DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to US App. 18/858269. Claims 1-5, 7, 9-10, 12-13, 15-18, 20-23, 28 and 30 have been examined. Claims 6, 8, 11, 14, 19, 24-27, and 29 have been cancelled.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-10, 15-18, 20, 22-23, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Zhuang et al. (CN 110740498 with bona-fide English translation as (US 2022/0394621), hereafter Zhuang).
Regarding Claim 1,
A wireless communication method, performed by a terminal, comprising:
using or stopping using a predetermined working mode; wherein the predetermined working mode is a working mode that a second transceiver of the terminal is woken up after a first transceiver of the terminal receives a predetermined wakeup signal [Zhuang: 0010; when the power saving indication information indicates that the terminal device supports an out-of-band WUS, the access device sends an out-of-band WUS to a wake-up radio (WUR) of the terminal device, so that the WUR of the terminal device wakes up a main radio (MR) of the terminal device after receiving the out-of-band WUS; or when the power saving indication information indicates that the terminal device supports an in-band WUS but does not support an out-of-band WUS, the access device sends an in-band WUS to a main radio (MR) of the terminal device, so that the MR of the terminal device wakes up the main radio of the terminal device after receiving the in-band WUS; 0018; a wake-up radio (WUR) of the terminal device receives an out-of-band WUS sent by the access device, where the out-of-band WUS is sent by the access device to the WUR of the terminal device when the power saving indication information indicates that the terminal device supports an out-of-band WUS; and the terminal device wakes up a main radio (MR) of the terminal device based on the out-of-band WUS].
Regarding Claim 2,
further comprising: receiving predetermined information sent by an access network device, wherein the predetermined information indicates: to use or stop using the predetermined working mode; wherein using or stopping using the predetermined working mode comprises: using or stopping using the predetermined working mode according to the predetermined information [Zhuang: 0010; when the power saving indication information indicates that the terminal device supports an out-of-band WUS, the access device sends an out-of-band WUS to a wake-up radio (WUR) of the terminal device, so that the WUR of the terminal device wakes up a main radio (MR) of the terminal device after receiving the out-of-band WUS; or when the power saving indication information indicates that the terminal device supports an in-band WUS but does not support an out-of-band WUS, the access device sends an in-band WUS to a main radio (MR) of the terminal device, so that the MR of the terminal device wakes up the main radio of the terminal device after receiving the in-band WUS; 0018; a wake-up radio (WUR) of the terminal device receives an out-of-band WUS sent by the access device, where the out-of-band WUS is sent by the access device to the WUR of the terminal device when the power saving indication information indicates that the terminal device supports an out-of-band WUS; and the terminal device wakes up a main radio (MR) of the terminal device based on the out-of-band WUS].
Regarding Claim 3,
wherein receiving the predetermined information sent by the access network device comprises: receiving the predetermined information sent by the access network device via a third predetermined radio resource control (RRC) message [Zhuang: 0083; the power saving indication information of the terminal device may be reported to the access device through a radio resource control (Radio Resource Control, RRC) message, for example, an RRC setup request message; the RRC setup request message is a message sent by the terminal device to the access device and used to request to establish a communication connection with the access device in a process of establishing an RRC connection between the terminal device and the access device; it should be understood that when any terminal device accesses an access device, that is, when the terminal device communicates with the access device, an RRC connection is established between the terminal device and the access device; when the terminal device no longer needs to communicate with the access device, the RRC connection is released; 0134; a sending unit 502, configured to send the power saving indication information to an access device, so that when the terminal device is idle, the access device determines a sleep mode of the terminal device based on the power saving indication information and sends a sleep signal to the terminal device];
Note:
A sleep signal to a terminal device is sent during an RRC connection, thus inherently an RRC message.
receiving the predetermined information sent by the access network device via an RRC connection release message; or
receiving the predetermined information sent by the access network device via an RRC reconfiguration message.
Regarding Claim 4,
further comprising: sending request information to the access network device; wherein the request information is configured to: request to use or stop using the predetermined working mode; wherein receiving the predetermined information sent by the access network device comprises: receiving response information sent by the access network device in response to the request information [Zhuang: 0010; when the power saving indication information indicates that the terminal device supports an out-of-band WUS, the access device sends an out-of-band WUS to a wake-up radio (WUR) of the terminal device, so that the WUR of the terminal device wakes up a main radio (MR) of the terminal device after receiving the out-of-band WUS; 0018; a wake-up radio (WUR) of the terminal device receives an out-of-band WUS sent by the access device, where the out-of-band WUS is sent by the access device to the WUR of the terminal device when the power saving indication information indicates that the terminal device supports an out-of-band WUS; and the terminal device wakes up a main radio (MR) of the terminal device based on the out-of-band WUS].
Regarding Claim 5,
wherein the terminal is in a radio resource control (RRC) non-connected state; and sending the request information to the access network device comprises: sending the request information to the access network device via a random access message or a first predetermined RRC message, where the random access message comprises one of: a msgA message or a msg3 message, or
the terminal is in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state; and wherein sending the request information to the access network device comprises: sending the request information to the access network device via a second predetermined RRC message or a user equipment assistance information (UAI) message [Zhuang: 0015; 0130; the access device receives the power saving indication information sent by the terminal device through one of an RRC message, L1 signaling, uplink data piggybacking, or L2 signaling; 0134; the access device determines a sleep mode of the terminal device based on the power saving indication information and sends a sleep signal to the terminal device; 0136; sleep unit 504, configured to: after the receiving unit 503 receives the sleep signal, control, based on the sleep signal, the terminal device to enter the sleep mode], or
the terminal is in an RRC non-connected state; and sending the request information to the access network device comprises: sending the request information to the access network device after cell reselection.
6. (canceled)
Regarding Claim 7,
wherein the request information comprises at least one of: information that the terminal is in a measurement relax state; information that the terminal is in a measurement stopped state;
information that the terminal meets an evaluation criterion of measurement relax; information that the terminal meets an evaluation criterion of stopping measurement; duration information estimated in which no uplink data is transmitted; or
duration information in which the predetermined working mode requested is used [Zhuang: 0057; to implement sleep of a high-power main radio when the terminal device is idle, a low-power receiver, that is, a WUR, is disposed in the terminal device, and is configured to receive some simple signals; for example, when the WUR is in an active state, the WUR receives, within a period, a wake-up signal (wake-up signal, WUS) sent by the access device, to wake up the main interface of the terminal device; 0010; when the power saving indication information indicates that the terminal device supports an out-of-band WUS, the access device sends an out-of-band WUS to a wake-up radio (WUR) of the terminal device, so that the WUR of the terminal device wakes up a main radio (MR) of the terminal device after receiving the out-of-band WUS].
Regarding Claim 9,
wherein the predetermined information indicates at least one of:
a transition duration, wherein if a second predetermined condition is met within the transition duration, the terminal goes into the predetermined working mode; or
a channel monitoring parameter for the terminal operating in the predetermined working mode [Zhuang: 0057; when the WUR is in an active state, the WUR receives, within a period, a wake-up signal (wake-up signal, WUS) sent by the access device, to wake up the main interface of the terminal device; 0066; for another example, in the out-of-band WUS sleep mode, the main radio switches to the deep sleep mode (specifically, a circuit of the main radio may be disabled, so that no power consumption is generated) while the WUR works and listens to the WUS].
Regarding Claim 10,
wherein the second predetermined condition comprises at least one of:
no uplink data being received within the transition duration [Zhuang: 0134; the access device determines a sleep mode of the terminal device based on the power saving indication information and sends a sleep signal to the terminal device; 0136; sleep unit 504, configured to: after the receiving unit 503 receives the sleep signal, control, based on the sleep signal, the terminal device to enter the sleep mode];
Note:
No uplink data is sent during sleep mode.
an evaluation criterion of measurement relax being met within the transition duration; or
an evaluation criterion of stopping measurement being met within the transition duration;
wherein the channel monitoring parameter comprises at least one of: a monitoring period [Zhuang: 0057; when the WUR is in an active state, the WUR receives, within a period, a wake-up signal (wake-up signal, WUS) sent by the access device, to wake up the main interface of the terminal device];
a monitoring duration in each monitoring period;
a monitoring channel; time domain information for the predetermined wakeup signal; frequency domain information for the predetermined wakeup signal;
code domain information for the predetermined wakeup signal;
a paging group identification (ID); or a duration in which the terminal is capable of being in the predetermined working mode.
Regarding Claims 15-18, 20, and 22-23, which recites the same claim limitations as those in claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 9-10 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 9-10 is applicable.
Regarding Claim 28, which recites the same claim limitations as those in claim 1 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claim 1 is applicable.
Regarding Claim 30, which recites the same claim limitations as those in claim 15 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claim 15 is applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuang in view of Son et al. (EP 1903815; hereafter Son).
Regarding Claim 12,
Zhuang teaches that access device may determine whether a sleep mode corresponding to the power saving indication information updated after the change is consistent with the current sleep mode of terminal device [Zhuang: 0116].
However, Zhuang does not teach that he response information indicates refusal of the request; and the response information further indicates that the terminal maintains a current working mode or RRC state.
Son teaches:
wherein the response information indicates refusal of the request; and the response information further indicates that the terminal maintains a current working mode or RRC state [Son: 0019; the BS transmits the MOB _SLP-RSP message to the MS to notify whether it approves or refuses the MS's transition to the sleep mode; or the MOB_SLP-RSP message can be transmitted unsolicited; 0006; the BS 110 determines whether to approve the transition to the sleep mode based on the statuses of the BS 110 and the MS 100 and transmits a MOBile_SLeeP-ReSPonse (MOB_SLP-RSP) message corresponding to the determination result to the MS 100 in step 103].
Note:
Refusal to transition to a sleep mode means a MS remains in awake mode.
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Zhuang and Son in order to control a sleep-mode operation so as to reduce the power consumption of an MS in a communication system [Son: 0031].
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuang in view of (KR 101526131) hereafter KR131.
Regarding Claim 13,
Zhuang teaches that access device may determine whether a sleep mode corresponding to the power saving indication information updated after the change is consistent with the current sleep mode of terminal device [Zhuang: 0116].
However, Zhuang does not teach that in response to the terminal being in the predetermined working mode and a first predetermined condition being met, stopping using the predetermined working mode, wherein the first predetermined condition comprises at least one of: no radio frame being monitored ….
KR131 teaches:
further comprising: in response to the terminal being in the predetermined working mode and a first predetermined condition being met, stopping using the predetermined working mode, wherein the first predetermined condition comprises at least one of: no radio frame being monitored [KR131: first predetermined condition == predetermined threshold; Fig. 17; p. 14; from state S4 of FIG. 17, mobile wireless device 102 may directly decode paging channel 802 using a supplemental antenna without reading page indicator bits 810/812 on fast paging channel 806; p. 17; the sleep state where the mobile wireless device 102 returns may depend on whether the paging message 1006 was received in the current wake cycle with an incorrect "Failure" CRC, as determined in step 1710; p. 18; when the received signal quality exceeds the first predetermined threshold at step 1712, the mobile wireless device 102 may return to the sleep state at step S3 from which the mobile wireless device 102 may transmit the fast paging channel 806; when the received signal quality does not exceed the first predetermined threshold in step 1712, the mobile wireless device 102 may return to the sleep state in state S4 from which the mobile wireless device 102 may transmit the paging channel 802, and can ignore the fast paging channel 806];
Note:
Incorrect CRC (failure) translates to a poor received signal quality.
the number of failures in decoding the predetermined wakeup signal reaching a predetermined number; failure to decode the predetermined wakeup signal; or
an intensity of the predetermined wakeup signal decoded being lower than a predetermined intensity.
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Zhuang and KR131 in order to employ selective use of receive diversity for mobile devices having multiple receivers and multiple antennas during DRX modes [KR131: p. 2].
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuang in view of Hoglund et al. (WO 2022/211699; hereafter Hoglund).
Regarding Claim 21,
Zhuang teaches that the access device sends an out-of-band WUS to a wake-up radio (WUR) of the terminal device, so that the WUR of the terminal device wakes up a main radio (MR) of the terminal device after receiving the out-of-band WUS [Zhuang: 0010].
However, Zhuang does not teach that determining whether to accept the request information according to assistance information obtained from a core network device, wherein the assistance information comprises: information that extended discontinuous reception (e-DRX) is configured for the terminal.
Hoglund teaches:
further comprising: determining whether to accept the request information according to assistance information obtained from a core network device, wherein the assistance information comprises: information that extended discontinuous reception (e-DRX) is configured for the terminal [Hoglund: 0132; referring to Figure 7B, a method of operating a radio access network, RAN, node (400) includes receiving (712), from a user equipment, UE (300) served by the RAN node, extended discontinuous reception, eDRX, assistance information describing a core network, CN, eDRX configuration for the UE, generating (714) a RAN eDRX configuration for the UE based on the eDRX assistance information, and configuring (716) the UE with the RAN eDRX configuration].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Zhuang and Hoglund in order to improve the situation when the UE moves between eNBs which may be out-of-sync with each other [Hoglund: 0010].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See CN 108462985 (included in IDS).
SAAD A. WAQAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2468
/Saad A. Waqas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468