DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 33-34, 41-43, 46-48, and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 2020/0236573 A1 – hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 33, Zhang discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, information on (i) a first measurement cycle associated with a first height range and (ii) a second measurement cycle associated with a second height range (Figs. 14-16; [0169]; [0225]; [0232] – a UAV, which is a wireless device, receiving measurement and report configuration comprising a duration (timeToTrigger), which corresponds to a measurement cycle as further described at least in [0172], for each height range of the UAV as further described at least in [0178]); monitoring, by the wireless device, a current height of the wireless device ([0184]; [0226]-[0227] – determining height state of the UAV in order to select correct configuration parameters for measurement and report as further described at least in [0232]); performing, by the wireless device, first measurement based on the first measurement cycle based on the current height of the wireless device being in the first height range ([0183]-[0184] – performing first measurement based on the first measurement cycle based on the current height, i.e. in medium height state, when the UAV is in medium height range); and performing, by the wireless device, second measurement based on the second measurement cycle based on the current height of the wireless device being in the second height range ([0183]-[0184] – performing second measurement based on the first measurement cycle based on the current height, i.e. in high height state, when the UAV is in high height range).
Regarding claim 34, Zhang also discloses the method of claim 33, wherein the second measurement cycle is longer than the first measurement cycle, based on the second height being higher than the first height range ([0182]-[0184] – the second measurement cycle for a second height being either medium height state or high height state is longer than the first measurement cycle of the state where the UAV is below the medium height state when a scale factor of 1.25 or 1.5 is selected).
Regarding claim 41, Zhang also discloses the method of claim 33, wherein the wireless device is a mobile device capable of vertical mobility (Figs. 4-5; [0075] – the UE is capable of lowering or raising flight height).
Regarding claim 42, Zhang also discloses the method of claim 33, wherein the method further comprises, receiving, by the wireless device from a network, information on (i) a first relaxed measurement criterion associated with the first height range and (2) a second relaxed measurement criterion associated with the second height range (Figs. 14-16; [0169]; [0225]; [0232] – a UAV, which is a wireless device, receiving measurement and report configurations for at least first and second height ranges as shown in [0183], i.e. first range is below the medium height state and the second range is the medium height state, the first and second measurement and report configurations are first and second relaxed measurement criteria when a scale factor of 0.25, 0.5, 0.75, or 1 is selected for the medium height state).
Regarding claim 43, Zhang also discloses the method of claim 42, wherein the method further comprises, evaluating, by the wireless device, the first relaxed measurement criterion based on the current height of the wireless device being in the first height range ([0182]-[0183] – evaluating first measurement and report configuration when the UE is below medium height state); and evaluating, by the wireless device, the second relaxed measurement criterion based on the current height of the wireless device being in the second height range ([0182]-[0183] – evaluating second measurement and report configuration when the UE is in medium height state when scale factor of 0.25, 0.5, 0.75, or 1 described in [0182] is selected).
Regarding claim 46, Zhang also discloses the method of claim 33, wherein the wireless device is in communication with at least one of a user equipment, a network, or an autonomous vehicle other than the wireless device (Figs. 7A-7B, 8A-8D; Fig. 13).
Claim 47 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 33 above in view of Zhang also disclosing a wireless device (Fig. 19; [0220]; Fig. 22), comprising: a transceiver (Fig. 19; Fig. 22 – communication unit or communication portion); a memory (Fig. 19; Fig. 22 – storage unit or storage portion, RAM, etc.); and at least one processor operatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory (Fig. 22; [0267]-[0268] – CPU 2101), and adapted to: control the transceiver to receive information on (i) a first measurement cycle associated with a first height range and (ii) a second measurement cycle associated with a second height range (Figs. 14-16; [0169]; [0225]; [0232] – a UAV, which is a wireless device, receiving measurement and report configuration comprising a duration (timeToTrigger), which corresponds to a measurement cycle as further described at least in [0172], for each height range of the UAV as further described at least in [0178]); and other steps as discussed in claim 33 above.
Claim 48 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 34 above.
Regarding claim 52, Zhang discloses a base station in a wireless communication system (Fig. 2; Fig. 22) comprising: a transceiver (Fig. 2; Fig. 22 – communication unit or communication portion); a memory (Fig. 22 - storage portion, RAM, etc.); and a processor operatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory (Fig. 22; [0267]-[0268] – CPU 2101), and adapted to: provide, to a wireless device, information on (i) a first measurement cycle associated with a first height range and (ii) a second measurement cycle associated with a second height range (Figs. 14-16; [0169]; [0225]; [0232] – providing measurement and report configuration comprising a duration (timeToTrigger), which corresponds to a measurement cycle as further described at least in [0172], for each height range of the UAV as further described at least in [0178], to a UAV, which is the wireless device); and receive, from the wireless device, measurement reports including first measurement results based on the first measurement cycle from the first height range and/or second measurement results based on the second measurement cycle form the second height range (Fig. 11 – step S1102; [0159] – receiving measurement results based on duration (timeToTrigger), which corresponds to a measurement cycle as further described at least in [0172], for each height range of the UAV as further described at least in [0178], from the UAV, which is the wireless device in order for the base station to perform a relevant decision, for example, a handover decision).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 35-40 and 49-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claims 33-34, 41-43, 46-48, and 52 above, and further in view of Kazmi et al. (EP 3893543 B1 – hereinafter Kazmi).
Regarding claim 35, see the teachings of Zhang as discussed in claim 33 above. However, Zhang does not disclose the method further comprises, receiving, by the wireless device, a configuration including a frequency list of measurement frequencies and a height list of height ranges.
Kazmi discloses receiving, by a wireless device, a configuration including a frequency list of measurement frequencies and a height list of height ranges (Fig. 3; [0031] – receiving by a UE, which is a wireless device 110 as further shown in Fig. 2, a list associating measurement frequencies and height ranges).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Kazmi into the method taught by Zhang to optimize the quality of the signal.
Regarding claim 36, Zhang in view of Kazmi also discloses the method of claim 35, wherein Kazmi also discloses each height range included in the height list is associated with at least one measurement frequency included in the frequency list (Fig. 3; [0031] – height range H1 is associated with measurement frequency F1, height range H2 is associated with measurement frequency F2, and height range H3 is associated with measurement frequency F3).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Kazmi into the method has been discussed in claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 37, Zhang in view of Kazmi also discloses the method of claim 35, wherein the configuration includes information about a specific height range for which relaxed measurement is applicable for a specific frequency ([0172]-[0173]; [0183] – below the medium height state shown in Table 2 in view of Kazmi disclosing a specific frequency is defined for a specific height range).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Kazmi into the method has been discussed in claim 35 above.
Regarding claim 38, see the teachings of Zhang as discussed in claim 33 above. Zhang also discloses receiving, by the wireless device from a network, first information for which relaxed measurement is applicable in the first height range and second information for which relaxed measurement is applicable in the second height range ([0182]-[0183] – receiving measurement and report configuration for each height range as further described at least in [0225] and [0232], wherein with a scale factor of 0.25, 0.5, 0.75, or 1 being selected for medium height state as described at least in [0182]-[0183], the first height range below medium height state and the height range of medium height state are ranges for each relaxed measurement is applicable).
However, Zhang does not disclose the first and second information are information on a first frequency and a second frequency respectively.
Kazmi discloses first information is information on a first frequency and second information is information on a second frequency respectively (Fig. 3; [0031] – F1 for H1 and F2 for H2).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Kazmi into the method taught by Zhang to optimize the quality of the signal.
Regarding claim 39, Zhang in view of Kazmi also discloses the method of claim 38, wherein the method further comprises, based on the current height of the wireless device being in the first height range: determining, by the wireless device, that at least one relaxed measurement criterion is satisfied for the first frequency and the second frequency ([0182]-[0184] – determining height status of the UE, i.e. below medium height state is the relaxed measurement criterion is satisfied for the first frequency and height status of the UE being medium height state is the relaxed measurement criterion is satisfied for the second frequency when the scaled factor of 0.25, 0.5, 0.75, or 1 for the medium height state is selected in view of Kazmi disclosing the first and the second frequencies); performing, by the wireless device, the first measurement for the first frequency based on the first measurement cycle ([0183]-[0184] – performing first measurement for the first frequency based on the first measurement cycle when the UAV is below medium height range in view of Kazmi disclosing the first frequency F1); and performing, by the wireless device, normal measurement for the second frequency based on a normal measurement cycle ([0183]-[0184] – performing second measurement for the second frequency based on the second measurement cycle when the UAV is in medium height range in view of Kazmi disclosing the first frequency F2).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Kazmi into the method has been discussed in claim 38 above.
Regarding claim 40, Zhang in view of Kazmi also discloses the method of claim 38, wherein the method further comprises, based on the current height of the wireless device being in the second height range ([0183] – when the UE is in the medium height state): determining, by the wireless device, that at least one relaxed measurement criterion is satisfied for the first frequency and the second frequency ([0182]-[0184] – determining height status of the UE, i.e. in medium height state is the relaxed measurement criterion is satisfied for the second frequency when the scaled factor of 0.25, 0.5, 0.75, or 1 for the medium height state is selected in view of Kazmi disclosing the first and the second frequencies); performing, by the wireless device, the second measurement for the second frequency based on the second measurement cycle ([0183]-[0184] – performing second measurement for the second frequency based on the second measurement cycle when the UAV is in medium height range in view of Kazmi disclosing the first frequency F2); and performing, by the wireless device, normal measurement for the first frequency based on a normal measurement cycle ([0183]-[0184] – performing first measurement for the first frequency based on the first measurement cycle when the UAV is below medium height range in view of Kazmi disclosing the first frequency F1).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Kazmi into the method has been discussed in claim 38 above.
Claim 49 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 35 above.
Claim 50 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 36 above.
Claim 51 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 37 above.
Claims 44-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claims 33-34, 41-43, 46-48, and 52 above, and further in view of Yang (US 2020/0329409 A1 – hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 44, see the teachings of Zhang as discussed in claim 33 above. However, Zhang does not disclose the first measurement is no measurement base on the first measurement cycle being infinite.
Yang discloses a measurement is no measurement based on a measurement cycle being infinite ([0066] – a duration is not within a predetermined duration range, no need to perform measurement).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Yang into the first measurement and the first measurement cycle in the method taught by Zhang to avoid measurements that are not needed thus saving power consumption.
Regarding claim 45, see the teachings of Zhang as discussed in claim 33 above. However, Zhang does not disclose the second measurement is no measurement base on the second measurement cycle being infinite.
Yang discloses a measurement is no measurement based on a measurement cycle being infinite ([0066] – a duration is not within a predetermined duration range, no need to perform measurement).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Yang into the second measurement and the second measurement cycle in the method taught by Zhang to avoid measurements that are not needed thus saving power consumption.
Conclusion
/HUNG Q DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484