DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
This communication is in response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) submitted July 24, 2026. The present application claims priority benefit of U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/363,939, filed April 29, 2022. Claims 1 – 22 were previously cancelled. Claims 23 is amended. Claims 23 – 47 are presented for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 23 – 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step One
Claims 23 – 47 are drawn to a system, which is/are statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A Prong One
Independent claim 23 recites a system for meal detection, comprising: generating glucose data for a set of input features, the set of input features having glucoregulatory, insulin, and time of day features, the glucoregulatory features and the insulin features being determined relative to a prediction time, and the time-of-day features corresponding to the prediction time; receive the glucose data; and present to the user, based on the meal detection output, a meal detection indication.
The recited limitations, as drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover certain methods of organizing human activity, as reflected in the specification, which states that “This disclosure relates to the use of machine learning for detecting meals and estimating their size” (paragraph 3 of the published specification). If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The present claims cover certain methods of organizing human activity because they address “…. Inaccurate carbohydrate counts that are used for calculation of meal insulin are associated with high prevalence of postprandial hyperglycemia and hypoglycemia leading to suboptimal postprandial glycemic control even with hybrid closed-loop insulin delivery systems.” (paragraph 5 of the published specification). Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea(s) (Step 2A Prong One: YES).”
Step 2A Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims are abstract but for the inclusion of the additional elements including:
Claim 23: “system”, “one or more wearable glucose sensing and regulating medical devices”, “smart device”, “wirelessly receive from the one or more wearable glucose sensing and regulating medical devices”. “trained machine learning model, the trained machine learning model including multiple connected layers and an output layer providing a meal detection output”, “user interface”, “encoding”
Claim 24: “system”, “a remote server for hosting the trained machine learning model”
Claim 25: “system”, “the trained machine learning model is a trained multioutput machine learning model with the output layer formed from first and second branches, the first branch providing the meal detection output and the second branch providing a carbohydrate estimation output”
Claims 26, 38: “system”, “user interface”
Claims 27, 34, 35: “system”, “trained machine learning model”
Claims 28, 30, 36 – 37, 40, 44: “system”, “smart device”
Claim 29: “system”, “decision support application executed by the smart device”
Claim 31: “system”, “multiple connected layers are fully connected layers”
Claim 32: “system”, “the trained machine learning model is one or more of a neural network, a random forest model, a support vector regression model, and a logistic regression model”
Claim 33: “system”, “the trained machine learning model is trained using one or more of an ordinary differential equation (ODE) in silico model of glucose metabolism and real-world human glucose, insulin, and nutrition data”
Claim 39: “system”, “smart device”, “automatically”
Claim 41: “system”, “the one or more wearable glucose sensing and regulating medical devices include a continuous glucose monitoring (CGM) device”
Claim 42: “system”, “the one or more wearable glucose sensing and regulating medical devices include an insulin pen or an insulin pump”
Claim 43: “system”, “smart device is configured to wirelessly receive, via a wireless personal area network from the one or more wearable glucose sensing and regulating medical devices”
Claims 45 – 47: “system”
These features are additional elements that are recited at a high level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere instruction to apply the exception using generic computer components. See: MPEP 2106.05(f).
The additional elements are merely incidental or token additions to the claim that do not alter or affect how the process steps or functions in the abstract idea are performed. Therefore, the claimed additional elements do not add meaningful limitations to the indicated claims beyond a general linking to a technological environment. See: MPEP 2106.05(h).
The combination of these additional elements is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Hence, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A Prong Two: NO).
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, using the additional elements to perform the abstract idea amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic components cannot provide an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Further, the claimed additional elements, identified above, are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they are generic components that are not integrated into the claim because they are merely incidental or token additions to the claim that do not alter or affect how the process steps or functions in the abstract idea are performed. Therefore, the claimed additional elements do not add meaningful limitations to the indicated claims beyond a general linking to a technological environment. See: MPEP 2106.05(h).
Further, the claimed additional elements, identified above, are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they are generic components that are configured to perform well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the industry. See: MPEP 2106.05(d). Said additional elements are recited at a high level of generality and provide conventional functions that do not add meaningful limits to practicing the abstract idea. The published specification supports this conclusion as follows:
[0050] Skilled persons will appreciate that trained multioutput neural network model 718 represents (i.e., models) the structure of multioutput neural network 100 after it has been trained such that each neuron is assigned appropriate weights. The term model in trained multioutput neural network model 718, therefore, would be understood to refer to multioutput neural network 100 that is trained and ultimately compiled in the form of a library or other instructions saved to a computer-readable medium and available for execution on a processor (see, e.g., FIG. 10). An example utility for modeling a trained neural network in source code is described in "Keras2c: A library for converting Keras neural networks to real-time compatible C," by Conlin et al. Other utilities may also be used for similar purposes. Accordingly, a trained neural network model may include any type of computer instruction or computer-executable code located within a memory device and configured to perform the function of the corresponding trained neural network. In this context, a model may, for instance, include one or more physical or logical blocks of computer instructions, which may be organized as a routine, program, object, component, data structure, etc., that perform the function of the corresponding trained neural network. Skilled persons will also appreciate that the model may be implemented in hardware or firmware instead of or in addition to a software application.
[0051] For completeness, mobile device software decision support application 708 also shows lower-layer OS components such as a network stack 724 for communication with cloud-based software application 710. For example, cloudbased software application 710 is configured to receive data from mobile device software decision support applications 708 through a secure internet connection 726. The data may then be stored in data storage 728 used to generate a data visualization 730 for display on user interface 714. In some embodiments, algorithms 716 are implemented in cloudbased software application 710, in which case mobile device software decision support application 708 simply provides data (i.e., input features 104) to cloud-based software application 710. In certain embodiments, trained multioutput neural network model 718 may include disparate instructions stored in different locations of a memory device, different memory devices, or different computers, which together implement the described functionality of the model. Indeed, a model may include a single instruction or many instructions, and may be distributed over several different code segments, among different programs, and across several memory devices. Some embodiments may be practiced in a distributed computing environment where tasks are performed by a remote processing device linked through a communications network. In a distributed computing environment, models may be located in local or remote memory storage devices. In addition, data being tied or rendered together in a database record may be resident in the same memory device, or across several memory devices, and may be linked together in fields of a record in a database across a network.
Viewing the limitations as an ordered combination, the claims simply instruct the additional elements to implement the concept described above in the identification of abstract idea with routine, conventional activity specified at a high level of generality in a particular technological environment.
Hence, the claims as a whole, considering the additional elements individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (Step 2B: NO).
Dependent claim(s) 24 – 47 when analyzed as a whole, considering the additional elements individually and/or as an ordered combination, are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. These claims fail to remedy the deficiencies of their parent claims above, and are therefore rejected for at least the same rationale as applied to their parent claims above, and incorporated herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23, 25 – 38, 41 – 42, 44, and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daniels et al., herein after Daniels (Daniels J, Herrero P, Georgiou P. A Deep Learning Framework for Automatic Meal Detection and Estimation in Artificial Pancreas Systems. Sensors. 2022; 22(2):466. https://doi.org/10.3390/s22020466) in view of Wiktorowicz et al., herein after Wiktorowicz (U.S. Publication Number 2021/0391050 A1).
Claim 23 (Currently Amended). Daniels teaches a system for meal detection (Abstract - we propose an algorithm based on a deep learning framework that performs multitask quantile regression, for both meal detection and carbohydrate estimation), comprising:
one or more wearable glucose sensing and regulating medical devices coupled to a user and configured to generate glucose data for a set of input features, the set of input features having glucoregulatory features, insulin features, and time of day features (Fig. 1; page 1, 3, 4 and 5 - The artificial pancreas is a system that comprises a continuous glucose monitor (CGM), Insulin pump, and an algorithm working in tandem to maintain blood glucose levels in an acceptable range (70 – 180 mg/dL); encoder LSTM input sequence - xenc = (xtl, ..., xt4) - comprises the glucose concentration levels from the CGM, insulin delivered; The estimated glucose level closely follows the reference glucose level from the CGM except during unannounced meals. In the instance of an unannounced meal—such as dinner just before 9 p.m.—a significant and persistent deviation In glucose trajectory from estimated trajectory occurs which leads to a meal detection and estimation);
a smart device configured to receive from the one or more wearable glucose sensing and regulating medical devices the glucose data and to provide the set of input features to a trained machine learning model, the trained machine leaning model including multiple connected layers (Fig. 1; page 1, 3, 4 and 5 - The artificial pancreas is a system that comprises a continuous glucose monitor (CGM), insulin pump, and an algorithm working In tandem to maintain blood glucose levels in an acceptable range (70 – 180 mg/dL); encoder LSTM input sequence - xenc = (xtl, ..., xt4) - comprises the glucose concentration levels from the CGM, insulin delivered; The estimated glucose level closely follows the reference glucose level from the CGM except during unannounced meals. In the Instance of an unannounced meal—such as dinner Just before 9 p.m.—a significant and persistent deviation In glucose trajectory from estimated trajectory occurs which leads to a meal detection and estimation); and
an output layer providing a meal detection output (page 7 - The first stage of the model involves the detection of a meal. First, the last 20 min of the glucose profile Is estimated using the sequence to sequence model. As explained In the previous section, the model outputs multiple quantiles for a 95% prediction interval coverage that arises from the errors arising from the input variables. Consequently, in a scenario where the glucose trajectory persists outside the prediction Interval, this Implies a significant deviation beyond noise In the input variables that can be inferred as a missing Input. In this setting, this missing Input Is attributed to an unannounced ingested meal and therefore a meal detection flag can be activated); and
a user interface configured to present to the user, based on the meal detection output, a meal detection indication (page 5 and 8- this missing input Is attributed to an unannounced ingested meal and therefore a meal detection flag can be activated; In the eventual use case of a meal detection algorithm, the detection of an unannounced meal would prompt a bolus to be delivered either indirectly by notifying the user with an alert, or directly In a sensor augmented pump.).
Daniels fails to explicitly teach the following limitations met by Wiktorowicz as cited:
the glucoregulatory features and the insulin features being determined relative to a prediction time, and the time-of-day features encoding a time of day corresponding to the prediction time (Figures 1B and 4; paragraph 8 discloses a dynamic model comprises a meal prediction component configured to predict, based on the blood glucose values, the bolus information, and the meal size propensity record, a meal size for the person. The dynamic model comprises a meal determination component configured to determine, based on the blood glucose values, the bolus information, and the meal size propensity record, a size of a meal ingested by the person; paragraph 94 discloses a feature generation including a feature corresponding to whether a bolus is detected within a predetermined time period ( e.g., one hour) of a detected beginning of a meal, a bolus probability density ( e.g., a bolus probability by time of day); paragraph 148 discloses a meal size probability density estimate for a single subject based on 14 days of data).
wirelessly receiving glucose data.(paragraph 52 discloses mobile communication device includes, but is not limited to, a mobile phone, a smartphone, a wearable electronic device (e.g., a smart watch), a tablet, a laptop computer, a portable computer, and similar devices; paragraph 125 discloses the glucose monitor or another glucose sensor can be a sensor configured to transmit blood glucose data wirelessly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to expand the method of Daniels to further include a closed loop diabetes treatment system detecting a meal and/or a missed bolus by receiving blood glucose values and bolus information regarding a person with diabetes, the blood glucose values and the bolus information relating to a period of time as disclosed by Wiktorowicz.
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to expand the method of Daniels in this way to improve outcomes for persons with diabetes by facilitating communication of clinically relevant "insights" about a person's insulin-based therapy to patient systems and HCP systems as well as by facilitating communication of therapy related advice from HCP systems to patient systems (Wiktorowicz: paragraph 177).
Claim 25 (Original). Daniels and Wiktorowicz teach the system of claim 23. Daniels teaches the system in which the trained machine learning model is a trained multioutput machine learning model with the output layer formed from first and second branches, the first branch providing the meal detection output and the second branch providing a carbohydrate estimation output (page 3, 5-6 - the deep neural network is based on a multitask sequence-to-sequence model. The sequence-to-sequence (seq2seq) model is primarily a model that is used to map one set of input sequences to an associated set of output sequences and has been used In glucose prediction tasks; The first stage of the model involves the detection of a meal; Carbohydrate Estimation).
Claim 26 (Original). Daniels and Wiktorowicz teach the system of claim 25. Daniels teaches a system in which the user interface is configured to present to the user, based on the carbohydrate estimation output, a meal size estimation (page 6 and 7- estimating the meal size; output meal size).
Claim 27 (Original). Daniels and Wiktorowicz teach the system of claim 26. Daniels teaches a system in which the trained machine learning model provides a probability estimate of the meal size estimation (page 3 - develop a probabilistic approach that compares the expected signal and observed signal to detect a meal).
Claim 28 (Original). Daniels and Wiktorowicz teach the system of claim 26. Daniels teaches a system to determine, based on one or both the meal detection output and the carbohydrate estimation output, an amount of Insulin to dose to a person requiring exogenous insulin delivery (page 6 - the meal detection and estimation module provides an estimate of the carbohydrate size to the bolus calculator In the BIAP controller to determine the meal Insulin bolus.).
Daniels fails to explicitly teach the following limitations met by Wiktorowicz as cited:
smart device (paragraph 52 discloses mobile communication device includes, but is not limited to, a mobile phone, a smartphone, a wearable electronic device (e.g., a smart watch), a tablet, a laptop computer, a portable computer, and similar devices; paragraph 125 discloses the glucose monitor or another glucose sensor can be a sensor configured to transmit blood glucose data wirelessly).
The motivation to combine Daniels and Wiktorowicz is discussed in the rejection of claim 23, and incorporated herein.
Claim 29 (Original). Daniels and Wiktorowicz teach the system of claim 26. Daniels teaches a system in which the meal size estimation is used within a decision support application executed by the smart device to estimate whether a meal was consumed prior to meal insulin dosing (page 3, 5-8).
Claim 30 (Original). Daniels and Wiktorowicz teach the system of claim 26. Daniels teaches a system in which the smart device is configured to provide the meal size estimation to a weight-loss coaching application (page 6 and 7- estimating the meal size; output meal size). Although Daniels does not explicitly disclose weight loss coaching, it Is well known in the art the use of meal data for weight loss programs.
Claim 31 (Original). Daniels and Wiktorowicz teach the system of claim 23. Daniels teaches a system in which the multiple connected layers are fully connected layers (para [0124], [0133]- fully connected layers In the network).
Claim 32 (Original). Daniels and Wiktorowicz teach the system of claim 23. Daniels teaches a system in which the trained machine learning model is one or more of a neural network, a random forest model, a support vector regression model, and a logistic regression model (page 2 - the neural network architecture and proposed framework for detecting and estimating unannounced meals).
Claim 33 (Original). Daniels and Wiktorowicz teach the system of claim 23. Daniels teaches a system in which the trained machine learning model is trained using one or more of an ordinary differential equation (ODE) in silico model of glucose metabolism and real-world human glucose, insulin, and nutrition data (page 5 and 8- we first train a generalized model using aggregated data from each individual. The individualized model for each participant Is then obtained by finetuning the generalized model on the individual data; T1D Simulator Is used to generate a challenging scenario for training, validating and testing the models).
Claim 34 (Original). Daniels and Wiktorowicz teach the system of claim 23. Daniels teaches a system in which the trained machine learning model is configured to predict categories of meal sizes or an actual meal amount (page 6 - precise meal size estimate).
Claim 35 (Original). Daniels and Wiktorowicz teach the system of claim 23. Daniels teaches a system in which the trained machine learning model provides a probability estimate of a likelihood of a meal having occurred (page 3 - develop a probabilistic approach that compares the expected signal and observed signal to detect a meal).
Claim 36 (Original). Daniels and Wiktorowicz teach the system of claim 23. Daniels teaches a system configured to:
receive a series of periodic glucose measurement samples and deriving one or more glucoregulatory features based on the series of glucose measurement samples (page 3 -sequence-to-sequence (seq2seq) model is primarily a model that is used to map one set of Input sequences to an associated set of output sequences and has been used in glucose prediction tasks. In this task, the objective Is to estimate the last 20 min of the individual's glucose trajectory using historical CGM measures, meals, and insulin).
Daniels fails to explicitly teach the following limitations met by Wiktorowicz as cited:
smart device (paragraph 52 discloses mobile communication device includes, but is not limited to, a mobile phone, a smartphone, a wearable electronic device (e.g., a smart watch), a tablet, a laptop computer, a portable computer, and similar devices; paragraph 125 discloses the glucose monitor or another glucose sensor can be a sensor configured to transmit blood glucose data wirelessly).
The motivation to combine Daniels and Wiktorowicz is discussed in the rejection of claim 23, and incorporated herein.
Claim 37 (Original). Daniels and Wiktorowicz teach the system of claim 23. Daniels teaches a system configured to:
receive insulin bolus data and calculate one or more insulin features based on a weighted sum of amounts in the insulin bolus data over a predetermined time (page 3 and 6 - decoder generates the output sequence— ydec = (yt3, ..., yt)—and estimated quantiles of the glucose trajectory are generated at the output. The decoder input, xdec = (xt3, ..., xt), comprises the insulin delivered and announced/estimated meals and is initialized with the final encoder state; the bolus calculator In the BIAP controller to determine the meal Insulin bolus. However, because of the increase in glucose levels due to the meal ingestion, the controller begins to deliver Insulin to cover the meal. This insulin Is delivered as the deviation remains below the upper bound and the meal flag is not raised. In addition the meal size estimate may be overestimated).
Daniels fails to explicitly teach the following limitations met by Wiktorowicz as cited:
smart device (paragraph 52 discloses mobile communication device includes, but is not limited to, a mobile phone, a smartphone, a wearable electronic device (e.g., a smart watch), a tablet, a laptop computer, a portable computer, and similar devices; paragraph 125 discloses the glucose monitor or another glucose sensor can be a sensor configured to transmit blood glucose data wirelessly).
The motivation to combine Daniels and Wiktorowicz is discussed in the rejection of claim 23, and incorporated herein.
Claim 38 (Original). Daniels and Wiktorowicz teach the system of claim 23. Daniels teaches a system in which the user interface is configured to: notify the user of a meal detection event and receive a user confirmation of the meal detection event (page 8 - the detection of an unannounced meal would prompt a bolus to be delivered either indirectly by notifying the user with an alert).
Claim 41 (Original). Daniels and Wiktorowicz teach the system of claim 23. Daniels teaches a system in which the one or more wearable glucose sensing and regulating medical devices include a continuous glucose monitoring (CGM) device (page 1 — continuous glucose monitor (CGM), insulin pump).
Claim 42 (Original). Daniels and Wiktorowicz teach the system of claim 23. Daniels teaches a system in which the one or more wearable glucose sensing and regulating medical devices include an Insulin pen or an insulin pump (page 1 — continuous glucose monitor (CGM), Insulin pump).
Claim 44 (Original). Daniels and Wiktorowicz teach the system of claim 23. Daniels teaches a system is configured to initiate delivery of Insulin to a user in response to the meal size estimation (page 8).
Daniels fails to explicitly teach the following limitations met by Wiktorowicz as cited:
smart device (paragraph 52 discloses mobile communication device includes, but is not limited to, a mobile phone, a smartphone, a wearable electronic device (e.g., a smart watch), a tablet, a laptop computer, a portable computer, and similar devices; paragraph 125 discloses the glucose monitor or another glucose sensor can be a sensor configured to transmit blood glucose data wirelessly).
The motivation to combine Daniels and Wiktorowicz is discussed in the rejection of claim 23, and incorporated herein.
Claim 46 (Previously Presented). Daniels and Wiktorowicz teach the system of claim 23. Daniels discloses a system in which the glucoregulatory feature comprises a rate-of-change of glucose (page 3 discloses a threshold-based detection using the rate of change (ROC) of glucose levels and (ii) outlier detection using model predictions).
Claim(s) 24 and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daniels et al., herein after Daniels (Daniels J, Herrero P, Georgiou P. A Deep Learning Framework for Automatic Meal Detection and Estimation in Artificial Pancreas Systems. Sensors. 2022; 22(2):466. https://doi.org/10.3390/s22020466) in view of Wiktorowicz et al., herein after Wiktorowicz (U.S. Publication Number 2021/0391050 A1) further in view of Nelson et al., herein after Nelson (U.S. Publication Number 2020/0163549 A1).
Claim 24. Daniels and Wiktorowicz teach the system of claim 23.
Daniels and Wiktorowicz fail to explicitly teach the following limitations met by Nelson as cited:
further comprising a remote server for hosting the trained machine learning model and receiving the set of input features to the trained machine learning model (paragraph 8 discloses a server operatively coupled to the data network; paragraph 31 discloses the server device can be another portable device, such as a personal digital assistant or a notebook computer; paragraph 32 discloses the server device can also communicate with another device including a PDA synching data with a personal computer (PC), a mobile phone communicating over a cellular network with a computer at the other end, or a household appliance communicating with a computer system at a physician's office, indicating remotely).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to expand the method of Daniels and Wiktorowicz to further include a device and method for determining and reporting glucose readings in wireless personal area networks for diabetics as disclosed by Nelson.
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to expand the method of Daniels and Wiktorowicz in this way to provide a low cost meter and strip glucose monitoring system that has highly convenient features, including wireless communication capabilities (Nelson: paragraph 6).
Claim 43. Daniels and Wiktorowicz teach the system of claim 23.
Daniels and Wiktorowicz fail to explicitly teach the following limitations met by Nelson as cited:
the smart device is configured to wirelessly receive, via a wireless personal area network from the one or more wearable glucose sensing and regulating medical devices, the glucose data including at least a portion of the set of input features (paragraphs 13 and 32 - data network may Include a personal area network, where the personal area network is configured for short range wireless communication; sending glucose data from devices 102 and 104 to data storage in device 105).
The motivation to combine the teachings of Daniels, Wiktorowicz, and Nelson is discussed in the rejection of claim 24, and incorporated herein.
Claim(s) 39 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daniels et al., herein after Daniels (Daniels J, Herrero P, Georgiou P. A Deep Learning Framework for Automatic Meal Detection and Estimation in Artificial Pancreas Systems. Sensors. 2022; 22(2):466. https://doi.org/10.3390/s22020466) in view of Wiktorowicz et al., herein after Wiktorowicz (U.S. Publication Number 2021/0391050 A1) further in view of Hei et al., herein after Hei (U.S. Publication Number 2021/0145370 A1).
Claim 39 (Original). Daniels and Wiktorowicz teach the system of claim 38.
Daniels and Wiktorowicz fail to explicitly teach the following limitations met by Hei as cited:
the smart device (Figure 1; paragraph 29 discloses an insulin pump, a computer, or a smartphone as main components of an artificial pancreas; paragraph 54 discloses smartphones offer the ability to integrate an applicable app into the system and method) is configured to initiate delivery of a fraction of a requisite amount of meal insulin to the user automatically or in response to reception of the user confirmation (paragraphs 100 – 101 and 135 disclose along with other features including carbohydrates from the meal, bolus Insulin, and cumulative step counts In a fixed time interval. Consider the previous 50 minutes of history for calculating the cumulative step numbers. For every five minutes interval, it is denoted with Rinsulin=5*0.014. Calculate the effective Insulin on the body leff at any particular time-index ts with the equation as follows: Ieff(ts)=Ibolus - (ts - tbolus)Rinsulin).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to expand the method of Daniels and Wiktorowicz to further include the glucose monitoring method and system which protects an artificial pancreas’s sensor, infusion system, and alert system from EMI/wireless attacks using a medical software or application, close the gap between sensor and blood glucose, and build a non-invasive hypoglycemia and hyperglycemia false alarm detection scheme with the help of a wristband to provide accurate blood glucose predictions as disclosed by Hei.
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to expand the method of Daniels and Wiktorowicz in this way to detect/predict the real hypoglycemia and hyperglycemia cases by monitoring the patient's physiological data such as heart rate, galvanic skin response, food eaten, and exercise steps to help detect the sensor glucose alert manipulating attacks without missing life-threatening cases. Preprocessing the CGM readings with Kalman smoothing for sensor error correction improves the robustness of the BG prediction (Hei: paragraph 5).
Claim 40 (Original). Daniels and Wiktorowicz teach the system of claim 23.
Daniels and Wiktorowicz fail to explicitly teach the following limitations met by Hei as cited:
the smart device (Figure 1; paragraph 29 discloses an insulin pump, a computer, or a smartphone as main components of an artificial pancreas; paragraph 54 discloses smartphones offer the ability to integrate an applicable app into the system and method) is configured to determine the fraction as a function of time based on a time after the user confirmation (paragraphs 100 – 101 and 135 disclose along with other features including carbohydrates from the meal, bolus Insulin, and cumulative step counts In a fixed time interval. Consider the previous 50 minutes of history for calculating the cumulative step numbers. For every five minutes interval, it is denoted with Rinsulin=5*0.014. Calculate the effective Insulin on the body leff at any particular time-index ts with the equation as follows: Ieff(ts)=Ibolus - (ts - tbolus)Rinsulin).
The motivation to combine Daniels, Wiktorowicz, and Hei is discussed in the rejection of claim 39, and incorporated herein.
Claim(s) 45 and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daniels et al., herein after Daniels (Daniels J, Herrero P, Georgiou P. A Deep Learning Framework for Automatic Meal Detection and Estimation in Artificial Pancreas Systems. Sensors. 2022; 22(2):466. https://doi.org/10.3390/s22020466) in view of Wiktorowicz et al., herein after Wiktorowicz (U.S. Publication Number 2021/0391050 A1) further in view of Hayter et al., herein after Hayter (U.S. Publication Number 2021/0050085 A1).
Claim 45 (Previously Presented). Daniels and Wiktorowicz teach the system of claim 23.
Daniels and Wiktorowicz fail to explicitly teach the following limitations met by Hayter as cited:
in which the insulin feature models insulin decay over time using a predefined decay function (paragraph 305 discloses rapid acting insulin analogs generally achieve peak plasma concentration in approximately 45 minutes, with a profile that decays exponentially afterward, though this time may be shorter if a user is taking ultra-rapid insulin analogs. This time window can fall within the dormant period where the DGA cannot provide guidance due to rising glucose levels. IOB can be estimated from this profile by directly measuring the exponential decay or by estimating a linear decay from the peak insulin concentration to the pre-prandial value. The IOB value can account for the current decline in glucose).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to expand the method of Daniels and Wiktorowicz to further include a systems, devices, and methods relating to medication dose guidance such as, for example, the determination of an insulin dose for the treatment of elevated glucose levels resulting from diabetes as disclosed by Hayter.
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to expand the method of Daniels and Wiktorowicz in this way to provide systems, devices, or methods that can automatically utilize glucose information collected by an analyte monitoring system to provide medication dose guidance in a readily accessible manner on an as-needed basis (Hayter: paragraph 5).
Claim 47 (Previously Presented). Daniels and Wiktorowicz teach the system of claim 23.
Daniels and Wiktorowicz fail to explicitly teach the following limitations met by Hayter as cited:
in which the meal detection output comprises a binary classification indicating presence or absence of a meal (paragraph 148 discloses the retrospective meal detection module can take the feature matrix, as input, and output binary detection results for each rising region. Such output can include: a binary classification result, and a probability value of each rising region being an analyte (e.g., glucose) excursion in response to a meal event; paragraph 149 discloses the classification operation can take the feature matrix of a patient as input and output a binary classification result for each relevant medication event (e.g., for each insulin injection). For example, the DGA can output binary data '1' signifying a meal dose and 'O' signifying non-meal dose; paragraph 270 discloses the meal detection module can also be configured to output a probability value with the binary detection result).
The motivation to combine the teachings of Daniels, Wiktorowicz, and Hayter is discussed in the rejection of claim 45 and incorporated herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant’s arguments have been addressed in the order in which they were presented.
Response to Rejection under 35 USC § 101
The Applicant argues claim 23 does not recite Organizing personal behavior under Step 2A, Prong One. The Examiner disagrees. Under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the Applicant’s claims are an abstract idea that falls into the grouping of “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” which covers fundamental economic principles or practices, commercial or legal interactions, or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people. The Examiner respectfully submits that section 2106.04(a) of the MPEP recites that “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” include managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions. The present claims recite the abstract idea of generating glucose data for a set of input features, the set of input features having glucoregulatory, insulin, and associated time of day features; receive the glucose data; and present to the user, based on the meal detection output, a meal detection indication. These features describe interactions with people, thus “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” as the data generated is presented to the user. Thus, if a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers interactions with people, but for the recitation of generic components, then it is still in the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping.
The Applicant argues claim 23 integrates any exception into a practical application under Step 2A, Prong Two. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The additional elements of the present claims fail to integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. Section 2106.04(d) of the MPEP defines the phrase “integration into a practical application” to require an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. For example, section 2106.04(d) of the MPEP recite limitations that are indicative of integration into a practical application when recited in a claim with a judicial exception include:
Improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(a);
Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for disease or medical condition – see Vanda Memo
Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(b);
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(c); and
Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(e) and the Vanda Memo issued in June 2018.
The present claims fail to demonstrate an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field. Thus, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive, and the rejection is maintained.
The Applicant argues, viewed as an ordered combination, the claim amounts to significantly more. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant’s specification states “Skilled persons will appreciate that trained multioutput neural network model 718 represents (i.e., models) the structure of multioutput neural network 100 after it has been trained such that each neuron is assigned appropriate weights. The term model in trained multioutput neural network model 718, therefore, would be understood to refer to multioutput neural network 100 that is trained and ultimately compiled in the form of a library or other instructions saved to a computer-readable medium and available for execution on a processor (see, e.g., FIG. 10). An example utility for modeling a trained neural network in source code is described in "Keras2c: A library for converting Keras neural networks to real-time compatible C," by Conlin et al. Other utilities may also be used for similar purposes. Accordingly, a trained neural network model may include any type of computer instruction or computer-executable code located within a memory device and configured to perform the function of the corresponding trained neural network. In this context, a model may, for instance, include one or more physical or logical blocks of computer instructions, which may be organized as a routine, program, object, component, data structure, etc., that perform the function of the corresponding trained neural network. Skilled persons will also appreciate that the model may be implemented in hardware or firmware instead of or in addition to a software application.” (paragraph 50 of the published specification). The generic computer cited by the Applicant is a general link to execute the abstract idea. Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Response to Rejection under 35 USC § 103
In response to the Applicant’s argument, it is respectfully submitted that the Examiner has applied new prior art to the amended claims. The Examiner notes that the amended limitations were not in the previously pending claims; as such, Applicant’s remarks with the regard to the application of Daniels and Hei are addressed in the above Office Action.
Conclusion
KRISTINE K. RAPILLO
Examiner
Art Unit 3626
/KRISTINE K RAPILLO/Examiner, Art Unit 3682