DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This office action is a response to an application filed on 07/23/2026, in which claims 1-2 and 5-13 are pending and ready for examination.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 12-13 are currently amended.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims rejected under 35 USC 102, 103 in Remarks filed on 07/23/2026 have been considered but are moot upon further consideration and a new ground of rejection made under 35 USC 103 based on Lainema (US Pub. 20250220189 A1) in view of Li (US Pub. 20230217026 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lainema (US Pub. 20250220189 A1) in view of Li (US Pub. 20230217026 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lainema an image decoding method performed by an image decoding apparatus, the image decoding method comprising (Lainema; Fig. 1-2, Para. [0060]. An image decoding system/method is used to perform video coding.):
deriving a convolutional cross-component model (CCCM) coefficient based on an intra prediction mode of a current chroma block being a CCCM mode (Lainema; Para. [0060-62]. A convolutional cross-component model coefficient is determined in accordance with a coding mode of a current chroma block being a CCCM mode.);
determining a co-located luma sample in a co-located luma block corresponding to a current chroma sample in the current chroma block and neighboring luma samples of the co- located luma sample (Lainema; Para. [0060-62]. A convolutional cross-component filter is used to predict blocks samples, wherein corresponding luma samples and their neighboring samples in the neighborhood are used as input to generate output of prediction samples of chroma block samples and their neighboring samples in the neighborhood, wherein co-located luma samples and neighboring samples are determined. Co-located and neighboring luma samples of a co-located luma block are determined fir a current chroma sample.);
deriving at least one representative neighboring luma sample based on at least one of averaging or downsampling of the neighboring luma samples (Lainema; Para. [0060-62]. A convolutional cross-component filter is used to predict blocks samples, wherein corresponding luma samples and their neighboring samples in the neighborhood are used as input to generate output of prediction samples of chroma block samples and their neighboring samples in the neighborhood, wherein the neighboring samples includes at least a representative sample. At least one representative neighboring luma sample is determined in accordance with neighboring samples, also see Para. [0084].); and
generating a prediction sample of the current chroma sample based on applying the CCCM coefficient to the co-located luma sample (Lainema; Para. [0060-62]. A convolutional cross-component filter is used to predict blocks samples, wherein corresponding luma samples at predetermined positions are used to generate prediction samples of chroma block samples.).
But Lainema does not specifically teach generating a prediction sample of the current chroma sample based on the representative neighboring luma sample.
However, Li teaches generating a prediction sample of the current chroma sample based on the representative neighboring luma sample (Li; Para. [0089]. Prediction samples of a current chroma block are generated based on representative neighboring downsampled luma samples.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding system of Lainema to adapt a chroma sample prediction approach, by incorporating Li’s teaching wherein chroma samples are predicted using neighboring downsampled luma samples, for the motivation to prediction chroma samples through corresponding luma samples (Li; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 2, modified Lainema teaches the neighboring luma samples include at least one of left, right, top, bottom, top-left, top-right, bottom-left or bottom-right neighboring luma samples of the co-located luma sample (Lainema; Para. [0058]. A neighboring luma sample includes at least of a left and top luma samples.).
Regarding claim 5, modified Lainema teaches the determination of the neighboring luma samples or the derivation of the representative neighboring luma sample is performed based on side information signaled through a bitstream (Lainema; Para. [0058]. Neighboring or representative neighboring luma samples are determined in accordance with signaled information through a bitstream.).
Claim 12 is directed to an image encoding method performed by an image encoding apparatus, the image encoding method comprising a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claim 1 above, and is rejected for the same reason of anticipation outlined above.
Claim 13 is directed to an image encoding method performed by an image encoding apparatus, the image encoding method comprising a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claim 1 above, and is rejected for the same reason of anticipation outlined above.
Claims 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lainema (US Pub. 20250220189 A1) in view of Li (US Pub. 20230217026 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Astola (US Pub. 20250227239 A1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Lainema teaches the representative neighboring luma (Lainema; See remarks regarding claim 1 above.).
But it does not specifically disclose the representative neighboring luma sample includes a top representative neighboring luma sample, a bottom representative neighboring luma sample, a left representative neighboring luma sample, and a right representative neighboring luma sample of the co-located luma sample, wherein the top representative neighboring luma sample is derived based on at least one neighboring luma sample adjacent to the top of the co-located luma sample, wherein the bottom representative neighboring luma sample is derived based on at least one neighboring luma sample adjacent to the bottom of the co-located luma sample, wherein the left representative neighboring luma sample is derived based on at least one neighboring luma sample adjacent to the left of the co-located luma sample, and wherein the right representative neighboring luma sample is derived based on at least one neighboring luma sample adjacent to the right of the co-located luma sample.
However, Astola teaches the representative neighboring luma sample includes a top representative neighboring luma sample, a bottom representative neighboring luma sample, a left representative neighboring luma sample, and a right representative neighboring luma sample of the co-located luma sample (Astola; Fig. 10-11, Para. [0222]. A representative neighbor luma sample includes an above, a bottom, a left, a right representative neighboring luma samples.),
wherein the top representative neighboring luma sample is derived based on at least one neighboring luma sample adjacent to the top of the co-located luma sample (Astola; Fig. 10-11, Para. [0222]. An above representative neighboring luma sample is determined in accordance with a neighboring luma sample adjacent to a top of a collocated luma sample.),
wherein the bottom neighboring luma sample is derived based on at least one neighboring luma sample adjacent to the bottom of the co-located luma sample (Astola; Fig. 10-11, Para. [0222]. A bottom representative neighboring luma sample is determined in accordance with a neighboring luma sample adjacent to a bottom of a collocated luma sample.),
wherein the left representative neighboring luma sample is derived based on at least one neighboring luma sample adjacent to the left of the co-located luma sample (Astola; Fig. 10-11, Para. [0222]. A left representative neighboring luma sample is determined in accordance with a neighboring luma sample adjacent to a left of a collocated luma sample.), and
wherein the right representative neighboring luma sample is derived based on at least one neighboring luma sample adjacent to the right of the co-located luma sample (Astola; Fig. 10-11, Para. [0222]. A right representative neighboring luma sample is determined in accordance with a neighboring luma sample adjacent to a right of a collocated luma sample.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the video coding system of modified Lainema to adapt a cross-component mapping approach, by incorporating Astola’s teaching wherein samples at different locations of reference area are used for cross-component mapping, for the motivation to prediction chroma samples through convolution between samples of different channels (Astola; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 7, modified Lainema further teaches the representative neighboring luma sample includes a horizontal representative neighboring luma samples, a vertical representative neighboring luma sample, a diagonal representative neighboring luma sample and an anti-diagonal representative neighboring luma sample (Astola; Fig. 10-11, Para. [0222]. A representative neighbor luma sample includes a horizontal, a vertical, a diagonal, and an anti-angle representative luma sample.),
wherein the horizontal representative neighboring luma sample is derived based on at least one neighboring luma sample horizontally adjacent to the co-located luma sample (Astola; Fig. 10-11, Para. [0222]. A horizontal representative neighboring luma sample is determined in accordance with a neighboring luma sample horizontally adjacent to a collocated luma sample.),
wherein the vertical representative neighboring luma sample is derived based on at least one neighboring luma sample vertically adjacent to the co-located luma sample (Astola; Fig. 10-11, Para. [0222]. A horizontal representative neighboring luma sample is determined in accordance with a neighboring luma sample vertically adjacent to a collocated luma sample.),
wherein the diagonal representative neighboring luma sample is derived based on at least one neighboring luma sample diagonally adjacent to the co-located luma sample (Astola; Fig. 10-11, Para. [0222]. A horizontal representative neighboring luma sample is determined in accordance with a neighboring luma sample diagonally adjacent to a collocated luma sample.), and
wherein the anti-diagonal representative neighboring luma sample is derived based on at least one neighboring luma sample anti-diagonally adjacent to the co-located luma sample (Astola; Fig. 10-11, Para. [0222]. A horizontal representative neighboring luma sample is determined in accordance with a neighboring luma sample anti-diagonally adjacent to a collocated luma sample.).
Regarding claim 8, modified Lainema further teaches the current chroma block includes a first chroma block and a second chroma block, and wherein the CCCM coefficient for the first chroma block is derived independently from the CCCM coefficient for the second chroma block (Astola; Para. [0290]. A current chroma includes a first chroma block and a second chroma block, wherein a CCM.).
Regarding claim 9, modified Lainema further discloses the current chroma block includes a first chroma block and a second chroma block, wherein CCCM prediction for the first chroma block is performed based on the co-located luma block, and wherein CCCM prediction for the second chroma block is performed based on the first chroma block (Astola; Para. [0290]. A current chroma includes a first chroma block and a second chroma block, werehin CCCM prediction for a first chroma block is performed in accordance with a collocated luma block, CCCM prediction for a second chroma block is performed in accordance with a first chroma block.).
Regarding claim 10, modified Lainema discloses the deriving the CCCM coefficient comprises: determining a reference sample area (Lainema; Para. [0058-60]. Reference sample area is determined. Astola; Para. [0278, 287]. Reference sample area is determined.); and
deriving a CCCM coefficient using at least one reference sample in the reference sample area (Lainema; Para. [0058-60]. A CCCM coefficient is determined using at least a reference sample in a reference sample area. Astola; Para. [0278, 287]. A CCCM coefficient is determined using at least a reference sample in a reference sample area.), and
wherein the reference sample area is determined based on information about a CCCM mode (Lainema; Para. [0058-60]. A reference sample area is determined in accordance with information about a CCCM mode. Astola; Para. [0278, 287]. A reference sample area is determined in accordance with information about a CCCM mode.).
Regarding claim 11, modified Lainema further teaches the CCCM mode includes a first mode and a second mode (Lainema; Para. [0058-60]. A CCCM mode includes a first mode and a second mode. Astola; Para. [0278, 287]. A CCCM mode includes a first mode and a second mode.), wherein the first mode is a mode that uses only an area adjacent to the top of the current chroma block and the co-located luma block as the reference sample area (Lainema; Para. [0058-60]. A first mode is used for area only adjacent to top of a current chroma block and collocated luma. Astola; Para. [0278, 287]. A first mode is used for area only adjacent to top of a current chroma block and collocated luma.), and wherein the second mode is a mode that uses only an area adjacent to the left of the current chroma block and the co-located luma block as the reference sample area (Lainema; Para. [0058-60]. A second mode is used for area only adjacent to left of a current chroma block and collocated luma. Astola; Para. [0278, 287]. A second mode is used for area only adjacent to left of a current chroma block and collocated luma.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tsai (US Pub. 20260107020 A1) teaches a video coding system for inheriting cross-component model parameters in video coding system.
Li (US Pub. 20250330569 A1) teaches a video coding system for performing cross-component prediction for chroma prediction.
/ALBERT KIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485