DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 15-16, 18, 20-21, 27, 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (“Zhou”, US 20210153217 A1) hereinafter Zhou.
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1, any base station 105), comprising:
transmitting, to a network entity ([0130, 0050, 0042] Fig. 1, link 134, base stations communicate with each other), signaling comprising an indication of a group configuration for a UE group comprising a group leader UE and one or more group member UEs ([0035-0037, 0041, 0074] Fig. 1, each base station is responsible for coverage area for UE 115 in that area, a base station is a leader, UEs 115 within that coverage area are one or more group member UEs), the group configuration indicating the group leader UE and the one or more group member UEs and indicating an identifier mapping between the group leader UE and the one or more group member UEs , wherein each of the one or more group member UEs are within a quasi co-location threshold of the group leader UE ([0069, 0087, 0093] Quasi co-location information when transmitting/receiving beams)([0068, 0070, 0082-0083, 0092] Spatial Relation Information);
performing a beam management procedure to measure a plurality of transmit beams ([0053] Fig. 2, receive beams when receiving various signals from the base station 105)([0075-0076, 0083] the described techniques provide for configuration, identification, determination, etc. of default beams for a CC group)([0092] multiple default beams)([0108-0109, 0130] Fig. 10) and identify a transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams for communications between the network entity and the UE group ([0053] Fig. 2, receive beams when receiving various signals from the base station 105)([0075-0076, 0083] the described techniques provide for configuration, identification, determination, etc. of default beams for a CC group)([0092] multiple default beams)([0108-0109, 0130] Fig. 10); and
transmitting a message indicating the transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams ([0094] Fig. 4, At 415, the devices may communicate with each other (e.g., UE 115-b may communicate with base station 105-b, and vice versa) based on the identified default beam and at least one CC of the set of CCs. For example, UE 115-b and base station 105-b may communicate using any CC of the set of CCs, any combination of CCs within the set of CCs, or all of the CCs within the set of CCs (according to some carrier aggregation configuration, etc.) based on the identified default beam (as all CCs of the set of CCs may be associated with the same common default beam).).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Zhou teaches transmitting, to the one or more group member UEs, a second message indicating the transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams ([0108-0110] Fig. 7, the default beam manager 715 may transmit an indication of the identified default beam to the second device, where the communicating is based on the transmitted indication. In some examples, the default beam manager 715 may transmit a set of multiple default beams for simultaneous transmit/receive communications with the second device.).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Zhou teaches receiving, from the network entity, a transmission configuration indication associated with the transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams ([0082-0083][0109] default beam manager 715 may receive an indication of the default beam from the second device, where the default beam is identified based on the received indication. In some cases, the indication of the identified default beam includes a common transmission configuration indication state).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Zhou teaches transmitting, to the one or more group member UEs, a sidelink control information signaling indicating the transmission configuration indication associated with the transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams ([0041] D2D communication)([0048] peer to peer transmissions)([0082] a default beam for a CC group may be indicated by a base station. For example, in some cases, radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), downlink control information (DCI), or any combinations thereof, may be used to indicate a default beam for a CC group)([0096] The receiver 510 may receive information such as packets, user data, or control information associated with various information channels (e.g., control channels, data channels, and information related to common default beam per CC group, etc.))([0102]).
Regarding claim 15, Zhou teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Zhou teaches transmitting, to the network entity, a second message comprising an indication of at least one motion estimate for the group leader UE and the one or more group member UEs of the UE group ([0051-0053] a base station 105 may use multiple antennas or antenna arrays to conduct beamforming operations for directional communications with a UE 115. For instance, some signals (e.g. synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals) may be transmitted by a base station 105 multiple times in different directions, which may include a signal being transmitted according to different beamforming weight sets associated with different directions of transmission. Transmissions in different beam directions may be used to identify (e.g., by the base station 105 or a receiving device, such as a UE 115) a beam direction for subsequent transmission and/or reception by the base station 105., such as data signals associated with a particular receiving device, may be transmitted by a base station 105 in a single beam direction (e.g., a direction associated with the receiving device, such as a UE 115). In some examples, the beam direction associated with transmissions along a single beam direction may be determined based at least in in part on a signal that was transmitted in different beam directions.).
Regarding claim 16, Zhou teaches the method of claim 15,
Zhou teaches wherein the at least one motion estimate comprises a moving direction ([0051-0053] a base station 105 may use multiple antennas or antenna arrays to conduct beamforming operations for directional communications with a UE 115. For instance, some signals (e.g. synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals) may be transmitted by a base station 105 multiple times in different directions, which may include a signal being transmitted according to different beamforming weight sets associated with different directions of transmission. Transmissions in different beam directions may be used to identify (e.g., by the base station 105 or a receiving device, such as a UE 115) a beam direction for subsequent transmission and/or reception by the base station 105., such as data signals associated with a particular receiving device, may be transmitted by a base station 105 in a single beam direction (e.g., a direction associated with the receiving device, such as a UE 115). In some examples, the beam direction associated with transmissions along a single beam direction may be determined based at least in in part on a signal that was transmitted in different beam directions.), a velocity, or both.
Regarding claim 18, A method for wireless communication at a network entity (Fig. 1, any base station 105), comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment (UE) ([0130, 0050, 0042] Fig. 1, link 134, base stations communicate with each other), signaling comprising an indication of a group configuration for a UE group comprising a group leader UE and one or more group member UEs ([0035-0037, 0041, 0074] Fig. 1, each base station is responsible for coverage area for UE 115 in that area, a base station is a leader, UEs 115 within that coverage area are one or more group member UEs), the group configuration indicating the group leader UE and the one or more group member UEs and indicating an identifier mapping between the group leader UE and the one or more group member UEs, wherein each of the one or more group member UEs are within a quasi co-location threshold of the group leader UE ([0069, 0087, 0093] Quasi co-location information when transmitting/receiving beams)([0068, 0070, 0082-0083, 0092] Spatial Relation Information); and
receiving, from the UE, a message indicating a transmit beam of a plurality of transmit beams, wherein the transmit beam is identified based at least in part on a beam management procedure at the UE to measure the plurality of transmit beams and identify the transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams for communications between the network entity and the UE group ([0053] Fig. 2, receive beams when receiving various signals from the base station 105)([0075-0076, 0083] the described techniques provide for configuration, identification, determination, etc. of default beams for a CC group)([0092] multiple default beams)([0108-0109, 0130] Fig. 10) ([0094] Fig. 4, At 415, the devices may communicate with each other (e.g., UE 115-b may communicate with base station 105-b, and vice versa) based on the identified default beam and at least one CC of the set of CCs. For example, UE 115-b and base station 105-b may communicate using any CC of the set of CCs, any combination of CCs within the set of CCs, or all of the CCs within the set of CCs (according to some carrier aggregation configuration, etc.) based on the identified default beam (as all CCs of the set of CCs may be associated with the same common default beam)).
Regarding claim 20, Zhou teaches the method of claim 18, further comprising:
Zhou teaches transmitting a transmission configuration indication associated with the transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams ([0082-0083][0109] default beam manager 715 may receive an indication of the default beam from the second device, where the default beam is identified based on the received indication. In some cases, the indication of the identified default beam includes a common transmission configuration indication state).
Regarding claim 21, Zhou teaches the method of claim 20,
wherein the transmitting further comprises:
Zhou teaches transmitting the transmission configuration indication to the group leader UE or to the group leader UE and the one or more group member UEs of the UE group ([0041] D2D communication)([0048] peer to peer transmissions)([0082] a default beam for a CC group may be indicated by a base station. For example, in some cases, radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), downlink control information (DCI), or any combinations thereof, may be used to indicate a default beam for a CC group)([0096] The receiver 510 may receive information such as packets, user data, or control information associated with various information channels (e.g., control channels, data channels, and information related to common default beam per CC group, etc.))([0102]).
Regarding claim 27: Zhou teaches the method of claim 18, further comprising:
Zhou teaches receiving, from the UE, a second message comprising an indication of at least one motion estimate for the group leader UE and the one or more group member UEs of the UE group ([0051-0053] a base station 105 may use multiple antennas or antenna arrays to conduct beamforming operations for directional communications with a UE 115. For instance, some signals (e.g. synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals) may be transmitted by a base station 105 multiple times in different directions, which may include a signal being transmitted according to different beamforming weight sets associated with different directions of transmission. Transmissions in different beam directions may be used to identify (e.g., by the base station 105 or a receiving device, such as a UE 115) a beam direction for subsequent transmission and/or reception by the base station 105., such as data signals associated with a particular receiving device, may be transmitted by a base station 105 in a single beam direction (e.g., a direction associated with the receiving device, such as a UE 115). In some examples, the beam direction associated with transmissions along a single beam direction may be determined based at least in in part on a signal that was transmitted in different beam directions.).
Regarding claim 29: claim 29 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 1.
Regarding claim 30: claim 30 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 17, 19, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable by Zhou et al. (“Zhou”, US 20210153217 A1) hereinafter Zhou, in view of Luo et al. (“Luo”, US 20210175944 A1) hereinafter Luo.
Regarding claim 2, Zhou teaches the method of claim 1,
Zhou does not explicitly teach, but Luo teaches
wherein transmitting the message further comprises:
transmitting a channel state information reference signal resource indication associated with the transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams ([0072] The base station 105 may transmit a reference signal (e.g., a cell-specific reference signal (CRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)), which may be precoded or unprecoded. The UE 115 may provide feedback for beam selection, which may be a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) or codebook-based feedback (e.g., a multi-panel type codebook, a linear combination type codebook, a port selection type codebook). Although these techniques are described with reference to signals transmitted in one or more directions by a base station 105, a UE 115 may employ similar techniques for transmitting signals multiple times in different directions (e.g., for identifying a beam direction for subsequent transmission or reception by the UE 115) or for transmitting a signal in a single direction (e.g., for transmitting data to a receiving device))([0076, 0078]) or a reference signal receive power measurement report associated with the transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams, or both.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Zhou in view of Luo in order to exchange CSI-RS information between network devices because it would help determine the scheduling information between the devices, and it would allow to provide feedback from one network device to another based on the CSI-SR indicating precoding weights corresponding to a number of beams across a system bandwidth or one or more sub-bands (Luo, [0072, 0078])
Regarding claim 17, Zhou teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Zhou does not explicitly teach, but Luo teaches
transmitting, to the network entity, a second message comprising an indication of a recommended beam index subset ([0082-0083, 0086, 0110] The channel information manager 735 may receive, from the second communication node, channel information associated with one or more of the first sounding signal or the second sounding signal. In some cases, the channel information includes one or more of a beam and antenna subset index, a channel impulse response, beam angle information, beam delay spread information, a modulation order for subsequent communications using the associated subset of antenna elements, a precoding matrix indicator for subsequent communications using the associated subset of antenna elements, a rank indicator for subsequent communications using the associated subset of antenna elements, the base station 105-b may provide an indication of the different antenna element subsets that are to be sounded by the UE 115-b (e.g., based on a subset index list that is provided to the UE 115-b). In some cases, the base station 105-b may determine that one or more subsets of antenna elements have more favorable channel conditions than other subsets of antenna elements, and may provide an indication of the more favorable subsets (e.g., through a subset index value that may be provided to the UE 115-b). ) or a restricted beam index subset or both for the group leader UE and the one or more group member UEs of the UE group.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Zhou in view of Luo in order to provide beam and antenna subset information to the other network nodes in the communication system because it would help reduce power consumption, and implement spectral efficiency with higher data rates and may promote high reliability and low latency for beamforming operations, among other benefits (Luo, [0083]).
Regarding claim 19, Zhou teaches the method of claim 18,
Zhou does not explicitly teach, but Luo teaches
wherein receiving the message further comprises:
receiving, from the UE, a channel state information reference signal resource indication associated with the transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams ([0072] The base station 105 may transmit a reference signal (e.g., a cell-specific reference signal (CRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)), which may be precoded or unprecoded. The UE 115 may provide feedback for beam selection, which may be a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) or codebook-based feedback (e.g., a multi-panel type codebook, a linear combination type codebook, a port selection type codebook). Although these techniques are described with reference to signals transmitted in one or more directions by a base station 105, a UE 115 may employ similar techniques for transmitting signals multiple times in different directions (e.g., for identifying a beam direction for subsequent transmission or reception by the UE 115) or for transmitting a signal in a single direction (e.g., for transmitting data to a receiving device))([0076, 0078]) or a reference signal receive power measurement report associated with the transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams or both .
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Zhou in view of Luo in order to exchange CSI-RS information between network devices because it would help determine the scheduling information between the devices, and it would allow to provide feedback from one network device to another based on the CSI-SR indicating precoding weights corresponding to a number of beams across a system bandwidth or one or more sub-bands (Luo, [0072, 0078])
Regarding claim 28: Zhou teaches the method of claim 18, further comprising:
Zhou does not explicitly teach, but Luo teaches
receiving, from the UE, a second message comprising an indication of a recommended beam index subset or a restricted beam index subset or both for the group leader UE and the one or more group member UEs of the UE group ([0082-0083, 0086, 0110] The channel information manager 735 may receive, from the second communication node, channel information associated with one or more of the first sounding signal or the second sounding signal. In some cases, the channel information includes one or more of a beam and antenna subset index, a channel impulse response, beam angle information, beam delay spread information, a modulation order for subsequent communications using the associated subset of antenna elements, a precoding matrix indicator for subsequent communications using the associated subset of antenna elements, a rank indicator for subsequent communications using the associated subset of antenna elements, the base station 105-b may provide an indication of the different antenna element subsets that are to be sounded by the UE 115-b (e.g., based on a subset index list that is provided to the UE 115-b). In some cases, the base station 105-b may determine that one or more subsets of antenna elements have more favorable channel conditions than other subsets of antenna elements, and may provide an indication of the more favorable subsets (e.g., through a subset index value that may be provided to the UE 115-b). ).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Zhou in view of Luo in order to provide beam and antenna subset information to the other network nodes in the communication system because it would help reduce power consumption, and implement spectral efficiency with higher data rates and may promote high reliability and low latency for beamforming operations, among other benefits (Luo, [0083]).
Claims 8-9, 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable by Zhou et al. (“Zhou”, US 20210153217 A1) hereinafter Zhou, in view of Gore et al. (“Gore”, US 20060286974
A1) hereinafter Gore.
Regarding claim 8, Zhou teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Zhou does not explicitly teach, but Gore teaches
receiving, from the network entity, an indication of transmit beam resources based at least in part on transmitting the message indicating the transmit beam, wherein the transmit beam resources are associated with a set of narrow transmit beams ([0058-0059] Fig. 6, At 602, the spatial relationship between the user device and the base station is determined. The spatial relationship can be determined based upon the spatial signal of the base station-user device pair. Alternatively, the user device can include a global positioning system (GPS) capable of determining the location of the user device. At 604, it is determined whether the user device is to be associated with at least one narrow beam transmitted by the base station. If yes, the user device is assigned to the at least one narrow beam at 606. This assignment can be based upon information transmitted prior to the assignment, wherein the information is indicative of a predetermined at least one narrow beam and the wide beam. For instance, the information can comprise entries from a codebook. Moreover, the information can be quantized prior to transmitting such information. If no, the user device is assigned to the wide beam at 608. User devices can request specific beams or, alternatively, the base station can determine which user devices to assign to specific beams. In another example, a disparate user device can be to non-overlapping)([0017, 0056] first and second cluster of narrow beams used between base station and network device).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Zhou in view of Gore in order to have a subset of narrow beams between the base station and user devices because it would help provide different and diverse options for user devices based on certain channel quality indicator associated with the narrowing beams provided (Gore, [0016, 0059-0060]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou and Gore teach the method of claim 8,
Zhou does not explicitly teach, but Gore teaches
wherein the set of narrow transmit beams comprise a subset of beams associated with the transmit beam indicated in the message ([0058-0059] Fig. 6, At 602, the spatial relationship between the user device and the base station is determined. The spatial relationship can be determined based upon the spatial signal of the base station-user device pair. Alternatively, the user device can include a global positioning system (GPS) capable of determining the location of the user device. At 604, it is determined whether the user device is to be associated with at least one narrow beam transmitted by the base station. If yes, the user device is assigned to the at least one narrow beam at 606. This assignment can be based upon information transmitted prior to the assignment, wherein the information is indicative of a predetermined at least one narrow beam and the wide beam. For instance, the information can comprise entries from a codebook. Moreover, the information can be quantized prior to transmitting such information. If no, the user device is assigned to the wide beam at 608. User devices can request specific beams or, alternatively, the base station can determine which user devices to assign to specific beams. In another example, a disparate user device can be to non-overlapping)([0017, 0056] first and second cluster of narrow beams used between base station and network device).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Zhou in view of Gore in order to have a subset of narrow beams between the base station and user devices because it would help provide different and diverse options for user devices based on certain channel quality indicator associated with the narrowing beams provided (Gore, [0016, 0059-0060]).
Regarding claim 24: Zhou teaches the method of claim 18, further comprising:
Zhou does not explicitly teach, but Gore teaches
transmitting, to the UE, an indication of transmit beam resources based at least in part on receiving the message indicating the transmit beam, wherein the transmit beam resources are associated with a set of narrow transmit beams([0058-0059] Fig. 6, At 602, the spatial relationship between the user device and the base station is determined. The spatial relationship can be determined based upon the spatial signal of the base station-user device pair. Alternatively, the user device can include a global positioning system (GPS) capable of determining the location of the user device. At 604, it is determined whether the user device is to be associated with at least one narrow beam transmitted by the base station. If yes, the user device is assigned to the at least one narrow beam at 606. This assignment can be based upon information transmitted prior to the assignment, wherein the information is indicative of a predetermined at least one narrow beam and the wide beam. For instance, the information can comprise entries from a codebook. Moreover, the information can be quantized prior to transmitting such information. If no, the user device is assigned to the wide beam at 608. User devices can request specific beams or, alternatively, the base station can determine which user devices to assign to specific beams. In another example, a disparate user device can be to non-overlapping)([0017, 0056] first and second cluster of narrow beams used between base station and network device).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Zhou in view of Gore in order to have a subset of narrow beams between the base station and user devices because it would help provide different and diverse options for user devices based on certain channel quality indicator associated with the narrowing beams provided (Gore, [0016, 0059-0060]).
Regarding claim 25: Zhou and Gore teach the method of claim 24,
Zhou does not explicitly teach, but Gore teaches
wherein the set of narrow transmit beams comprise a subset of beams associated with the transmit beam indicated in the message ([0058-0059] Fig. 6, At 602, the spatial relationship between the user device and the base station is determined. The spatial relationship can be determined based upon the spatial signal of the base station-user device pair. Alternatively, the user device can include a global positioning system (GPS) capable of determining the location of the user device. At 604, it is determined whether the user device is to be associated with at least one narrow beam transmitted by the base station. If yes, the user device is assigned to the at least one narrow beam at 606. This assignment can be based upon information transmitted prior to the assignment, wherein the information is indicative of a predetermined at least one narrow beam and the wide beam. For instance, the information can comprise entries from a codebook. Moreover, the information can be quantized prior to transmitting such information. If no, the user device is assigned to the wide beam at 608. User devices can request specific beams or, alternatively, the base station can determine which user devices to assign to specific beams. In another example, a disparate user device can be to non-overlapping)([0017, 0056] first and second cluster of narrow beams used between base station and network device).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Zhou in view of Gore in order to have a subset of narrow beams between the base station and user devices because it would help provide different and diverse options for user devices based on certain channel quality indicator associated with the narrowing beams provided (Gore, [0016, 0059-0060]).
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable by Zhou et al. (“Zhou”, US 20210153217 A1) hereinafter Zhou, in view of Alfarhan et al. (“Alfarhan”, US 20230088597 A1) hereinafter Alfarhan.
Regarding claim 11, Zhou teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Zhou does not explicitly teach but, Alfarhan teaches
performing a beam failure detection for the group leader UE and the one or more group member UEs of the UE group ([0073-0075] Fig. 1, RAN 104 is group of base stations and 102a-c UEs, A WTRU may maintain a beam failure detection (BFD) procedure in which maintained beams are periodically measured. A beam failure recovery (BFR) request may be reported to the network, for example, upon detecting a beam failure. BFR may be configured for beam maintenance on the primary cell (Pcell) and/or secondary cell (Scell). BFD measurements may be taken, for example, at the max of {DRX period, CSI-RS period}, (e.g. in legacy systems), for example, if BFD and discontinuous reception (DRX) are configured)([0016-0017] A WTRU may trigger a BFR/beam reestablishment procedure (e.g., a new BFR/beam reestablishment procedure), for example, if the WTRU does not have a satisfactory beam during a DRX-beam observation period)([0072-0073] BFD and BFR are provided by WTRU, BFR may be configured for beam maintenance on the primary cell (Pcell) and/or secondary cell (Scell)).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Zhou in view of Alfarhan in order to monitor and detect beam failures for multiple network devices because it allows to reestablishment of beam procedures and allow certain quality conditions to be met (Alfarhan, [0003-0007, 0144-0145]).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Zhou does not explicitly teach but, Alfarhan teaches
transmitting, to the one or more group member UEs, a request to monitor for a beam failure detection for the group leader UE and the one or more group member UEs of the UE group and to perform a beam failure recovery based at least in part on performing the beam failure detection ([0073-0075] Fig. 1, RAN 104 is group of base stations and 102a-c UEs, A WTRU may maintain a beam failure detection (BFD) procedure in which maintained beams are periodically measured. A beam failure recovery (BFR) request may be reported to the network, for example, upon detecting a beam failure. BFR may be configured for beam maintenance on the primary cell (Pcell) and/or secondary cell (Scell). BFD measurements may be taken, for example, at the max of {DRX period, CSI-RS period}, (e.g. in legacy systems), for example, if BFD and discontinuous reception (DRX) are configured)([0016-0017] A WTRU may trigger a BFR/beam reestablishment procedure (e.g., a new BFR/beam reestablishment procedure), for example, if the WTRU does not have a satisfactory beam during a DRX-beam observation period)([0072-0073] BFD and BFR are provided by WTRU, BFR may be configured for beam maintenance on the primary cell (Pcell) and/or secondary cell (Scell)).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Zhou in view of Alfarhan in order to monitor and detect beam failures for multiple network devices because it allows to reestablishment of beam procedures and allow certain quality conditions to be met (Alfarhan, [0003-0007, 0144-0145]).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou and Alfarhan teach the method of claim 12,
Zhou does not explicitly teach but, Alfarhan teaches
wherein the group leader UE and the one or more group member UEs of the UE group communicate according to a new transmit beam based at least in part on the beam failure recovery ([0073-0075] Fig. 1, RAN 104 is group of base stations and 102a-c UEs, A WTRU may maintain a beam failure detection (BFD) procedure in which maintained beams are periodically measured. A beam failure recovery (BFR) request may be reported to the network, for example, upon detecting a beam failure. BFR may be configured for beam maintenance on the primary cell (Pcell) and/or secondary cell (Scell). BFD measurements may be taken, for example, at the max of {DRX period, CSI-RS period}, (e.g. in legacy systems), for example, if BFD and discontinuous reception (DRX) are configured)([0016-0017] A WTRU may trigger a BFR/beam reestablishment procedure (e.g., a new BFR/beam reestablishment procedure), for example, if the WTRU does not have a satisfactory beam during a DRX-beam observation period)([0072-0073] BFD and BFR are provided by WTRU, BFR may be configured for beam maintenance on the primary cell (Pcell) and/or secondary cell (Scell)).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Zhou in view of Alfarhan in order to monitor and detect beam failures for multiple network devices because it allows to reestablishment of beam procedures and allow certain quality conditions to be met (Alfarhan, [0003-0007, 0144-0145]).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou and Alfarhan teach the method of claim 12,
Zhou does not explicitly teach but, Alfarhan teaches
wherein the request comprises a groupcast request including an identifier for the UE group or a broadcast request including the identifier for the UE group ([0082] broadcast transmissions (e.g., for sidelink) may be used for short range communications)([0106] n addition to any common beam configurations (e.g., SSBs) determined from broadcast signals and/or configurations).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Zhou in view of Alfarhan in order to monitor and detect beam failures for multiple network devices because it allows to reestablishment of beam procedures and allow certain quality conditions to be met (Alfarhan, [0003-0007, 0144-0145]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 10, 22-23, 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is the reason for the allowable subject matter in Claim 6,
The prior art of record (“Zhou”, US 20210153217 A1) fails to fairly teach or suggest receiving, from the network entity, a downlink control information signaling comprising a transmission configuration indication associated with the transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams, wherein the downlink control information signaling is scrambled using an identifier for the UE group associated with the UE.
The following is the reason for the allowable subject matter in Claim 10,
The prior art of record (“Zhou”, US 20210153217 A1) and (“Gore”, US 20060286974 A1) fail to fairly teach or suggest performing a second beam management procedure to measure the set of narrow transmit beams; and transmitting, to the network entity, a second message indicating a narrow transmit beam of the set of narrow transmit beams based at least in part on the second beam management procedure.
The following is the reason for the allowable subject matter in Claim 22,
The prior art of record (“Zhou”, US 20210153217 A1) fails to fairly teach or suggest transmitting, to the UE, a downlink control information signaling comprising a transmission configuration indication associated with the transmit beam of the plurality of transmit beams, wherein the downlink control information signaling is scrambled using an identifier for the UE group associated with the UE.
The following is the reason for the allowable subject matter in Claim 26,
The prior art of record (“Zhou”, US 20210153217 A1) and (“Gore”, US 20060286974 A1) fail to fairly teach or suggest receiving, from the group leader UE and the one or more group member UEs, a plurality of messages indicating a plurality of narrow transmit beams of the set of narrow transmit beams; and transmitting an indication of a narrow transmit beam of the set of narrow transmit beams selected for each of the group leader UE and the one or more group member UEs based at least in part on receiving the plurality of messages.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FADI HAJ SAID whose telephone number is (571)272-2833. The examiner can normally be reached on 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, John Follansbee can be reached on 571-272-3964. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FADI HAJ SAID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444