DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a structural member on the switching plate is a convex column" (emphasis added) in fifth line from the bottom of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner notes the claim has a prior recitation of “a plurality of structural members” and it is unclear if the claim language above is referring to one of the plurality, all of the plurality, or a completely different structural member.
In the interest of compact prosecution, Examiner is interpreting the claim to read on “at least one of the plurality of structural members on the switching plate is a convex column” for the remainder of this Office Action.
Claims 3-7 are dependent on claim 1 and rejected for substantially the same reasons, discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh et al. (USPN 2023/0052943) in view of Chen et al. (CN218887041) (Machine translation) and further in view of Zhang (USPN 2018/0211801).
With respect to claim 1, Hsieh teaches a keyboard with a switchable keystroke sound (Figs. 1-7B), comprising a switch-fixing plate (Figs. 1-7B. At least Fig. 5A, item 314 and paragraph [0077] teach a circuit board/switch-fixing plate) and a plurality of key switches arranged on the switch-fixing plate (Figs. 1-7B. At least Fig. 5A, items 310 and paragraph [0077] teach keys on the circuit board/switch-fixing plate), the key switches each having a sound-making structure for making a keystroke sound when pressed (Figs. 1-7B. At least Fig. 5A and paragraphs [0076]-[0079] teach a sound generating structure), characterized in that a switching plate that is movable relative to the switch-fixing plate is arranged at a bottom portion of the switch-fixing plate (Figs. 1-7B. At least Fig. 5A, item 322 and paragraph [0077] teach an adjusting plate below the circuit board/switch-fixing plate), a plurality of structural members that are stretched into the key switches are configured on the switching plate (Figs. 1-7B. At least Fig. 5A, items 324 and paragraph [0077] teach adjusting portions), and the structural members correspond one by one to the key switches (Figs. 1-7B. At least Fig. 5A, items 324 and 310 and paragraph [0077] teach the adjusting portions correspond to the keys. Examiner notes the claim does not require any specific corresponding relationship and a reasonably broad interpretation includes the teachings of Hsieh);
through holes that allow the structural members to enter corresponding key switches and move along with the switching plate are opened on the switch-fixing plate (Figs. 1-7B. At least Fig. 5A, items 324 and 310 and paragraph [0077] teach the adjusting portions can be a long rod that extends “into” the key. Although not expressly disclosed, Examiner notes a through hole must be present for a rod structure to enter into the key);
positions of the structural members in the corresponding key switches can be changed by moving the switching plate, and state of interaction between the structural members and sound-making structures is changed accordingly, so as to determine whether the sound-making structures make sounds or stay silent when the key switches are pressed (Figs. 1-7B. At least Figs. 2 and 3 and paragraphs [0057]-[0079] teach positions can be adjusted);
the sound-making structure comprises a sound-making torsion spring (paragraph [0077] teaches the key can include a torsion spring as the sound-generating structure);
a structural member on the switching plate is a column (Figs. 1-7B. At least Fig. 5A, items 324 and paragraph [0077] teach rods in a vertical alignment), which is configured to be adjacent to the sound-making structure of a corresponding key switch (Figs. 1-7B. At least Fig. 5A, items 324 and paragraph [0077] teach rods abutting the sound-generating structure), and the column moves along with the switching plate and has an influence on whether the sound-making structure can make a sound normally (Figs. 1-7B. At least Fig. 5A, items 324 and paragraphs [0076]-[0079] teach altering the sound via movement of the rods).
However, Hsieh fails to expressly teach the sound-making structure comprises a sound-making torsion spring that is fixed to a key switch and used to store power for making a sound, and the sound-making torsion spring has a fixing arm and a sound-making arm that maintains downward tension;
the sound-making structure further comprises a sound-making portion that is configured on the key switch, the sound-making portion has a striking end table and an inclined table located above the striking end table, and in its natural state, the sound-making arm abuts against the striking end table;
a structural member on the switching plate is a convex column, which is configured to be adjacent to the sound-making arm of a corresponding key switch, and the convex column moves along with the switching plate and has an influence on whether the sound-making arm can store power and make a sound normally (emphasis added).
Chen teaches a known technique using a key with a sound-making structure including a torsion spring and arms that can store power and make sound (Figs. 1-5. At least Fig. 1, item 31 and Fig. 5, items 311 and 312 teach the torsion spring, fixed arm and sound-generating arm. See also paragraph [0003] of the specification as filed acknowledging Chen as the background art regarding a sound-making key).
Hsieh teaches a base process/product of a key including a sound-making structure with a torsion spring which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement in that the sound-making structure comprises a sound-making torsion spring that is fixed to a key switch and used to store power for making a sound, and the sound-making torsion spring has a fixing arm and a sound-making arm that maintains downward tension; the sound-making structure further comprises a sound-making portion that is configured on the key switch, the sound-making portion has a striking end table and an inclined table located above the striking end table, and in its natural state, the sound-making arm abuts against the striking end table; a structural member on the switching plate is a convex column, which is configured to be adjacent to the sound-making arm of a corresponding key switch, and the convex column moves along with the switching plate and has an influence on whether the sound-making arm can store power and make a sound normally. Chen teaches a known technique of using a key with a sound-making structure including a torsion spring and arms that can store power and make sound that is comparable to the base process/product.
Chen’s known technique of using a key with a sound-making structure including a torsion spring and arms that can store power and make sound would have been recognized by one skilled in the art as applicable to the base process/product of Hsieh and the results would have been predictable and resulted in sound-making structure comprises a sound-making torsion spring that is fixed to a key switch and used to store power for making a sound, and the sound-making torsion spring has a fixing arm and a sound-making arm that maintains downward tension; the sound-making structure further comprises a sound-making portion that is configured on the key switch, the sound-making portion has a striking end table and an inclined table located above the striking end table, and in its natural state, the sound-making arm abuts against the striking end table; a structural member on the switching plate is a column, which is configured to be adjacent to the sound-making arm of a corresponding key switch, and the column moves along with the switching plate and has an influence on whether the sound-making arm can store power and make a sound normally which results in an improved process/product.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Hsieh in view of Chen teach a keyboard with a switchable keystroke sound including a rod/column as a structural member. However, Hsieh in view of Chen fails to expressly teach a convex column (emphasis added).
Zhang teaches a known technique using convex rods/columns in key structures (Figs. 1-8b. At least Claim 4 and Fig. 4b, item 3 and paragraph [0042] teach a rod/column with an arc/convex shape).
Hsieh in view of Chen teaches a base process/product of a keyboard with a switchable keystroke sound including a rod/column as a structural member which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement in that the column is convex. Zhang teaches a known technique of using convex rods/columns in key structures that is comparable to the base process/product.
Zhang’s known technique of using convex rods/columns in key structures would have been recognized by one skilled in the art as applicable to the base process/product of Hsieh in view of Chen and the results would have been predictable and resulted in a convex column which results in an improved process/product.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record teaches a keyboard with a switchable keystroke sound (see at least Figs. 1-7B of Hsieh et al. USPN 2023/0052943). The prior art of record further teaches a keyboard with a sound-making torsion spring with a sound-making arm (see at least Figs. 1-7 of CN218887041).
However, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest Applicant’s specifically claimed:
“keyboard with a switchable keystroke sound according to claim 1, characterized in that the switch-fixing plate is provided with a sound-making power-storing convex table corresponding to a bottom portion of the sound-making arm;
when the key switch is pressed down, an arm portion of the sound-making arm can be stopped by the convex table to store power until the inclined table pushes the sound-making arm away from the convex table to rapidly strike the striking end table and make a keystroke sound;
a through hole that is opened on the switch-fixing plate and allows the convex table to pass through is a limit chute hole, and the convex table has a height greater than the sound-making arm;
when the convex column is located at one end of the limit chute hole, it does not interact with the sound-making arm;
when the convex column is moved to the other end of the limit chute hole, a side face of the convex column abuts against a side portion of the sound-making arm to bend the sound-making arm away from the sound-making power-storing convex table, so that the sound-making arm is not in contact with the sound-making power-storing convex table, and therefore cannot store power to make a sound” (claim 3 – emphasis added); and
“keyboard with a switchable keystroke sound according to claim 1 characterized in that a through hole that is opened on the switch-fixing plate and allows the convex column to pass through is a limit chute hole;
when the convex column is located at one end of the limit chute hole, a top portion of the convex column is located at a bottom portion of the sound-making arm;
when the key switch is pressed down, the sound-making arm can be stopped by the top portion of the convex column to store power until the inclined table pushes the sound-making arm away from the top portion of the convex column to rapidly strike the striking end table and make a keystroke sound;
when the convex column is moved to the other end of the limit chute hole, it is distal from the bottom portion of the sound-making arm, so that the sound-making arm is not in contact with the top portion of the convex column, and therefore cannot store power to make a sound” (claim 4 – emphasis added).
Claims 5-7 are dependent on claim 4 and allowable for substantially the same reasons, discussed above.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure:
Su et al. (USPN 2020/0152402) teaches the usage of a convex column in a key structure.
Conclusion
/ANTONIO XAVIER/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622