DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant' s communication filed October 21, 2024. In view of this communication, claims 18-38 are now pending in the application.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not). In this case, claim 23 was enumerated twice, and claim 24 was skipped.
Misnumbered second claim 23 has been renumbered 24.
Claims 18 and 34 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 18, line 17: “spindle nut” should read “the spindle nut”.
Claim 34, lines 1-2: “the magnet with encoder device” should read “the magnet with the encoder device”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification lacks section headings.
Appropriate correction is required.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 21, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 20, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-23, and 25-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 18, the limitation “a motor with a stator, and a stator for driving the spindle, motor with a stator and a rotor for driving the spindle” is recited in lines 9-10. It is unclear whether the three instances of “a stator” and two instances of “motor” refer to the same limitation, or to separate instances of “a stator” or “motor”. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as reading “a motor with a stator and a rotor for driving the spindle”.
Claims 19-31, and 35-37 are rejected due to their dependence on claim 18.
Regarding Claim 26, the limitation “the overall height” is recited in lines 2-3, and the limitation “the edge of the circuit board” is recited in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitation in the claim.
Additionally, the term “small and large” in claim 26 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “small and large” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how “small” or “large” an electronic component must be in order to qualify as one or the other. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as any quantity of electronic components with a variation in size.
Additionally, the limitation “the circuit board plane” is recited in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding Claim 27, the limitation “a connection for power supply and a connection for communication” is recited in line 2. It is unclear whether these instances of “a connection” refer to the same limitation, or to two separate instances of “a connection”. For the purpose of examination, these limitations are being interpreted as being two separate instances of “a connection”.
Regarding Claim 30, the limitation “the spindle axis” is recited in line 2, the limitation “the connections” is recited in line 3, and the limitation “the interaction elements” is recited in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitation in the claim.
Regarding Claim 31, the limitations “the end face” and “the end-side housing covers” are recited in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Regarding Claim 32, the limitation “a guide rail” is recited in line 6. It is unclear whether this instance of “a guide rail” is the same limitation as “a guide rail” recited in line 4, or a separate instance of “a guide rail”. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as reading “the guide rail”.
Claims 33-34, and 38 are rejected due to dependence on claim 32.
Regarding Claim 33, the limitation “the north pole” is recited in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18-22, 25, 27-31, and 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abe et al. (JP 2021093902 A, hereafter referred to as Abe).
Regarding Claim 18, Abe discloses (see Figures 1 and 3) a linear module (1, Page 2, ¶ 1) comprising a spindle (20, Page 2, ¶ 2) for rotating about a rotation axis of the spindle (20, Page 2, ¶ 2), a spindle nut (22, Page 4, ¶ 7) for converting a rotational movement of the spindle (20, Page 2, ¶ 2) into an axial movement of the spindle nut (22, Page 4, ¶ 7), a coupling unit (40, Page 2, ¶ 2) for axial movement along a guide rail (31, Page 5, ¶ 3), driven via the spindle nut (22, Page 4, ¶ 7), the guide rail (31, Page 5, ¶ 3) for guiding the coupling unit (40, Page 2, ¶ 2), which runs parallel to the spindle (20, Page 2, ¶ 2), a motor (11, Page 2, ¶ 3) with a stator (Page 2, ¶ 3: “The motor body 11 is, for example, a stepping motor or a servomotor, and has a rotor, a stator,”), and a stator (Page 2, ¶ 3) for driving the spindle (Page 2, ¶ 3), motor (11, Page 2, ¶ 3) with a stator (Page 2, ¶ 3) and a rotor (Page 2, ¶ 3) for driving the spindle (20, Page 2, ¶ 2), a control device (15, Page 2, ¶ 4) which is configured for controlling the motor (11, Page 2, ¶ 3) and comprises at least one circuit board (15, Page 2, ¶ 4), a housing (12, 30, Page 2, ¶ 3) which at least partially encloses a housing interior, and a carriage (T, Page 2, ¶ 1) which is arranged at least partially outside the housing (12, 30, Page 2, ¶ 3) and is coupled to a movement of the coupling unit (40, Page 2, ¶ 2) (Page 6, ¶ 1: “the moving body 40 is a member that slides and moves in both the + Y direction and the −Y direction together with the slide table T because the slide table T is integrally formed.”), so that the carriage (T, Page 2, ¶ 1) is moveable parallel to the guide rail (31, Page 5, ¶ 3) by the movement of the coupling unit (40, Page 2, ¶ 2), wherein the motor (11, Page 2, ¶ 3), the control device (15, Page 2, ¶ 4), the spindle (20, Page 2, ¶ 2), spindle nut (22, Page 4, ¶ 7) and the guide rail (31, Page 5, ¶ 3) are arranged in the housing interior.
Regarding Claim 19/18, Abe has been discussed above
Additionally, Abe discloses (see Figures 1-3 above) that the linear module (1, Page 2, ¶ 1) comprises a cover (33, Page 5, ¶ 3) and the housing (12, 30, Page 2, ¶ 3) has an opening (32a, Page 5, ¶ 6) which is at least partially covered with the cover (33, Page 5, ¶ 3) and the carriage (T, Page 2, ¶ 1) is arranged at least partially outside the housing (12, 30, Page 2, ¶ 3), adjacent to a top side of the cover (33, Page 5, ¶ 3), and is connected to the coupling unit (40, Page 2, ¶ 2), which is arranged adjacent to a bottom side of the cover (33, Page 5, ¶ 3).
Regarding Claim 20/18, Abe has been discussed above
Additionally, Abe discloses (see Figure 3 above) that the motor (11, Page 2, ¶ 3) is arranged coaxially to the spindle (20, Page 2, ¶ 2), so that the rotor (Page 2, ¶ 3) and the spindle (20, Page 2, ¶ 2) have the same rotation axis.
Regarding Claim 21/18, Abe has been discussed above.
Additionally, Abe discloses (see Figure 3) the coupling unit (40, Page 2, ¶ 2) comprises a ball or roller recirculation, which has a plurality of rollers or balls that allow the coupling unit (40, Page 2, ¶ 2) to run with low friction relative to the guide rail (31, Page 5, ¶ 3) (Page 5, ¶ 4: “The base 31 constitutes the bottom portion of the actuator housing 30. The base 31 is a rail that supports the moving body 40 so as to be slidable in both the + Y direction and the −Y direction via a plurality of rigid rolling elements for linear guides. The base 31 is formed by, for example, extruding a metal such as aluminum. A pair of rolling element grooves extending in the Y-axis direction are formed on the inner surface of the base 31. When the linear guide rolling element rolls in the rolling element groove, the moving body 40 smoothly reciprocates.”).
Regarding Claim 22/18, Abe has been discussed above.
Additionally, Abe discloses that the linear module (1, Page 2, ¶ 1) comprises a holding brake and a holding state of the holding brake can be reversibly converted into a release state of the holding brake, wherein the holding state prevents a rotational movement of the spindle (20, Page 2, ¶ 2) and the release state enables rotational movement of the spindle (20, Page 2, ¶ 2) (Page 3, ¶ 3: “The operation panel 50 (operation unit) is for the user to adjust the moving speed, acceleration, deceleration, and stop position (forward end, backward end) of the slide table T by setting the operation of the output shaft 10a.”).
Regarding Claim 25/18, Abe has been discussed above.
Additionally, Abe discloses that the control device (15, Page 2, ¶ 4) is configured to control at least two of the following parameters:- a power supply for controlling the motor for commutation of the motor,- a position value defined by the relative distance of the carriage to one end of the spindle,- a speed of the movement of the coupling unit,- acceleration of the movement of the coupling unit,- a force of the movement of the coupling unit, - direction of movement of the coupling unit (Page 3, ¶ 3: “The operation panel 50 (operation unit) is for the user to adjust the moving speed, acceleration, deceleration, and stop position (forward end, backward end) of the slide table T by setting the operation of the output shaft 10a.”) (Page 3, ¶ 7: “Here, in order to "control the rotation of the rotating shaft (the electronic component of the second control board)" in the claims, the data set by the operation panel 50 is stored in the storage unit of the control board 15 for the motor.”).
Regarding Claim 27/18, Abe has been discussed above.
Additionally, Abe discloses (see Figure 3) that wherein the control device (15, Page 2, ¶ 4) comprises a connection (C1, Page 2, ¶ 4) for power supply and a connection for communication with the control device (15, Page 2, ¶ 4) (Page 2, ¶ 4: “Electric power is supplied to the motor body 11 from a commercial power source or a DC power source via the actuator cable C1 and the motor control board 15.”).
Regarding Claim 28/18, Abe has been discussed above.
Additionally, Abe discloses that the linear module (1, Page 2, ¶ 1) comprises an interaction element (50, Page 3, ¶ 3), wherein the interaction element (50, Page 3, ¶ 3) comprises at least one of adjustment elements (Page 3, ¶ 3) and status indicators, wherein the adjustment elements are used for at least one of speed adjustment and force adjustment directly on the linear module (Page 3, ¶ 3: “The operation panel 50 (operation unit) is for the user to adjust the moving speed, acceleration, deceleration, and stop position (forward end, backward end) of the slide table T by setting the operation of the output shaft 10a.”).
Regarding Claim 29/18, Abe has been discussed above.
Additionally, Abe discloses (see Figure 3) at least one connection element is present, wherein at least one connection element is arranged on the carriage (T, Page 2, ¶ 1) (see Figure 3, and explanation in Page 3, ¶ 3: “The operation panel 50 (operation unit) is for the user to adjust the moving speed, acceleration, deceleration, and stop position (forward end, backward end) of the slide table T by setting the operation of the output shaft 10a.”) and at least one further connection element (C1, Page 2, ¶ 4) is formed at one end or at both ends of the housing (12, 30, Page 2, ¶ 3).
Regarding Claim 30/18, Abe has been discussed above.
Additionally, the drawings of Abe appear to suggest (see Figures 3-4) that a minimum cross- sectional dimension of the linear module (1, Page 2, ¶ 1) orthogonal to the spindle (20, Page 2, ¶ 2) axis is never wider than 150% of an outer diameter of the motor (11, Page 2, ¶ 3), apart from the connections protruding from the housing (12, 30, Page 2, ¶ 3), the interaction elements (50, Page 3, ¶ 3), housing screws and the carriage (T, Page 2, ¶ 1).
Regarding Claim 31/18, Abe has been discussed above.
Additionally, Abe discloses (see Figure 3) the housing (12, 30, Page 2, ¶ 3) comprises two housing covers (34, Page 5, ¶ 3) (14, Page 2, ¶ 3) on the end face, wherein one of the end-side housing covers (14, Page 2, ¶ 3) is at the same time a motor housing of the motor (11, Page 2, ¶ 3).
Regarding Claim 35/19/18, Abe has been discussed above.
Additionally, Abe discloses (see Figures 1 and 3) that the carriage (T, Page 2, ¶ 1) is arranged completely outside the housing (12, 30, Page 2, ¶ 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Asakura et al. (JP 2018107942 A, hereafter referred to as Asakura).
Regarding Claim 23/22/18, Abe has been discussed above.
Abe does not explicitly disclose that the holding brake is an electrical holding brake and has a mechanical transmission element, wherein the electrical holding brake is designed such that the holding state can be achieved in a de-energized state of the holding brake.
However, Asakura, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 5) that the holding brake (4, Page 2, ¶ 3) is an electrical holding brake (4, Page 2, ¶ 3) and has a mechanical transmission element (65, Page 5, ¶ 1), wherein the electrical holding brake (4, Page 2, ¶ 3) is designed such that the holding state can be achieved in a de-energized state of the holding brake (4, Page 2, ¶ 3) (Page 5, ¶ 1: “As shown in FIG. 5, when no current is supplied to the motor 2 and the coil 61 (OFF), the electromagnetic attractive force does not act on the movable magnetic plate 48, so that the movable magnetic plate 48 is braked by the elastic force of the coil spring 65.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the linear module disclosed by Abe such that the holding brake is an electrical holding brake and has a mechanical transmission element, wherein the electrical holding brake is designed such that the holding state can be achieved in a de-energized state of the holding brake, as disclosed by Asakura, in order to maintain the position of the spindle during situations where the linear module is unpowered (Page 5, ¶ 1: “As shown in FIG. 5, when no current is supplied to the motor 2 and the coil 61 (OFF), the electromagnetic attractive force does not act on the movable magnetic plate 48, so that the movable magnetic plate 48 is braked by the elastic force of the coil spring 65.”)
Regarding Claim 24/22/18, Abe has been discussed above.
Abe does not explicitly disclose that the holding brake is arranged at one end of the spindle and the end of the spindle has at least one of at least one radial projection and at least one radial recess, wherein at least one of the at least one projection and the at least one recess is at least partially form-fittingly coupled to a hub of the holding brake in the holding state.
However, Asakura, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 5) that the holding brake (4, Page 2, ¶ 3) is arranged at one end of the spindle (26, Page 3, ¶ 1) and the end of the spindle (26, Page 3, ¶ 1) has at least one of at least one radial projection (64, Page 5, ¶ 1) and at least one radial recess, wherein at least one of the at least one projection (64, Page 5, ¶ 1) and the at least one recess is at least partially form-fittingly coupled to a hub of the holding brake in the holding state (Page 5, ¶ 1: “the brake pad 64 is rotatable with the hub 39 and movable in the axial direction. In addition, a coil spring 65 is disposed inside the coil 61 in the radial direction. As shown in FIG. 5, when no current is supplied to the motor 2 and the coil 61 (OFF), the electromagnetic attractive force does not act on the movable magnetic plate 48, so that the movable magnetic plate 48 is braked by the elastic force of the coil spring 65. The brake pad 64 moves until it abuts against the friction plate 63, and the rotation of the motor 2 and the ball screw shaft 26 is braked.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the linear module disclosed by Abe such that the holding brake is arranged at one end of the spindle and the end of the spindle has at least one of at least one radial projection and at least one radial recess, wherein at least one of the at least one projection and the at least one recess is at least partially form-fittingly coupled to a hub of the holding brake in the holding state, as disclosed by Asakura, in order to prevent unwanted movement in the spindle (Page 5, ¶ 1: “The brake pad 64 moves until it abuts against the friction plate 63, and the rotation of the motor 2 and the ball screw shaft 26 is braked.”).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (WO 2021011155 A1, hereafter referred to as Zhang).
Regarding Claim 26/18, Abe has been discussed above.
Abe does not explicitly disclose that the circuit board comprises small and large electronic components with respect to the overall height perpendicular to the circuit board plane, wherein at least one of transistors and converters, are arranged at the edge of the circuit board of a longer side of the circuit board.
However, Zhang, in the same field of technology, does disclose that the circuit board (600, ¶ [0045]) comprises small and large electronic components with respect to the overall height perpendicular to the circuit board (600, ¶ [0045]) plane, wherein at least one of transistors (714, ¶ [0075]) and converters, are arranged at the edge of the circuit board (600, ¶ [0045]) of a longer side of the circuit board (600, ¶ [0045]) (see Figure 7c, transistor 714 is located substantially at the edge of circuit board 600).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the linear module disclosed by Abe such that the circuit board comprises small and large electronic components with respect to the overall height perpendicular to the circuit board plane, wherein at least one of transistors and converters, are arranged at the edge of the circuit board of a longer side of the circuit board, as disclosed by Zhang, in order to maximize the usage of space on the circuit board (¶ [0021]: “The present disclosure relates to integrating or embedding a hydraulic pump and a motor controller (including an electronic drive device such as an inverter) with an electric motor to have an assembly providing a compact configuration that reduces cost by sharing components, saves space, and enhances reliability.”).
Claims 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe et al. (JP 2021093902 A, hereafter referred to as Abe) in view of Jin et al. (CN 113162333 A, hereafter referred to as Jin).
Regarding Claim 32, Abe discloses (see Figures 1 and 3) a linear module (1, Page 2, ¶ 1), comprising a motor with stator and rotor (Page 2, ¶ 3: “The motor body 11 is, for example, a stepping motor or a servomotor, and has a rotor, a stator,”), a spindle (20, Page 2, ¶ 2), a spindle nut (22, Page 4, ¶ 7) for converting a rotational movement of the spindle (20, Page 2, ¶ 2) into an axial movement of a coupling unit (40, Page 2, ¶ 2), the coupling unit (40, Page 2, ¶ 2) for moving axially along a guide rail (31, Page 5, ¶ 3) driven by the rotation of the spindle (20, Page 2, ¶ 2), a guide rail (31, Page 5, ¶ 3) for guiding the coupling unit (40, Page 2, ¶ 2), which extends parallel to the spindle (20, Page 2, ¶ 2), and a carriage (T, Page 2, ¶ 1), which is coupled to the coupling unit (40, Page 2, ¶ 2), so that the carriage (T, Page 2, ¶ 1) is moveable parallel to the spindle (20, Page 2, ¶ 2) by a movement of the coupling unit (40, Page 2, ¶ 2), and an electronic encoder device (11a, Page 2, ¶ 4) substantially arranged axially to a rotation axis of the spindle (20, Page 2, ¶ 2).
Abe does not explicitly disclose that the motor is a brushless motor, at least one magnet on or in an end face of the rotor and/or the spindle and that the electronic encoder device is for reading out the angular position of the magnet and/or determining the axial position of the carriage.
However, Jin, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figures 1-3) that the motor is a brushless motor (Page 5, ¶ 5: “The embodiment of the invention claims a magnetic ring encoder structure of brushless motor”), at least one magnet (200, Page 5, ¶ 5) on or in an end face of the rotor (100, Page 5, ¶ 5) and/or the spindle and that the electronic encoder device (300, Page 5, ¶ 5) is for reading out the angular position of the magnet (Page 5, ¶ 5: “the linear Hall sensor 300 is provided with at least two, for sensing magnetic ring 200 magnetic field change”) and/or determining the axial position of the carriage.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the linear module disclosed by Abe such that the motor is a brushless motor, at least one magnet on or in an end face of the rotor and/or the spindle and that the electronic encoder device is for reading out the angular position of the magnet and/or determining the axial position of the carriage, as disclosed by Jin, in order to improve performance and precision (Abstract: “The invention claims a magnetic ring encoder structure of brushless motor and brushless motor, belonging to the field of brushless motor, improving the detection precision of motor rotor angle change, enhancing low speed performance of motor;”).
Regarding Claim 33/32, Abe in view of Jin has been discussed above.
Additionally, Jin discloses (see Figure 1 above) that the magnet (200, Page 5, ¶ 5) has the north pole on one side radially remote from the rotation axis (Page 6, ¶ 2: “In the above, the magnetic ring 200 is annular, and has the same axis with the rotor shaft 100, the magnetic ring 200 has the same number of N pole and S pole”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the linear module disclosed by Abe in view of Jin such that the magnet has the north pole on one side radially remote from the rotation axis, as further disclosed by Jin, in order to accurately measure the rotor shaft (Page 6, ¶ 2: “In the above, the magnetic ring 200 is annular, and has the same axis with the rotor shaft 100, the magnetic ring 200 has the same number of N pole and S pole, so that the magnetic ring 200 can generate stable magnetic field, the linear Hall sensor 300 to the rotor shaft 100 rotating speed of accurate measurement.”).
Regarding Claim 34/32, Abe in view of Jin has been discussed above.
Additionally, Jin discloses that the magnet (200, Page 5, ¶ 5) with encoder device (300, Page 5, ¶ 5) serves to determine at least one of the rotational speed of the rotor (100, Page 5, ¶ 5) (Page 6, ¶ 2: “In the above, the magnetic ring 200 is annular, and has the same axis with the rotor shaft 100, the magnetic ring 200 has the same number of N pole and S pole, so that the magnetic ring 200 can generate stable magnetic field, the linear Hall sensor 300 to the rotor shaft 100 rotating speed of accurate measurement”), the rotational speed of the spindle, and a commutation of the brushless motor by means of the signal of at least one of the electronic encoder device (300, Page 5, ¶ 5) and/or a control device.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the linear module disclosed by Abe in view of Jin such that the magnet with encoder device serves to determine at least one of the rotational speed of the rotor, the rotational speed of the spindle, and a commutation of the brushless motor by means of the signal of at least one of the electronic encoder device and/or a control device, as further disclosed by Jin, in order to accurately measure the rotor shaft (Page 6, ¶ 2: “In the above, the magnetic ring 200 is annular, and has the same axis with the rotor shaft 100, the magnetic ring 200 has the same number of N pole and S pole, so that the magnetic ring 200 can generate stable magnetic field, the linear Hall sensor 300 to the rotor shaft 100 rotating speed of accurate measurement.”).
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Fasth et al. (EP 0106826 A1, hereafter referred to as Fasth).
Regarding Claim 36/19/18, Abe has been discussed above.
Abe does not explicitly disclose that the cover is a flexible cover.
However, Fasth, in the same field of technology, does disclose that the cover is a flexible cover (Page 3, ¶ 1: “Since the wear on the guide members 10 is negligible it is possible to manufacture all of the part forming the protective cover from a light material, such as aluminium. The savings in weight and costs from this arrangement are considerable.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the linear module disclosed by Abe such that the cover is a flexible cover, as disclosed by Fasth, in order to reduce weight and cost (Page 3, ¶ 1: “The savings in weight and costs from this arrangement are considerable”).
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Nagai et al. (JP H09201002 A, hereafter referred to as Nagai ‘002).
Regarding Claim 37/20/18, Abe has been discussed above.
Abe does not explicitly disclose that the rotor is rigidly connected to the spindle.
However, Nagai ‘002, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 2) that the rotor (62, Page 4, ¶ 14) is rigidly connected to the spindle (38, Page 4, ¶ 10) (Page 4, ¶ 14: “A shaft portion 38a, which is continuous with the end portion of the ball screw 38 and extends along the axial direction, is supported by a bearing member 60, and a rotor 62 is held on the shaft portion 38a via a set screw 64.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the linear module disclosed by Abe such that the rotor is rigidly connected to the spindle, as disclosed by Nagai ‘002, in order to secure the connection between the spindle and the rotor (Page 4, ¶ 14: “A shaft portion 38a, which is continuous with the end portion of the ball screw 38 and extends along the axial direction, is supported by a bearing member 60, and a rotor 62 is held on the shaft portion 38a via a set screw 64.”).
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe as applied to claim 31 above, and further in view of Nagai et al. (JP H07110057 A, hereafter referred to as Nagai ‘057).
Regarding Claim 38/31/18, Abe has been discussed above.
Abe does not explicitly disclose that the other of the end-side housing covers is one of a support for the spindle and a holding brake housing of the holding brake.
However, Nagai ‘057, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 35) that the other of the end-side housing covers is one of a support for the spindle (402, Page 17, ¶ 17) and a holding brake housing (406, Page 17, ¶ 17) of the holding brake (Page 17, ¶ 17: “However, a brake block 406 in which a brake mechanism is housed is provided at one end of the ball screw 402,”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the linear module disclosed by Abe such that the other of the end-side housing covers is one of a support for the spindle and a holding brake housing of the holding brake, as disclosed by Nagai ‘057, in order to support the spindle against the housing (Page 18, ¶ 1: “Is different in that the drive control unit 414 housed in the housing 412 is fixedly provided to the frame 416. A bearing block 418 that pivotally supports one end of the ball screw 402 near the brake block 406 is fixed to the frame 416, and the bearing block 418 is further provided.”).
Conclusion
/C.F.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834