DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the Applicant filing on 8.5.26. Claims 1-16 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
Claim objections from previous Office action are withdrawn in light of amendments to claims 6 and 8.
35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 6 is withdrawn in light of amendments to claim 6 and claim 1.
The Applicant has made amendments to the independent claim 1 and its dependents 6,8 which will be examined below.
With respect to 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 rejections, the Applicant provides arguments to which the
Examiner will respond accordingly:
Applicant Argument 1: The current rejection of Independent Claim 1 as previously presented argues that Brutting teaches all of the elements in Claim 1, including a cooling apparatus at element 14 and a fluid pipe at element 14 "guided by 20" on one or more of the field conductors (element 20) (Office Action, Page 4). As described in Brutting, however, element 14 is a fluid channel running within the heat sink 10 (Paragraph 45). As shown in Figure 2 of Brutting, the heat sink 10 does not meet the limitations recited in Claim 1.
Examiner Response 1: Examiner’s rejection of previous claim 1 was detailed in previous office action. Previous use of limitation “guided” is broad and which can be read by Brutting as element 20 (conductor) and element 10 (fluid pipe) have a structural interaction in Fig 2 which can be interpreted as “guided” and Applicant has not provided any other specific argument on which element is not read by Brutting besides citing Fig 2 of Brutting. Examiner understands structural difference between instant invention and Brutting, however these differences need to be recited in the claims. Even further, this argument is moot as Applicant has amended claim 1 with new limitations which will be examined below.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Electric motor with radial and circumferential cooling structure of stator and inverter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 10, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brutting (EP3719975A1 English translation).
Regarding Claim 1, Brutting discloses (Figs 1-2, 9-10) an electric motor [Para 0002, 0035 discloses motor, electrical machine] comprising:
a stator [0035] having a plurality of bar-shaped field conductors (20);
a plurality of inverters (1) for actuating the field conductors (20 [Para 0036 discloses “Each conductor section 20 can be assigned a power electronic component 1”]; wherein
the inverters (1) are arranged on one or more printed circuit boards (6) arranged on at least one cooling plate (10); wherein
the at least one cooling plate (10) is mechanically connected (7) to the field conductors (20) or one or more additional conductors (21) electrically connected [0042] to the field conductors; and
a cooling apparatus (14) including a fluid pipe (14,10 portion surrounding 14)[0045] in contact (14 which is space for cooling water is surrounded by 10 and 10 is in contact with 21) with and extending along a length (Fig 2, L) of at least one of the field conductors or at least one of the one or more additional conductors (21).
Regarding Claim 2, Brutting discloses the electric motor as claimed in claim 1. Brutting further discloses wherein the fluid pipes (14) comprise water pipes [0045 discloses water].
Regarding Claim 4, Brutting discloses the electric motor as claimed in claim 1. Brutting further discloses wherein a fluid pipe (14) is guided on each (Figs 9-10) of the field conductors (20) and/or conductors (21).
Regarding Claim 5, Brutting discloses the electric motor as claimed in claim 1. Brutting further discloses wherein a region in which the fluid pipe is externally adjacently guided on the field conductor (20) and/or conductor (21r part of 21 is a conductor Para0042) is axially located (Fig 10) between a cooling plate (10) and an axial beginning (20) of the stator/rotor block.
Regarding Claim 6, Brutting discloses the electric motor as claimed in claim 1. Brutting further discloses further comprising an additional conductor (21); wherein the field conductor (20) and the additional conductor (21) are connected by a shoe (21 which is covering 20) supporting (Fig 2 discloses structural interaction between 20 and 14,10 which can be supporting) the fluid pipe (14,10 portion).
Regarding Claim 10, Brutting discloses the electric motor as claimed in claim 1. Brutting further discloses wherein the fluid pipe (14, 10 portion) runs, at least in certain sections, parallel [0045 discloses “the fluid channel 14 (or fluid channels) can also run in an axial direction “ to the field conductor (20) or conductor.
Regarding Claim 12, Brutting discloses the electric motor as claimed in claim 1. Brutting further discloses wherein the fluid pipe (10 portion,14) is insulated from the field conductor (20) or conductor by an electrically insulating layer of material [0051 discloses 10 which has 14 is made of electrically insulating material].
Regarding Claim 13, Brutting discloses the electric motor as claimed in claim 1. Brutting further discloses wherein the printed circuit boards (6) are circular or ring sector-shaped (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 14, Brutting discloses the electric motor as claimed in claim 1. Brutting further discloses wherein the cooling plate (10) is arranged perpendicular (20 part of stator, therefore motor is perpendicular to 10) to the axis of the electric motor.
Regarding Claim 15, Brutting discloses the electric motor as claimed in claim 1. Brutting further discloses operable to actuate each of the field conductors (20) with a separate phase [0029 discloses “supply each conductor section with its own electrical phase”].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brutting in view of Dums et al (DE102020117267A1 English translation), hereinafter Dums.
Regarding Claim 3, Brutting discloses the electric motor as claimed in claim 1 including a cooling fluid [0045] to the cooling apparatus (10) but does not explicitly disclose further comprising a pump delivering a cooling fluid to the cooling apparatus.
Dums discloses (Fig 3) comprising a pump (152) delivering a cooling fluid (80) to the cooling apparatus (34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor of Brutting with pump as taught by Dums in order to achieve sufficient rate of flow of coolant throughout the cooling apparatus so heat can be dissipated as per operational needs.
Claims 7-8,11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brutting in view of Marino (US20190207439A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Brutting discloses the electric motor as claimed in claim 1but does not explicitly disclose wherein the fluid pipes are connected together in series for at least two of the field conductors or conductors.
Marino discloses (Fig 10) wherein the fluid pipes (10a,10b) are connected together in series (Fig 10) for at least two of the field conductors (10a surrounding conductor, 10b surrounding conductor) or conductors.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor of Brutting with series connection of fluid flow between conductors as taught by Marino in order to have a cooling structure that is close to the magnetic core and carry heat in an optimal manner to the outlet.
Regarding Claim 8, Brutting discloses the electric motor as claimed in claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the fluid pipe encircles a ring formed by the field conductors or the conductors form, at an outer edge or on the inside at an inner edge.
Marino discloses (Fig 1) wherein the fluid pipe (10) encircles a ring (Fig 1) formed by the field conductors (4) or the conductors form, at an outer edge (Fig 1) or on the inside at an inner edge.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor of Brutting with ring shaped cooling structure as taught by Marino in order to have a cooling structure that is close to the magnetic core and carry heat in an optimal manner to the outlet from the entire circular end winding structure .
Regarding Claim 11, Brutting discloses the electric motor as claimed in claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the fluid pipe comprises a ceramic.
Marino discloses [Para 0039] wherein the fluid pipe (10) comprises a ceramic [0039 discloses “enamel”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor of Brutting with fluid pipe comprising ceramic as taught by Marino in order to have a cooling structure that is electrically insulated from the coolant .
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brutting in view of Hara et al (US20220345060A1 PCT filed 8.14.20), hereinafter Hara.
Regarding Claim 16, Brutting discloses the electric motor as claimed in claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose 16 wherein the inverters generate an alternating voltage with an amplitude of 200 v or less.
Hara discloses (Fig 4A) wherein the inverters generate an alternating voltage with an amplitude of 200 v or less.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor of Brutting with amplitude of alternating voltage as taught by Hara in order to have required voltage to drive motor as per design choice of motor design .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 9 recites “ The electric motor as claimed claim 8, wherein the fluid pipe is guided along a radially outwardly or inwardly pointing side of the field conductors or conductors and has surface elements adjacent to an azimuthal side of the field conductors or conductors”. In Brutting, although 14 is radial, there is not a combination of fluid pipe guiding radially outwardly or inwardly field conductors/conductors along with surface elements as claimed and as shown for e.g., in Fig 6 of instant application. Therefore claim 9 is allowable.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834