DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 11, 13-18 and 52-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by OH et al. (US 2023/0217478).
Regarding claim 1, Oh teaches a method of operating an infrastructure equipment of a wireless communications network to perform wireless communications with a communications device via a wireless access interface (Paragraphs [0010]; [0040] describes base station performing wireless communication with a terminal over a wireless access interface),
the method comprising determining that the infrastructure equipment is to communicate a data transmission with the communications device in time and frequency resources provided by the wireless access interface for the data transmission by either transmitting the data transmission to the communications device as a downlink transmission or receiving the data transmission from the communications device as an uplink transmission (Paragraphs [0217]-[0218] describes the data transmission being scheduled in time and frequency resources, and being either PDSCH or PUSCH(downlink or uplink)),
identifying a first of at least two portions of the data transmission, the first portion comprising a first portion of the time resources for the data transmission and a first portion of the frequency resources for the data transmission (Paragraphs [0010]; [0218] describes the first source (also called the region overlapping the LIR 1104 or HIR 1103) is a sub-region of the overall time-frequency resource region 1101 in which the data channel 1102 is transmitted. A first portion having its own time and frequency extent within the scheduled data channel resource),
identifying a second of the at least two portions of the data transmission, the second portion comprising a second portion of the time resources for the data transmission and a second portion of the frequency resources for the data transmission the second portion of the frequency resources for the data transmission being different from the first portion of the frequency resources for the data transmission (Paragraph [0218] describes the HIR 1103 and LIR 1104 are two different partial regions of entire time-frequency resource region 1101 (a partial region of the entire resource 1101 is classified as a region HIR 1103 and another partial region may be classified as a region LIR 1104 because the data channel overlaps each of these two distinct regions differently, the frequency resources corresponding to the first portion are necessarily different from the frequency resources corresponding to the second portion )),
determining that the first portion of the data transmission- [is to be communicated according to a modulation scheme and/or a coding scheme which is different from a modulation scheme and/or a coding scheme according to which the second portion of the data transmission is to be communicated (Paragraphs [0216]-[0220] describes that the differing MCS per time/frequency resource ),
and performing the communication of the first portion and the second portion of the data transmission, wherein the first portion of the data transmission is communicated according to the modulation scheme and/or coding scheme which is different from the modulation scheme and/or coding scheme according to which the second portion of the data transmission is communicated (Paragraphs [0221]-[0222]; [0237] describes performance of the transmission reception, the base station applies MCS A to one region and MCS B to the other, and transmit or receives the data channel on that differentiated basis).
Regarding claim 2, Oh teaches, wherein the wireless access interface is divided into a plurality of frequency regions comprising an uplink region providing frequency resources for receiving uplink transmissions, a downlink region providing frequency resources for transmitting downlink transmissions (Paragraphs [0181]-[0182] describes the wireless access interface’s frequency spectrum being divided into a downlink region (downlink bandwidth 1002/ resources for downlink 1000) and an uplink region (uplink bandwidth )),
Wherein the frequency resources for the data transmission are located in either the uplink region or the downlink region (Paragraphs [0193] the data transmission (a single PUSCH) is transmitted within the uplink bandwidth 1003 (the uplink region)),
the first portion of the data transmission is closer to the other of the uplink region or the downlink region than the second portion of the data transmission (Paragraph [0183] describes two portions of the same (uplink) data transmission resource, one of which region 1006 is closer to the downlink region than the second portion region 1007 which is far away from the downlink band ),
and at least one of the modulation scheme and the coding scheme for the first and second portion of the data transmission depend on a distance of the first and second portion of the data transmission from the other of the uplink or downlink region (Paragraphs [0193]-[0194] describes that modulation scheme selection (QPSK vs. 64-QAM) is a function of the distance of each portion of the data transmission to the opposite direction (downlink) region the portion nearer the downlink region (region 1006) is assigned a low-order modulation scheme, while the portion farther from the downlink region (region 1007) is assigned a high-order modulation scheme, the MCS selected and specifically according to how close or far the transmission is from the boundary with the opposite direction region).
Regarding claim 3, Oh teaches wherein the wireless access interface comprises a guard region between the uplink region and the downlink region (Paragraphs [0159]; [0182]- [0184] describes guard band 704 positioned between the downlink resource 703 and uplink resource 705).
Regarding claim 4, Oh teaches Wherein the modulation scheme for the first portion of the data transmission has a lower order than the modulation scheme for the second portion of the data transmission (Paragraphs [0193] describes the first portions modulation scheme has a lower order than the second portions modulation scheme).
Regarding claim 5, Oh teaches wherein the coding scheme for the first portion of the data transmission has a lower coding rate than the coding scheme for the second portion of the data transmission (Paragraphs [0193]; [0219]; [0220] describes that the “low MCS” or high MCS differentiation applied to the two portions can be implemented specifically via code rate (as an alternative or in addition to modulation order)).
Regarding claim 6, Oh teaches wherein the identifying the first portion and the second portion of the data transmission comprises determining an Adjacent Channel Interference, ACI, level of the frequency resources of the data transmission (Paragraphs [0182]-[0183]; [0186]-[0187]; [0189]; [0195]-[0196] describes that the base station determines the ACL level affecting different frequency sub-regions of the data transmission region 1006 has ahigh ACL level (being adjacent to the downlink band), and region 1007 has a low ACL/ACI (being far from the downlink band) and uses that determination to distinguish the two regions from one another).
Regarding claim 8, Oh teaches wherein the identifying the first portion and the second portion of the data transmission comprises identifying the first and the second portion of the data transmission based a respective distance of the first and second portion of the data transmission from the other of the uplink or the downlink region (Paragraphs [0183]; [0194]-[0195] describes identifying two distinct portions of the data transmission’s frequency resources (region 1006 and region 1007) by reference to their respective distance from the downlink region (the other of the uplink/downlink regions, given the transmission itself is uplink) region 1006 is identified as the portion adjacent to the downlink band, while region 1007 is identified as the portion relatively far away from the downlink band).
Regarding claim 11, Oh teaches wherein the data transmission comprises a transport block, the method comprising dividing the transport block into at least two sets of code blocks, each set of code blocks comprising one or more code blocks (Paragraphs [0277]-[0278]; [0280]-[0282] describes that the transport block is configured by multiple code blocks, and that when multiple MCSs are applied, the MCS differentiation is applied at the granularity of code blocks),
wherein, a first of the at least two sets of code blocks is the first portion of the data transmission, and a second of the at least two sets of code blocks is the second portion of the data transmission (Paragraphs [0279]; [0281]; [0285] describes that each code block (or group of code blocks, indexed by p) is a specific partial resource and assigned its own modulation order and code rate disclosing the structure where a first set of code blocks corresponds to the second portion).
Regarding claim 13, Oh teaches wherein the data transmission is a downlink transmission and the time and frequency resources of the downlink transmission are located in the downlink region (Paragraphs [0182]; [0195] describes a downlink data channel (PDSCH) transmitted within the downlink bandwidth/region),
the method comprising determining that the infrastructure equipment is to receive an uplink transmission from another communications device in time and frequency resources provided by the uplink region of the wireless access interface for the uplink transmission (Paragraphs [0182]; [0195] discloses the base station determining it will simultaneously receive an uplink transmission from a terminal within the uplink bandwidth or region occurring concurrently with the downlink transmission to a first device),
identifying a first portion of at least two portions of the uplink transmission, the first portion of the uplink transmission comprising a first portion of the time resources for the uplink transmission and a first portion of the frequency resources for the uplink transmission, identifying a second of the at least two portions of the uplink transmission, the second portion of the uplink transmission comprising a second portion of the time resources for the uplink transmission and a second portion of the frequency resources of the uplink transmission, the second portion of the frequency resources for the uplink transmission being different from the first portion of the frequency resources for the uplink transmission (Paragraphs [0193]; [0217] describes the differentiated MCS scheduling method of FIG. 11 applies equally to PUSCH not just PDSCH and discloses identifying two portions of that uplink transmission’s time/frequency resources, covering different frequency resources ),
determining that the first portion of the uplink transmission is to be communicated according to a modulation scheme and/or a coding scheme which is different from a modulation scheme and/or a coding scheme according to which the second portion of the uplink transmission is to be communicated (Paragraphs [0193]; [0195]-[0196] describes determining that the first portion of the uplink transmission is to use a different (lower) MCS than the second portion),
and receiving the first portion and the second portion of the uplink transmission, the first portion of the uplink transmission being received according to the modulation scheme and/or coding scheme which is different from the modulation scheme and/or coding scheme according to which the second portion of the uplink transmission is received (Paragraph [0197]-[0198]; [0237] discloses the base station actively adjusting and applying the differentiated MCS to the received PUSCH, based on the interference or proximity relationship performing receiving the uplink communication with the region dependent MCS).
Regarding claim 14, Oh teaches wherein, the first portion of the uplink transmission is closer to the downlink region than the second portion of the uplink transmission (Paragraphs [0183]; [0193]-[0194] describes the first portion of the uplink transmission is closer to the downlink region than the second portion of the uplink transmission is closer to the downlink region than the second portion of the uplink transmission).
Regarding claim 15, Oh teaches, wherein the time resources for the uplink transmission overlap at least partially with the time resources for the downlink transmission (Paragraphs [0162]; [0179]; [0185]; [0195]- [0196] describes downlink and uplink resources may be configured to overlap in a time resource corresponding to a symbol or slot 802).
Regarding claim 16, Oh teaches, comprising transmitting a non-uniform Modulation and Coding Scheme, MCS, indicator to the communications device indicating that at least one of the modulation scheme or the coding scheme for the first portion of the data transmission is different from the modulation scheme or the coding scheme for the second portion of the data transmission (Paragraphs [0269]; [0258]; [0264] describes the MCS change indicator can be applied selectively to only part of the data channel (the portion overlapping resource A) while the remaining portion retains a different (unchanged) MCS ).
Regarding claim 17, Oh teaches, wherein the non-uniform MCS indicator indicates the modulation scheme and/or the coding scheme to be used for communicating the first and/or the second portion of the data transmission (Paragraphs [0230]-[0231] describes the non-uniform MCS indicator indicates the modulation scheme to be used for communicating the first and/or the second portion of the data transmission).
Regarding claim 18, Oh teaches, wherein the transmitting the non-uniform MCS indicator to the communications device comprises transmitting the non-uniform MCS indicator to the communications device along with scheduling information, the scheduling information comprising at least an indication of the time resources and the frequency resources for the data transmission (Paragraphs [0231]; [0252]; [0271] describes the MCS indicator is transmitted via the same DCI format that schedules the data channel the same message that necessarily also carries the resource allocation (time/frequency) information for that data channel, per standard DCI structure).
Claims 52 and 53 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh in view of Wu et al. (US 20240397437).
Regarding claim 7, Oh doesn’t teach wherein the determining the ACI of the frequency resources of the data transmission comprises receiving one or more measurement reports from the communications device, determining the ACI level based on the one or more measurement reports received from the communications device, and identifying the first and the second portion of the data transmission based on the determined ACI level.
However, in analogous art Wu teaches wherein the determining the ACI of the frequency resources of the data transmission comprises receiving one or more measurement reports from the communications device, determining the ACI level based on the one or more measurement reports received from the communications device (Paragraphs [0005]; [0115] describes receiving one or more measurement reports from the communications device. Paragraphs [0008]; [0096]- [0097] describe the ACI level is derived from an actual measurement (on the first resource) which then packaged into the report of limitation),
and identifying the first and the second portion of the data transmission based on the determined ACI level (Paragraphs [0081; [0083] describes identifying the first and the second portion of the data transmission based on the determined ACI level).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Oh into the combination of Wu a device chooses a transmit power for sidelink communication between terminals to Enable practical measurement of leaked interference (Wu, Paragraphs [0076]- [0084]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh in view of Abotabl et al. (US 20230118475).
Regarding claim 9, Oh doesn’t teach wherein the identifying the first and the second portion of the data transmission based a respective distance of the first and second portion of the data transmission from the other of the uplink or the downlink region comprises determining that the frequency resources of the first portion of the downlink transmission are below or equal to a frequency distance threshold from the other of the uplink or the downlink region, and determining that the frequency resources of the second portion of the downlink transmission above a frequency distance threshold from the other of the uplink or the downlink region.
However, in analogous art Abotabl teaches wherein the identifying the first and the second portion of the data transmission based a respective distance of the first and second portion of the data transmission from the other of the uplink or the downlink region comprises determining that the frequency resources of the first portion of the downlink transmission are below or equal to a frequency distance threshold from the other of the uplink or the downlink region, and determining that the frequency resources of the second portion of the downlink transmission above a frequency distance threshold from the other of the uplink or the downlink region (Paragraphs [0116]-[0118] describes a first portion to have frequency resources at or below a threshold distance from the other (uplink) region and a second portion determined to have frequency resources above the same threshold distance).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Oh into the combination of Abotabl the UE and/or base station choose an interleaving configuration dynamically based on slot type and frequency-domain relationships between uplink and downlink resources to reduce self-interference and improve decoding in full duplex operation (Abotabl, Paragraphs [004]-[0010]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh in view of Abotabl in further view of Chatterjee et al. (US 20130272170).
Regarding claim 10, Oh and Abotabl don’t teach comprising receiving one or more reference signals from the communications device, determining an interference level based on the one or more reference signals received from the communications device, and setting the frequency threshold distance based on the determined interference level.
However, in analogous art Chatterjee teaches comprising receiving one or more reference signals from the communications device, determining an interference level based on the one or more reference signals received from the communications device, and setting the frequency threshold distance based on the determined interference level (Paragraphs [0052] –[0053]; [0059]-[0060] describes a node receiving reference signals transmitted by another communications device and determining interference level. Describes a threshold or pathloss threshold that is determined based on measured interference, and that threshold manages grouping of nodes that are within interfering range of each other).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Oh and Abotabl into the combination of Chatterjee TDD UL/DL subframe configurations across neighboring cells based on traffic, interference, and node configuration information, while preserving backward compatibility and SRS timing to Enable changing direction without redesigning the whole frame (Chatterjee, Paragraphs [0037]-[0043]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh in view of Mashino et al. (US 20110249569).
Regarding claim 12, Oh doesn’t teach comprising identifying one or more systematic bits and one or more parity bits in the data transmission, allocating the one or more parity bits to the first portion of the data transmission, and allocating the one or more systematic bits to the second portion of the data transmission.
However, in analogous art Mashino teaches comprising identifying one or more systematic bits and one or more parity bits in the data transmission, allocating the one or more parity bits to the first portion of the data transmission, and allocating the one or more systematic bits to the second portion of the data transmission (Paragraphs [0089]-[0090]; [0093]-[0094] describes parity bits are allocated to the superposed band (first portion of the transmission frequency band in which the interference signal is present) and systematic bits are allocated to the non-superposed band (second portion of the transmission the frequency band free of interference)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Oh into the combination of Mashino to allocate transmitted data unevenly across frequency: put systematic bits or other priority data into non-superposed, interference-free bands first, and place parity bits or lower-priority data into superposed bands only as needed to improve the chance that the most important information is received cleanly (Mashino, Paragraphs [0087]-[0105]).
Conclusion
/M.W.K./ Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464