Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without “significantly more”. Claims 1 – 20 are directed to Abstract Idea such as an idea standing alone such as an instantiated concept, pan or scheme, as well as a mental process (thinking) that “can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper for example using measurement received from a mobile device, transmitting from the source relay node to a donor access node.
The apparatus and the method claim 1, 6, 12 and 16 recites limitation, “transmit/receive, to a policy control function or a session management function, dedicated relocation information for a specific application and targeting a collection of user equipments UEs, wherein the dedicated relocation information is used for a routing decision for a traffic and/or a domain name system DNS handling decision for the specific application for each UE within the collection of UEs”. Since the claim is directed to a process and a machine, which is one of the statutory categories of the invention (Step 1: YES).
The claim is then analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exception. The claim recites, “transmit/receive, to a policy control function or a session management function, dedicated relocation information for a specific application and targeting a collection of user equipments UEs, wherein the dedicated relocation information is used for a routing decision for a traffic and/or a domain name system DNS handling decision for the specific application for each UE within the collection of UEs”. The transmit/receive step - i.e., collecting information, the gathering step – i. e., analyzing it and transmit – i.e., outputting certain results of the obtaining the analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016) is no more than an abstract idea i.e., mental process of "collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis," etc. (Step 2A: Prong One Abstract Idea=Yes).
The claim is then analyzed if it requires an additional elements or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception – i.e., limitation that are indicative of integration into a practical application: improving to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field. In the current claims, there is no additional elements that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (Step 2A: Prong Two Abstract Idea=Yes).
Next the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine if there are additional limitation recited in the claim such that the claim amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. The claim requires the additional limitation of a computer with the central processing unit, memory, a printer, an input and output terminal and a program. These generic computer components are claimed to perform the basic functions of storing, retrieving and processing data through the program that enables. In the current scenario, there are no additional elements that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself (Step 2B: No). Accordingly, the claim is not patent eligible.
Other dependent claims does not carry any positive limitation or step that recite within the scope of the claim and does not carry patentable weight they are also rejected for the same reasons as independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Matolia US PGPub: US 2021/0314906 A1 Oct. 7, 2021 and in view of
Patil US PGPub: US 2021/0014141 A1 Jan. 14, 2021.
Regarding claims 1, 16, Matolia discloses,
an apparatus for wireless communication and a method performed by an apparatus (the NWDAF derives data analytics based at least in part on the UE mobility information and the edge application server information. The data analytics may include one or more of suggested relocations of EAS resources to respective UE groups, computational load information for one or more applications served by an EAS, mapping of an EAS area to a mobility area for one or more UEs, or state information for the one or more applications served by the EAS. Here, NWDAF reads on, an apparatus for wireless communicaiton – ABSTRACT, Figs. 3/NWDAF, 6, 13 – 15, paragraph 0007. The NWDAF receives a request for the data analytics from a third network function in the cellular network system, and provides the data analytics to the third network function. The third network function may be a policy control function, a session management function, or an application function – paragraph 0008. The group UE capability information refers to capability information from a group of UEs, wherein the UEs in the group have the same or similar characteristics – paragraph 0121. The UE may communicate with the EAS group to modify the allocation of EAS resources for the application according to the ESA and TA mapping – paragraph 0182. Network functions which may be present in the cellular network system may include functions such as an Access and Mobility Management Function AMF, a Policy Control Function PCF, a Network Data Analytics Function NWDAF, an Application Function AF, a Network Slice Selection Function NSSF, one or more Edge Application Servers EASs, and a UE radio Capability Management Function UCMF, among numerous possible others – paragraph 0100), comprising and the method comprising:
at least one memory (memory 560, Fig. 6/560. The term “network function” has the full extent of its ordinary meaning, and at least includes a device, e.g., a combination of hardware and/or software, which performs a function in a network system. Typically, network functions may be implemented as software executing on a computer system, such as a server, e.g., a cloud server – paragraph 0099. Network functions which may be present in the cellular network system may include functions such as an Access and Mobility Management Function AMF, a Policy Control Function PCF, a Network Data Analytics Function NWDAF, an Application Function AF, a Network Slice Selection Function NSSF, one or more Edge Application Servers EASs, and a UE radio Capability Management Function UCMF, among numerous possible others – paragraph 0100); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (processors 504 – Fig. 6/504. The term “network function” has the full extent of its ordinary meaning, and at least includes a device, e.g., a combination of hardware and/or software, which performs a function in a network system. Typically, network functions may be implemented as software executing on a computer system, such as a server, e.g., a cloud server – paragraph 0099. Network functions which may be present in the cellular network system may include functions such as an Access and Mobility Management Function AMF, a Policy Control Function PCF, a Network Data Analytics Function NWDAF, an Application Function AF, a Network Slice Selection Function NSSF, one or more Edge Application Servers EASs, and a UE radio Capability Management Function UCMF, among numerous possible others – paragraph 0100) and configured to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to a policy control function (the NWDAF receives a request for the data analytics from a third network function in the cellular network system, and provides the data analytics to the third network function. The third network function may be a policy control function, a session management function, or an application function – paragraph 0008) or a session management function (the AF may analyze the received data analytics and determine what information is useful and/or relevant to transmit to the SMF. For example, the AF may determine whether the data analytics suggests that the SMF should relocate EAS resources for one or more applications directed by the SMF. The AF may then transmit the relevant information to the SMF, e.g., through a Nsmf_EventExposure message including an AppRelocationInfo field to specify how one or more applications should be relocated in the EAS environment – Fig. 10/1022, paragraph 0166. The AMF may transmit information to the NWADF related to a group ID of a group of UEs serviced by the AMF, geographical locations of a plurality of UEs, which may include one or both of tracking areas or served cells of the UEs and a time stamp of when the AMF detects that the UE enters a particular location – paragraph 0184), dedicated relocation information for a specific application (the AF may analyze the received data analytics and determine what information is useful and/or relevant to transmit to the SMF. For example, the AF may determine whether the data analytics suggests that the SMF should relocate EAS resources for one or more applications directed by the SMF. The AF may then transmit the relevant information to the SMF, e.g., through a Nsmf_EventExposure message including an AppRelocationInfo field to specify how one or more applications should be relocated in the EAS environment. Here, how one or more applications should be relocated in the EAS environment – i.e., dedicated relocation information for a specific application and targeting a collection of user equipments UEs – Fig. 10/1022, paragraph 0166. The Nsmf_EventExposure message to the SMF may be a Nsmf_EventExposure_Subscribe message, and may specify an event ID, a SUPI, an application ID, and/or an area of interest – paragraph 0174. The application information may further include a UE Group Application Session ID, which indicates a group application ID of a group of UEs served by a particular EAS – paragraphs 0187, 0190) and targeting a collection of user equipments UEs (the AMF may transmit information to the NWADF related to a group ID of a group of UEs serviced by the AMF, geographical locations of a plurality of UEs, which may include one or both of tracking areas or served cells of the UEs and a time stamp of when the AMF detects that the UE enters a particular location – paragraph 0184. The EAS resource relocation may specify relocations of assigned resources - e.g., CPU, memory, and/or disk resources, for EAS applications to respective UE groups. The EAS load distribution may specify the average load of the EAS instance over the analytics target period for different application aspects – paragraph 0192),
but, does not disclose, wherein the dedicated relocation information is used for a routing decision for a traffic and/or a domain name system DNS handling decision for the specific application for each UE within the collection of UEs.
Patil teaches, a network device, such as a Network Data Analytics Function NWDAF, receives, from a commissioning network function, an analytic information request for analytic event information and sends, to the commissioning network function, an analytic report that is responsive to the analytic information request wherein the analytic report includes a unique analytic report identifier (ABSTRACT, Figs. 2, 4).
NSSF 262 may select a set of network slice instances to serve a particular UE device 110, determine network slice selection assistance information NSSAI, determine a particular AMF 220 to serve a particular UE device 110, and/or perform other types of processing associated with network slice selection or management. NSSF 262 may be accessible via Nnssf interface 263 (paragraph 0040).
SMF 240 may perform session establishment, session modification, and/or session release, perform IP address allocation and management, perform Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol DHCP functions, perform selection and control of UPF 230, configure traffic steering at UPF 230 to guide the traffic to the correct destinations, terminate interfaces toward PCF 254, perform lawful intercepts, charge data collection, support charging interfaces, control and coordinate of charging data collection, terminate session management parts of NAS messages, perform downlink data notification, manage roaming functionality, and/or perform other types of control plane processes for managing user plane data. SMF 240 may be accessible via an Nsmf interface 242. Here, configure traffic steering at UPF 230 to guide the traffic to the correct destinations, reads on the claimed feature, wherein the dedicated relocation information is used for a routing decision for a traffic and/or a domain name system DNS handling decision for the specific application for each UE within the collection of UEs (paragraph 0034).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the data analytics for multi-access edge computation of Matolia (Matolia, ABSTRACT, Figs. 3/NWDAF, 6, paragraphs 0007, 0008, 0100, 0121) wherein the system of Matolia, would have incorporated SMF 240 may perform session establishment, session modification, and/or session release, configure traffic steering at UPF 230 to guide the traffic to the correct destinations of Patil (Patil, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0034, 0040) to satisfy the needs and demands of users of mobile communication devices, providers of wireless communication services continue to improve and expand available services as well as networks used to deliver such services (Patil, paragraph 0001) and to control allocation and relocation of EAS resources to one or more edge applications and to offload tasks correctly to the Multi-access Edge Computing MEC servers (Matolia, paragraphs 0008, 0126).
Regarding claims 2, 17, Matolia discloses,
the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the dedicated relocation information is a target data network access identifier DNAI or a target application server (the NWDAF may compile and/or analyze this information and provide selective portions of the resultant data analytics to other network elements, so that these other network elements may make more intelligent decisions regarding operation of the network related to user plane improvements for edge computing – paragraph 0101. The SMF may receive data analytics from the NWADF directly to determine EAS resource reallocation for the PDU session – paragraph 0138. The AF may then transmit the relevant information to the SMF, e.g., through a Nsmf_EventExposure message including an AppRelocationInfo field to specify how one or more applications should be relocated in the EAS environment – paragraph 0180).
Regarding claims 3, 18, Matolia discloses,
the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to transmit the dedicated relocation information using a procedure for edge application server EAS deployment information management per node (the NWADF may report resource update information that provides a list of information for one or more EAS instances, along with the corresponding EAS ID and/or EAS Set ID with respect to UE groups served for each of one or more edge applications – paragraph 0192. The NWADF may report a resource update including a list of predicted information for each EAS instance along with the corresponding EAS ID and/or EAS Set ID with respect to UE groups served for each edge application – paragraph 0193).
Regarding claims 4, 19, Matolia discloses,
the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to; transmit a group ID or specific service information to identify the collection of UEs for the specific application, and transmit the dedicated relocation information for a specific UE belonging to the collection of UEs (the NWADF may report a resource update including a list of predicted information for each EAS instance along with the corresponding EAS ID and/or EAS Set ID with respect to UE groups served for each edge application. The list may include a prediction of future EAS resource management, UE group mobility, application state, and/or application load – paragraph 0193. The data analytics may be useable by the third network function to control allocation of EAS resources to one or more edge applications - Figs. 15 -19, paragraphs 0196 - 0199).
Regarding claims 5, 20, Matolia discloses,
the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to; transmit a group ID (the data analytics may include one or more of suggested relocations of EAS resources to respective UE groups, computational load information for one or more applications served by an EAS, mapping of an EAS area to a mobility area for one or more UEs, or state information for the one or more applications served by the EAS – paragraph 0007) or specific service information to identify the collection of UEs, and the dedicated relocation information for the application and targeting the collection of UEs (the SMF may transmit a Registration Update Accept PDU SessionModification message to the UE through the AMF to modify the PDU session - e.g., to update tracking area registration – paragraphs 0167, 0181).
Regarding claim 6, Matolia discloses,
an apparatus for wireless communication (the NWDAF receives a request for the data analytics from a third network function in the cellular network system, and provides the data analytics to the third network function. The third network function may be a policy control function, a session management function, or an application function. Here, a policy control function, a session management function, or an application function, reads on an apparatus for wireless communication – paragraph 0008. The NWDAF derives data analytics based at least in part on the UE mobility information and the edge application server information. The data analytics may include one or more of suggested relocations of EAS resources to respective UE groups, computational load information for one or more applications served by an EAS, mapping of an EAS area to a mobility area for one or more UEs, or state information for the one or more applications served by the EAS – ABSTRACT, Figs. 3/NWDAF, 6, 13 – 15, paragraph 0007. The group UE capability information refers to capability information from a group of UEs, wherein the UEs in the group have the same or similar characteristics – paragraph 0121. The UE may communicate with the EAS group to modify the allocation of EAS resources for the application according to the ESA and TA mapping – paragraph 0182. Network functions which may be present in the cellular network system may include functions such as an Access and Mobility Management Function AMF, a Policy Control Function PCF, a Network Data Analytics Function NWDAF, an Application Function AF, a Network Slice Selection Function NSSF, one or more Edge Application Servers EASs, and a UE radio Capability Management Function UCMF, among numerous possible others – paragraph 0100), comprising:
at least one memory (the term “network function” has the full extent of its ordinary meaning, and at least includes a device, e.g., a combination of hardware and/or software, which performs a function in a network system. Typically, network functions may be implemented as software executing on a computer system, such as a server, e.g., a cloud server – paragraph 0099. Network functions which may be present in the cellular network system may include functions such as an Access and Mobility Management Function AMF, a Policy Control Function PCF, a Network Data Analytics Function NWDAF, an Application Function AF, a Network Slice Selection Function NSSF, one or more Edge Application Servers EASs, and a UE radio Capability Management Function UCMF, among numerous possible others – paragraph 0100); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (the term “network function” has the full extent of its ordinary meaning, and at least includes a device, e.g., a combination of hardware and/or software, which performs a function in a network system. Typically, network functions may be implemented as software executing on a computer system, such as a server, e.g., a cloud server – paragraph 0099. Network functions which may be present in the cellular network system may include functions such as an Access and Mobility Management Function AMF, a Policy Control Function PCF, a Network Data Analytics Function NWDAF, an Application Function AF, a Network Slice Selection Function NSSF, one or more Edge Application Servers EASs, and a UE radio Capability Management Function UCMF, among numerous possible others – paragraph 0100); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive (the NWDAF receives a request for the data analytics from a third network function in the cellular network system, and provides the data analytics to the third network function. The third network function may be a policy control function, a session management function, or an application function. Here, a policy control function, a session management function, or an application function, receives messages from the NWDAF – paragraph 0008), from an application function (the term “network function” has the full extent of its ordinary meaning, and at least includes a device, e.g., a combination of hardware and/or software, which performs a function in a network system. Typically, network functions may be implemented as software executing on a computer system, such as a server, e.g., a cloud server – paragraph 0099. Network functions which may be present in the cellular network system may include functions such as an Access and Mobility Management Function AMF, a Policy Control Function PCF, a Network Data Analytics Function NWDAF, an Application Function AF, a Network Slice Selection Function NSSF, one or more Edge Application Servers EASs, and a UE radio Capability Management Function UCMF, among numerous possible others – paragraph 0100), dedicated relocation information for a specific application and targeting a collection of user equipments UEs (the AF may analyze the received data analytics and determine what information is useful and/or relevant to transmit to the SMF. For example, the AF may determine whether the data analytics suggests that the SMF should relocate EAS resources for one or more applications directed by the SMF. The AF may then transmit the relevant information to the SMF, e.g., through a Nsmf_EventExposure message including an AppRelocationInfo field to specify how one or more applications should be relocated in the EAS environment. Here, how one or more applications should be relocated in the EAS environment – i.e., dedicated relocation information for a specific application and targeting a collection of user equipments UEs – Fig. 10/1022, paragraph 0166. The Nsmf_EventExposure message to the SMF may be a Nsmf_EventExposure_Subscribe message, and may specify an event ID, a SUPI, an application ID, and/or an area of interest – paragraph 0174. The application information may further include a UE Group Application Session ID, which indicates a group application ID of a group of UEs served by a particular EAS – paragraphs 0187, 0190) and targeting a collection of user equipments UEs (the AMF may transmit information to the NWADF related to a group ID of a group of UEs serviced by the AMF, geographical locations of a plurality of UEs, which may include one or both of tracking areas or served cells of the UEs and a time stamp of when the AMF detects that the UE enters a particular location – paragraph 0184. The EAS resource relocation may specify relocations of assigned resources - e.g., CPU, memory, and/or disk resources, for EAS applications to respective UE groups. The EAS load distribution may specify the average load of the EAS instance over the analytics target period for different application aspects – paragraph 0192),
but, does not disclose, wherein, the dedicated relocation information is used for routing decision for a traffic and/or a domain name system DNS handling decision for the specific application for each UE within the collection of UEs.
Patil teaches, a network device, such as a Network Data Analytics Function NWDAF, receives, from a commissioning network function, an analytic information request for analytic event information and sends, to the commissioning network function, an analytic report that is responsive to the analytic information request wherein the analytic report includes a unique analytic report identifier (ABSTRACT, Figs. 2, 4).
NSSF 262 may select a set of network slice instances to serve a particular UE device 110, determine network slice selection assistance information NSSAI, determine a particular AMF 220 to serve a particular UE device 110, and/or perform other types of processing associated with network slice selection or management. NSSF 262 may be accessible via Nnssf interface 263 (paragraph 0040).
SMF 240 may perform session establishment, session modification, and/or session release, perform IP address allocation and management, perform Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol DHCP functions, perform selection and control of UPF 230, configure traffic steering at UPF 230 to guide the traffic to the correct destinations, terminate interfaces toward PCF 254, perform lawful intercepts, charge data collection, support charging interfaces, control and coordinate of charging data collection, terminate session management parts of NAS messages, perform downlink data notification, manage roaming functionality, and/or perform other types of control plane processes for managing user plane data. SMF 240 may be accessible via an Nsmf interface 242. Here, configure traffic steering at UPF 230 to guide the traffic to the correct destinations, reads on the claimed feature, wherein the dedicated relocation information is used for a routing decision for a traffic and/or a domain name system DNS handling decision for the specific application for each UE within the collection of UEs (paragraph 0034).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the data analytics for multi-access edge computation of Matolia (Matolia, ABSTRACT, Figs. 3/NWDAF, 6, paragraphs 0007, 0008, 0100, 0121) wherein the system of Matolia, would have incorporated SMF 240 may perform session establishment, session modification, and/or session release, configure traffic steering at UPF 230 to guide the traffic to the correct destinations of Patil (Patil, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0034, 0040) to satisfy the needs and demands of users of mobile communication devices, providers of wireless communication services continue to improve and expand available services as well as networks used to deliver such services (Patil, paragraph 0001) and to control allocation and relocation of EAS resources to one or more edge applications and to offload tasks correctly to the Multi-access Edge Computing MEC servers (Matolia, paragraphs 0008, 0126).
Regarding claim 7, Matolia discloses,
the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit the dedicated relocation information for the specific application and targeting a specific UE belonging to the collection of UEs (the data analytics may include one or more of suggested relocations of EAS resources to respective UE groups, computational load information for one or more applications served by an EAS, mapping of an EAS area to a mobility area for one or more UEs, or state information for the one or more applications served by the EAS – paragraph 0007) or specific service information to identify the collection of UEs, and the dedicated relocation information for the application and targeting the collection of UEs (the SMF may transmit a Registration Update Accept PDU SessionModification message to the UE through the AMF to modify the PDU session - e.g., to update tracking area registration – paragraphs 0167, 0181) to a session management function (the AF may analyze the received data analytics and determine what information is useful and/or relevant to transmit to the SMF. For example, the AF may determine whether the data analytics suggests that the SMF should relocate EAS resources for one or more applications directed by the SMF. The AF may then transmit the relevant information to the SMF, e.g., through a Nsmf_EventExposure message including an AppRelocationInfo field to specify how one or more applications should be relocated in the EAS environment – Fig. 10/1022, paragraph 0166. The AMF may transmit information to the NWADF related to a group ID of a group of UEs serviced by the AMF, geographical locations of a plurality of UEs, which may include one or both of tracking areas or served cells of the UEs and a time stamp of when the AMF detects that the UE enters a particular location – paragraph 0184) by using a policy and charging control rule (Network functions which may be present in the cellular network system may include functions such as an Access and Mobility Management Function AMF, a Policy Control Function PCF, a Network Data Analytics Function NWDAF, an Application Function AF, a Network Slice Selection Function NSSF, one or more Edge Application Servers EASs, and a UE radio Capability Management Function UCMF, among numerous possible others – paragraph 0100).
Regarding claim 8, Matolia discloses,
the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to: receive a group ID or specific service information to identify the collection of UEs, and receive the dedicated relocation information for a specific UE belonging to the collection of UEs (the NWADF may report a resource update including a list of predicted information for each EAS instance along with the corresponding EAS ID and/or EAS Set ID with respect to UE groups served for each edge application. The list may include a prediction of future EAS resource management, UE group mobility, application state, and/or application load – paragraph 0193. The data analytics may be useable by the third network function to control allocation of EAS resources to one or more edge applications - Figs. 15 -19, paragraphs 0196 – 0199. The third network function may be a policy control function, a session management function, or an application function. Here, a policy control function, a session management function, or an application function, receives messages from the NWDAF – paragraph 0008).
Regarding claim 9, Matolia discloses,
the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to: receive a group ID (the data analytics may include one or more of suggested relocations of EAS resources to respective UE groups, computational load information for one or more applications served by an EAS, mapping of an EAS area to a mobility area for one or more UEs, or state information for the one or more applications served by the EAS – paragraph 0007. The third network function may be a policy control function, a session management function, or an application function. Here, a policy control function, a session management function, or an application function, receives messages from the NWDAF – paragraph 0008) or specific service information to identify the collection of UEs, and the dedicated relocation information for the application and targeting the collection of UEs (the SMF may transmit a Registration Update Accept PDU SessionModification message to the UE through the AMF to modify the PDU session - e.g., to update tracking area registration – paragraphs 0167, 0181. The third network function may be a policy control function, a session management function, or an application function. Here, a policy control function, a session management function, or an application function, receives messages from the NWDAF – paragraph 0008).
Regarding claim 10, Matolia discloses,
the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the dedicated relocation information is a target data network access identifier DNAI or a target application server (the NWDAF may compile and/or analyze this information and provide selective portions of the resultant data analytics to other network elements, so that these other network elements may make more intelligent decisions regarding operation of the network related to user plane improvements for edge computing – paragraph 0101. The SMF may receive data analytics from the NWADF directly to determine EAS resource reallocation for the PDU session – paragraph 0138. The AF may then transmit the relevant information to the SMF, e.g., through a Nsmf_EventExposure message including an AppRelocationInfo field to specify how one or more applications should be relocated in the EAS environment – paragraph 0180. The third network function may be a policy control function, a session management function, or an application function. Here, a policy control function, a session management function, or an application function, receives messages from the NWDAF – paragraph 0008).
Regarding claim 11, Matolia discloses,
the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to determine that a UE belongs to the collection of UEs if the UE is within a group of UEs identified by a predetermined group ID, or the UE is within a group of UEs sharing a same specific service information (the UE 106 might include a shared radio for communicating using either of LTE or 5G NR or LTE or 1×RTT or LTE or GSM – paragraph 0096. The group UE capability information refers to capability information from a group of UEs, wherein the UEs in the group have the same or similar characteristics – paragraph 0121).
Regarding claim 12, Matolia discloses,
an apparatus for wireless communication (the NWDAF receives a request for the data analytics from a third network function in the cellular network system, and provides the data analytics to the third network function. The third network function may be a policy control function, a session management function, or an application function. Here, a policy control function, a session management function, or an application function, reads on an apparatus for wireless communication – paragraph 0008. The NWDAF derives data analytics based at least in part on the UE mobility information and the edge application server information. The data analytics may include one or more of suggested relocations of EAS resources to respective UE groups, computational load information for one or more applications served by an EAS, mapping of an EAS area to a mobility area for one or more UEs, or state information for the one or more applications served by the EAS – ABSTRACT, Figs. 3/NWDAF, 6, 13 – 15, paragraph 0007. The group UE capability information refers to capability information from a group of UEs, wherein the UEs in the group have the same or similar characteristics – paragraph 0121. The UE may communicate with the EAS group to modify the allocation of EAS resources for the application according to the ESA and TA mapping – paragraph 0182. Network functions which may be present in the cellular network system may include functions such as an Access and Mobility Management Function AMF, a Policy Control Function PCF, a Network Data Analytics Function NWDAF, an Application Function AF, a Network Slice Selection Function NSSF, one or more Edge Application Servers EASs, and a UE radio Capability Management Function UCMF, among numerous possible others – paragraph 0100), comprising:
at least one memory (the term “network function” has the full extent of its ordinary meaning, and at least includes a device, e.g., a combination of hardware and/or software, which performs a function in a network system. Typically, network functions may be implemented as software executing on a computer system, such as a server, e.g., a cloud server – paragraph 0099. Network functions which may be present in the cellular network system may include functions such as an Access and Mobility Management Function AMF, a Policy Control Function PCF, a Network Data Analytics Function NWDAF, an Application Function AF, a Network Slice Selection Function NSSF, one or more Edge Application Servers EASs, and a UE radio Capability Management Function UCMF, among numerous possible others – paragraph 0100); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (the term “network function” has the full extent of its ordinary meaning, and at least includes a device, e.g., a combination of hardware and/or software, which performs a function in a network system. Typically, network functions may be implemented as software executing on a computer system, such as a server, e.g., a cloud server – paragraph 0099. Network functions which may be present in the cellular network system may include functions such as an Access and Mobility Management Function AMF, a Policy Control Function PCF, a Network Data Analytics Function NWDAF, an Application Function AF, a Network Slice Selection Function NSSF, one or more Edge Application Servers EASs, and a UE radio Capability Management Function UCMF, among numerous possible others – paragraph 0100) and configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive (the NWDAF receives a request for the data analytics from a third network function in the cellular network system, and provides the data analytics to the third network function. The third network function may be a policy control function, a session management function, or an application function. Here, a policy control function, a session management function, or an application function, receives messages from the NWDAF – paragraph 0008) dedicated relocation information for a specific application (the AF may analyze the received data analytics and determine what information is useful and/or relevant to transmit to the SMF. For example, the AF may determine whether the data analytics suggests that the SMF should relocate EAS resources for one or more applications directed by the SMF. The AF may then transmit the relevant information to the SMF, e.g., through a Nsmf_EventExposure message including an AppRelocationInfo field to specify how one or more applications should be relocated in the EAS environment. Here, how one or more applications should be relocated in the EAS environment – i.e., dedicated relocation information for a specific application and targeting a collection of user equipments UEs – Fig. 10/1022, paragraph 0166. The Nsmf_EventExposure message to the SMF may be a Nsmf_EventExposure_Subscribe message, and may specify an event ID, a SUPI, an application ID, and/or an area of interest – paragraph 0174. The application information may further include a UE Group Application Session ID, which indicates a group application ID of a group of UEs served by a particular EAS – paragraphs 0187, 0190) and targeting a collection of user equipments UEs (the AMF may transmit information to the NWADF related to a group ID of a group of UEs serviced by the AMF, geographical locations of a plurality of UEs, which may include one or both of tracking areas or served cells of the UEs and a time stamp of when the AMF detects that the UE enters a particular location – paragraph 0184. The EAS resource relocation may specify relocations of assigned resources - e.g., CPU, memory, and/or disk resources, for EAS applications to respective UE groups. The EAS load distribution may specify the average load of the EAS instance over the analytics target period for different application aspects – paragraph 0192) or dedicated relocation information for a specific application (the AF may analyze the received data analytics and determine what information is useful and/or relevant to transmit to the SMF. For example, the AF may determine whether the data analytics suggests that the SMF should relocate EAS resources for one or more applications directed by the SMF. The AF may then transmit the relevant information to the SMF, e.g., through a Nsmf_EventExposure message including an AppRelocationInfo field to specify how one or more applications should be relocated in the EAS environment. Here, how one or more applications should be relocated in the EAS environment – i.e., dedicated relocation information for a specific application and targeting a collection of user equipments UEs – Fig. 10/1022, paragraph 0166. The Nsmf_EventExposure message to the SMF may be a Nsmf_EventExposure_Subscribe message, and may specify an event ID, a SUPI, an application ID, and/or an area of interest – paragraph 0174. The application information may further include a UE Group Application Session ID, which indicates a group application ID of a group of UEs served by a particular EAS – paragraphs 0187, 0190) and targeting a specific UE belonging to the collection of UEs (the AMF may transmit information to the NWADF related to a group ID of a group of UEs serviced by the AMF, geographical locations of a plurality of UEs, which may include one or both of tracking areas or served cells of the UEs and a time stamp of when the AMF detects that the UE enters a particular location – paragraph 0184. The EAS resource relocation may specify relocations of assigned resources - e.g., CPU, memory, and/or disk resources, for EAS applications to respective UE groups. The EAS load distribution may specify the average load of the EAS instance over the analytics target period for different application aspects – paragraph 0192),
but, does not disclose, wherein the dedicated relocation information is used for a routing decision for traffic and/or a domain name system DNS handling decision for the specific application for each UE within the collection of UEs.
Patil teaches, a network device, such as a Network Data Analytics Function NWDAF, receives, from a commissioning network function, an analytic information request for analytic event information and sends, to the commissioning network function, an analytic report that is responsive to the analytic information request wherein the analytic report includes a unique analytic report identifier (ABSTRACT, Figs. 2, 4).
NSSF 262 may select a set of network slice instances to serve a particular UE device 110, determine network slice selection assistance information NSSAI, determine a particular AMF 220 to serve a particular UE device 110, and/or perform other types of processing associated with network slice selection or management. NSSF 262 may be accessible via Nnssf interface 263 (paragraph 0040).
SMF 240 may perform session establishment, session modification, and/or session release, perform IP address allocation and management, perform Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol DHCP functions, perform selection and control of UPF 230, configure traffic steering at UPF 230 to guide the traffic to the correct destinations, terminate interfaces toward PCF 254, perform lawful intercepts, charge data collection, support charging interfaces, control and coordinate of charging data collection, terminate session management parts of NAS messages, perform downlink data notification, manage roaming functionality, and/or perform other types of control plane processes for managing user plane data. SMF 240 may be accessible via an Nsmf interface 242. Here, configure traffic steering at UPF 230 to guide the traffic to the correct destinations, reads on the claimed feature, wherein the dedicated relocation information is used for a routing decision for a traffic and/or a domain name system DNS handling decision for the specific application for each UE within the collection of UEs (paragraph 0034).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the data analytics for multi-access edge computation of Matolia (Matolia, ABSTRACT, Figs. 3/NWDAF, 6, paragraphs 0007, 0008, 0100, 0121) wherein the system of Matolia, would have incorporated SMF 240 may perform session establishment, session modification, and/or session release, configure traffic steering at UPF 230 to guide the traffic to the correct destinations of Patil (Patil, ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0034, 0040) to satisfy the needs and demands of users of mobile communication devices, providers of wireless communication services continue to improve and expand available services as well as networks used to deliver such services (Patil, paragraph 0001) and to control allocation and relocation of EAS resources to one or more edge applications and to offload tasks correctly to the Multi-access Edge Computing MEC servers (Matolia, paragraphs 0008, 0126).
Regarding claim 13, Matolia discloses,
the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the dedicated relocation information for the specific application and targeting the collection of UEs is received from an application function using a procedure for edge application server EAS deployment information management per node (the NWADF may report resource update information that provides a list of information for one or more EAS instances, along with the corresponding EAS ID and/or EAS Set ID with respect to UE groups served for each of one or more edge applications – paragraph 0192. The NWADF may report a resource update including a list of predicted information for each EAS instance along with the corresponding EAS ID and/or EAS Set ID with respect to UE groups served for each edge application – paragraph 0193), or the dedicated relocation information for the specific application and targeting the specific UE is received from a policy control function using a policy control rule (the term “network function” has the full extent of its ordinary meaning, and at least includes a device, e.g., a combination of hardware and/or software, which performs a function in a network system. Typically, network functions may be implemented as software executing on a computer system, such as a server, e.g., a cloud server – paragraph 0099. Network functions which may be present in the cellular network system may include functions such as an Access and Mobility Management Function AMF, a Policy Control Function PCF, a Network Data Analytics Function NWDAF, an Application Function AF, a Network Slice Selection Function NSSF, one or more Edge Application Servers EASs, and a UE radio Capability Management Function UCMF, among numerous possible others – paragraph 0100).
Regarding claim 14, it is similar to claim 11 above and is rejected on same grounds.
Regarding claim 15, Matolia discloses,
the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to store the dedicated relocation information (the network element 500 may include hardware and software components for implementing and/or supporting implementation of features described herein. The processors 504 of the core network element 500 may be configured to implement or support implementation of part or all of the methods described herein, e.g., by executing program instructions stored on a memory medium. Controlling the amount or specificity of data stored - e.g., collecting location data at city level rather than at an address level, controlling how data is stored – paragraphs 0112, 0206) in a session management function (the term “network function” has the full extent of its ordinary meaning, and at least includes a device, e.g., a combination of hardware and/or software, which performs a function in a network system. Typically, network functions may be implemented as software executing on a computer system, such as a server, e.g., a cloud server – paragraph 0099. Network functions which may be present in the cellular network system may include functions such as an Access and Mobility Management Function AMF, a Policy Control Function PCF, a Network Data Analytics Function NWDAF, an Application Function AF, a Network Slice Selection Function NSSF, one or more Edge Application Servers EASs, and a UE radio Capability Management Function UCMF, among numerous possible others – paragraph 0100) or a unified data repository (one or more types of data or information may be accessed by the NWDAF from one or more data repositories – paragraph 0120).
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicants disclosure.
Tang US PGPub: US 2024/0187374 A1Jun. 6, 2024.
a method which may be performed at a network function of a network may include: receiving serving domain name service (DNS) information from a further network function of the network; and selecting a DNS server or an extension for DNS client subnet (ECS) option for a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) originating from a user equipment (UE), wherein the DNS server or the ECS option is selected based on: (a) the serving DNS information; and (b) at least one of: DNS configuration information of the network, and one or more rules for handling DNS information.
Tang US PGPub: US 2024/0056415 A1 Feb. 15, 2024.
A method performed at a server comprises generating Domain Name System (DNS) information; deciding whether to transmit the DNS information to a User Equipment (UE) or to a network or to both the UE and the network; and transmitting the DNS information for use with at least one application associated with the UE according to the decision.
Korja US PGPub: US 2023/0362127 A1 Nov. 9, 2023.
Apparatus, method to influence 3GPP terminals on preferences between multiple recursive DNS servers where, an apparatus comprising means for determining, at a first core network entity, an indication of domains supported on a data network, determining domain name system configuration information based at least on the indication of domains supported on the data network and providing the domain name system configuration information to a second core network entity.
Lee US PGPub: US 2022/0046752 A1 Feb. 10, 2022.
method and apparatus for providing group communication in a wireless communication system, and a method of supporting a group communication service by a network exposure function (NEF) in a wireless communication system includes receiving, from an application function (AF), a message requesting configuration of a group including an identifier of the AF and an external group identity (ID) of the group; and transmitting, to a unified data management (UDM), a message requesting configuration of the group, wherein, based on the configuration of the group, at least one of creation of the group, deletion of the group, addition of a member of the group, or deletion of a member of the group may be performed.
Han US PGPub: US 2021/0099367 A1 Apr. 1, 2021.
Method and apparatus for detecting service and analyzing service characteristic using NWDAF in mobile communication system.
Dao US PGPub: US 2020/0329008 A1 Oct. 15, 2020.
A communication system includes a user plane function (UPF) configured to receive a domain name system (DNS) query from a user equipment (UE). The DNS query includes a first destination address of a first DNS server. The DNS query is for determining an address of a data server in proximity to the UE. According to the first destination address of the first DNS server, the UPF obtains, from a session management function (SMF), a second destination address of a second DNS server for providing the address of the data server. The SMF is configured to provide, to the UPF, the second destination address of a second DNS server.
Contact Information
/NIMESH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642