DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to the application filed received on Oct. 20, 2024.
The Oath was received on Oct. 20, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on Oct. 20, 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9-11, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yisheng Xue et. al. (USPub. No.: US 20210400732 A1, hereinafter “Xue”).
Regarding claim 1, Xue teaches that a device for wireless communication, the device comprising: a transceiver that communicatively connects the device to a plurality of second devices; and a processor coupled to the transceiver and which configures the device to: (Xue, in Fig. 7 and in Paragraphs [0117] and [0120], teaches that FIG. 7 shows a block diagram 700 of a device 705 that supports sub-channel-based occupancy time sharing for unlicensed sidelink. The device 705, a UE 115, includes a receiver 710, a communications manager 715, and a transmitter 720. The device 705 also includes a processor. In Paragraph [0120], a communication manager 715 performs sharing channel bandwidth and channel resources with another UE to improve channel access opportunities.) transmit, via the transceiver, a sidelink channel occupancy sharing indicator that enables at least two devices to transmit data utilizing available sidelink channel resources within a channel occupancy duration, (Xue, in Fig. 2 and in Paragraphs [0081] and [0082], teaches that as described in Paragraph [0081], the UE 115 acts as a COT sharing provider for the COT and provides one or more COT sharing indicators 220 to one or more other UEs 115. As described in Paragraph [0082], a COT (Channel Occupancy Time) sharing (considered as channel occupancy sharing) provider UE 115 transmits a COT sharing indicator (considered as channel occupancy sharing indicator) 220 in a respective set of resources (e.g., a monitoring window). The COT sharing receiver UE 115 monitors for a COT sharing indicator 220 in the sets of resources (e.g., the configured monitoring windows), to improve the likelihood of the COT sharing receiver UE 115 gaining access to shared channel resources.) the sidelink channel occupancy sharing indicator comprising a value for a selected listen before talk (LBT) type from among multiple LBT types for channel sensing, which LBT type signals to a second device receiving the sidelink channel occupancy sharing indicator which LBT procedure to utilize before accessing resources identified by the sidelink channel occupancy sharing indicator; and (Xu, in Fig. 2 and in Paragraphs [0083] and [0085], teaches that as described in Paragraph [0083], each UE 115 attempting to access the shared sidelink channel is configured to check for COT sharing indicators 220. A COT sharing indicator 220 received in a window indicate a type of LBT procedure for UE 115-b to use to gain access to the shared resources of the COT (e.g., Type 1 LBT, Type 2 LBT, no LBT, etc.). For example, a COT sharing indicator 220 indicates that UE 115-b refrains from sensing the channel prior to accessing the channel (e.g., by using Type 2C LBT to access shared resources for less than a threshold time duration, such as 584 microseconds (µs)). As described in Paragraph [0082], the COT sharing indicator 220 also includes timing information corresponding to the type of LBT procedure. Namely, a COT sharing indicator 220 indicates a cyclic prefix (CP) extension, a CAPC, or a slot, resource, or sub-channel in which a UE 115 conducts the indicated LBT procedure (e.g., one-shot LBT). Further, in Paragraph [0069], shared channels are unlicensed channels or channels shared between one or more operators or with opportunistic access and shared radio frequency channels thus be acquired ( e.g., via successful LBT procedures indicating the shared radio frequency channel is available) before transmission.) allocate the available sidelink channel resources to the at least two devices to enable multiple devices to cooperatively share available sidelink channel resources via non-overlapping time or frequency domain usage in order to achieve a channel occupancy threshold level of resource utilization in an unlicensed spectrum. (Xue, in Fig. 2 and in Paragraphs [0086]-[0087], teaches that as described in Paragraph [0086], a COT sharing provider UE 115 (e.g., UE 115-a) supports contention window management. A successful LBT procedure (e.g., to gain access to a COT, to gain access to shared COT resources, etc.) involves a UE 115 sensing the channel for a contention window. If the channel is free (e.g., the energy level detected by the UE 115 on the channel is below an ED (Energy Detection) threshold (considered as a channel occupancy threshold level)) for the duration of the contention window, the UE 115 transmits on the shared channel (e.g., in some cases using an occupancy signal to occupy the channel prior to a sidelink transmission). A UE 115 manages one or more contention windows (e.g., for contending for a COT, for allowing COT sharing receiver UEs 115 to contend for shared resources of a COT, or both). In some cases, UE 115 implements a fixed contention window for a transmission pool of resources that do not support corresponding feedback messages on a PSFCH. As described in Paragraph [0087], for some cases, the COT sharing provider modifies a duration of a corresponding contention window according to information in the one or more PSFCHs, a collision rate, a mode of COT sharing (e.g., FDM COT sharing or TDM COT sharing, where both sharing mode represents non-overlapping time or frequency domain usage.), or some combination thereof.)
Regarding claim 2, Xue teaches the features defined in the claim 1, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Xue further teaches that wherein the multiple LBT types comprise a first LBT type of No-LBT (Xue, in Paragraphs [0069], teaches that as described in Paragraph [0069], LBT categories include a category one LBT (Cat1 LBT), a category two LBT (Cat2 LBT), a category three LBT (Cat3 LBT), and a category four LBT (Cat4 LBT). A Cat1 LBT includes no LBT. A Cat2 LBT includes channel sensing but without a backoff time (e.g., a pseudo-random backoff, or the like) if the channel is busy. A Cat3 LBT includes channel sensing with a pseudo-random backoff if the channel is busy and a fixed size contention window. A Cat4 LBT includes channel sensing with a pseudo-random backoff if the channel is busy and a variable size contention window. In some cases, a Cat4 LBT is also known as a Type 1 LBT, while Cat1 and Cat2 LBT is known as variants of a Type 2 LBT. Further, as described in Paragraph [0083], a COT sharing indicator 220 received in a window indicates a type of LBT procedure for UE 115-b to use to gain access to the shared resources of the COT (e.g., Type 1 LBT, Type 2 LBT, no LBT, etc.). Thus, No-LBT is one of multiple LBT types.)
Regarding claim 3, Xue teaches the features defined in the claim 2, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Xue further teaches that wherein the multiple LBT types further comprise a Cat 2 LBT based on an energy sensing procedure and a Cat 4 LBT based on a clear channel assessment procedure (Xue, in Paragraphs [0069], [0083], [0086], [0080], [0142], and [0148]-[0149], teaches that as described in [0069], [0083], [0086], and [0142], the CAT2 LBT (Type 2 LBT) includes channel sensing without a backoff time (e.g. a pseudo-random backoff) if the channel is busy. Further, as described in Paragraphs [0083] and [0086], a COT sharing indicator 220 may indicate that UE 115-b may refrain from sensing the channel prior to accessing the channel (e.g., by using Type 2C LBT to access shared resources for less than a threshold time duration, such as 584 microseconds (µs)). Namely, if the channel is free (such that the energy level detected by UE on the channel is below an ED (Energy Detection) threshold) for the duration of the contention window, the UE transmits on the shared channel. Further, as described in Paragraph [0080], the UE 115 is configured with a check out time according to a CAPC (channel access priority class) used during the LBT procedure, an ED threshold used during the LBT procedure, or both. Thus, CAT2 LBT (Type 2 LBT) is configured with energy sensing procedure. As described in Paragraph [0069], CAT4 LBT (Type 1 LBT) includes channel sensing with a pseudo-random backoff if the channel is busy and a variable size contention window. Thus, the channel access component 910 performs the LBT procedure for the shared channel bandwidth based on the portion of the occupancy time, where the gaining access to the shared channel bandwidth for the portion of the occupancy time is based on a success of the LBT procedure. Namely, for CAT4 LBT (Type 1 LBT), the clear channel assessment (CCA) is performed for the shared channel bandwidth.)
Regarding claim 4, Xue teaches the features defined in the claim 4, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Xue further teaches that wherein in allocating the channel resources, the device: assigns channel resources to a second device that is provided the No-LBT within the sidelink channel occupancy sharing indicator; and (Xue, in Paragraphs [0083] and [0086], teaches that as described in Paragraph [0083], a COT (Channel Occupancy Time) sharing indicator 220 received in a window may indicate a type of LBT procedure for UE 115-b to use to gain access to the shared resources of the COT (e.g., Type 1 LBT, Type 2 LBT, no LBT, etc.). Further, as described in Paragraph [0086], UE 115 may manage one or more contention windows (e.g., for contending for a COT, for allowing COT sharing receiver UEs 115 to contend for shared resources of a COT, or both).) schedules an assignment of channel resources to another second device that is provided one of the Cat 2 LBT and the Cat 4 LBT, the channel resources assigned, after the second device successfully completes the LBT procedure of an assigned category of LBT (Xue, in Paragraphs [0083] and [0148], teaches that as described in Paragraph [0083], a COT (Channel Occupancy Time) sharing indicator 220 received in a window may indicate a type of LBT procedure for UE 115-b to use to gain access to the shared resources of the COT (e.g., Type 1 LBT (CAT4 LBT), Type 2 LBT (CAT2 LBT), no LBT, etc.). Further, as described in Paragraph [0148], the channel access component 910 performs the LBT procedure for the shared channel bandwidth based on the portion of the occupancy time, where the gaining access to the shared channel bandwidth for the portion of the occupancy time is based on a success of the LBT procedure. Thus, shared radio frequency channels are acquired (e.g., via successful LBT procedures indicating the shared radio frequency channel is available) before transmission, as described in Paragraph [0069].)
Regarding claim 5, Xue teaches the features defined in the claim 1, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Xue further teaches that wherein the at least two devices include at least two second devices (Xue, in Paragraph [0081], teaches that UE 115 gaining access to the shared channel bandwidth for a COT may transmit sidelink transmissions 215 over the channel. The UE 115 acts as a COT sharing provider for the COT and may provide one or more COT sharing indicators 220 to one or more other UEs 115 (COT sharing receiver UEs). Thus, the COT sharing operation includes one or more COT sharing receiver UEs.)
Regarding claim 9, Xue teaches the features defined in the claim 5, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Xue further teaches that wherein: the available sidelink channel resources are an available channel occupancy time (COT) which includes one or more of frequency domain resources and time domain resources; and (Xue, in paragraph [0083], teaches that each UE 115, attempting to access the shared sidelink channel, is configured to check for COT sharing indicators 220. UE 115-b is configured to search for one or more COT sharing indicators 220 in the one or more windows (e.g., sets of time resources, frequency resources, beamforming resources, or a combi nation thereof). the device is further configured to: transmit, within the sidelink channel occupancy sharing indicator, (Xue, in Paragraphs [0082], teaches that a COT sharing provider UE 115 transmits a COT sharing indicator 220 in a respective set of resources (e.g., a monitoring window). The COT sharing receiver(s) UE 115 monitors for a COT sharing indicator 220 in the sets of resources (e.g., the configured monitoring windows).) an indication that COT sharing is to be performed in one of a frequency division multiplexing (FDM), time division multiplexing (TDM) and a combination of FDM and TDM; and (Xue, in Fig. 4 and 5 and in Paragraphs [0098], teaches that as shown in Fig. 3-5, one or more slots in the COT includes SCI 455 (e.g. SCI 1, SCI 2, or combination thereof) in sidelink control resources 440. Each SCI 455 includes a pointer 415 linked to a location in sidelink data resources 445 in which FDM (Frequency Division Multiplexing) COT sharing information 450 is transmitted. In some cases, TDM (Time Division Multiplexing) COT sharing information is transmitted in a similar manner to FDM COT sharing information 450 as illustrated in FIG. 4. FDM COT sharing information 450 is transmitted in a similar manner to TDM COT sharing information as illustrated in FIG. 3.) assign the available COT to the at least two second devices by mapping each second device via one of a device ID and a resource index to respectively selected COT sub-channel resources in accordance with an interlacing configuration, (Xue, in Paragraph [0084], teaches that the COT sharing indicator 220 specifies which UEs 115 shares the indicated resources based on a distance threshold, a type of interlace, or both. Further, the COT sharing indicator 220 shares the COT with UEs 115 that use a specific set of sub-channel interlaces (e.g., a COT sharing receiver UE 115 uses a set of interlaces that mitigate interference with sub-carriers used by the COT sharing provider UE 115). wherein the interlacing configuration enables at least one second device to utilize first COT sub-channel resources via a multiple access protocol (Xue, in Paragraph [0095], teaches that a UE 115
configured as a COT sharing provider provides TDM COT sharing information 340 to other UEs 115 via sub-channel 310 (interlaced sub-channel as indicated in the above). TDM COT sharing information 340 is transmitted via sub-channel 310 in the form of control information. Further, the TDM COT sharing information 340 provides an indication of COT availability for channel access. A COT sharing provider transmits TDM COT sharing information 340 to indicate that the remaining resources (e.g., subsequent symbols 325, slots 320, etc.) of the COT are available for sharing. the TDM COT sharing information 340 indicates specific time resources for sharing (e.g., by indicating a slot index, a symbol index, a slot counter, or a combination thereof).) while at least one other device from among the device and one of the at least two second devices utilizes second COT sub-channel resources. (Xue, in Fig. 2 and in Paragraph [0080], teaches that UE 115-c may announce COT sharing indicator 220 prior to when UE 115-a announces another COT sharing indicator 220 in the same sub-channel. An earlier allowed check out time supports additional sharing opportunities for the channel. Thus, each COT sharing receiver UE can have different COT sharing indicator, respectively, to use different COT sub-channel resources addressed by each COT sharing indicator.)
Regarding claim 10, Xue teaches the features defined in the claim 1, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Xue further teaches that wherein the at least two devices include the device and at least one second device, and the device: monitors, for a preset time period, for one of (i) a feedback message indicating the second device will utilize the allocated resources and (ii) transmission activity within allocated sidelink channel resources from a second device receiving the sidelink channel occupancy sharing indicator; and (Xue, in Paragraph [0087], teaches that the COT sharing provider UE 115 configures a length of a contention window based on a channel busy ratio (CBR) for the sidelink channel. contention window (considered as the preset time duration) is modified according to a PSFCH (Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel) (e.g., for a transmission pool of resources that support corresponding feedback messages on a PSFCH). In one aspect, a COT sharing provider UE 115 monitor one or more PSFCHs corresponding to one or more potential COT sharing receiver UEs 115 to update a contention window. The COT sharing provider UE 115 receives feedback messages from one or more UEs 115 on the PSFCHs and determines message collisions in a portion of the COT and/or a portion of time-frequency resources based on receiving negative acknowledgment (NACK) feed back. Thus, if collision is fed back from the COT shared receiving UE, the COT is occupied and cannot use the allocated COT sharing resources by that sharing receiving UE. Otherwise, that COT sharing receiving UE will use the current COT sharing resources.) in response to not receiving the feedback message and not detecting transmission activity by the second device within the allocated sidelink channel resources, initiates transmission from the device utilizing the allocated sidelink channel resources within a corresponding resource duration (Xue, in Paragraph [0086], teaches that the UE 115 implements a fixed contention window (considered as the preset time duration) for a transmission pool of resources that do not support corresponding feedback messages on a PSFCH. In this case, a COT sharing provider UE 115 (e.g., UE 115-a) supports contention window management. After a successful LBT procedure (e.g., to gain access to a COT, to gain access to shared COT resources, etc.), if the channel is free (e.g., the energy level detected by the UE 115 on the channel is below an ED threshold) for the duration of the contention window, the UE 115 transmits the allocated sidelink channel resources on the shared channel (e.g., in some cases using an occupancy signal to occupy the channel prior to a sidelink transmission). A UE 115 further manages one or more contention windows (e.g., for contending for a COT, for allowing COT sharing receiver UEs 115 to contend for shared resources of a COT, or both).)
Regarding claim 11, Xue teaches that A device for wireless communication, the device comprising: a transceiver that communicatively connects the device to a sidelink sharing device; and a processor coupled to the transceiver and which configures the device to: (Xue, in Fig. 9 and 10 and in Paragraphs [0034]-[0035], [0131], and [0157], teaches that FIG. 9 shows a block diagram 900 of a communications manager 905 that supports sub-channel-based occupancy time sharing for unlicensed sidelink. Further, The communications manager 905 includes a channel access component 910, a resource identifier 915, a sharing indicator component 920, a communication component 925, an FDM sharing component 930, a TDM sharing component 935, a sharing indicator configuration component 945, a reporting component 950, a check out time component 955, a sharing type determination component 960, a channel sharing component 965, a resource monitoring component 980, or any combination thereof. Further, FIG. 10 shows a diagram of a system 1000 including a device 1005 that supports sub-channel-based occupancy time sharing for unlicensed sidelink. The device 1005 includes components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, including a communications manager 1010, an I/O controller 1015, a transceiver 1020, an antenna 1025, memory 1030, and a processor 1040.) receive, from the sidelink sharing device via the transceiver, a sidelink channel occupancy sharing indicator that identifies, from among available sidelink channel resources, (Xue, in Fig. 2 and in Paragraphs [0081] and [0082], teaches that as described in Paragraph [0081], the UE 115 acts as a COT sharing provider for the COT and provides one or more COT sharing indicators 220 to one or more other UEs 115. As described in Paragraph [0082], a COT (Channel Occupancy Time) sharing (considered as channel occupancy sharing) provider UE 115 transmits a COT sharing indicator (considered as channel occupancy sharing indicator) 220 in a respective set of resources (e.g., a monitoring window). The COT sharing receiver UE 115 monitors for a COT sharing indicator 220 in the sets of resources (e.g., the configured monitoring windows), to improve the likelihood of the COT sharing receiver UE 115 gaining access to shared channel resources.) specific sidelink channel resources that the device can utilize to transmit data and includes a value for a listen before talk (LBT) type from among multiple LBT types of channel sensing indicating which LBT procedure to utilize before the device initiates transmitting over the sidelink channel resources; (Xu, in Fig. 2 and in Paragraphs [0083] and [0085], teaches that as described in Paragraph [0083], each UE 115 attempting to access the shared sidelink channel is configured to check for COT sharing indicators 220. A COT sharing indicator 220 received in a window indicat a type of LBT procedure for UE 115-b to use to gain access to the shared resources of the COT (e.g., Type 1 LBT, Type 2 LBT, no LBT, etc.). For example, a COT sharing indicator 220 indicates that UE 115-b refrains from sensing the channel prior to accessing the channel (e.g., by using Type 2C LBT to access shared resources for less than a threshold time duration, such as 584 microseconds (µs)). As described in Paragraph [0082], the COT sharing indicator 220 also includes timing information corresponding to the type of LBT procedure. Namely, a COT sharing indicator 220 indicates a cyclic prefix (CP) extension, a CAPC, or a slot, resource, or sub-channel in which a UE 115 conducts the indicated LBT procedure (e.g., one-shot LBT).) determine whether the device is able to utilize the identified sidelink channel resources to transmit data; and transmit the data over the sidelink channel resources in accordance with the LBT procedure, in response to the device being able to utilize the sidelink channel resources. (Xue, in Fig. 2 and in Paragraphs [0086], teaches that as described in Paragraph [0086], a COT sharing provider UE 115 (e.g., UE 115-a) supports contention window management. After a successful LBT procedure (e.g., to gain access to a COT, to gain access to shared COT resources, etc.) involved a UE 115 sensing the channel for a contention window, if the channel is free (e.g., the energy level detected by the UE 115 on the channel is below an ED (Energy Detection) threshold (considered as a channel occupancy threshold level)) for the duration of the contention window, the UE 115 transmits on the shared channel (e.g., in some cases using an occupancy signal to occupy the channel prior to a sidelink transmission). A UE 115 manages one or more contention windows (e.g., for contending for a COT, for allowing COT sharing receiver UEs 115 to contend for shared resources of a COT, or both).)
Regarding claim 15, Xue teaches the features defined in the claim 11, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Xue further teaches that wherein: the received sidelink channel occupancy sharing indicator comprises a channel occupancy time (COT) indicator and (Xue, in Paragraphs [0082], teaches that a COT sharing provider UE 115 transmits a COT sharing indicator 220 in a respective set of resources (e.g., a monitoring window). The COT sharing receiver(s) UE 115 monitors for a COT sharing indicator 220 in the sets of resources (e.g., the configured monitoring windows). Further, in paragraph [0083], teaches that each UE 115, attempting to access the shared sidelink channel, is configured to check for COT sharing indicators 220. UE 115-b is configured to search for one or more COT sharing indicators 220 in the one or more windows (e.g., sets of time resources, frequency resources, beamforming resources, or a combi nation thereof).) an SCI field that indicates a multiple access mode by which the device and at least one other device accesses sidelink channel resources, wherein the multiple access mode is one of frequency division multiplexing (FDM), time division multiplexing (TDM), and a combination of FDM and TDM; and (Xue, in Fig. 4 and 5 and in Paragraphs [0098], teaches that as shown in Fig. 3-5, one or more slots in the COT includes SCI 455 (e.g. SCI 1, SCI 2, or combination thereof) in sidelink control resources 440. Each SCI 455 includes a pointer 415 linked to a location in sidelink data resources 445 in which FDM (Frequency Division Multiplexing) COT sharing information 450 is transmitted. In some cases, TDM (Time Division Multiplexing) COT sharing information is transmitted in a similar manner to FDM COT sharing information 450 as illustrated in FIG. 4. FDM COT sharing information 450 is transmitted in a similar manner to TDM COT sharing information as illustrated in FIG. 3.) the device accesses, using a resource index, respective sidelink sub-channel resources assigned in accordance with an interlacing configuration. (Xue, in Paragraph [0084], teaches that the COT sharing indicator 220 specifies which UEs 115 shares the indicated resources based on a distance threshold, a type of interlace, or both. Further, the COT sharing indicator 220 shares the COT with UEs 115 that use a specific set of sub-channel interlaces (e.g., a COT sharing receiver UE 115 uses a set of interlaces that mitigate interference with sub-carriers used by the COT sharing provider UE 115).
Regarding claim 16, Xue teaches the features defined in the claim 11, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Xue further teaches that wherein the device: receives reserved radio resources as a result of a configured grant (CG); (Xue, in Paragraph [0081], teaches that the UE 115 acts as a COT sharing provider for the COT and provides one or more COT sharing indicators 220 to one or more other UEs 115 (COT sharing receiving UE). The UE 115 receives a dedicated radio resource control (RRC) message (e.g., a Type 1 configured grant (CG) or a similar configuration message), a dedicated RRC message and a DCI message for activation (e.g., a Type 2 CG or a similar configuration message), a DCI message for a one-shot COT sharing indicator 220, or a combination thereof from a base station 105 to configure the UE 115 for COT sharing (e.g., configuring the UE 115 with a COT sharing indicator 220, a window for transmitting the COT sharing indicator 220, or both). Thus, the COT sharing receiving UEs receives the reserved radio resources with a COT sharing indicator, as described in Paragraph [0082]-[0083].) receives an interlacing channel or sub-channel index via the received sidelink channel occupancy sharing indicator; (Xue, in Paragraph [0084], teaches that the COT sharing indicator 220 specifies which UEs 115 share the indicated resources based on a distance threshold, a type of interlace, or both. Further, the COT sharing indicator220 shares the COT with UEs 115 that use a specific set of sub-channel interlaces (e.g., a COT sharing receiver UE 115 uses a set of interlaces that mitigate interference with sub-carriers used by the COT sharing provider UE 115). Thus, the COT sharing receiver receives the interlaced subchannels via a COT sharing indicator.) decodes a received SCI to determine a multiple access mode; (Xue, in Fig. 4 and 5 and in Paragraphs [0098], teaches that as shown in Fig. 3-5, one or more slots in the COT includes SCI 455 (e.g. SCI 1, SCI 2, or combination thereof) in sidelink control resources 440. Each SCI 455 includes a pointer 415 linked to a location in sidelink data resources 445 in which FDM (Frequency Division Multiplexing) COT sharing information 450 is transmitted. In some cases, TDM (Time Division Multiplexing) COT sharing information is transmitted in a similar manner to FDM COT sharing information 450 as illustrated in FIG. 4. FDM COT sharing information 450 is transmitted in a similar manner to TDM COT sharing information as illustrated in FIG. 3.) determines whether to activate the reserved radio resources; and in response to determining that the reserved radio resources are to be activated, transmit data, based on the decoded SCI, by accessing, using the interlacing channel or sub-channel index, sidelink sub-channel resources to activate the reserved radio resources. (Xue, in Paragraphs [0086], teaches that a COT sharing provider UE 115 (e.g., UE 115-a) supports contention window management. After performing successful LBT procedure (e.g., to gain access to a COT, to gain access to shared COT resources, etc.), if the channel is free (e.g., the energy level detected by the UE 115 on the channel is below an ED threshold) for the duration of the contention window, the UE 115 transmits on the shared channel (e.g., in some cases using an occupancy signal to
occupy the channel prior to a sidelink transmission). A UE 115 manages one or more contention windows (e.g., for contending for a COT, for allowing COT sharing receiver UEs 115 to contend for shared resources of a COT, or both). As described in Paragraph [0084], based on the COT sharing indicator 220, the UE shares the COT to use a specific set of sub-channel interlaces (e.g. a COT sharing receiver UE 115 uses a set of interlaces that mitigate interference with sub-carriers used by the COT sharing provider UE 115).)
Regarding claim 17, Xue teaches the features defined in the claim 11, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Xue further teaches that wherein the device: in response to receiving the sidelink channel occupancy sharing indicator, transmits a feedback message indicating that the device intends to initiate data transmission using configured resources within a threshold time period (Xue, in Paragraph [0082], [0087]-[0088], teaches that as described in Paragraph [0082], a COT sharing provider UE 115 transmits a
COT sharing indicator 220 in a respective set of resources (e.g., a monitoring window). The COT sharing receiver UE 115 monitors for a COT sharing indicator 220 in the sets of resources (e.g., the configured monitoring windows). As described in Paragraph [0083], UE 115-b is configured to search for one or more COT sharing indicators 220 in the one or more windows (e.g., sets of time resources, frequency resources, beamforming resources, or a combination thereof). Further, as described in Paragraph [0084], the COT sharing indicator 220 specifies which UEs 115 may share the indicated resources based on a distance threshold, a type of interlace, or both. In Paragraph [0087], the COT sharing provider UE 115
configures a length of a contention window (threshold time period) based on a channel busy ratio (CBR) for the sidelink channel. The contention window is modified according to a PSFCH (e.g., for a transmission pool of resources that support corresponding feedback messages on a PSFCH). A COT sharing provider UE 115 monitors one or more PSFCHs corresponding to one or more potential COT sharing receiver UEs 115 to update a contention window. The COT sharing provider UE 115 receives feedback messages from one or more UEs 115 on the PSFCHs and may determine message collisions in a portion of the COT and/or a portion of time-frequency resources based on receiving negative acknowledgment (NACK) feedback. Thus, based on the feedback message, the contention window is optimized with the selected COT sharing receiving UE for sharing the selected resources.)
Regarding claim 18, Xue teaches that a method for wireless communication by a device, the method comprising: (Xue, in Fig. 7 and in Paragraphs [0117] and [0120], teaches that FIG. 7 shows a block diagram 700 of a device 705 that supports sub-channel-based occupancy time sharing for unlicensed sidelink. The device 705, a UE 115, includes a receiver 710, a communications manager 715, and a transmitter 720. The device 705 also includes a processor. In Paragraph [0120], a communication manager 715 performs sharing channel bandwidth and channel resources with another UE to improve channel access opportunities.) transmitting, via a transceiver, a sidelink channel occupancy sharing indicator that enables at least two devices to transmit data utilizing available sidelink channel resources within a channel occupancy duration, (Xue, in Fig. 2 and in Paragraphs [0081] and [0082], teaches that as described in Paragraph [0081], the UE 115 acts as a COT sharing provider for the COT and provides one or more COT sharing indicators 220 to one or more other UEs 115. As described in Paragraph [0082], a COT (Channel Occupancy Time) sharing (considered as channel occupancy sharing) provider UE 115 transmits a COT sharing indicator (considered as channel occupancy sharing indicator) 220 in a respective set of resources (e.g., a monitoring window). The COT sharing receiver UE 115 monitors for a COT sharing indicator 220 in the sets of resources (e.g., the configured monitoring windows), to improve the likelihood of the COT sharing receiver UE 115 gaining access to shared channel resources.) the sidelink channel occupancy sharing indicator comprising a value for a selected listen before talk (LBT) type from among multiple LBT types for channel sensing, which LBT type signals to a second device receiving the sidelink channel occupancy sharing indicator which LBT procedure to utilize before accessing resources identified by the sidelink channel occupancy sharing indicator; and (Xu, in Fig. 2 and in Paragraphs [0083] and [0085], teaches that as described in Paragraph [0083], each UE 115 attempting to access the shared sidelink channel is configured to check for COT sharing indicators 220. A COT sharing indicator 220 received in a window indicates a type of LBT procedure for UE 115-b to use to gain access to the shared resources of the COT (e.g., Type 1 LBT, Type 2 LBT, no LBT, etc.). For example, a COT sharing indicator 220 indicates that UE 115-b refrains from sensing the channel prior to accessing the channel (e.g., by using Type 2C LBT to access shared resources for less than a threshold time duration, such as 584 microseconds (µs)). As described in Paragraph [0082], the COT sharing indicator 220 also includes timing information corresponding to the type of LBT procedure. Namely, a COT sharing indicator 220 indicates a cyclic prefix (CP) extension, a CAPC, or a slot, resource, or sub-channel in which a UE 115 conducts the indicated LBT procedure (e.g., one-shot LBT). Further, in Paragraph [0069], shared channels are unlicensed channels or channels shared between one or more operators or with opportunistic access and shared radio frequency channels thus be acquired ( e.g., via successful LBT procedures indicating the shared radio frequency channel is available) before transmission.) allocating the available sidelink channel resources to the at least two devices to enable multiple devices to cooperatively share available sidelink channel resources via non-overlapping time or frequency domain usage in order to achieve a channel occupancy threshold level of resource utilization in an unlicensed spectrum. (Xue, in Fig. 2 and in Paragraphs [0086]-[0087], teaches that as described in Paragraph [0086], a COT sharing provider UE 115 (e.g., UE 115-a) supports contention window management. A successful LBT procedure (e.g., to gain access to a COT, to gain access to shared COT resources, etc.) involves a UE 115 sensing the channel for a contention window. If the channel is free (e.g., the energy level detected by the UE 115 on the channel is below an ED (Energy Detection) threshold (considered as a channel occupancy threshold level)) for the duration of the contention window, the UE 115 transmits on the shared channel (e.g., in some cases using an occupancy signal to occupy the channel prior to a sidelink transmission). A UE 115 manages one or more contention windows (e.g., for contending for a COT, for allowing COT sharing receiver UEs 115 to contend for shared resources of a COT, or both). In some cases, UE 115 implements a fixed contention window for a transmission pool of resources that do not support corresponding feedback messages on a PSFCH. As described in Paragraph [0087], for some cases, the COT sharing provider modifies a duration of a corresponding contention window according to information in the one or more PSFCHs, a collision rate, a mode of COT sharing (e.g., FDM COT sharing or TDM COT sharing, where both sharing mode represents non-overlapping time or frequency domain usage.), or some combination thereof.)
Regarding claim 19, Xue teaches the features defined in the claim 18, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Xue further teaches that wherein the multiple LBT types comprise a first LBT type of No-LBT, a Cat 2 LBT based on an energy sensing procedure, and a Cat 4 LBT based on a clear channel assessment procedure; and (Xue, in Paragraphs [0069], teaches that as described in Paragraph [0069], LBT categories include a category one LBT (Cat1 LBT), a category two LBT (Cat2 LBT), a category three LBT (Cat3 LBT), and a category four LBT (Cat4 LBT). A Cat1 LBT includes no LBT. A Cat2 LBT includes channel sensing but without a backoff time (e.g., a pseudo-random backoff, or the like) if the channel is busy. A Cat4 LBT includes channel sensing with a pseudo-random backoff if the channel is busy and a variable size contention window. A Cat4 LBT is also known as a Type 1 LBT, while Cat1 LBT and Cat2 LBT is known as variants of a Type 2 LBT. Further, as described in Paragraph [0083], a COT sharing indicator 220 received in a window indicates a type of LBT procedure for UE 115-b to use to gain access to the shared resources of the COT (e.g., Type 1 LBT, Type 2 LBT, no LBT, etc.). Thus, No-LBT is one of multiple LBT types. Further, as described in [0069], [0083], [0086], and [0142], the CAT 1 LBT and CAT2 LBT (Type 2 LBT) includes channel sensing without a backoff time (e.g. a pseudo-random backoff) if the channel is busy. Further, as described in Paragraphs [0083] and [0086], a COT sharing indicator 220 may indicate that UE 115-b may refrain from sensing the channel prior to accessing the channel (e.g., by using Type 2C LBT to access shared resources for less than a threshold time duration, such as 584 microseconds (µs)). Namely, if the channel is free (such that the energy level detected by UE on the channel is below an ED (Energy Detection) threshold) for the duration of the contention window, the UE transmits on the shared channel. Further, as described in Paragraph [0080], the UE 115 is configured with a check out time according to a CAPC (channel access priority class) used during the LBT procedure, an ED threshold used during the LBT procedure, or both. Thus, CAT2 LBT (Type 2 LBT) is configured with energy sensing procedure. As described in Paragraph [0069], CAT4 LBT (Type 1 LBT) includes channel sensing with a pseudo-random backoff if the channel is busy and a variable size contention window. Thus, the channel access component 910 performs the LBT procedure for the shared channel bandwidth based on the portion of the occupancy time, where the gaining access to the shared channel bandwidth for the portion of the occupancy time is based on a success of the LBT procedure. Namely, for CAT4 LBT (Type 1 LBT), the clear channel assessment (CCA) is performed for the shared channel bandwidth.) assigning channel resources to a second device that is provided the No-LBT within the sidelink channel occupancy sharing indicator; and (Xue, in Paragraph [0083], teaches that a COT sharing indicator 220 received in a window indicates a type of LBT procedure for UE 115-b to use to gain access to the shared resources of the COT ( e.g., Type 1 LBT, Type 2 LBT, no LBT, etc.).) scheduling an assignment of channel resources to another second device that is provided one of the Cat 2 LBT and the Cat 4 LBT, (Xue, in Paragraph [0080], teaches that different UEs 115 is configured to transmit COT sharing indicators 220 in a same sub-channel with different priorities via different Type 1 LBT (CAT 4 LBT) check out times. Then, UE 115-c announces COT sharing indicator 220 prior to when UE 115-a announces another COT sharing indicator 220 in the same sub-channel. An earlier allowed check out time supports additional sharing opportunities for the channel.) the channel resources assigned, after the second device successfully completes an LBT procedure of an assigned category of LBT (Xue, in Paragraph [0069], teaches that shared channels are unlicensed channels or channels shared between one or more operators or with opportunistic access and shared radio frequency channels thus be acquired ( e.g., via successful LBT procedures indicating the shared radio frequency channel is available) before transmission. Further, in Paragraph [0086], after LBT procedure is succeeded, a UE 115 manages one or more contention windows for contending for a COT and/or for allowing COT sharing receiver UEs 115 to contend for shared resources of a COT.)
Regarding claim 20, Xue teaches the features defined in the claim 5, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Xue further teaches that wherein: the available sidelink channel resources are an available channel occupancy time (COT) which includes one or more of frequency domain resources and time domain resources; and (Xue, in paragraph [0083], teaches that each UE 115, attempting to access the shared sidelink channel, is configured to check for COT sharing indicators 220. UE 115-b is configured to search for one or more COT sharing indicators 220 in the one or more windows (e.g., sets of time resources, frequency resources, beamforming resources, or a combi nation thereof). transmitting, within the sidelink channel occupancy sharing indicator, (Xue, in Paragraphs [0082], teaches that a COT sharing provider UE 115 transmits a COT sharing indicator 220 in a respective set of resources (e.g., a monitoring window). The COT sharing receiver(s) UE 115 monitors for a COT sharing indicator 220 in the sets of resources (e.g., the configured monitoring windows).) an indication that COT sharing is to be performed in one of a frequency division multiplexing (FDM), time division multiplexing (TDM) and a combination of FDM and TDM; and (Xue, in Fig. 4 and 5 and in Paragraphs [0098], teaches that as shown in Fig. 3-5, one or more slots in the COT includes SCI 455 (e.g. SCI 1, SCI 2, or combination thereof) in sidelink control resources 440. Each SCI 455 includes a pointer 415 linked to a location in sidelink data resources 445 in which FDM (Frequency Division Multiplexing) COT sharing information 450 is transmitted. In some cases, TDM (Time Division Multiplexing) COT sharing information is transmitted in a similar manner to FDM COT sharing information 450 as illustrated in FIG. 4. FDM COT sharing information 450 is transmitted in a similar manner to TDM COT sharing information as illustrated in FIG. 3.) assigning the available COT to the at least two second devices by mapping each second device via one of a device ID and a resource index to respectively selected COT sub-channel resources in accordance with an interlacing configuration, (Xue, in Paragraph [0084], teaches that the COT sharing indicator 220 specifies which UEs 115 shares the indicated resources based on a distance threshold, a type of interlace, or both. Further, the COT sharing indicator 220 shares the COT with UEs 115 that use a specific set of sub-channel interlaces (e.g., a COT sharing receiver UE 115 uses a set of interlaces that mitigate interference with sub-carriers used by the COT sharing provider UE 115). wherein the interlacing configuration enables at least one second device to utilize first COT sub-channel resources via a multiple access protocol (Xue, in Paragraph [0095], teaches that a UE 115 configured as a COT sharing provider provides TDM COT sharing information 340 to other UEs 115 via sub-channel 310 (interlaced sub-channel as indicated in the above). TDM COT sharing information 340 is transmitted via sub-channel 310 in the form of control information. Further, the TDM COT sharing information 340 provides an indication of COT availability for channel access. A COT sharing provider transmits TDM COT sharing information 340 to indicate that the remaining resources (e.g., subsequent symbols 325, slots 320, etc.) of the COT are available for sharing. the TDM COT sharing information 340 indicates specific time resources for sharing (e.g., by indicating a slot index, a symbol index, a slot counter, or a combination thereof).) while at least one other device from among the device and one of the at least two second devices utilizes second COT sub-channel resources. (Xue, in Fig. 2 and in Paragraph [0080], teaches that UE 115-c may announce COT sharing indicator 220 prior to when UE 115-a announces another COT sharing indicator 220 in the same sub-channel. An earlier allowed check out time supports additional sharing opportunities for the channel. Thus, each COT sharing receiver UE can have different COT sharing indicator, respectively, to use different COT sub-channel resources addressed by each COT sharing indicator.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 and 12-14 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yisheng Xue et. al. (USPub. No.: US 20210400732 A1, hereinafter “Xue”) in a view of Hwang, Daesung et. al (Int. Pub. No.: WO 2023182834 A1, hereinafter “Hwang”).
Regarding claim 6, Xue teaches the features defined in the claim 5, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Xue further teaches that device specific messages having sidelink control information (SCI) to indicate a multiple access mode to each of the at least two second devices, the multicast message having SCI to indicate a multiple access mode (Xue, in Fig. 4 and 5 and in Paragraphs [0098], teaches that as shown in Fig. 3-5, one or more slots in the COT includes SCI 455 (e.g. SCI 1, SCI 2, or combination thereof) in sidelink control resources 440. Each SCI 455 includes a pointer 415 linked to a location in sidelink data resources 445 in which FDM COT sharing information 450 is transmitted. In some cases, TDM COT sharing information is transmitted in a similar manner to FDM COT sharing information 450 as
illustrated in FIG. 4. FDM COT sharing information 450 is transmitted in a similar manner to TDM COT sharing information as illustrated in FIG. 3.)
Xue does not explicitly teach about destination ID and cast type.
Hwang teaches that each message being addressed to one or more of a destination identification (ID) of a respective second device and a cast type of a respective second device; a multicast message to selected second devices among the at least two second devices, the multicast message having SCI addressed to each of the at least two second devices via a respective one of a destination ID and a cast type (Hwang, in Fig. 8 and 9 and in Page 30, Line 8 to Page 35, Line 9, teaches that in Page 30, Line 8 to Page 34, Line 13, the first terminal (TX terminal) transmits an SCI to the second terminal(s) (the second device(s)) on the PSCCH (Physical Sidelink Control Channel) or the first terminal transmits two consecutive SCIs (e.g. 2-state SCI) on the PSCCH and/or PSSCH (Physical Sidelink Shared Channel) to the second terminal(s). According to the 2nd-stage SCI format, SCI indicates destination ID (16 bits) and Cast Type indicator (2 bit; as shown in Table 7, it indicates Broadcast, Unicast (Device Specific), and Groupcast (Multicast)). Further, in Fig. 9 and in Page35, Lines 1-9, In the case of unicast type SL (Sidelink) communication, a terminal (TX terminal) performs one-to-one communication with another terminal (a second terminal). In the case of group cast type SL communication, the terminal (Tx terminal) performs SL communication with one or more terminals (2nd terminals) within the group to which it belongs. Further, SL groupcast communication is replaced with SL multicast communication, SL one-to-many communication, etc.) a broadcast message to the at least two second devices; (Hwang, in Fig. 9(a) and in Page35, Lines 1-9, teaches that as shown in Fig 9(a), the first terminal (TX terminal) transmits an SCI to the second terminal(s) (the second device(s)) on the PSCCH (Physical Sidelink Control Channel) by using broadcast message. Namely, the first terminal (Tx terminal) transmits an SCI to all the other terminals (second terminals) using a broadcast message.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Xue and Hwang to include the technique of device specific messages having sidelink control information (SCI) to indicate a multiple access mode to each of the at least two second devices, each message being addressed to one or more of a destination identification (ID) of a respective second device and a cast type of a respective second device; a broadcast message to the at least two second devices; and a multicast message to selected second devices among the at least two second devices, the multicast message having SCI to indicate a multiple access mode and addressed to each of the at least two second devices via a respective one of a destination ID and a cast type of Hwang in the system of Xue to provides a method for a first device to perform Sidelink wireless communication to obtain information through one or more RB sets including a plurality of interlaced resource blocks, for reducing the burden on base station due to rapidly increasing data traffic (Hwang, see Page 2, Lines 3-4 and Page 3, Lines 8-10).).
Regarding claim 7, combination of Xue and Hwang teaches the features defined in the claim 6, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Hwang further teaches that wherein the device: assigns the available sidelink channel resources by sending device specific messages using one or more of a device specific interlacing subchannel index and a destination ID specific interlacing subchannel index, along with a corresponding device or destination specific duration of assigned subchannel resources from among the available sidelink channel resources (Hwang, in Fig. 18 and 19 and in Page 63, Lines 10-16, teaches that as described in Fig. 18 and in Page 63, Lines 10-16, in step S1810, the first device obtains information related to one or more RB sets including a plurality of interlaced resource blocks (RBs). In step S1820, the first device transmits a first SCI for scheduling a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) and a second sidelink control information (SCI) through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH). In step S1830, the first device transmits the second SCI through the PSSCH. The PSCCH is located in the lowest index subchannel of the lowest index RB set for the PSSCH within the one or more RB sets. Further, as described in Page 67, Line 15 to Page 68, Line 2, the first SCI or the second SCI includes resource allocation information indicating a starting interlace index and the number of interlaces, namely, indicating a start subchannel index and the number of subchannels. Further, the first SCI or the second SCI includes resource allocation information indicating a starting interlace index and an interlace pattern, namely, indicating a start subchannel index and a subchannel pattern. Since, as described in Page 30, Line 8 to Page 34, Line 13, the first SCI and the second SCI include the destination ID, the interlace (subchannel) index, here, is corresponding to the device specific or the destination specific interlace subchannel index. The destination or device specific duration to assign subchannel resources is defined based on the start subchannel index and the number of the subchannels, based on the destination ID in the SCI.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Xue and Hwang to include the technique of wherein the device: assigns the available sidelink channel resources by sending device specific messages using one or more of a device specific interlacing subchannel index and a destination ID specific interlacing subchannel index, along with a corresponding device or destination specific duration of assigned subchannel resources from among the available sidelink channel resources of Hwang in the system of Xue to provides a method for a first device to perform Sidelink wireless communication to obtain information through one or more RB sets including a plurality of interlaced resource blocks, for reducing the burden on base station due to rapidly increasing data traffic (Hwang, see Page 2, Lines 3-4 and Page 3, Lines 8-10).).
Regarding claim 8, Xue teaches the features defined in the claim 5, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Xue further teaches that wherein the device transmits the sidelink channel occupancy sharing indicator by transmitting to each of the at least two second devices: (Xue, in Paragraphs [0082], teaches that a COT sharing provider UE 115 transmits a COT sharing indicator 220 in a respective set of resources (e.g., a monitoring window). The COT sharing receiver(s) UE 115 monitors for a COT sharing indicator 220 in the sets of resources (e.g., the configured monitoring windows).) sidelink control information (SCI) to physical resource blocks (PRBs) in each subchannel of a plurality of subchannels, (Xue, in Paragraphs [0084], teaches that the COT sharing indicator 220 specifies which UEs 115 shares the indicated resources based on a distance threshold, a type of interlace, or both. Further, the COT sharing indicator 220 shares the COT with UEs 115 that use a specific set of sub-channel interlaces (e.g., a COT sharing receiver UE 115 uses a set of interlaces that mitigate interference with sub-carriers used by the COT sharing provider UE 115).) the SCI indicating a multiple access mode; and (Xue, in Fig. 4 and 5 and in Paragraphs [0098], teaches that as shown in Fig. 3-5, one or more slots in the COT includes SCI 455 (e.g. SCI 1, SCI 2, or combination thereof) in sidelink control resources 440. Each SCI 455 includes a pointer 415 linked to a location in sidelink data resources 445 in which FDM (Frequency Division Multiplexing) COT sharing information 450 is transmitted. In some cases, TDM (Time Division Multiplexing) COT sharing information is transmitted in a similar manner to FDM COT sharing information 450 as illustrated in FIG. 4. FDM COT sharing information 450 is transmitted in a similar manner to TDM COT sharing information as illustrated in FIG. 3.) wherein a second device initiates data transmission within a subchannel in which the SCI is received (Xue, in Paragraph [0086], teaches that, if the channel is free (e.g., the energy level detected by the UE 115 on the channel is below an ED (Energy Detection) threshold) for the duration of the contention window, the UE 115 transmits on the shared
channel (e.g., in some cases using an occupancy signal to occupy the channel prior to a sidelink transmission). A UE 115 manages one or more contention windows (e.g., for contending for a COT, for allowing COT sharing receiver UEs 115 to contend for shared resources of a COT, or both).)
Xue does not explicitly teach about destination ID and resource access duration.
Hwang further teaches that a device specific resource access duration value in a message addressed to each respective destination ID (Hwang, in Page 30, Line 8 to Page 34, Line 18, teaches in Fig. 8 and in 1st stage SCI and the 2nd stage SCI indicates the source ID, destination ID, and a resource reservation period (considered as the resource access duration in the claim). Further, since SCI indicates the source ID and the destination ID, the resource reservation period is considered as the device specific resource access duration addressed to each respective destination ID.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Xue and Hwang to include the technique of a device specific resource access duration value in a message addressed to each respective destination ID of Hwang in the system of Xue to provides a method for a first device to perform Sidelink wireless communication to obtain information through one or more RB sets including a plurality of interlaced resource blocks, for reducing the burden on base station due to rapidly increasing data traffic (Hwang, see Page 2, Lines 3-4 and Page 3, Lines 8-10).).
Regarding claim 12, Xue teaches the features defined in the claim 11, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Xue further teaches that wherein the device: in response to the LBT type being No-LBT, schedules to transmit the data over the channel resources (Xue, in Paragraph [0083], teaches that a COT sharing indicator 220 received in a window indicates a type of LBT procedure for UE 115-b to use to gain access to the shared resources of the COT (e.g., Type 1 LBT, Type 2 LBT, no LBT, etc.).)
Although Xue teaches about LBT procedure, to explicitly teach,
Hwang further teaches that in accordance with a No-LBT procedure (Xu, in Page 48, Lines 8-12, teaches that in the case of Type 2C (also called Cat-1 LBT or No LBT), LBT is not performed. In this case, transmission can start immediately after a gap of up to 16 µsec and the channel is not sensed before the transmission. The duration of the transmission may be up to 584 µsec. The terminal can attempt to transmit after 16 µsec without sensing, and the terminal can transmit for a maximum of 584 µsec.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Xue and Hwang to include the technique of in accordance with a No-LBT procedure of Hwang in the system of Xue to provides a method for a first device to perform Sidelink wireless communication to obtain information through one or more RB sets including a plurality of interlaced resource blocks, for reducing the burden on base station due to rapidly increasing data traffic (Hwang, see Page 2, Lines 3-4 and Page 3, Lines 8-10).).
Regarding claim 13, combination of Xue and Hwang teaches the features defined in the claim 12, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Xue further teaches that wherein the device: in response to the LBT type being one of a Cat 2 LBT and a Cat 4 LBT: performs an associated LBT procedure corresponding to a category indicated by the LBT type; and transmits the data in accordance with the associated LBT procedure (Xue, in Paragraph [0083], teaches that a COT sharing indicator 220 received in a window indicates a type of LBT procedure for UE 115-b to use to gain access to the shared resources of the COT (e.g., Type 1 LBT, Type 2 LBT, no LBT, etc.). Further, in Paragraph [0069], Xue teaches that a Cat4 LBT is known as a Type 1 LBT, while Cat1 LBT (is also called as Type 2C LBT as shown in the above) and Cat2 LBT (Type 2A LBT or Type 2B LBT) are known as variants of a Type 2 LBT. A Cat2 LBT includes channel sensing but without a backoff time (e.g., a pseudo-random backoff, or the like) if the channel is busy. Type 2A LBT procedure is performed with a first sensing duration (e.g., 25 us), which is used when a channel is reserved but occupancy not maintained until a start of the transmission, or, Type 2B LBT procedure is performed with a second sensing duration ( e.g., 16 us), which may be used when a channel is reserved and occupancy maintained with a gap that is less than the first sensing duration until a start of the transmission. While, a Cat4 LBT (Type 1 LBT) performs channel sensing with a pseudo-random backoff if the channel is busy and a variable size contention window.)
Regarding claim 14, Xue teaches the features defined in the claim 11, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Xue further teaches that the device receiving of the sidelink channel occupancy sharing indicator comprises receiving the sidelink channel occupancy sharing indicator via one of: (Xue, in Paragraph [0082]-[0083], teaches that as described in Paragraph [0082], a COT sharing provider UE 115 transmits a COT sharing indicator 220 in a respective set of resources (e.g., a monitoring window). The COT sharing receiver UE 115 monitors for a COT sharing indicator 220 in the sets of resources (e.g., the configured monitoring windows). Further, in Paragraph [0083], each UE 115 attempting to access the shared
sidelink channel is configured to check for COT sharing indicators 220 in the one or more windows (e.g. sets of time resources, frequency resources, beamforming resources, or a combination therof) a device specific message having sidelink control information (SCI) that indicates a multiple access mode to be used to access sidelink channel resources, a multicast message having sidelink control information (SCI) that indicates a multiple access mode to be used to access sidelink channel resources, (Xue, in Fig. 4 and 5 and in Paragraphs [0098], teaches that as shown in Fig. 3-5, one or more slots in the COT includes SCI 455 (e.g. SCI 1, SCI 2, or combination thereof) in sidelink control resources 440. Each SCI 455 includes a pointer 415 linked to a location in sidelink data resources 445 in which FDM COT sharing information 450 is transmitted. In some cases, TDM COT sharing information is transmitted in a similar manner to FDM COT sharing information 450 as
illustrated in FIG. 4. FDM COT sharing information 450 is transmitted in a similar manner to TDM COT sharing information as illustrated in FIG. 3.)
Xue does not explicitly teach about destination ID and cast type.
Hwang teaches that the message being addressed using one or more of a destination identification (ID) of the device and a cast type of the device; the multicast message being addressed using one or more of a destination ID of the device and a cast type of the device; and (Hwang, in Fig. 8 and 9 and in Page 30, Line 8 to Page 35, Line 9, teaches that in Page 30, Line 8 to Page 34, Line 13, the first terminal (TX terminal) transmits an SCI to the second terminal(s) (the second device(s)) on the PSCCH (Physical Sidelink Control Channel) or the first terminal transmits two consecutive SCIs (e.g. 2-state SCI) on the PSCCH and/or PSSCH (Physical Sidelink Shared Channel) to the second terminal(s). According to the 2nd-stage SCI format, SCI indicates destination ID (16 bits) and Cast Type indicator (2 bit; as shown in Table 7, it indicates Broadcast, Unicast (Device Specific), and Groupcast (Multicast)). Further, in Fig. 9 and in Page35, Lines 1-9, In the case of unicast type SL (Sidelink) communication, a terminal (TX terminal) performs one-to-one communication with another terminal (a second terminal). In the case of group cast type SL communication, the terminal (Tx terminal) performs SL communication with one or more terminals (2nd terminals) within the group to which it belongs. Further, SL groupcast communication is replaced with SL multicast communication, SL one-to-many communication, etc.) a broadcast message broadcasted by the sidelink sharing device (Hwang, in Fig. 9(a) and in Page35, Lines 1-9, teaches that as shown in Fig 9(a), the first terminal (TX terminal) transmits an SCI to the second terminal(s) (the second device(s)) on the PSCCH (Physical Sidelink Control Channel) by using broadcast message. Namely, the first terminal (Tx terminal) transmits an SCI to all the other terminals (second terminals) using a broadcast message.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Xue and Hwang to include the technique of the message being addressed using one or more of a destination identification (ID) of the device and a cast type of the device; the multicast message being addressed using one or more of a destination ID of the device and a cast type of the device; and a broadcast message broadcasted by the sidelink sharing device of Hwang in the system of Xue to provides a method for a first device to perform Sidelink wireless communication to obtain information through one or more RB sets including a plurality of interlaced resource blocks, for reducing the burden on base station due to rapidly increasing data traffic (Hwang, see Page 2, Lines 3-4 and Page 3, Lines 8-10).).
Conclusion
/JAEYOUNG KWAK/Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/KEVIN T BATES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472