoE configuration information”. This limitation implies a plurality of MBS Broadcast session(s) but only one MBS broadcast session is claimed. For examination purposes, this will be interpreted as “wherein .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-9, 11-13, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2022/0038934 Al (Kumar934).
Regarding Claim 1:
Kumar934 teaches A method performed by a terminal (Fig 2, UE 205) in a wireless communication system (Fig 2, system 200), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a first message including quality of experience (QoE) configuration information; (Figs 6-8 show the serving base station transmitting the QoE configuration to the UE. [0026] transmitting a measurement request to the UE indicating the QoE variables to include in the set of QoE variables, where the measurement report indicating the set of QoE variables may be received in response to the measurement request. [0028] transmitting a resource status request to a set of target base stations including the target base station indicated in the measurement report, the resource status request indicating a QoE constraint of the UE and the set of QoE variables of the UE, receiving a resource status response from the target base station indicating support of the QoE constraint of the UE, and transmitting, based on the resource status response, a connection reconfiguration message to the UE identifying the target base station to perform the handover procedure to establish the new communication link. [0104] UE 205 may have performed an access procedure with base station 210 to establish the communication link, with base station 210 being the serving base station of UE 205.)
performing a QoE measurement, based on the QoE configuration information; ([0105] QoE variables may be measured, observed, identified, or otherwise obtained at the application layer of UE 205. The QoE variables may generally correspond to variables indicative of the quality of the overall user experience at the application layer. In some aspects, the QoE variables may capture an average application layer QoE performance (e.g., the QoE measurements).)
and transmitting, to the base station, a second message including a result of the QoE measurement, ([0026] transmitting a measurement request to the UE indicating the QoE variables to include in the set of QoE variables, where the measurement report indicating the set of QoE variables may be received in response to the measurement request. [0055][0100] The UE 115 may transmit a measurement report to the serving base station indicating information associated with the quality of experience variables and the radio resource management variables in a multi-layer readable format.[0104] UE 205 may transmit a measurement report 225 to base station 210 carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the RRM variables 230.)
wherein the first message is broadcast from the base station. ([0101] A base station 105 (e.g., when the base station 105 is a serving base station of a UE 115) may establish a communication link with a UE 115. [0100] Service types: … Multicast Broadcast Services (MBS).)
Regarding Claim 5:
A method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system (Fig 2, System 200, [0118] neighboring base stations, 210 215, 220), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a terminal, a first message including quality of experience configuration (QoE) information; (Figs 6-8 show the serving base station transmitting the QoE configuration to the UE. [0026] transmitting a measurement request to the UE indicating the QoE variables to include in the set of QoE variables, where the measurement report indicating the set of QoE variables may be received in response to the measurement request. [0028] transmitting a resource status request to a set of target base stations including the target base station indicated in the measurement report, the resource status request indicating a QoE constraint of the UE and the set of QoE variables of the UE, receiving a resource status response from the target base station indicating support of the QoE constraint of the UE, and transmitting, based on the resource status response, a connection reconfiguration message to the UE identifying the target base station to perform the handover procedure to establish the new communication link. [0104] UE 205 may have performed an access procedure with base station 210 to establish the communication link, with base station 210 being the serving base station of UE 205.)
and receiving, from the terminal, a second message including a result of a QoE measurement, ([0026] transmitting a measurement request to the UE indicating the QoE variables to include in the set of QoE variables, where the measurement report indicating the set of QoE variables may be received in response to the measurement request. [0055][0100] The UE 115 may transmit a measurement report to the serving base station indicating information associated with the quality of experience variables and the radio resource management variables in a multi-layer readable format.[0104] UE 205 may transmit a measurement report 225 to base station 210 carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the RRM variables 230.)
wherein the first message is broadcast, ([0101] A base station 105 (e.g., when the base station 105 is a serving base station of a UE 115) may establish a communication link with a UE 115. [0100] Service types: … Multicast Broadcast Services (MBS).)
and the QoE measurement is based on the QoE configuration information. ([0026] transmitting a measurement request to the UE indicating the QoE variables to include in the set of QoE variables, where the measurement report indicating the set of QoE variables may be received in response to the measurement request. [0105] QoE variables may be measured, observed, identified, or otherwise obtained at the application layer of UE 205. The QoE variables may generally correspond to variables indicative of the quality of the overall user experience at the application layer. In some aspects, the QoE variables may capture an average application layer QoE performance (e.g., the QoE measurements).)
Regarding Claim 9:
A terminal (Fig 2, UE 205) in a wireless communication system (Fig 2, system 200), the terminal comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver (Fig 12, Transceiver 1220 coupled to Processor 1240 via bus 1245) and configured to:
receive, from a base station, a first message including quality of experience (QoE) configuration information, (Figs 6-8 show the serving base station transmitting the QoE configuration to the UE. [0026] transmitting a measurement request to the UE indicating the QoE variables to include in the set of QoE variables, where the measurement report indicating the set of QoE variables may be received in response to the measurement request. [0028] transmitting a resource status request to a set of target base stations including the target base station indicated in the measurement report, the resource status request indicating a QoE constraint of the UE and the set of QoE variables of the UE, receiving a resource status response from the target base station indicating support of the QoE constraint of the UE, and transmitting, based on the resource status response, a connection reconfiguration message to the UE identifying the target base station to perform the handover procedure to establish the new communication link. [0104] UE 205 may have performed an access procedure with base station 210 to establish the communication link, with base station 210 being the serving base station of UE 205.)
perform a QoE measurement, based on the QoE configuration information, ([0105] QoE variables may be measured, observed, identified, or otherwise obtained at the application layer of UE 205. The QoE variables may generally correspond to variables indicative of the quality of the overall user experience at the application layer. In some aspects, the QoE variables may capture an average application layer QoE performance (e.g., the QoE measurements).)
and transmit, to the base station, a second message including a result of the QoE measurement, ([0026] transmitting a measurement request to the UE indicating the QoE variables to include in the set of QoE variables, where the measurement report indicating the set of QoE variables may be received in response to the measurement request. [0055][0100] The UE 115 may transmit a measurement report to the serving base station indicating information associated with the quality of experience variables and the radio resource management variables in a multi-layer readable format.[0104] UE 205 may transmit a measurement report 225 to base station 210 carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the RRM variables 230.)
wherein the first message is broadcast from the base station. ([0101] A base station 105 (e.g., when the base station 105 is a serving base station of a UE 115) may establish a communication link with a UE 115. [0100] Service types: … Multicast Broadcast Services (MBS).)
Regarding Claim 13:
A base station in a wireless communication system (Fig 2, System 200, [0118] neighboring base stations, 210 215, 220), the base station comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver (Fig 12, Transceiver 1220 coupled to Processor 1240 via bus 1245) and configured to:
transmit, to a terminal, a first message including quality of experience configuration (QoE) information, (Figs 6-8 show the serving base station transmitting the QoE configuration to the UE. [0026] transmitting a measurement request to the UE indicating the QoE variables to include in the set of QoE variables, where the measurement report indicating the set of QoE variables may be received in response to the measurement request. [0028] transmitting a resource status request to a set of target base stations including the target base station indicated in the measurement report, the resource status request indicating a QoE constraint of the UE and the set of QoE variables of the UE, receiving a resource status response from the target base station indicating support of the QoE constraint of the UE, and transmitting, based on the resource status response, a connection reconfiguration message to the UE identifying the target base station to perform the handover procedure to establish the new communication link. [0104] UE 205 may have performed an access procedure with base station 210 to establish the communication link, with base station 210 being the serving base station of UE 205.)
and receive, from the terminal, a second message including a result of a QoE measurement, ([0026] transmitting a measurement request to the UE indicating the QoE variables to include in the set of QoE variables, where the measurement report indicating the set of QoE variables may be received in response to the measurement request. [0055][0100] The UE 115 may transmit a measurement report to the serving base station indicating information associated with the quality of experience variables and the radio resource management variables in a multi-layer readable format.[0104] UE 205 may transmit a measurement report 225 to base station 210 carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the RRM variables 230.)
wherein the first message is broadcast, ([0101] A base station 105 (e.g., when the base station 105 is a serving base station of a UE 115) may establish a communication link with a UE 115. [0100] Service types: … Multicast Broadcast Services (MBS).)
and the QoE measurement is based on the QoE configuration information. ([0026] transmitting a measurement request to the UE indicating the QoE variables to include in the set of QoE variables, where the measurement report indicating the set of QoE variables may be received in response to the measurement request. [0105] QoE variables may be measured, observed, identified, or otherwise obtained at the application layer of UE 205. The QoE variables may generally correspond to variables indicative of the quality of the overall user experience at the application layer. In some aspects, the QoE variables may capture an average application layer QoE performance (e.g., the QoE measurements).)
Regarding Claims 3, 7, 11, 15:
Kumar934 teaches on the inventions of claims 1, 5, 9, 13 as described.
Kumar934 teaches wherein the first message further includes information on a multicast/broadcast service (MBS) broadcast session, wherein [[each of]] the MBS broadcast session includes a different QoE configuration information (ie. unique configuration link information based on target base station), (Figs 6-8 show the serving base station transmitting the QoE configuration to the UE. [0026][0028] transmitting a resource status request to a set of target base stations including the target base station indicated in the measurement report, the resource status request indicating a QoE constraint of the UE and the set of QoE variables of the UE, receiving a resource status response from the target base station indicating support of the QoE constraint of the UE, and transmitting, based on the resource status response, a connection reconfiguration message to the UE identifying the target base station to perform the handover procedure to establish the new communication link. [0104] UE 205 may have performed an access procedure with base station 210 to establish the communication link, with base station 210 being the serving base station of UE 205.)
and wherein the second message includes a result of a QoE measurement for at least one MBS broadcast session. ([0026] transmitting a measurement request to the UE indicating the QoE variables to include in the set of QoE variables, where the measurement report indicating the set of QoE variables may be received in response to the measurement request. [0055][0100] The UE 115 may transmit a measurement report to the serving base station indicating information associated with the quality of experience variables and the radio resource management variables in a multi-layer readable format.[0104] UE 205 may transmit a measurement report 225 to base station 210 carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the RRM variables 230.)
Regarding Claims 4, 8, 12:
Kumar934 teaches on the inventions of claims 1, 5, 9 as described.
Kumar934 teaches wherein the first message includes at least one of radio resource control (RRC) segmentation allowance information, ([0141] base station 210 may transmit an RRC configuration signal to UE 205 indicating a format for the measurement report 225 including information associated with the set of QoE variables 235 for RAN optimizations.)
a broadcast identifier, ([0190] Accordingly, at 540 serving base station 510 may transmit or otherwise convey a connection reconfiguration message (e.g., an RRCConnectionReconfiguration message) to UE 505 that identifies the target base station to perform the handover procedure with to establish a new communication link. For example, the connection reconfiguration message may identify the specific target base station (e.g., indicate a cell identifier of the target base station) that UE 505 is to perform a handover procedure with to establish the new communication link.)
a QoE configuration information identifier, ([0108] Another example of a QoE variable may include the cell identifier, e.g., an identifier associated with base station 210. That is, the application layer may identify the cell identifier of base station 210.)
or information for triggering a report of the result, ([0125] For example, base station 210 may configure UE 205 to perform QoE measurements (e.g., to identify the set of QoE variables) for mobility purposes. Base station 210 may use QoE measurements triggered by an operations and administration management (OAM) function of the network for mobility purposes. That is, base station 210 may transmit a configuration signal (e.g., a measurement request) indicating which QoE variables that UE 205 is to measure and report to base station 210. Accordingly, UE 205 may identify the QoE variables indicated in the measurement request, and includes those in the set of QoE variables.)
and wherein the information for triggering the report of the result includes at least one of a threshold for a QoE measurement value or a threshold for minimum time require to receive an MBS service. ([0110] Accordingly, in some aspects UE 205 may have a QoE constraint. Broadly, the QoE constraint of UE 205 may correspond to a requested QoE variable satisfying a particular threshold. For example, a QoE constraint may include a QoE capability of providing large amounts of data streamed for a certain time period. The QoE measurements can demonstrates whether the QoE constraints of UE 205 are satisfied.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 6, 10, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0038934 Al (Kumar934) in view of US 2023/0388891 A1 (Wu).
Regarding Claims 2, 6, 10, 14:
Kumar934 teaches on the inventions of claims 1, 5, 9, 13 as described.
Kumar934 teaches wherein the first message includes an MBSBroadcastConfiguration message, (Figs 6-8 show the serving base station transmitting the QoE configuration to the UE. [0026][0028] transmitting a resource status request to a set of target base stations including the target base station indicated in the measurement report, the resource status request indicating a QoE constraint of the UE and the set of QoE variables of the UE, receiving a resource status response from the target base station indicating support of the QoE constraint of the UE, and transmitting, based on the resource status response, a connection reconfiguration message to the UE identifying the target base station to perform the handover procedure to establish the new communication link. [0104] UE 205 may have performed an access procedure with base station 210 to establish the communication link, with base station 210 being the serving base station of UE 205.)
and the second message includes an MBS indication message. ([0026] transmitting a measurement request to the UE indicating the QoE variables to include in the set of QoE variables, where the measurement report indicating the set of QoE variables may be received in response to the measurement request. [0055][0100] The UE 115 may transmit a measurement report to the serving base station indicating information associated with the quality of experience variables and the radio resource management variables in a multi-layer readable format. [0104] UE 205 may transmit a measurement report 225 to base station 210 carrying or otherwise conveying an indication of the RRM variables 230.)
Kumar teaches on a MBS broadcast configuration message ([0026][0028] and on a response indication message ([0055][0104]). However, Kumar is silent that the second message includes an MBSInterestIndication message.
Wu teaches, in the same field of endeavor, A method in a UE communicating with a RAN which includes receiving, from the RAN, a conditional configuration and a corresponding condition for a conditional procedure, Abstract.
Wu also teaches the second message includes an MBSInterestIndication message. ([0054] if the UE 102 is receiving or otherwise interested in receiving a multicast and/or broadcast service (MBS), the UE 102 can transmit an indication of MBS interest to a base station. Based on the MBS interest indication, the RAN 105 can attempt to enable the UE 102 to receive MBS (and possibly unicast) services, subject to the capabilities of the UE 102. In the MBS interest indication, the UE 102 can indicate a set of one or more frequencies on which the UE 102 is receiving, or is interested in receiving, MBS. a UE 102 in a connected state can send the base station MBS interest information within an MBMSInterestIndication message or an MBSInterestIndication message.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kumar per Wu to include that the second message includes an MBSInterestIndication message. It would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to provide ability for the UE to request particular services/interests, in particular, certain base stations along with QoE metrics (ie. frequencies/capabilities), see Wu [0054].
Conclusion & Contact Information
/RACHEL J HACKENBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454