1DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s 1-16-2026 Amendment was received. Claims 1 and 27 were amended. Claims 2-3 and 41-47 were cancelled. Claims 1 and 4-40 are pending with claims 4-8, 10-26, 28-40 were withdrawn. Claims 1, 9, and 27 were examined in this action.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a cutting section in Claim 1; infeed section in claim 1; a first infeed member in Claim 1; a second infeed member in Claim 1; a first drive in Claim 2; and a second drive in Claim 2; and irregularity sensor in Claim 27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In re Claim 9, “wherein the second driven roll is arranged to be rotated in the stretching mode at a circumferential speed corresponding to the second infeed rate,” is indefinite. The Examiner notes that Applicant removed the “stretching mode” limitations which were previously in Claim 1, in the 1-16-2026 Amendment. In view of the Amendment to Claim 1, Claim 9 is now indefinite. it is unclear what structure is being claimed. As best understood, the structure of the device is the same regardless of the mode of operation. The claims were examined as best understood. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2019/088825 A1 in view of US 4,688,455 to Takehara.
WO 2019/088825 A1 teaches an apparatus for converting a sheet (8) of elastomeric material (page 14, line 11) into a continuous strip (9) (Fig. 4), wherein the apparatus comprises a cutting section (2) for providing a sequence of cuts (83) in the sheet (8) along which the sheet (8) is separable into interconnected zig-zag sections (91) to form the continuous strip (9), wherein the apparatus further comprises an infeed section (3) (Fig. 1,2) for feeding the sheet (8) to the cutting section (K) in a feeding direction (F) along a feeding path, wherein the infeed section (3) comprises a first infeed member (33) for feeding the sheet (8) along the feeding path at a first infeed rate, and a second infeed member (31,32) downstream of said first infeed member (33) for feeding the sheet (8) along the feeding path at a second infeed rate.
WO 2019/088825 A1 does not teach wherein the apparatus comprises:
a first drive for driving one of the first infeed member and the second infeed member, wherein the apparatus further comprises a transmission between the first infeed member and the second infeed member for driving the other of the first infeed member and the second infeed member in a transmission ratio in which the second infeed rate is higher than the first infeed rate; or
a first drive for driving the first infeed member, a second drive for driving the second infeed member and a control unit that is operationally connected to the first drive and the second drive to control that the second infeed rate is higher than the first infeed rate in the stretching mode.
However, Takehara teaches that it is known in the art of web conveyance to a cutter to provide:
a first drive for driving one of the first infeed member (see Fig. 3, #1) and the second infeed member (see Takehara, Fig. 3, #15), wherein the apparatus further comprises a transmission (see Takehara, Fig. 3, “B”) between the first infeed member and the second infeed member for driving the other of the first infeed member and the second infeed member in a transmission ratio in which the second infeed rate is higher than the first infeed rate (see Takehara, Fig. 3, in view of Col. 3, l. 5-40, teaching “the respectively subordinate rollers (15), (15) and (15'), (15') below them and having relatively smaller diameters,” which causes the smaller roller to rotate faster which reads on “a transmission ration in which the second infeed rate is higher than the first infeed rate, as best understood); or
a first drive for driving the first infeed member (see Fig. 3, #M1, #6/7/8/2/3), a second drive for driving the second infeed member (see Fig. 3, “B”) and a control unit that is operationally connected to the first drive and the second drive to control that the second infeed rate is higher than the first infeed rate in the stretching mode (in this interpretation, the second drive was interpreted as the belt “B” – see Applicant’s specification, which states “As schematically shown in figure 1, the apparatus 1 comprises a first drive 11 for driving the first driven roll 31 and a transmission 12 between the first driven roll 31 and the second driven roll 42 for driving the second driven roll 42_ As schematically shown in figure 1, the apparatus 1 comprises a first drive 11 for driving the first driven roll 31 and a transmission 12 between the first driven roll 31 and the second driven roll 42 for driving the second driven roll 42).
In the same field of invention, drives for webs, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to replace the driving structure of WO 2019/088825 A1 with the driving structure of Takehara. Doing so allows the device to cut a web without support from behind (see Takehara, Col. 3, ll. 40-47).
In re Claim 9, modified WO 2019/088825 A1, in re Claim 1, teaches wherein the second infeed member comprises a second driven roll (see Takehara, Fig. 3, #15), wherein the second driven roll is arranged to be rotated in the stretching mode at a circumferential speed corresponding to the second infeed rate (as best understood, structure of the rollers in Takehara, Fig. 3, #15/#1 are the same and operate the same manner as applicant’s disclosure).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2019/088825 A1 in view of US 4,688,455 to Takehara, and further in view of US 2019/0111578 to Mulder
In re Claim 27, modified WO 2019/088825 A1, in re Claim 1, is silent as to the apparatus further comprises an sensor for detecting irregularities in the sheet upstream of the second infeed member. However, Mulder teaches that it is known in the art of rubber strip cutting to provide an irregularity sensor (see Mulder, Fig. 1, #41-44 to detect the position of the strip; see also Para. 007-8; 0012-13 and 0077). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date to add a sensor to detect the position of the workpiece at any point along the manufacturing process, as exemplified by Mulder. Doing so would ensure that the workpiece is in the proper location and not “irregular.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment to Claim 1 obviate the prior 35 USC 112(b) rejection to Claim 1. However, the amendment to Claim 1 introduced a 35 USC 112(b) rejection to Claim 9 – see above.
The Examiner notes that Applicant’s Figure 1 illustrates the first driven roll #31, conveyor belt #32, and second driven roller #42. As best understood, Takehara, Fig. 3, #1, #15, and “B” teaches the same structure. The Examiner notes that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Here, as best understood, the structure of Takehara is the same as applicants disclosure and performs the intended use of the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN G RILEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724