DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "the user equipment" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 14, and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Samardzija et al. US (2016/0007288).
Regarding Claim 1, Samardzija discloses a method for determining a user equipment group corresponding to a wake up signal (see Para’s [0053] & [0062] i.e., a device-group-specific wake-up signal), performed by user equipment (see Fig. 1 i.e., IoT device 110), comprising: receiving the wake up signal from a network device (see Fig. 1 i.e., cellular terminal 120 & Para [0020] i.e., the CT 120 operates as a gateway); (see Para’s [0053] i.e., The CT 120 may be configured to generate and broadcast a device-group specific wake-up signal intended to wake only a group of IoT devices 110, each of which is configured to recognize the device-group specific wake-up signal, [0061], & [0062] i.e., The wake-up circuit of an IoT device 110 that is configured to detect the wake-up signal may be configured to compare characteristics of the sequence of frames received in the wake-up signal to characteristics stored by the IoT device 110 for purposes of detecting the wake-up signal. The sequence of frames may be configured to provide a device-group wake-up signal)
and determining the user equipment group corresponding to the wake up signal based on a feature of the wake up signal, (see Para’s [0053] i.e., The CT 120 may be configured to generate and broadcast a device-group specific wake-up signal intended to wake only a group of IoT devices 110, each of which is configured to recognize the device-group specific wake-up signal, [0061], & [0062] i.e., the wake-up signal that is used to wake up a wireless transceiver 111 of an IoT device 110 is a sequence of frames configured to produce a specific “beat” signal. The characteristics (i.e., “feature”) of the wake-up signal may be based on one or more of the number of frames sent, the duration (i.e., “feature”) or length of the frames… The wake-up circuit of an IoT device 110 that is configured to detect the wake-up signal may be configured to compare characteristics (i.e., “feature”) of the sequence of frames received in the wake-up signal to characteristics stored by the IoT device 110 for purposes of detecting the wake-up signal (i.e., user equipment group of the IoT device (i.e., UE) is determined based on a match in the comparison of the characteristics of the sequence of frames received in the wake-up signal to the stored characteristics in the IoT device 110). The sequence of frames may be configured to provide a device-group wake-up signal).
wherein the feature of the wake up signal comprises at least one of amplitude, power, duration, and energy, (see Para [0062] i.e., the wake-up signal that is used to wake up a wireless transceiver 111 of an IoT device 110 is a sequence of frames configured to produce a specific “beat” signal. The characteristics (i.e., “feature”) of the wake-up signal may be based on one or more of the number of frames sent (i.e., number of frames sent may also represent the “duration”), the duration (i.e., “feature”) or length of the frames… The wake-up circuit of an IoT device 110 that is configured to detect the wake-up signal may be configured to compare characteristics (i.e., “feature”) of the sequence of frames received in the wake-up signal to characteristics stored by the IoT device 110 for purposes of detecting the wake-up signal. The sequence of frames may be configured to provide a device-group wake-up signal).
Regarding Claim 14, Samardzija discloses a method for determining a user equipment group corresponding to a wake up signal, performed by a network device (see Fig. 1 i.e., cellular terminal 120 & Para’s [0020], [0043] i.e., the CT 120 may be configured to operate as a gateway, [0053], & [0062]), comprising: determining a feature of the wake up signal based on the user equipment group to which user equipment belongs; (see Para’s [0053] i.e., The CT 120 may be configured to generate and broadcast a device-group specific wake-up signal intended to wake only a group of IoT devices 110, each of which is configured to recognize the device-group specific wake-up signal…For example, the IoT server 151, responsive to a determination that CT 120 is at a particular location at which a particular group of IoT devices 110 was previously detected as being located, may provide device-group-specific information (e.g., characteristics of a sequence of frames (i.e., “feature determined”)) to CT 120 for use by CT 120 in generating and transmitting a device-group-specific wake-up signal configured to wake only the IoT devices 110 in that particular group of IoT devices 110, [0061], & [0062] i.e., the wake-up signal that is used to wake up a wireless transceiver 111 of an IoT device 110 is a sequence of frames configured to produce a specific “beat” signal. The characteristics (i.e., “feature”) of the wake-up signal may be based on one or more of the number of frames sent, the duration (i.e., “feature”) or length of the frames… The wake-up circuit of an IoT device 110 that is configured to detect the wake-up signal may be configured to compare characteristics (i.e., “feature”) of the sequence of frames received in the wake-up signal to characteristics stored by the IoT device 110 for purposes of detecting the wake-up signal. The sequence of frames may be configured to provide a device-group wake-up signal).
and sending the wake up signal having the feature to the user equipment, (see Para’s [0053] i.e., The CT 120 may be configured to generate and broadcast a device-group specific wake-up signal intended to wake only a group of IoT devices 110, each of which is configured to recognize the device-group specific wake-up signal, [0061], & [0062] i.e., The wake-up circuit of an IoT device 110 that is configured to detect the wake-up signal may be configured to compare characteristics of the sequence of frames (i.e., “feature”) received in the wake-up signal to characteristics stored by the IoT device 110 for purposes of detecting the wake-up signal. The sequence of frames may be configured to provide a device-group wake-up signal)
wherein the feature of the wake up signal comprises at least one of amplitude, power, duration, and energy, (see Para [0062] i.e., the wake-up signal that is used to wake up a wireless transceiver 111 of an IoT device 110 is a sequence of frames configured to produce a specific “beat” signal. The characteristics (i.e., “feature”) of the wake-up signal may be based on one or more of the number of frames sent (i.e., number of frames sent may also represent the “duration”), the duration (i.e., “feature”) or length of the frames… The wake-up circuit of an IoT device 110 that is configured to detect the wake-up signal may be configured to compare characteristics (i.e., “feature”) of the sequence of frames received in the wake-up signal to characteristics stored by the IoT device 110 for purposes of detecting the wake-up signal. The sequence of frames may be configured to provide a device-group wake-up signal).
Regarding Claim 27, Samardzija discloses a mobile terminal (see Fig. 1, IoT device 110 & Fig. 7, 700 & Para’s [0021] & [0088-0094] i.e., computer 700 implementing an IoT device 110), comprising: a processor (see Fig. 7 i.e., processor 702 & Para [0089]); and a memory (see Fig. 7 i.e., memory 704 & Para [0090]) configured to store an instruction executable by the processor (see Para’s [0090] & [0093-0094]), wherein the executable instructions when executed by the processor (see Para’s [0090] & [0093-0094]) cause the mobile terminal to receive the wake up signal from a network device (see Fig. 1 i.e., cellular terminal 120 & Para [0020] i.e., the CT 120 operates as a gateway), (see Para’s [0053] i.e., The CT 120 may be configured to generate and broadcast a device-group specific wake-up signal intended to wake only a group of IoT devices 110, each of which is configured to recognize the device-group specific wake-up signal, [0061], & [0062] i.e., The wake-up circuit of an IoT device 110 that is configured to detect the wake-up signal may be configured to compare characteristics of the sequence of frames received in the wake-up signal to characteristics stored by the IoT device 110 for purposes of detecting the wake-up signal. The sequence of frames may be configured to provide a device-group wake-up signal)
and determine a user equipment group corresponding to the wake up signal based on a feature of the wake up signal, (see Para’s [0053] i.e., The CT 120 may be configured to generate and broadcast a device-group specific wake-up signal intended to wake only a group of IoT devices 110, each of which is configured to recognize the device-group specific wake-up signal, [0061], & [0062] i.e., the wake-up signal that is used to wake up a wireless transceiver 111 of an IoT device 110 is a sequence of frames configured to produce a specific “beat” signal. The characteristics (i.e., “feature”) of the wake-up signal may be based on one or more of the number of frames sent, the duration (i.e., “feature”) or length of the frames… The wake-up circuit of an IoT device 110 that is configured to detect the wake-up signal may be configured to compare characteristics (i.e., “feature”) of the sequence of frames received in the wake-up signal to characteristics stored by the IoT device 110 for purposes of detecting the wake-up signal (i.e., user equipment group of the IoT device (i.e., UE) is determined based on a match in the comparison of the characteristics of the sequence of frames received in the wake-up signal to the stored characteristics in the IoT device 110). The sequence of frames may be configured to provide a device-group wake-up signal).
wherein the feature of the wake up signal comprises at least one of amplitude, power, duration, and energy, (see Para [0062] i.e., the wake-up signal that is used to wake up a wireless transceiver 111 of an IoT device 110 is a sequence of frames configured to produce a specific “beat” signal. The characteristics (i.e., “feature”) of the wake-up signal may be based on one or more of the number of frames sent (i.e., number of frames sent may also represent the “duration”), the duration (i.e., “feature”) or length of the frames… The wake-up circuit of an IoT device 110 that is configured to detect the wake-up signal may be configured to compare characteristics (i.e., “feature”) of the sequence of frames received in the wake-up signal to characteristics stored by the IoT device 110 for purposes of detecting the wake-up signal. The sequence of frames may be configured to provide a device-group wake-up signal).
Regarding Claim 28, Samardzija discloses a device (see Fig. 1, cellular terminal 120 & Fig. 7, 700 & Para’s [0020] i.e., cellular terminal 120 is configured to operate as a gateway & [0088-0094] i.e., computer 700 implementing CT 120), comprising: a processor (see Fig. 7 i.e., processor 702 & Para [0089]); and a memory (see Fig. 7 i.e., memory 704 & Para [0090]) configured to store processor executable instructions (see Para’s [0090] & [0093-0094]), wherein the processor executable instruction when executed by the processor cause the device to act as the network device (see Para’s [0090] & [0093-0094]) and perform the method according to claim 14, (see rejection of claim 14)
Regarding Claim 29, Samardzija discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see Para [0090] i.e., computer readable storage medium & [0093-0094]), storing an executable instruction (see Para’s [0090] & [0093-0094] i.e., computer instructions), wherein when the executable instruction is performed by a processor (see Fig. 7 i.e., processor 702) of the user equipment (see Para’s [0021], [0090], & [0092-0094] i.e., computer 700 implementing an IoT device 110) to perform the method according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1)
Regarding Claim 30, Samardzija discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see Para [0090] i.e., computer readable storage medium & [0093-0094]), storing an executable instruction (see Para’s [0090] & [0093-0094] i.e., computer instructions), wherein when the executable instruction when executed by a processor (see Fig. 7 i.e., processor 702) of a network side device (see Fig. 7 i.e., processor 702 & Para’s [0020] i.e., cellular terminal 120 is configured to operate as a gateway, [0090], & [0092-0094] i.e., computer 700 implementing CT 120), cause the network side device (see Fig. 1 i.e., cellular terminal 120 & Fig. 7, 700 & Para’s [0090] & [0092-0094]) to perform the method according to claim 14, (see rejection of claim 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samardzija et al. US (2016/0007288) in view of Dahlgren et al. US (2025/0240724), and further in view of Mazloum et al. US (2021/0344542).
Regarding Claim 2, Samardzija discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the amplitude is average amplitude or maximum amplitude. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Dahlgren et al. US (2025/0240724).
Dahlgren discloses a UE of a user equipment group, determining a user equipment group corresponding to a received wake up signal based on a feature of the wake up signal comprising amplitude, (see Para’s [0020] i.e., generating a group wake-up signal (G-WUS) that is indicative of a group of UEs…a waveform (i.e., waveform includes “amplitude”) of the G-WUS is indicative of the group…the method further comprises monitoring and receiving W-ACKs from UEs woken up by the G-WUS & [0120] i.e., The G-WUS is indicative of the particular group. For example, the G-WUS nay have a waveform (i.e., waveform includes “amplitude”) that is unique to the group. At the UE 104…if the UE 104 monitors for a G-WUS for a particular group in which the UE 104 is included. If the UE 104 is in the particular group for which the radio node 102 transmits the G-WUS, the UE 104 detects the G-WUS. Upon detecting the G-WUS for its group, the UE 104 then, for example, transmits a W-ACK to the radio node 102 and enters a listening mode in which it listens for a connection request from the radio node 102).
(Dahlgren suggests a waveform for the G-WUS is indicative of the UE group in order for the UE to detect the G-WUS for the particular UE group in order to enter a listening mode for listening for a connection request from the radio node 102 for properly establishing a connection with the network or entering a deep sleep mode when the UE 104 does not detect the G-WUS for saving power when the G-WUS does not belong to the UE group (see Para’s [0020] & [0120])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the feature of the wake up signal used by the UE for determining the UE group as disclosed in Samardzija to use a feature such as the amplitude of the signal waveform based on the teachings of Dahlgren who discloses a UE of a user equipment group, determining a user equipment group corresponding to a received wake up signal (i.e., “G-WUS”) based on a waveform (i.e., includes “amplitude”) of the G-WUS that is indicative of the group, because the motivation lies in Dahlgren that a waveform for the G-WUS is indicative of the UE group in order for the UE to detect the G-WUS for the particular UE group in order to enter a listening mode for listening for a connection request from the radio node 102 for properly establishing a connection with the network or entering a deep sleep mode when the UE 104 does not detect the G-WUS for saving power when the G-WUS does not belong to the UE group.
The combination of Samardzija in view of Dahlgren does not disclose wherein the amplitude is a maximum amplitude. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Mazloum et al. US (2021/0344542).
Mazloum discloses a wake up signal (WUS) waveform (see Fig. 11) including a maximum amplitude, (see Fig. 11 i.e., maximum amplitude (i.e., “tilde over b”) of WUS waveform & Para’s [0032] & [0138-0139])
(Mazloum suggests the WUS waveform can be designed to be specific to a group of terminals for appropriately waking up a receiver of the terminal in order to properly receive a paging indicator and a paging message, (see Fig. 7 & Para’s [0084], [0089-0091], [0133], & [0138-0140])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the G-WUS waveform used for determining the UE group based on the received G-WUS as disclosed in Samardzija in view of Dahlgren to use the WUS waveform including a maximum amplitude as disclosed in Mazloum, because the motivation lies in Mazloum that the WUS waveform can be designed to be specific to a group of terminals for appropriately waking up a receiver of the terminal in order to properly receive a paging indicator and a paging message.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samardzija et al. US (2016/0007288) in view of Bastani et al. US (2025/0227613).
Regarding Claim 3, Samardzija discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the power is average power or maximum power. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Bastani et al. US (2025/0227613).
Bastani discloses a UE of a user equipment group, determining a user equipment group corresponding to a received wake up signal based on a feature of the wake up signal comprising maximum power (see Fig. 6 i.e., UE group 605 Para’s [0009] i.e., group WUS, [0050] i.e., LPWUS is a special paging signal that is transmitted from a relay UE to one or more remote UEs to inform the one or more remote UEs to wake-up from a deep-sleep state. The LPWUS has one or more characteristic (e.g., modulation and coding scheme) (i.e., “feature”) that enables a power cost for detecting the LPWUS at a remote UE. The one or more characteristics (i.e., “feature”) of the LPWUS enable detection at the remote UE via a low power receiver, e.g., an envelope detector, comparator & [0097] i.e., a transmit power used for transmitting the LPWUS is a function of the modulation or coding (i.e., the feature is based on transmit power of the wake up signal) of the LPWUS (i.e., transmit power as a function of the configured MCS may be a maximum allowable transmit power used for the specific MCS) & [0130] i.e., differentiated wake-up signaling for different groups of UEs i.e., farther groups will be signaled with more robust signaling or with higher transmit power by the relay UE 604).
(Bastani suggests the one or more characteristics of the LPWUS enable detection at the UE for reducing power costs for detection at the UE and the LPWUS is a special paging signal that is transmitted from the relay UE to one or more remote UEs to inform the remote UEs to wake-up from a deep sleep state for properly receiving data from the base station resulting in the efficiency of the wake-up procedure being improved by minimizing the signaling overhead via simultaneous wake-up signaling to a group of UEs (see Para’s [0005-0006], [0009], [0050], & [0097])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the feature of the wake up signal used by the UE for determining the UE group as disclosed in Samardzija to use a feature such as the maximum power of the wake up signal based on the teachings of Bastani who discloses a UE of a user equipment group, determining a user equipment group corresponding to a received wake up signal based on a characteristics (i.e., feature) of the wake up signal comprising maximum power, because the motivation lies in Bastani that the one or more characteristics of the LPWUS enable detection at the UE for reducing power costs for detection at the UE and the LPWUS is a special paging signal that is transmitted from the relay UE to one or more remote UEs to inform the remote UEs to wake-up from a deep sleep state for properly receiving data from the base station resulting in the efficiency of the wake-up procedure being improved by minimizing the signaling overhead via simultaneous wake-up signaling to a group of UEs.
Claims 4-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samardzija et al. US (2016/0007288) in view of Dahlgren et al. US (2025/0240724), further in view of Mazloum et al. US (2021/0344542), and further in view of Lopez et al. US (2019/0357145).
Regarding Claim 4, Samardzija discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the duration is a length of a continuous period (see Para [0062] i.e., wake-up signal is a sequence of frames…characteristics of the wake-up signal may be based on the duration or length of the frames…the sequences of frames may be a sequence of WiFi STS preamble signals (e.g., natively a train of WiFi frames)), but does not disclose the feature of the wake up signal comprising amplitude used for determining the user equipment group. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Dahlgren et al. US (2025/0240724).
Dahlgren discloses a UE of a user equipment group, determining a user equipment group corresponding to a received wake up signal based on a feature of the wake up signal comprising amplitude, (see Para’s [0020] i.e., generating a group wake-up signal (G-WUS) that is indicative of a group of UEs…a waveform (i.e., waveform includes “amplitude”) of the G-WUS is indicative of the group…the method further comprises monitoring and receiving W-ACKs from UEs woken up by the G-WUS & [0120] i.e., The G-WUS is indicative of the particular group. For example, the G-WUS nay have a waveform (i.e., waveform includes “amplitude”) that is unique to the group. At the UE 104…if the UE 104 monitors for a G-WUS for a particular group in which the UE 104 is included. If the UE 104 is in the particular group for which the radio node 102 transmits the G-WUS, the UE 104 detects the G-WUS. Upon detecting the G-WUS for its group, the UE 104 then, for example, transmits a W-ACK to the radio node 102 and enters a listening mode in which it listens for a connection request from the radio node 102).
(Dahlgren suggests a waveform for the G-WUS is indicative of the UE group in order for the UE to detect the G-WUS for the particular UE group in order to enter a listening mode for listening for a connection request from the radio node 102 for properly establishing a connection with the network or entering a deep sleep mode when the UE 104 does not detect the G-WUS for saving power when the G-WUS does not belong to the UE group (see Para’s [0020] & [0120])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the feature of the wake up signal used by the UE for determining the UE group as disclosed in Samardzija to use a feature such as the amplitude of the signal waveform based on the teachings of Dahlgren who discloses a UE of a user equipment group, determining a user equipment group corresponding to a received wake up signal (i.e., “G-WUS”) based on a waveform (i.e., includes “amplitude”) of the G-WUS that is indicative of the group, because the motivation lies in Dahlgren that a waveform for the G-WUS is indicative of the UE group in order for the UE to detect the G-WUS for the particular UE group in order to enter a listening mode for listening for a connection request from the radio node 102 for properly establishing a connection with the network or entering a deep sleep mode when the UE 104 does not detect the G-WUS for saving power when the G-WUS does not belong to the UE group.
The combination of Samardzija in view of Dahlgren does not explicitly disclose the group wake up signal comprises an amplitude. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Mazloum et al. US (2021/0344542).
Mazloum discloses a wake up signal (WUS) waveform (see Fig. 11) including an amplitude, (see Fig. 11 i.e., amplitude (i.e., “tilde over b”) of WUS waveform & Para’s [0032] & [0138-0139])
(Mazloum suggests the WUS waveform can be designed to be specific to a group of terminals for appropriately waking up a receiver of the terminal in order to properly receive a paging indicator and a paging message, (see Fig. 7 & Para’s [0084], [0089-0091], [0133], & [0138-0140])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the G-WUS waveform used for determining the UE group based on the received G-WUS as disclosed in Samardzija in view of Dahlgren to use the WUS waveform including an amplitude as disclosed in Mazloum, because the motivation lies in Mazloum that the WUS waveform can be designed to be specific to a group of terminals for appropriately waking up a receiver of the terminal in order to properly receive a paging indicator and a paging message.
The combination of Samardzija in view of Dahlgren, and further in view of Mazloum does not disclose the claim feature of in which the amplitude of the wake up signal is greater than a first amplitude threshold. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Lopez et al. US (2019/0357145).
Lopez discloses the amplitude of a wake up signal is greater than a first amplitude threshold (see Fig. 11 & Para’s [0001], [0006], [0078] i.e., amplitude of WUS, & [0091] i.e., WUR receiver chain 1100…A WUS may be considered to be detected when a distinct peak (e.g., above a detection threshold) is present at the correlator output).
(Lopez suggests the wake-up radio receiver uses the detection threshold in order to properly consider whether the wake up signal (WUS) is detected in order to wake up the main receiver for properly receiving data, (see Para’s [0001], [0006], [0078], & [0091])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the wake up signal detected by the UE as disclosed in Samardzija in view of Dahlgren, and further in view of Mazloum to be detected by using the amplitude threshold disclosed in the teachings of Lopez who discloses when the amplitude of a wake up signal is greater than a first amplitude threshold the WUS is considered to be detected, because the motivation lies in Lopez that the wake-up radio receiver uses the detection threshold in order to properly consider whether the wake up signal (WUS) is detected in order to wake up the main receiver for properly receiving data.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Samardzija in view of Dahlgren, and further in view of Mazloum discloses the method according to claim 4, but does not disclose wherein the first amplitude threshold is minimum signal amplitude measurable by a receiver, configured to receive the wake up signal, of the user equipment. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Lopez et al. US (2019/0357145).
Lopez discloses wherein the first amplitude threshold is minimum signal amplitude measurable by a receiver, configured to receive the wake up signal, of the user equipment (see Fig. 11 & Para’s [0001], [0006], [0078] i.e., amplitude of WUS, & [0091] i.e., WUR receiver chain 1100…A WUS may be considered to be detected when a distinct peak (e.g., above a detection threshold) is present at the correlator output).
(Lopez suggests the wake-up radio receiver uses the detection threshold in order to properly consider whether the wake up signal (WUS) is detected in order to wake up the main receiver for properly receiving data, (see Para’s [0001], [0006], [0078], & [0091])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the wake up signal detected by the UE as disclosed in Samardzija in view of Dahlgren, and further in view of Mazloum to be detected by using the amplitude threshold which is the minimum signal amplitude measurable by a receiver, configured to receive the wake up signal as disclosed in the teachings of Lopez who discloses when the amplitude of a wake up signal is greater than a first amplitude threshold the WUS is considered to be detected, because the motivation lies in Lopez that the wake-up radio receiver uses the detection threshold in order to properly consider whether the wake up signal (WUS) is detected in order to wake up the main receiver for properly receiving data.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Samardzija in view of Dahlgren, and further in view of Mazloum discloses the method according to claim 4, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the first amplitude threshold or a first power threshold is agreed by a communication protocol or configured by the network device. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Lopez et al. US (2019/0357145).
Lopez discloses wherein the first amplitude threshold is agreed by a communication protocol (see Para [0067] i.e., WUS design that targets the enhancement of Wi-Fi systems based on the IEEE 802.11 standard & [0091] i.e., WUR receiver chain 1100…A WUS may be considered to be detected when a distinct peak (e.g., above a detection threshold) is present at the correlator output).
(Lopez suggests the wake-up radio receiver uses the detection threshold in order to properly consider whether the wake up signal (WUS) is detected in order to wake up the main receiver for properly receiving data, (see Para’s [0001], [0006], [0078], & [0091])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the wake up signal detected by the UE according to the Wi-Fi communication protocol as disclosed in Samardzija in view of Dahlgren, and further in view of Mazloum to be detected by using the amplitude threshold agreed by a communication protocol such as WiFi systems based on the IEEE 802.11 standard as disclosed in the teachings of Lopez who discloses when the amplitude of a wake up signal is greater than a first amplitude threshold the WUS is considered to be detected, because the motivation lies in Lopez that the wake-up radio receiver uses the detection threshold in order to properly consider whether the wake up signal (WUS) is detected in order to wake up the main receiver for properly receiving data.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samardzija et al. US (2016/0007288) in view of Bastani et al. US (2025/0227613), and further in view of Lopez et al. US (2019/0357145).
Regarding Claim 6, Samardzija discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the duration is a length of a continuous period (see Para [0062] i.e., wake-up signal is a sequence of frames…characteristics of the wake-up signal may be based on the duration or length of the frames…the sequences of frames may be a sequence of WiFi STS preamble signals (e.g., natively a train of WiFi frames)), but does not disclose the feature of the wake up signal comprises power for determining the user equipment group. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Bastani et al. US (2025/0227613).
Bastani discloses a UE of a user equipment group, determining a user equipment group corresponding to a received wake up signal based on a feature of the wake up signal comprising power (see Fig. 6 i.e., UE group 605 Para’s [0009] i.e., group WUS, [0050] i.e., LPWUS is a special paging signal that is transmitted from a relay UE to one or more remote UEs to inform the one or more remote UEs to wake-up from a deep-sleep state. The LPWUS has one or more characteristic (e.g., modulation and coding scheme) (i.e., “feature”) that enables a power cost for detecting the LPWUS at a remote UE. The one or more characteristics (i.e., “feature”) of the LPWUS enable detection at the remote UE via a low power receiver, e.g., an envelope detector, comparator & [0097] i.e., a transmit power used for transmitting the LPWUS is a function of the modulation or coding (i.e., the feature is based on transmit power of the wake up signal) of the LPWUS & [0130] i.e., differentiated wake-up signaling for different groups of UEs i.e., farther groups will be signaled with more robust signaling or with higher transmit power by the relay UE 604).
(Bastani suggests the one or more characteristics of the LPWUS enable detection at the UE for reducing power costs for detection at the UE and the LPWUS is a special paging signal that is transmitted from the relay UE to one or more remote UEs to inform the remote UEs to wake-up from a deep sleep state for properly receiving data from the base station resulting in the efficiency of the wake-up procedure being improved by minimizing the signaling overhead via simultaneous wake-up signaling to a group of UEs (see Para’s [0005-0006], [0009], [0050], & [0097])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the feature of the wake up signal used by the UE for determining the UE group as disclosed in Samardzija to use a feature such as the power of the wake up signal based on the teachings of Bastani who discloses a UE of a user equipment group, determining a user equipment group corresponding to a received wake up signal based on a characteristics (i.e., feature) of the wake up signal comprising power, because the motivation lies in Bastani that the one or more characteristics of the LPWUS enable detection at the UE for reducing power costs for detection at the UE and the LPWUS is a special paging signal that is transmitted from the relay UE to one or more remote UEs to inform the remote UEs to wake-up from a deep sleep state for properly receiving data from the base station resulting in the efficiency of the wake-up procedure being improved by minimizing the signaling overhead via simultaneous wake-up signaling to a group of UEs.
The combination of Samardzija in view of Bastani does not disclose the claim feature of in which instantaneous power of the wake up signal is greater than a first power threshold. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Lopez et al. US (2019/0357145).
Lopez discloses the instantaneous power of the wake up signal is greater than a first power threshold (see Para’s [0074] i.e., predetermined power of WUS, [0082] i.e., the power of the WUS, & [0091] i.e., A WUS may be considered to be detected when a distinct peak (e.g., above a detection threshold) (i.e., power of the WUS is compared to the detection threshold which is a power threshold) is present at the correlator output)
(Lopez suggests the wake-up radio receiver uses the detection threshold in order to properly consider whether the wake up signal (WUS) is detected in order to wake up the main receiver for properly receiving data, (see Para’s [0001], [0006], [0078], & [0091])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the wake up signal detected by the UE as disclosed in Samardzija in view of Bastani to be detected by using the power detection threshold as disclosed in the teachings of Lopez who discloses when the amplitude of a wake up signal is greater than the detection threshold, the WUS is considered to be detected, because the motivation lies in Lopez that the wake-up radio receiver uses the detection threshold in order to properly consider whether the wake up signal (WUS) is detected in order to wake up the main receiver for properly receiving data.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Samardzija in view of Bastani discloses the method according to claim 6, but does not disclose wherein the first power threshold is minimum signal power measurable by a receiver, configured to receive the wake up signal, of the user equipment. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Lopez et al. US (2019/0357145).
Lopez discloses wherein the first power threshold is minimum signal power measurable by a receiver, configured to receive the wake up signal, of the user equipment (see Fig. 11 & Para [0091] i.e., WUR receiver chain 1100…A WUS may be considered to be detected when a distinct peak (e.g., above a detection threshold) is present at the correlator output).
(Lopez suggests the wake-up radio receiver uses the detection threshold in order to properly consider whether the wake up signal (WUS) is detected in order to wake up the main receiver for properly receiving data, (see Para’s [0001], [0006], [0078], & [0091])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the wake up signal detected by the UE as disclosed in Samardzija in view of Bastani to be detected by using the power detection threshold which is the minimum signal power measurable by a receiver, configured to receive the wake up signal as disclosed in the teachings of Lopez, because the motivation lies in Lopez that the wake-up radio receiver uses the detection threshold in order to properly consider whether the wake up signal (WUS) is detected in order to wake up the main receiver for properly receiving data.
Claims 9 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samardzija et al. US (2016/0007288) in view of Du et al. US (2020/0037251).
Regarding Claim 9, Samardzija discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: determining, in response to determining a time interval between two adjacent wake up signals (see Para [0062] i.e., the characteristics of the wake-up signal may be based on the intervals between the frames), that the two adjacent wake up signals are one wake up signal (see Para [0062] i.e., the wake-up signal that is used to wake up a wireless transceiver 111 of an IoT device 110 is a sequence of frames configured to produce a specific “beat” signal…The sequence of frames may be a sequence of WiFi STS preamble signals (e.g., natively as a train of WiFi frames…IoT device 110 is configured to detect the wake-up signal by comparing characteristics of the sequence of frames received in the wake-up signal), and duration of the one wake up signal is a mathematical sum of duration of the two wake up signals and the time interval, (see Para [0062] i.e., i.e., the wake-up signal that is used to wake up a wireless transceiver 111 of an IoT device 110 is a sequence of frames configured to produce a specific “beat” signal…the characteristics of the wake-up signal may be based on the duration or length of the frames, the intervals between the frames (i.e., “mathematical sum” includes the duration of the frames and the time interval)…The sequence of frames may be a sequence of WiFi STS preamble signals (e.g., natively as a train of WiFi frames…IoT device 110 is configured to detect the wake-up signal by comparing characteristics of the sequence of frames received in the wake-up signal)
While Samardzija discloses determining that the two adjacent wake up signals are one wake up signal based on a time interval between the adjacent wake up signals (see Para [0062]), Samardzija does not disclose it is performed in response to determining that a time interval between two adjacent wake up signals is shorter than a set length. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Du et al. US (2020/0037251).
Du discloses determining that a time interval between two adjacent wake up signals is shorter than a set length (see Para’s [0013] i.e., A time interval between adjacent wake-up frames should not exceed a length of the wake-up window of the STA, to ensure these wake-up frames do not miss the wake-up window of the STA in one duty cycle period T, thereby minimizing a delay of a wake-up process & [0158] i.e., a time interval between adjacent short wake-up frames should not exceed a length of a wake-up window (i.e., “set length”) of a STA as far as possible)
(Du suggests the time interval between adjacent wake-up frames should not exceed a length of the wake-up window of the STA, to ensure at least one wake-up frame is received in the wake-up window of the STA in one duty cycle period T, thereby minimizing a delay of a wake-up process, (see Para’s [0013] & [0158])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the configured time interval between the adjacent wake up signals (i.e., frames) which make up one wake up signal as disclosed in Samardzija to configure the time interval between two adjacent wake up signals to be shorter than a set length as disclosed in the teachings of Du which results in determining, in response to determining that a time interval between two adjacent wake up signals is shorter than a set length, that the two adjacent signals are one wake up signal, because the motivation lies in Du that the time interval between adjacent wake-up frames should not exceed a length of the wake-up window of the STA, to ensure at least one wake-up frame is received in the wake-up window of the STA in one duty cycle period T, thereby minimizing a delay of a wake-up process.
Regarding Claim 24, Samardzija discloses the method according to claim 14, including wherein the sending the wake up signal to the user equipment comprises:sending two adjacent wake up signals to the user equipment, (see Para [0062] i.e., the wake-up signal is a sequence of frames configured to produce a “beat signal”…The sequence of frames may be a sequence of WiFi STS preamble signals (e.g., natively as a train of WiFi frames)) and a time interval between the two adjacent wake up signals (see Para [0062] i.e., the characteristics of the wake-up signal may be based on the intervals between the frames), but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein a time interval between the two adjacent wake up signals is longer than or equal to a set length. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Du et al. US (2020/0037251).
Du discloses wherein a time interval between the two adjacent wake up signals is longer than or equal to a set length (see Para [0158] i.e., Certainly, even if the time interval between adjacent short wake-up frames exceeds the length of the wake-up window (i.e., “set length”) of the STA, the STA can also be woken up, but more short wake-up frames need to be sent)
(Du suggests the time interval between adjacent short wake-up frames can be configured to exceed the length of the wake-up window of the STA which results in less wake-up frames being received in the STA’s wake-up window resulting in less processing of wakeup signals performed by the wake-up radio (WUR) of the UE in one duty cycle period, (see Para’s [0003] i.e., WUR, [0013], & [0158])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the configured time interval between the two adjacent wake up signals (i.e., frames) as disclosed in Samardzija to configure the time interval between two adjacent wake up signals to be longer than a set length as disclosed in the teachings of Du, because the motivation lies in Du that the time interval between adjacent short wake-up frames can be configured to exceed the length of the wake-up window of the STA which results in less wake-up frames being received in the STA’s wake-up window resulting in less processing of wakeup signals performed by the wake-up radio (WUR) of the UE in one duty cycle period.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samardzija et al. US (2016/0007288) in view of Bastani et al. US (2025/0227613), and further in view of Anderson US (2007/0111746).
Regarding Claim 10, Samardzija discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not disclose the feature of the wake up signal comprising energy is used for determining the user equipment group. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Bastani et al. US (2025/0227613).
Bastani discloses a feature of the wake up signal comprising energy is used for determining the user equipment group (see Fig. 6 i.e., UE group 605 Para’s [0009] i.e., group WUS, [0050] i.e., LPWUS is a special paging signal that is transmitted from a relay UE to one or more remote UEs to inform the one or more remote UEs to wake-up from a deep-sleep state. The LPWUS has one or more characteristic (e.g., modulation and coding scheme) (i.e., “feature”) that enables a power cost for detecting the LPWUS at a remote UE. The one or more characteristics (i.e., “feature”) of the LPWUS enable detection at the remote UE via a low power receiver, e.g., an envelope detector, comparator & [0097] i.e., a transmit power used for transmitting the LPWUS is a function of the modulation or coding (i.e., the LPUWS being detected based on the transmission power which is a function of the MCS also means it is detected based on its energy) of the LPWUS & [0130] i.e., differentiated wake-up signaling for different groups of UEs i.e., farther groups will be signaled with more robust signaling or with higher transmit power by the relay UE 604).
(Bastani suggests the one or more characteristics of the LPWUS enable detection at the UE for reducing power costs for detection at the UE and the LPWUS is a special paging signal that is transmitted from the relay UE to one or more remote UEs to inform the remote UEs to wake-up from a deep sleep state for properly receiving data from the base station resulting in the efficiency of the wake-up procedure being improved by minimizing the signaling overhead via simultaneous wake-up signaling to a group of UEs (see Para’s [0005-0006], [0009], [0050], & [0097])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the feature of the wake up signal used by the UE for determining the UE group as disclosed in Samardzija to use a feature such as the energy of the wake up signal based on the teachings of Bastani who discloses a UE of a user equipment group, determining a user equipment group corresponding to a received wake up signal based on a characteristics (i.e., feature) of the wake up signal comprising transmission power or energy, because the motivation lies in Bastani that the one or more characteristics of the LPWUS enable detection at the UE for reducing power costs for detection at the UE and the LPWUS is a special paging signal that is transmitted from the relay UE to one or more remote UEs to inform the remote UEs to wake-up from a deep sleep state for properly receiving data from the base station resulting in the efficiency of the wake-up procedure being improved by minimizing the signaling overhead via simultaneous wake-up signaling to a group of UEs.
The combination of Samardzija in view of Bastani does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the energy is a mathematical product of average power of the wake up signal and the duration. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Anderson US (2007/0111746).
Anderson discloses wherein the energy is a mathematical product of average power of a signal and the duration (see Para [0024] i.e., the signal characteristic is a member of the group consisting of the power level (i.e., “average power”), the time duration, and the energy represented by the product of both, for the signal transmitted from the mobile station & [0120] i.e., signal power and duration (or total energy, equivalent to the relevant product of duration multiplied by power)
(Anderson suggests the energy is represented by the product of both the power level and the time duration for a transmitted signal from a transmitting device for properly determining the total energy of the signal transmission, (see Para’s [0024] & [0120])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the energy of the wake up signal as disclosed in Samardzija in view of Bastani to be a mathematical product of average power of the signal and the duration as disclosed in the teachings of Anderson, because the motivation lies in Anderson that the energy is represented by the product of both the power level and the time duration for a transmitted signal from a transmitting device for properly determining the total energy of the signal transmission.
Claims 11-13 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samardzija et al. US (2016/0007288) in view of Priyanto et al. US (2022/0417851).
Regarding Claim 11, Samardzija discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not disclose the claim feature of further comprising: receiving configuration information from the network device, wherein the configuration information indicates a plurality of feature values or a plurality of feature value ranges of the feature, and different feature values or different feature value ranges are configured to determine different user equipment groups. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Priyanto et al. US (2022/0417851).
Priyanto discloses receiving configuration information from a network device, (see [0067-0072] i.e., the three bit strings for each active resource may be comprised in the set of resource configuration parameters (i.e., “configuration information”) provided from the network node to the wireless device, [0088] i.e., providing, S107, to the wireless device, a set of resource configuration parameters (i.e., “configuration information”) indicative of the determined WUS configuration, [0115] i.e., The wireless device 300 is configured to obtain, from the network node, a set of resource configuration parameters (i.e., “configuration information”) indicative of a WUS configuration, [0127] i.e., The set of resource configuration parameters (i.e., “configuration information”) may also comprise information about the wireless device groups mapped to each WUS resource & [0129])
wherein the configuration information indicates a plurality of feature values or a plurality of feature value ranges of the feature, (see [0067-0072] i.e., the three bit strings for each active resource (i.e., “plurality of feature values”) may be comprised in the set of resource configuration parameters provided from the network node to the wireless device, [0088] i.e., providing, S107, to the wireless device, a set of resource configuration parameters indicative of the determined WUS configuration, [0115] i.e., The wireless device 300 is configured to obtain, from the network node, a set of resource configuration parameters indicative of a WUS configuration, [0127] i.e., The set of resource configuration parameters (i.e., “configuration information”) may also comprise information about the wireless device groups mapped to each WUS resource (i.e., each WUS resource may be interpreted as a “plurality of feature values”) & [0129])
and different feature values or different feature value ranges are configured to determine different user equipment groups, (see Para’s [0008], [0067-0072] i.e., the three bit strings for each active resource (i.e., “plurality of feature values”) may be comprised in the set of resource configuration parameters provided from the network node to the wireless device…wireless device groups are mapped to each of the WUS resource, [0088] i.e., providing, S107, to the wireless device, a set of resource configuration parameters indicative of the determined WUS configuration, [0115] i.e., The wireless device 300 is configured to obtain, from the network node, a set of resource configuration parameters indicative of a WUS configuration, [0127] i.e., The set of resource configuration parameters (i.e., “configuration information”) may also comprise information about the wireless device groups mapped to each WUS resource (i.e., each WUS resource may be interpreted as a “plurality of feature values”) & [0129] i.e., based on the obtained set of resource configuration parameters, the wireless device group identifier and the set of resource configuration criteria, the wireless device 300 determines 512, a WUS resource, out of one or more active resources, allocated to the wireless device. The WUS resource allocated to the wireless device is the WUS resource that the wireless device has to monitor for potential WUS transmission).
(Priyanto suggests the configuration information comprising the different feature values is received by the wireless device in order for the wireless device to determine its allocated WUS resource associated with its wireless device group which is the WUS resource that the wireless device has to monitor for its potential WUS transmission for properly receiving the WUS in order to receive a paging message, (see Para’s [0005], [0008], [0127], & [0129])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which determines the user equipment group corresponding to the wake up signal based on a feature of the received wake up signal as disclosed in Samardzija to receive the configuration information from the network device indicating a plurality of feature values (i.e., WUS resources) as disclosed in the teachings of Priyanto, because the motivation lies in Priyanto that the configuration information comprising the different feature values is received by the wireless device in order for the wireless device to determine its allocated WUS resource associated with its wireless device group which is the WUS resource that the wireless device has to monitor for its potential WUS transmission for properly receiving the WUS in order to receive a paging message.
Regarding Claim 12, Samardzija discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not disclose the claim feature of further comprising: obtaining a plurality of feature values or a plurality of feature value ranges of the feature based on a communication protocol, wherein different feature values or different feature value ranges are configured to determine different user equipment groups. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Priyanto et al. US (2022/0417851).
Priyanto discloses obtaining a plurality of feature values or a plurality of feature value ranges of the feature based on a communication protocol, (see Para’s [0036-0038] i.e., MTC/NB-IoT (i.e., “communication protocol”) which uses wake up signal, [0067-0072] i.e., the three bit strings for each active resource (i.e., “plurality of feature values”) may be comprised in the set of resource configuration parameters provided from the network node to the wireless device, [0088] i.e., providing, S107, to the wireless device, a set of resource configuration parameters indicative of the determined WUS configuration, [0109], [0115] i.e., The wireless device 300 is configured to obtain, from the network node, a set of resource configuration parameters indicative of a WUS configuration, [0127] i.e., The set of resource configuration parameters (i.e., “configuration information”) may also comprise information about the wireless device groups mapped to each WUS resource (i.e., each WUS resource may be interpreted as a “plurality of feature values”) & [0129])
wherein different feature values or different feature value ranges are configured to determine different user equipment groups (see Para’s [0008], [0067-0072] i.e., the three bit strings for each active resource (i.e., “plurality of feature values”) may be comprised in the set of resource configuration parameters provided from the network node to the wireless device…wireless device groups are mapped to each of the WUS resource, [0088] i.e., providing, S107, to the wireless device, a set of resource configuration parameters indicative of the determined WUS configuration, [0115] i.e., The wireless device 300 is configured to obtain, from the network node, a set of resource configuration parameters indicative of a WUS configuration, [0127] i.e., The set of resource configuration parameters (i.e., “configuration information”) may also comprise information about the wireless device groups mapped to each WUS resource (i.e., each WUS resource may be interpreted as a “plurality of feature values”) & [0129] i.e., based on the obtained set of resource configuration parameters, the wireless device group identifier and the set of resource configuration criteria, the wireless device 300 determines 512, a WUS resource, out of one or more active resources, allocated to the wireless device. The WUS resource allocated to the wireless device is the WUS resource that the wireless device has to monitor for potential WUS transmission).
(Priyanto suggests the configuration information comprising the different feature values is received by the wireless device in order for the wireless device to determine its allocated WUS resource associated with its wireless device group which is the WUS resource that the wireless device has to monitor for its potential WUS transmission for properly receiving the WUS in order to receive a paging message, (see Para’s [0005], [0008], [0127], & [0129])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which determines the user equipment group corresponding to the wake up signal based on a feature of the received wake up signal as disclosed in Samardzija to obtain the configuration information from the network device indicating a plurality of feature values (i.e., WUS resources) as disclosed in the teachings of Priyanto, because the motivation lies in Priyanto that the configuration information comprising the different feature values is received by the wireless device in order for the wireless device to determine its allocated WUS resource associated with its wireless device group which is the WUS resource that the wireless device has to monitor for its potential WUS transmission for properly receiving the WUS in order to receive a paging message.
Regarding Claim 13, Samardzija discloses the method according to claim 11, including wherein the determining the user equipment group corresponding to the wake up signal based on a feature of the wake up signal comprises: determining the user equipment group corresponding to the wake up signal based on the feature of the wake up signal (see Para’s [0053] i.e., The CT 120 may be configured to generate and broadcast a device-group specific wake-up signal intended to wake only a group of IoT devices 110, each of which is configured to recognize the device-group specific wake-up signal, [0061], & [0062] i.e., the wake-up signal that is used to wake up a wireless transceiver 111 of an IoT device 110 is a sequence of frames configured to produce a specific “beat” signal. The characteristics (i.e., “feature”) of the wake-up signal may be based on one or more of the number of frames sent, the duration (i.e., “feature”) or length of the frames… The wake-up circuit of an IoT device 110 that is configured to detect the wake-up signal may be configured to compare characteristics (i.e., “feature”) of the sequence of frames received in the wake-up signal to characteristics stored by the IoT device 110 for purposes of detecting the wake-up signal (i.e., user equipment group of the IoT device (i.e., UE) is determined based on a match in the comparison of the characteristics of the sequence of frames received in the wake-up signal to the stored characteristics in the IoT device 110). The sequence of frames may be configured to provide a device-group wake-up signal), but does not disclose determining the user equipment group is further based on the plurality of feature values or the plurality of feature value ranges of the feature. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Priyanto et al. US (2022/0417851).
Priyanto discloses a wireless device receives a plurality of feature values of the feature in order to determine a WUS resource allocated to the wireless device for receiving the wake up signal (see [0067-0072] i.e., the three bit strings for each active resource (i.e., “plurality of feature values”) may be comprised in the set of resource configuration parameters provided from the network node to the wireless device, [0088] i.e., providing, S107, to the wireless device, a set of resource configuration parameters indicative of the determined WUS configuration, [0115] i.e., The wireless device 300 is configured to obtain, from the network node, a set of resource configuration parameters indicative of a WUS configuration, [0127] i.e., The set of resource configuration parameters (i.e., “configuration information”) may also comprise information about the wireless device groups mapped to each WUS resource (i.e., each WUS resource may be interpreted as a “plurality of feature values”) & [0129])
(Priyanto suggests the configuration information comprising the different feature values is received by the wireless device in order for the wireless device to determine its allocated WUS resource associated with its wireless device group which is the WUS resource that the wireless device has to monitor for its potential WUS transmission for properly receiving the WUS in order to receive a paging message, (see Para’s [0005], [0008], [0127], & [0129])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which determines the user equipment group corresponding to the wake up signal based on a feature of the received wake up signal as disclosed in Samardzija to receive the wake up signal based on using the plurality of feature values (i.e., WUS resources) received by the wireless device from the network device as disclosed in the teachings of Priyanto which results in determining the UE group corresponding to the wake up signal based on the plurality of feature values of the feature, because the motivation lies in Priyanto that the configuration information comprising the different feature values is received by the wireless device in order for the wireless device to determine its allocated WUS resource associated with its wireless device group which is the WUS resource that the wireless device has to monitor for its potential WUS transmission for properly receiving the WUS in order to receive a paging message.
Regarding Claim 23, the claim is directed towards a method performed by a network device which performs the same claim features as claim 11 with respect to the network device sending the configuration information to the UE. Therefore claim 23 is rejected as obvious over the combination of Samardzija in view of Priyanto as in claim 11.
Conclusion
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461