DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. This action is in reply to the responsive to the Preliminary Amendment filed on 10/19/2024.
3. Claims 1-16 are currently pending and are rejected for the reasons set forth below.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 10/19/2024 has been considered. Initialed copies of the Form 1449 are enclosed herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (b)
6. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
7. Claim 14 (Lines 1-2) recites “A server computer system (1) comprising means for carrying out the method according to any one of the preceding claims” This recitation is indefinite since it fails to define the metes and bounds of the limitations. Examiner suggests to have claim 14 (Lines 1-2) recites “A server computer system (1) comprising means for carrying out the method according to claim 1” Appropriate correction and clarification are requested.
8. Claim 14 recites elements “[means for carrying out the method according to any one of the preceding claims ]” are limitations that invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
9. Claim 15 (Lines 1-3) recites “A computer program having instructions which when executed by a server computer system (1) cause the server computer system (1) to perform the method according to any one of the claims 1-13” This recitation is indefinite since it fails to define the metes and bounds of the limitations. Examiner suggests to have claim 15 (Lines 1-3) recites “A computer program having instructions which when executed by a server computer system (1) cause the server computer system (1) to perform the method according to claim 1” Appropriate correction and clarification are requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
11. Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
12. Analysis:
Step 1: Statutory Category?: (is the claim(s) directed to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?) - YES: In the instant case, claims 1-13 are directed to a computer-implemented method (i.e., process), claim 14 is directed to a server (i.e., machine), claim 15 is directed to a computer program (i.e., machine), and claim 16 is directed to a server computer system (i.e., machine).
Regarding independent claim 1:
Step 2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?: (is the claim(s) recited a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon) – YES: Independent claim 1 recites the at least following limitations of “… receiving … having produced a yarn package (93) on … a set of measured values for at least one yarn-quality parameter measured for yarn (92) on the yarn package (93) … and further information on the yarn package (93); assigning … to the set of measured values and to the further information a package identifier for the respective yarn package (93); storing … the set of measured values, the further information and the assigned package identifier; receiving … a purchase request (71) containing yarn specifications; retrieving …, using the package identifiers, sets of yarn packages such that the further information matches the yarn specifications for all packages of each of the retrieved sets of yarn packages; producing … a ranking of the retrieved sets of yarn packages according to the sets of measured values assigned to the yarn packages of each set of yarn packages; and transmitting … information (71) on a natural number of sets of yarn packages best ranked in the produced ranking.” These recited limitations of the claim, as drafted, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas as they cover performance of the limitations in commercial interactions (including sales activities for trading yarn packages). Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?: (is the claim(s) recited additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception) - NO: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, independent claim 1 further to the abstract idea includes additional elements of “yarn-winding machines (3)”, “at least one spinning mill (2)”, “a server computer system (1)”, “a global communication network (6)”, “a spinning mill (2)”, “a yarn- winding machine (3)”, “at least one sensor (41)”, “a database (12)”, “a global communication network (7)”, and “a client computer (8)”. However, the additional elements recite generic computer components such as a computer, computing devices, a server, and/or software programing that are recited a high-level of generality that merely perform, conduct, carry out, implement, and/or narrow the abstract idea itself. Accordingly, the additional elements evaluated individually and in combination do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they comprise or include limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application such as adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea -- See MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?: (is the claim(s) recited additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (aka “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception) - NO: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “yarn-winding machines (3)”, “at least one spinning mill (2)”, “a server computer system (1)”, “a global communication network (6)”, “a spinning mill (2)”, “a yarn- winding machine (3)”, “at least one sensor (41)”, “a database (12)”, “a global communication network (7)”, and “a client computer (8)” evaluated individually and in combination do not amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or are not more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer, or are not more than merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more - See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). None of the additional elements taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claim is patent-ineligible.
Regarding independent claim 14:
Step 2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?: (is the claim(s) recited a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon) – YES: Independent claim 14 recites the at least following limitations of “… receiving … having produced a yarn package (93) on … a set of measured values for at least one yarn-quality parameter measured for yarn (92) on the yarn package (93) … and further information on the yarn package (93); assigning … to the set of measured values and to the further information a package identifier for the respective yarn package (93); storing … the set of measured values, the further information and the assigned package identifier; receiving … a purchase request (71) containing yarn specifications; retrieving …, using the package identifiers, sets of yarn packages such that the further information matches the yarn specifications for all packages of each of the retrieved sets of yarn packages; producing … a ranking of the retrieved sets of yarn packages according to the sets of measured values assigned to the yarn packages of each set of yarn packages; and transmitting … information (71) on a natural number of sets of yarn packages best ranked in the produced ranking.” These recited limitations of the claim, as drafted, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas as they cover performance of the limitations in commercial interactions (including sales activities for trading yarn packages). Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?: (is the claim(s) recited additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception) - NO: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, independent claim 14 further to the abstract idea includes additional elements of “a server computer”, “yarn-winding machines (3)”, “at least one spinning mill (2)”, “a server computer system (1)”, “a global communication network (6)”, “a spinning mill (2)”, “a yarn- winding machine (3)”, “at least one sensor (41)”, “a database (12)”, “a global communication network (7)”, and “a client computer (8)”. However, the additional elements recite generic computer components such as a computer, computing devices, a server, and/or software programing that are recited a high-level of generality that merely perform, conduct, carry out, implement, and/or narrow the abstract idea itself. Accordingly, the additional elements evaluated individually and in combination do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they comprise or include limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application such as adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea -- See MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?: (is the claim(s) recited additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (aka “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception) - NO: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “a server computer”, “yarn-winding machines (3)”, “at least one spinning mill (2)”, “a server computer system (1)”, “a global communication network (6)”, “a spinning mill (2)”, “a yarn- winding machine (3)”, “at least one sensor (41)”, “a database (12)”, “a global communication network (7)”, and “a client computer (8)” evaluated individually and in combination do not amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or are not more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer, or are not more than merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more - See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). None of the additional elements taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claim is patent-ineligible.
Regarding independent claim 15:
Step 2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?: (is the claim(s) recited a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon) – YES: Independent claim 15 recites the at least following limitations of “… receiving … having produced a yarn package (93) on … a set of measured values for at least one yarn-quality parameter measured for yarn (92) on the yarn package (93) … and further information on the yarn package (93); assigning … to the set of measured values and to the further information a package identifier for the respective yarn package (93); storing … the set of measured values, the further information and the assigned package identifier; receiving … a purchase request (71) containing yarn specifications; retrieving …, using the package identifiers, sets of yarn packages such that the further information matches the yarn specifications for all packages of each of the retrieved sets of yarn packages; producing … a ranking of the retrieved sets of yarn packages according to the sets of measured values assigned to the yarn packages of each set of yarn packages; and transmitting … information (71) on a natural number of sets of yarn packages best ranked in the produced ranking.” These recited limitations of the claim, as drafted, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas as they cover performance of the limitations in commercial interactions (including sales activities for trading yarn packages). Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?: (is the claim(s) recited additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception) - NO: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, independent claim 15 further to the abstract idea includes additional elements of “a server computer system”, “yarn-winding machines (3)”, “at least one spinning mill (2)”, “a server computer system (1)”, “a global communication network (6)”, “a spinning mill (2)”, “a yarn- winding machine (3)”, “at least one sensor (41)”, “a database (12)”, “a global communication network (7)”, and “a client computer (8)”. However, the additional elements recite generic computer components such as a computer, computing devices, a server, and/or software programing that are recited a high-level of generality that merely perform, conduct, carry out, implement, and/or narrow the abstract idea itself. Accordingly, the additional elements evaluated individually and in combination do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they comprise or include limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application such as adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea -- See MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?: (is the claim(s) recited additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (aka “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception) - NO: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “a server computer system”, “yarn-winding machines (3)”, “at least one spinning mill (2)”, “a server computer system (1)”, “a global communication network (6)”, “a spinning mill (2)”, “a yarn- winding machine (3)”, “at least one sensor (41)”, “a database (12)”, “a global communication network (7)”, and “a client computer (8)” evaluated individually and in combination do not amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or are not more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer, or are not more than merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more - See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). None of the additional elements taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claim is patent-ineligible.
Regarding independent claim 16:
Step 2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?: (is the claim(s) recited a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon) – YES: Independent claim 16 recites the at least following limitations of “… receiving … having produced a yarn package (93) … a set of measured values for at least one yarn-quality parameter measured for yarn (92) on the yarn package (93) …, and for receiving … further information on the yarn package (93); … for assigning to the set of measured values and to the further information a package identifier for the respective yarn package (93); … for storing … the set of measured values. the further information and the assigned package identifier; … for receiving … a purchase request (71) containing yarn specifications; … for retrieving …, using the package identifiers, sets of yarn packages such that the further information matches the yarn specifications for all packages of each of the retrieved sets of yarn packages; … for producing a ranking of the retrieved sets of yarn packages according to the sets of measured values assigned to the yarn packages of each set of yarn packages; and … for transmitting … information on at least the set of yarn packages best ranked in the produced ranking.” These recited limitations of the claim, as drafted, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas as they cover performance of the limitations in commercial interactions (including sales activities for trading yarn packages). Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?: (is the claim(s) recited additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception) - NO: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, independent claim 16 further to the abstract idea includes additional elements of “a server computer system (1)”, “yarn-winding machines (3)”, “at least one spinning mill (2)”, “a receiver (11)”, “a global communication network (6)”, “a spinning mill (2)”, “a yarn- winding machine (3)”, “at least one sensor (41)”, “a processor”, “a memory”, “a database (12)”, “a receiver (13)”, “a global communication network (7)”, “a client computer (8)”, and “a transmitter (13)”. However, the additional elements recite generic computer components such as a computer, computing devices, a server, and/or software programing that are recited a high-level of generality that merely perform, conduct, carry out, implement, and/or narrow the abstract idea itself. Accordingly, the additional elements evaluated individually and in combination do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they comprise or include limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application such as adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea -- See MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?: (is the claim(s) recited additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (aka “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception) - NO: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “a server computer system (1)”, “yarn-winding machines (3)”, “at least one spinning mill (2)”, “a receiver (11)”, “a global communication network (6)”, “a spinning mill (2)”, “a yarn- winding machine (3)”, “at least one sensor (41)”, “a processor”, “a memory”, “a database (12)”, “a receiver (13)”, “a global communication network (7)”, “a client computer (8)”, and “a transmitter (13)” evaluated individually and in combination do not amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or are not more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer, or are not more than merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more - See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). None of the additional elements taken individually or when taken as an ordered combination amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claim is patent-ineligible.
Dependent claims 2-13 have been given the full two-part analysis, analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. The dependent claims, when analyzed individually and in combination, are also held to be patent-ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Dependent claim 2: simply provides further definition to “the set of measured values” recited in claim 1. Simply stating that wherein the set of measured values is for at least one parameter from the following set: coefficient of variation of the yarn mass, coefficient of variation of the yarn diameter, hairiness, number of thick places, number of thin places, number of periodic yarn defects, number of yarn count variations, number of foreign matters, number of splices does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement that results in the claims being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Dependent claim 3: simply provides further definition to “the further information” recited in claim 1. Simply stating that wherein the further information is from the following set: yarn count, yarn material, fiber processing system, spinning system, envisaged application, amount of yarn packages available, temporal availability of the yarn package, price of the yarn package does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement that results in the claims being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Dependent claim 4: simply provides further definition to “the yarn specifications” recited in claim 1. Simply stating that wherein the yarn specifications are from the following set: yarn count, yarn material, fiber processing system, spinning system, envisaged application, desired amounts to no more than merely applying generic computer components and/or software programing to implement the abstract idea on a computer (i.e., fiber processing system, spinning system, envisaged application).Thus, the dependent claim does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement that results in the claims being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Dependent claim 5: simply provides further definition to “the database (12)” recited in claim 1. Simply stating that wherein: the database (12) is a relational database, the package identifier is assigned biuniquely to each set of measured values and to each further information, and the package identifier is used as a key in the relational database (12) amounts to no more than merely applying generic computer components and/or software programing to implement the abstract idea on a computer (i.e., the database (12)).Thus, the dependent claim does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement that results in the claims being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Dependent claim 6: simply provides further definition to “the ranking” recited in claim 1. Simply stating that wherein the ranking is produced on an ordinal scale or on a metric scale does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement that results in the claims being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Dependent claim 7: simply provides further definition to “the ranking” recited in claim 1. Simply stating that wherein the ranking is in the form of values calculated from the sets of measured values, in the form of quantiles or percentiles assigned to the sets of yarn packages, in the form of ordinal numbers assigned to the sets of yarn packages, and/or in the form of classes into which the sets of yarn packages are classified does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement that results in the claims being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Dependent claim 8: simply provides further definition to “the ranking” recited in claim 1. Simply stating that wherein the ranking takes into account a mean value of each of the yarn-quality parameters calculated over the whole set of yarn packages does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement that results in the claims being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Dependent claim 9: simply provides further definition to “the natural number of best-ranked sets of yarn packages” recited in claim 1. Simply stating that wherein the natural number of best-ranked sets of yarn packages is higher than one and lower than the number of retrieved sets of yarn packages does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement that results in the claims being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Dependent claim 10: simply provides further definition to “an order” recited in claim 1. Simply stating that wherein an order is received by the server computer system (1) via the global communication network (7) from the client computer (8), the order identifying a chosen set or sets of yarn packages and indicating an ordered amount amounts to no more than merely applying generic computer components and/or software programing to implement the abstract idea on a computer (i.e., the server computer system (1) via the global communication network (7) from the client computer (8)).Thus, the dependent claim does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement that results in the claims being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Dependent claim 11: simply provides further definition to “upon receipt of the order the server computer system (1)” recited in claim 1. Simply stating that wherein upon receipt of the order the server computer system (1) forwards it to the spinning mill (2) that produced the ordered set of yarn packages amounts to no more than merely applying generic computer components and/or software programing to implement the abstract idea on a computer (i.e., the server computer system (1), the spinning mill (2)).Thus, the dependent claim does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement that results in the claims being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Dependent claim 12: simply refines the abstract idea because they recite limitations (e.g., receiving by the server computer system (1) via the global communication network (6) from the spinning mill (2) values of at least one ambient parameter characteristic for an ambient condition of a location and a time of winding the yarn package (93);correcting by the server computer system (1) the set of measured values to predefined ambient conditions based on the values of the at least one ambient parameter, thus generating a set of corrected values; and replacing in the method according to any one of the preceding claims the set of measured values by the set of corrected values), that fall under the category of organizing human activity as described above in claim 1. The dependent claim does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement (i.e., an integration into a practical application) that results in the claim being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Dependent claim 13: simply provides further definition to “the yarn packages (93)” recited in claim 1. Simply stating that wherein the yarn packages (93) are produced in a plurality of spinning mills (2), further comprising the steps of: assigning by the server computer system (1) to the set of measured values and to the further information a mill identifier for the respective spinning mill (2);storing in the database (12) the assigned mill identifier; and retrieving from the database (12), using the mill identifiers, the sets of yarn packages such that all yarn packages of each of the retrieved sets of yarn packages were produced by the same spinning mill (2) amounts to no more than merely applying generic computer components and/or software programing to implement the abstract idea on a computer (i.e., spinning mills (2), the server computer system (1), the database (12)).Thus, the dependent claim does not add any additional element or subject matter that provides a technological improvement that results in the claims being directed to patent eligible subject matter or include an element or feature that is significantly more than the recited abstract idea (i.e., a technological inventive concept under Step 2B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
15. Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Booth et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2004/0128015), hereinafter, “Booth”.
Claim 1 –
Booth disclose:
a computer-implemented method for trading yarn packages (93) produced on yarn-winding machines (3) in at least one spinning mill (2), comprising the steps of (See at least Booth, [0007], “a rule-based method for packing a customer delivery unit containing a predetermined plurality of spools, each having a filamentary product thereon”, see also Figure 1):
receiving by a server computer system (1) via a global communication network (6) from a spinning mill (2) having produced a yarn package (93) on a yarn- winding machine (3) a set of measured values for at least one yarn-quality parameter measured for yarn (92) on the yarn package (93) by at least one sensor (41) on the yarn-winding machine (3) and further information on the yarn package (93) (See at least Booth, [0024], [0028], “Suitable for use as the database engine is Microsoft SQL Server … Each spinning machine 12 may include a plurality of spinning positions 12-1 through 12-N. Each spinning position produces a plurality of fiber filaments. Groups of filaments are gathered (either manually or automatically) to define one or more threadlines of fiber. Typically, there are from two to eight threadlines of fiber produced at each spinning position. One or more of the threadlines produced at a given spinning position is (are) gathered by an operator or automatically strung-up to is form one threadline yarn on each core 18”, see also Figure 1);
assigning by the server computer system (1) to the set of measured values and to the further information a package identifier for the respective yarn package (93) (See at least Booth, [0024], [0029], “Suitable for use as the database engine is Microsoft SQL Server … The wind-up mechanism 16 includes a plurality (on the order of two to eight) spindles, each of which is operative to wind a yarn produced at the spinning position onto a core 18. The core 18 is typically a hollow cardboard cylinder, although it may be formed of other material, such as plastic”, see also Figure 1);
storing in a database (12) on the server computer system (1) the set of measured values, the further information and the assigned package identifier (See at least Booth, [0025], “the database 10B of the TAG System 10 stores information regarding each manufactured spool of nylon received from information sources located throughout the manufacturing floor”, see also Figure 1);
receiving by the server computer system (1) via a global communication network (7) from a client computer (8) a purchase request (71) containing yarn specifications (See at least Booth, [0024], [0028], “Suitable for use as the database engine is Microsoft SQL Server … Each spinning machine 12 may include a plurality of spinning positions 12-1 through 12-N. Each spinning position produces a plurality of fiber filaments. Groups of filaments are gathered (either manually or automatically) to define one or more threadlines of fiber. Typically, there are from two to eight threadlines of fiber produced at each spinning position. One or more of the threadlines produced at a given spinning position is (are) gathered by an operator or automatically strung-up to is form one threadline yarn on each core 18”, see also Figure 1);
retrieving from the database (12), using the package identifiers, sets of yarn packages such that the further information matches the yarn specifications for all packages of each of the retrieved sets of yarn packages (See at least Booth, [0041], “a representative example of a typical identifier tag 26. The tag 26 includes various information fields. Field 26A contains information identifying the denier ("DDD"), number of filaments ("FFF") and type ("TTTTT") of the yarn on the spool. Field 26B identifies the Merge ("MMMMMM") of the yarn. Field 26C includes information that identifies the position number producing the yarn (e.g., "6"), and the ending wind-up time ("hh:mm:ss", in hours, minutes and seconds). Field 26D is the barcode-format identifier of the spool. Although the spool identifier is printed on the label 26 using a machine readable bar code, any other suitable identifier indicia may be used”, see also Figure 2A);
producing by the server computer system (1) a ranking of the retrieved sets of yarn packages according to the sets of measured values assigned to the yarn packages of each set of yarn packages (See at least Booth, [0024], [0028], “Suitable for use as the database engine is Microsoft SQL Server … Each spinning machine 12 may include a plurality of spinning positions 12-1 through 12-N. Each spinning position produces a plurality of fiber filaments. Groups of filaments are gathered (either manually or automatically) to define one or more threadlines of fiber. Typically, there are from two to eight threadlines of fiber produced at each spinning position. One or more of the threadlines produced at a given spinning position is (are) gathered by an operator or automatically strung-up to is form one threadline yarn on each core 18”, see also Figure 1); and
transmitting from the server computer (1) system via the global communication network (7) to the client computer (8) information (71) on a natural number of sets of yarn packages best ranked in the produced ranking (See at least Booth, [0024], [0028], [0034], “Suitable for use as the database engine is Microsoft SQL Server … Each spinning machine 12 may include a plurality of spinning positions 12-1 through 12-N. Each spinning position produces a plurality of fiber filaments. Groups of filaments are gathered (either manually or automatically) to define one or more threadlines of fiber. Typically, there are from two to eight threadlines of fiber produced at each spinning position. One or more of the threadlines produced at a given spinning position is (are) gathered by an operator or automatically strung-up to is form one threadline yarn on each core 18 … Information transmitted to TAG System 10 is used by the logic unit 10L to derive an indication of the grade of the fiber on each spool of fiber produced during a production run”, see also Figure 1).
Claim 2 –
Booth disclose the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, as shown above.
Booth further disclose:
wherein the set of measured values is for at least one parameter from the following set: coefficient of variation of the yarn mass, coefficient of variation of the yarn diameter, hairiness, number of thick places, number of thin places, number of periodic yarn defects, number of yarn count variations, number of foreign matters, number of splices (See at least Booth, [0077], “the fiber production parameters related to similarity of merge (column 70-8), the similarity of spin machine (column 70-9), and the similarity of production run (column 70-10) should be clearly understandable in view of the discussion set forth earlier. The parameter "Age" (column 70-11) specifies the minimum allowable age (e.g., in days) of the fiber on the spool before that spool may be packed. The parameter "Age Span" (column 70-12) specifies the maximum allowable time span (e.g., in days) between the production dates of the "newest" and "oldest" spools in the package”, see also Figure 1).
Claim 3 –
Booth disclose the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, as shown above.
Booth further disclose:
wherein the further information is from the following set: yarn count, yarn material, fiber processing system, spinning system, envisaged application, amount of yarn packages available, temporal availability of the yarn package, price of the yarn package (See at least Booth, [0024], [0028], “Suitable for use as the database engine is Microsoft SQL Server … Each spinning machine 12 may include a plurality of spinning positions 12-1 through 12-N. Each spinning position produces a plurality of fiber filaments. Groups of filaments are gathered (either manually or automatically) to define one or more threadlines of fiber. Typically, there are from two to eight threadlines of fiber produced at each spinning position. One or more of the threadlines produced at a given spinning position is (are) gathered by an operator or automatically strung-up to is form one threadline yarn on each core 18”, see also Figure 1).
Claim 4 –
Booth disclose the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, as shown above.
Booth further disclose:
wherein the yarn specifications are from the following set: yarn count, yarn material, fiber processing system, spinning system, envisaged application, desired amount (See at least Booth, [0024], [0028], “Suitable for use as the database engine is Microsoft SQL Server … Each spinning machine 12 may include a plurality of spinning positions 12-1 through 12-N. Each spinning position produces a plurality of fiber filaments. Groups of filaments are gathered (either manually or automatically) to define one or more threadlines of fiber. Typically, there are from two to eight threadlines of fiber produced at each spinning position. One or more of the threadlines produced at a given spinning position is (are) gathered by an operator or automatically strung-up to is form one threadline yarn on each core 18”, see also Figure 1).
Claim 5 –
Booth disclose the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, as shown above.
Booth further disclose:
wherein: the database (12) is a relational database, the package identifier is assigned biuniquely to each set of measured values and to each further information, and the package identifier is used as a key in the relational database (12) (See at least Booth, [0086], “The operator at the packing station may affix to the customer delivery unit a tag having a unique, bar code readable identifier number printed thereon. The tag number is input to TAG System 10 via the bar code reader at the interface unit 34 positioned adjacent to the packing station 44”, see also Figure 1).
Claim 6 –
Booth disclose the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, as shown above.
Booth further disclose:
wherein the ranking is produced on an ordinal scale or on a metric scale (See at least Booth, [0024], [0028], “Suitable for use as the database engine is Microsoft SQL Server … Each spinning machine 12 may include a plurality of spinning positions 12-1 through 12-N. Each spinning position produces a plurality of fiber filaments. Groups of filaments are gathered (either manually or automatically) to define one or more threadlines of fiber. Typically, there are from two to eight threadlines of fiber produced at each spinning position. One or more of the threadlines produced at a given spinning position is (are) gathered by an operator or automatically strung-up to is form one threadline yarn on each core 18”, see also Figure 1).
Claim 7 –
Booth disclose the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, as shown above.
Booth further disclose:
wherein the ranking is in the form of values calculated from the sets of measured values, in the form of quantiles or percentiles assigned to the sets of yarn packages, in the form of ordinal numbers assigned to the sets of yarn packages, and/or in the form of classes into which the sets of yarn packages are classified (See at least Booth, [0086], “The operator at the packing station may affix to the customer delivery unit a tag having a unique, bar code readable identifier number printed thereon. The tag number is input to TAG System 10 via the bar code reader at the interface unit 34 positioned adjacent to the packing station 44”, see also Figure 1).
Claim 8 –
Booth disclose the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, as shown above.
Booth further disclose:
wherein the ranking takes into account a mean value of each of the yarn-quality parameters calculated over the whole set of yarn packages (See at least Booth, [0086], “The operator at the packing station may affix to the customer delivery unit a tag having a unique, bar code readable identifier number printed thereon. The tag number is input to TAG System 10 via the bar code reader at the interface unit 34 positioned adjacent to the packing station 44”, see also Figure 1).
Claim 9 –
Booth disclose the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, as shown above.
Booth further disclose:
wherein the natural number of best-ranked sets of yarn packages is higher than one and lower than the number of retrieved sets of yarn packages (See at least Booth, [0086], “The operator at the packing station may affix to the customer delivery unit a tag having a unique, bar code readable identifier number printed thereon. The tag number is input to TAG System 10 via the bar code reader at the interface unit 34 positioned adjacent to the packing station 44”, see also Figure 1).
Claim 10 –
Booth disclose the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, as shown above.
Booth further disclose:
wherein an order is received by the server computer system (1) via the global communication network (7) from the client computer (8), the order identifying a chosen set or sets of yarn packages and indicating an ordered amount (See at least Booth, [0024], [0028], “Suitable for use as the database engine is Microsoft SQL Server … Each spinning machine 12 may include a plurality of spinning positions 12-1 through 12-N. Each spinning position produces a plurality of fiber filaments. Groups of filaments are gathered (either manually or automatically) to define one or more threadlines of fiber. Typically, there are from two to eight threadlines of fiber produced at each spinning position. One or more of the threadlines produced at a given spinning position is (are) gathered by an operator or automatically strung-up to is form one threadline yarn on each core 18”, see also Figure 1).
Claim 11 –
Booth disclose the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, as shown above.
Booth further disclose:
wherein upon receipt of the order the server computer system (1) forwards it to the spinning mill (2) that produced the ordered set of yarn packages (See at least Booth, [0024], [0028], “Suitable for use as the database engine is Microsoft SQL Server … Each spinning machine 12 may include a plurality of spinning positions 12-1 through 12-N. Each spinning position produces a plurality of fiber filaments. Groups of filaments are gathered (either manually or automatically) to define one or more threadlines of fiber. Typically, there are from two to eight threadlines of fiber produced at each spinning position. One or more of the threadlines produced at a given spinning position is (are) gathered by an operator or automatically strung-up to is form one threadline yarn on each core 18”, see also Figure 1).
Claim 12 –
Booth disclose the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, as shown above.
Booth further disclose:
further comprising the steps of: receiving by the server computer system (1) via the global communication network (6) from the spinning mill (2) values of at least one ambient parameter characteristic for an ambient condition of a location and a time of winding the yarn package (93);correcting by the server computer system (1) the set of measured values to predefined ambient conditions based on the values of the at least one ambient parameter, thus generating a set of corrected values; and replacing in the method according to any one of the preceding claims the set of measured values by the set of corrected values (See at least Booth, [0024], [0028], “Suitable for use as the database engine is Microsoft SQL Server … Each spinning machine 12 may include a plurality of spinning positions 12-1 through 12-N. Each spinning position produces a plurality of fiber filaments. Groups of filaments are gathered (either manually or automatically) to define one or more threadlines of fiber. Typically, there are from two to eight threadlines of fiber produced at each spinning position. One or more of the threadlines produced at a given spinning position is (are) gathered by an operator or automatically strung-up to is form one threadline yarn on each core 18”, see also Figure 1).
Claim 13 –
Booth disclose the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, as shown above.
Booth further disclose:
wherein the yarn packages (93) are produced in a plurality of spinning mills (2), further comprising the steps of: assigning by the server computer system (1) to the set of measured values and to the further information a mill identifier for the respective spinning mill (2);storing in the database (12) the assigned mill identifier; and retrieving from the database (12), using the mill identifiers, the sets of yarn packages such that all yarn packages of each of the retrieved sets of yarn packages were produced by the same spinning mill (2) (See at least Booth, [0024], [0028], “Suitable for use as the database engine is Microsoft SQL Server … Each spinning machine 12 may include a plurality of spinning positions 12-1 through 12-N. Each spinning position produces a plurality of fiber filaments. Groups of filaments are gathered (either manually or automatically) to define one or more threadlines of fiber. Typically, there are from two to eight threadlines of fiber produced at each spinning position. One or more of the threadlines produced at a given spinning position is (are) gathered by an operator or automatically strung-up to is form one threadline yarn on each core 18”, see also Figure 1).
Claim 14 –
Booth disclose:
a server computer system (1) comprising means for carrying out the method according to any one of the preceding claims (See at least Booth, [0007], “a rule-based method for packing a customer delivery unit containing a predetermined plurality of spools, each having a filamentary product thereon”, see also Figure 1):
receiving by a server computer system (1) via a global communication network (6) from a spinning mill (2) having produced a yarn package (93) on a yarn- winding machine (3) a set of measured values for at least one yarn-quality parameter measured for yarn (92) on the yarn package (93) by at least one sensor (41) on the yarn-winding machine (3) and further information on the yarn package (93) (See at least Booth, [0024], [0028], “Suitable for use as the database engine is Microsoft SQL Server … Each spinning machine 12 may include a plurality of spinning positions 12-1 through 12-N. Each spinning position produces a plurality of fiber filaments. Groups of filaments are gathered (either manually or automatically) to define one or more threadlines of fiber. Typically, there are from two to eight threadlines of fiber produced at each spinning position. One or more of the threadlines produced at a given spinning position is (are) gathered by an operator or automatically strung-up to is form one threadline yarn on each core 18”, see also Figure 1);
assigning by the server computer system (1) to the set of measured values and to the further information a package identifier for the respective yarn package (93) (See at least Booth, [0024], [0029], “Suitable for use as the database engine is Microsoft SQL Server … The wind-up mechanism 16 includes a plurality (on the order of two to eight) spindles, each of which is operative to wind a yarn produced at the spinning position onto a core 18. The core 18 is typically a hollow cardboard cylinder, although it may be formed of other material, such as plastic”, see also Figure 1);
storing in a database (12) on the server computer system (1) the set of measured values, the further information and the assigned package identifier (See at least Booth, [0025], “the database 10B of the TAG System 10 stores information regarding each manufactured spool of nylon received from information sources located throughout the manufacturing floor”, see also Figure 1);
receiving by the server computer system (1) via a global communication network (7) from a client computer (8) a purchase request (71) containing yarn specifications (See at least Booth, [0024], [0028], “Suitable for use as the database engine is Microsoft SQL Server … Each spinning machine 12 may include a plurality of spinning positions 12-1 through 12-N. Each spinning position produces a plurality of fiber filaments. Groups of filaments are gathered (either manually or automatically) to define one or more threadlines of fiber. Typically, there are from two to eight threadlines of fiber produced at each spinning position. One or more of the threadlines produced at a given spinning position is (are) gathered by an operator or automatically strung-up to is form one threadline yarn on each core 18”, see also Figure 1);
retrieving from the database (12), using the package identifiers, sets of yarn packages such that the further information matches the yarn specifications for all packages of each of the retrieved sets of yarn packages (See at least Booth, [0041], “a representative example of a typical identifier tag 26. The tag 26 includes various information fields. Field 26A contains information identifying the denier ("DDD"), number of filaments ("FFF") and type ("TTTTT") of the yarn on the spool. Field 26B identifies the Merge ("MMMMMM") of the yarn. Field 26C includes information that identifies the position number producing the yarn (e.g., "6"), and the ending wind-up time ("hh:mm:ss", in hours, minutes and seconds). Field 26D is the barcode-format identifier of the spool. Although the spool identifier is printed on the label 26 using a machine readable bar code, any other suitable identifier indicia may be used”, see also Figure 2A);
producing by the server computer system (1) a ranking of the retrieved sets of yarn packages according to the sets of measured values assigned to the yarn packages of each set of yarn packages (See at least Booth, [0024], [0028], “Suitable for use as the database engine is Microsoft SQL Server … Each spinning machine 12 may include a plurality of spinning positions 12-1 through 12-N. Each spinning position produces a plurality of fiber filaments. Groups of filaments are gathered (either manually or automatically) to define one or more threadlines of fiber. Typically, there are from two to eight threadlines of fiber produced at each spinning position. One or more of the threadlines produced at a given spinning position is (are) gathered by an operator or automatically strung-up to is form one threadline yarn on each core 18”, see also Figure 1); and
transmitting from the server computer (1) system via the global communication network (7) to the client computer (8) information (71) on a natural number of sets of yarn packages best ranked in the produced ranking (See at least Booth, [0024], [0028], [0034], “Suitable for use as the database engine is Microsoft SQL Server … Each spinning machine 12 may include a plurality of spinning positions 12-1 through 12-N. Each spinning position produces a plurality of fiber filaments. Groups of filaments are gathered (either manually or automatically) to define one or more threadlines of fiber. Typically, there are from two to eight threadlines of fiber produced at each spinning position. One or more of the threadlines produced at a given spinning position is (are) gathered by an operator or automatically strung-up to is form one threadline yarn on each core 18 … Information transmitted to TAG System 10 is used by the logic unit 10L to derive an indication of the grade of the fiber on each spool of fiber produced during a production run”, see also Figure 1).
Claim 15 –
Booth disclose:
a computer program having instructions which when executed by a server computer system (1) cause the server computer system (1) to perform the method according to any one of the claims 1-13 (See at least Booth, [0007], “a rule-based method for packing a customer delivery unit containing a predetermined plurality of spools, each having a filamentary product thereon”, see also Figure 1):
receiving by a server computer system (1) via a global communication network (6) from a spinning mill (2) having produced a yarn package (93) on a yarn- winding machine (3) a set of measured values for at least one yarn-quality parameter measured for yarn (92) on the yarn package (93) by at least one sensor (41) on the yarn-winding machine (3) and further information on the yarn package (93) (See at least Booth, [0024], [0028], “Suitable for use as the database engine is Microsoft SQL Server … Each spinning machine 12 may include a plurality of spinning positions 12-1 through 12-N. Each spinning position produces a plurality of fiber filaments. Groups of filaments are gathered (either manually or automatically) to define one or more threadlines of fiber. Typically, there are from two to eight threadlines of fiber produced at each spinning position. One or more of the threadlines produced at a given spinning position is (are) gathered by an operator or automatically strung-up to is form one threadline yarn on each core 18”, see also Figure 1);
assigning by the server computer system (1) to the set of measured values and to the further information a package identifier for the respective yarn package (93) (See at least Booth, [0024], [0029], “Suitable for use as the database engine is Microsoft SQL Server … The wind-up mechanism 16 includes a plurality (on the order of two to eight) spindles, each of which is operative to wind a yarn produced at the spinning position onto a core 18. The core 18 is typically a hollow cardboard cylinder, although it may be formed of other material, such as plastic”, see also Figure 1);
storing in a database (12) on the server computer system (1) the set of measured values, the further information and the assigned package identifier (See at least Booth, [0025], “the database 10B of the TAG System 10 stores information regarding each manufactured spool of nylon received from information sources located throughout the manufacturing floor”, see also Figure 1);
receiving by the server computer system (1) via a global communication network (7) from a client computer (8) a purchase request (71) containing yarn specifications (See at least Booth, [0024], [0028], “Suitable for use as the database engine is Microsoft SQL Server … Each spinning machine 12 may include a plurality of spinning positions 12-1 through 12-N. Each spinning position produces a plurality of fiber filaments. Groups of filaments are gathered (either manually or automatically) to define one or more threadlines of fiber. Typically, there are from two to eight threadlines of fiber produced at each spinning position. One or more of the threadlines produced at a given spinning position is (are) gathered by an operator or automatically strung-up to is form one threadline yarn on each core 18”, see also Figure 1);
retrieving from the database (12), using the package identifiers, sets of yarn packages such that the further information matches the yarn specifications for all packages of each of the retrieved sets of yarn packages (See at least Booth, [0041], “a representative example of a typical identifier tag 26. The tag 26 includes various information fields. Field 26A contains information identifying the denier ("DDD"), number of filaments ("FFF") and type ("TTTTT") of the yarn on the spool. Field 26B identifies the Merge ("MMMMMM") of the yarn. Field 26C includes information that identifies the position number producing the yarn (e.g., "6"), and the ending wind-up time ("hh:mm:ss", in hours, minutes and seconds). Field 26D is the barcode-format identifier of the spool. Although the spool identifier is printed on the label 26 using a machine readable bar code, any other suitable identifier indicia may be used”, see also Figure 2A);
producing by the server computer system (1) a ranking of the retrieved sets of yarn packages according to the sets of measured values assigned to the yarn packages of each set of yarn packages (See at least Booth, [0024], [0028], “Suitable for use as the database engine is Microsoft SQL Server … Each spinning machine 12 may include a plurality of spinning positions 12-1 through 12-N. Each spinning position produces a plurality of fiber filaments. Groups of filaments are gathered (either manually or automatically) to define one or more threadlines of fiber. Typically, there are from two to eight threadlines of fiber produced at each spinning position. One or more of the threadlines produced at a given spinning position is (are) gathered by an operator or automatically strung-up to is form one threadline yarn on each core 18”, see also Figure 1); and
transmitting from the server computer (1) system via the global communication network (7) to the client computer (8) information (71) on a natural number of sets of yarn packages best ranked in the produced ranking (See at least Booth, [0024], [0028], [0034], “Suitable for use as the database engine is Microsoft SQL Server … Each spinning machine 12 may include a plurality of spinning positions 12-1 through 12-N. Each spinning position produces a plurality of fiber filaments. Groups of filaments are gathered (either manually or automatically) to define one or more threadlines of fiber. Typically, there are from two to eight threadlines of fiber produced at each spinning position. One or more of the threadlines produced at a given spinning position is (are) gathered by an operator or automatically strung-up to is form one threadline yarn on each core 18 … Information transmitted to TAG System 10 is used by the logic unit 10L to derive an indication of the grade of the fiber on each spool of fiber produced during a production run”, see also Figure 1).
Claim 16 –
Booth disclose:
a server computer system (1) for trading yarn packages (93) produced on yarn- winding machines in at least one spinning mill (2), comprising: a receiver (11) for (See at least Booth, [0007], “a rule-based method for packing a customer delivery unit containing a predetermined plurality of spools, each having a filamentary product thereon”, see also Figure 1)
receiving via a global communication network (6) from a spinning mill (2) having produced a yarn package (93) on a yarn-winding machine (3) a set of measured values for at least one yarn-quality parameter measured for yarn (92) on the yarn package (93) by at least one sensor (41) on the yarn-winding machine (3) (See at least Booth, [0024], [0028], “Suitable for use as the database engine is Microsoft SQL Server … Each spinning machine 12 may include a plurality of spinning positions 12-1 through 12-N. Each spinning position produces a plurality of fiber filaments. Groups of filaments are gathered (either manually or automatically) to define one or more threadlines of fiber. Typically, there are from two to eight threadlines of fiber produced at each spinning position. One or more of the threadlines produced at a given spinning position is (are) gathered by an operator or automatically strung-up to is form one threadline yarn on each core 18”, see also Figure 1), and
receiving via the global communication network (6) from the spinning mill (2) further information on the yarn package (93) (See at least Booth, [0024], [0028], “Suitable for use as the database engine is Microsoft SQL Server … Each spinning machine 12 may include a plurality of spinning positions 12-1 through 12-N. Each spinning position produces a plurality of fiber filaments. Groups of filaments are gathered (either manually or automatically) to define one or more threadlines of fiber. Typically, there are from two to eight threadlines of fiber produced at each spinning position. One or more of the threadlines produced at a given spinning position is (are) gathered by an operator or automatically strung-up to is form one threadline yarn on each core 18”, see also Figure 1);
a processor for assigning to the set of measured values and to the further information a package identifier for the respective yarn package (93) (See at least Booth, [0024], [0029], “Suitable for use as the database engine is Microsoft SQL Server … The wind-up mechanism 16 includes a plurality (on the order of two to eight) spindles, each of which is operative to wind a yarn produced at the spinning position onto a core 18. The core 18 is typically a hollow cardboard cylinder, although it may be formed of other material, such as plastic”, see also Figure 1);
a memory for storing in a database (12) the set of measured values. the further information and the assigned package identifier(See at least Booth, [0025], “the database 10B of the TAG System 10 stores information regarding each manufactured spool of nylon received from information sources located throughout the manufacturing floor”, see also Figure 1) ;
a receiver (13) for receiving via a global communication network (7) from a client computer (8) a purchase request (71) containing yarn specifications (See at least Booth, [0024], [0028], “Suitable for use as the database engine is Microsoft SQL Server … Each spinning machine 12 may include a plurality of spinning positions 12-1 through 12-N. Each spinning position produces a plurality of fiber filaments. Groups of filaments are gathered (either manually or automatically) to define one or more threadlines of fiber. Typically, there are from two to eight threadlines of fiber produced at each spinning position. One or more of the threadlines produced at a given spinning position is (are) gathered by an operator or automatically strung-up to is form one threadline yarn on each core 18”, see also Figure 1);
a processor for retrieving from the database (12), using the package identifiers, sets of yarn packages such that the further information matches the yarn specifications for all packages of each of the retrieved sets of yarn packages (See at least Booth, [0041], “a representative example of a typical identifier tag 26. The tag 26 includes various information fields. Field 26A contains information identifying the denier ("DDD"), number of filaments ("FFF") and type ("TTTTT") of the yarn on the spool. Field 26B identifies the Merge ("MMMMMM") of the yarn. Field 26C includes information that identifies the position number producing the yarn (e.g., "6"), and the ending wind-up time ("hh:mm:ss", in hours, minutes and seconds). Field 26D is the barcode-format identifier of the spool. Although the spool identifier is printed on the label 26 using a machine readable bar code, any other suitable identifier indicia may be used”, see also Figure 2A);
a processor for producing a ranking of the retrieved sets of yarn packages according to the sets of measured values assigned to the yarn packages of each set of yarn packages (See at least Booth, [0024], [0028], “Suitable for use as the database engine is Microsoft SQL Server … Each spinning machine 12 may include a plurality of spinning positions 12-1 through 12-N. Each spinning position produces a plurality of fiber filaments. Groups of filaments are gathered (either manually or automatically) to define one or more threadlines of fiber. Typically, there are from two to eight threadlines of fiber produced at each spinning position. One or more of the threadlines produced at a given spinning position is (are) gathered by an operator or automatically strung-up to is form one threadline yarn on each core 18”, see also Figure 1); and
a transmitter (13) for transmitting via the global communication network (7) to the client computer (8) information on at least the set of yarn packages best ranked in the produced ranking (See at least Booth, [0024], [0028], [0034], “Suitable for use as the database engine is Microsoft SQL Server … Each spinning machine 12 may include a plurality of spinning positions 12-1 through 12-N. Each spinning position produces a plurality of fiber filaments. Groups of filaments are gathered (either manually or automatically) to define one or more threadlines of fiber. Typically, there are from two to eight threadlines of fiber produced at each spinning position. One or more of the threadlines produced at a given spinning position is (are) gathered by an operator or automatically strung-up to is form one threadline yarn on each core 18 … Information transmitted to TAG System 10 is used by the logic unit 10L to derive an indication of the grade of the fiber on each spool of fiber produced during a production run”, see also Figure 1).
Relevant Prior Art
16. The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kathke (U.S. Pub. No. 5,074,481) teach method and apparatus for monitoring the yarn winding production process.
Conclusion
/LIZ P NGUYEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 3696
/MATTHEW S GART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3696