Art Rejection
4. Claims 1-8, 12-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awoniyi-Oteri, U.S. pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2023/0337024, in view of Sun, U.S. pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2021/0007135.
Per claim 1, Awoniyi-Oteri discloses a communication apparatus comprising:
a) processing circuitry, which, in operation, operates a video application, e.g., extended reality (XR) application, according to which video frames are generated with a video frame periodicity, e.g., XR frames, for downlink/uplink traffics (see par 0025, 0031), wherein each video frame is generated/delivered within a jitter window having a jitter window length (see par 0043); and
b) a transceiver, which, in operation, uses radio resources for exchanging one or more video frames of the video application between the communication apparatus and a base station (see par 0053, 0096), the radio resources being determined by the communication apparatus based on one or more periodic-resources configurations (see par 0044);
c) wherein when the processing circuitry determines that data for a video frame of the video application, generated during one jitter window, was exchanged by use a periodic resource of one of the one or more periodic-resources configurations (see par 0043).
Awoniyi-Oteri does not explicitly teach that the processing circuitry prohibits the use of further periodic radio resources according to the one or more periodic-resources configurations for a period of time in response to determining that the video frame was exchanged using the periodic resource. However, such use of prohibit timer in periodic-resources configurations or configured grant resource is well known in the art as disclosed by Sun (see Sun, par 0043).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize such prohibit timer in Awoniyi-Oteri because it would have enabled implementing use of periodic-resources configurations in Awoniyi-Oteri.
Per claims 2 and 4, Sun teaches that the prohibition time period would end before radio resources according to periodic resource configurations are used for exchanging data of a subsequent video frame of the video application (see par 0051), wherein the prohibition time is based on a prohibition value associated with one configured uplink resource grant (see par 0052-0053).
Per claim 3, Awoniyi-Oteri teaches that one or more periodic resource configurations are one or more configured uplink resource grants and wherein the processing circuitry determines a periodic uplink resource for transmitting data to the base station according to one configured uplink resource grant (see par 0066), wherein the transceiver transmits data to the base station using the determined periodic uplink resource according to the one configured uplink resource grant (see par 0053). Additionally, Sun teaches that the processing circuitry determines to prohibit use of further periodic uplink resources according to the one or more configured uplink resource grants for the prohibition time period (see Sun, par 0051).
Per claim 6, Awoniyi-Oteri teaches that one or more periodic resource configurations are one or more SPS downlink resource configurations, wherein the processing circuitry monitors periodic downlink resource for receiving (video) data frames from the base station using the transceiver (see par 0043), wherein the processing circuitry determines to refrain/prohibit use of further periodic downlink resource according to the one or more SPS downlink resource configurations for the time period (see par 0086).
Per claim 7, Awoniyi-Oteri teaches that the prohibition/refraining time period is based on a time value associated with the one SPS downlink resource configuration (see par 0086).
Per claims 5 and 8, Awoniyi-Oteri also teaches that the prohibition/refraining time period is based on the timing of the next jitter window (see par 0085-0086).
Per claims 12-13, Awoniyi-Oteri teaches determining if not all data of the XR application was exchanged using periodic resource according to the one periodic resources configurations, enabling the remaining data be exchanged using one or more resource dynamically granted by the base station (see par 0069, 0082), wherein the processing circuitry refrains/prohibits further use of periodic resource according to one or more periodic resource configurations for a period of time (see par 0083).
Claims 15-20 are similar in scope as that of claims 1-8 and hence are rejected for the same rationale set forth for claims 1-8.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 9-11 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/Viet D Vu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455
3/9/26