/J.K.P/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2485 DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is in claim, not narrative form as required. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11-16, 25, 26 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bohm (US 6,606,121).
Regarding claim 1, Bohm discloses an imaging sensor unit (shown Figure 4, sensor unit with rectangular set of sensors 50) comprising: a sensor module including a plurality of photosensors; (again, shown Figure 4, sensor with set of sensors 50) a memory module coupled to the sensor module, the memory module configured to receive a sensor output from the sensor module; (column 1, lines 15-25, shown Figure 1, integration capacitor 05 coupled to sensor 01 serves as a cyclic memory for sensor 01) a local control module coupled to the sensor module, (shown Figure 1, all the circuitry elements from 02-21 may be regarded as the local control module coupled to sensor 01) the local control module configured to: receive a local feedback signal from the sensor module; (column 5, lines 1-5 and column 6, lines 50-60, pixel signal 06 is used as a local feedback from the sensor to control integration time) receive a global feedback signal; (column 5, lines 1-5, receive global integration signal) and use the local feedback signal and the global feedback signal to control the memory module to store the sensor output. (column 7, line 59 to column 8, line 10, local pixel signal and global integration signals used to control start and end time of storing to memory capacitor)
Independent claim 25 is a method claim reciting method features similar to the features recited in claim 1, and is therefore also disclosed and anticipated by Bohm for reasons similar to claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Bohm discloses wherein the global feedback signal includes a threshold value; (column 4, lines 25-35, integration signal specifies length of integration time, which is a threshold for integration) and wherein the local control module is configured to: compare the local feedback signal to the threshold value of the global feedback signal; (column 3, lines 30-40, local signal at pixel used to determine if signal exceeds the threshold) and upon the local feedback signal meeting the threshold value, control the memory module to store the sensor output. (column 7, lines 25-35, pixel memory integrates, that is stores, over the integration time bounded by the threshold)
Regarding claim 11, Bohm discloses wherein the imaging sensor is subject to a maximum exposure time, (column 4, lines 25-35, integration signal sent to pixels, which specifies an integration time, which is an exposure time) wherein, if the local feedback signal does not meet the threshold value, within the maximum exposure time, the memory module is configured to store the sensor output. (column 4, lines 60-65, if storage capacitor not exceeded over an exposure time, and reset, then the charge is stored in the storage capacitor)
Regarding claim 12, Bohm discloses cause the memory module to store timing information indicative of a time at which the sensor output is stored. (column 3, lines 45-50, integration time is stored locally, and is indication of relative time of storage)
Regarding claim 13, Bohm discloses wherein the memory module is configured to receive a timing signal, (column 6, lines 50-65, timed control of switches 4 and 12 by integration signal) and wherein the timing information is a recording of the timing signal at the time at which the sensor output is stored. (column 8, lines 5-10, clock with integration signal and saved values is a recording specifying a relative time of sampling)
Regarding claim 14, Bohm discloses a global control module configured to globally control the sensor array, (shown Figure 4, pixel array 51 controlled by integration control module 55) wherein the global control module is configured to provide the global feedback signal to each of the plurality of imaging sensor units. (column 8, lines 5-10, integration signal provided to each of the pixels in the array)
Regarding claim 15, Bohm discloses wherein the global feedback signal is adjustable to adjust the characteristics of an image captured by the sensor array. (column 4, lines 25-35, integration signal specifies global integration time, which in a CCD sensor is exposure time, thus exposure of image is set)
Regarding claim 16, Bohm discloses a readout circuit configured to readout the stored sensor output from the plurality of imaging sensor units, (shown Figure 4, column pixel readout module 58) wherein the readout circuit is further configured to readout timing information for each of the plurality of imaging sensor units, wherein the timing information is indicative of a time at which the stored sensor output is stored for each of the plurality of imaging sensor units. (shown Figure 4, integration signal out 60 provides a synchronized integration time for reading the pixels)
Regarding claim 26, Bohm discloses operating the imaging sensor unit according to a cycle, (column 7, lines 5-20, on/off imaging cycle) the cycle being defined by: an active sensor phase, initiated by: activating the sensor module from an initial state such that the sensor module begins to detect and produces the sensor output; (column 7, lines 1-9, integration by detecting light and reading out light detection) and an inactive sensor phase, initiated by: resetting the sensor module to the initial state, (column 7, lines 9-14, pixels reset, including capacitor memory) the method further comprising: entering the active sensor phase; and after storing the sensor output, entering the inactive sensor phase, (column 7, lines 1-15, first active phase with integration signal time for imaging, and then inactive phase for reset) wherein duration of the active sensor phase is limited by a maximum exposure time, (column 5, lines 1-5, integration signal provides integration time, which is the exposure time for imaging) such that the method further comprises: at the maximum exposure time, causing the memory module to store the sensor output; and entering the inactive sensor phase such that the inactive sensor phase is entered after the maximum exposure time has elapsed, (column 7, lines 1-15, pixel values stored in storage capacitor per exposure/integration time, then reset occurs in inactive mode after integration time) the method further comprising, upon storing the sensor output, storing timing information indicative of a time at which the sensor output is stored. (column 4, lines 30-45, integration time received and stored, indicative of relative time of sensor output storage in storage capacitor)
Regarding claim 30, Bohm discloses controlling a plurality of imaging sensor units, (shown Figure 4, array of sensors controlled by Integration Control 55 with clock 66) the method comprising: synchronously entering the active phase for each of the imaging sensor units. (column 8, lines 5-10, all pixels 50 begin integration synchronous at same time as specified by global integration signal referencing clock)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6, 7, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohm in view of Mahara (US 2024/0340546).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Bohm fails to disclose the recited; however, Mahara teaches a first photosensor sensitive to a first portion of the visible spectrum. the first photosensor configured to output a first sensor output component; a second photosensor sensitive to a second portion of the visible spectrum, the second photosensor configured to output a second photosensor output component; and a third photosensor sensitive to a third portion of the visible spectrum, the third photosensor configured to output a third photosensor output component; (paragraph 0160, shown Figure 15, red/green/blue subpixels detect red/green/blue spectrums, respectively) such that the sensor output includes the first, second and third photosensor output components. (paragraph 0162, shown Figure 22, at least a concordant visible light range detected and output from sensor array)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a senor array of pixels may include pixels of varying spectrum detection before the effective filing date of the instant application because such varying pixel detectors was common in the art, especially in regard to RGB light detection, also commonly enhanced with infrared spectrum pixel detectors, and therefore well known to those of skill in the art, and commonly used before the effective filing date of the instant application as evinced by Mahara. (figure 15 and paragraph 0017)
Regarding dependent claim 6, Bohm fails to disclose the recited; however, Mahara teaches wherein the first photosensor is sensitive to red light, the second photosensor is sensitive to green light, and the third photosensor is sensitive to blue light. (paragraph 0160, sub-pixels include red, green and blue)
Same rationale for combining and motivation as for claim 3 above.
Regarding dependent claim 7, Bohm discloses wherein the local feedback signal includes the brightness output, such that, upon the brightness output meeting the threshold value of the global feedback signal, the local control module is configured to: cause the memory module to store the sensor output. (column 8, lines 5-10, integration signal is the global feedback signal and sets a threshold for integration time, pixel signal sets integration time, therefore exposure, and thus brightness detection by charge storage in the memory capacitor over the specified exposure time)
Bohn fails to disclose wherein the plurality of photosensors include a wide-spectrum photosensor, the wide-spectrum photosensor being configured to detect a brightness of an observed scene and produce a brightness output.
However, Mahara teaches wherein the plurality of photosensors include a wide-spectrum photosensor, the wide-spectrum photosensor being configured to detect a brightness of an observed scene and produce a brightness output. (paragraphs 0160 and 0205, photosensor detects RGB and infrared spectrums and as such is a wide-spectrum detector detecting brightness of the four spectra)
Same rationale for combining and motivation as for claim 3 above.
Regarding dependent claim 9, Bohm fails to disclose the recited; however, Mahara teaches wherein the wide-spectrum photosensor is configured to detect white light. (paragraph 0160, shown Figure 22, visible light detection of red/green/blue is white light detection)
Same rationale for combining and motivation as for claim 3 above.
Regarding dependent claim 10, Bohm fails to disclose the recited; however, Mahara teaches wherein the wide-spectrum photosensor is configured to detect infrared light. (paragraph 0204, shown Figure 22, sensor array includes infrared detection pixels)
Same rationale for combining and motivation as for claim 3 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Bulteel (US 2016/0330391) implicates pixel detection operation.
Ackland (US 2008/0001065) implicates pixel operation and detection per claim.
/CHRISTOPHER KINGSBURY GLOVER/Examiner, Art Unit 2485
/JAYANTI K PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2485 December 25, 2025