DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the amendment filed 10/21/2024. Claims 1-15 have been amended. Claims 16-20 have been added. No claims have been cancelled. Claims 1-20 are pending and an action is as follows.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “A radio access network (RAN) node” in the preamble and then later in the body of the claim refers to the “RAN” absent the subsequent word “node”. The claims appear to be directed to the RAN node however it appears that the Applicant inadvertently omitted the term “node” from the term RAN in the body of the claim. The terms should be consistent throughout the claims. Therefore, the claim should recite “at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the RAN node to:”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The claims recite terms in several instances throughout the claims 1-20 which are in singular form but should be in plural form. Please review claims in their entirety for those grammatical errors and make the appropriate amendments. Below the Examiner has provided a list of a few instances reflecting the nature of this objection and notes that this is not considered to be exhaustive list.
Claim 1: “receive information indicating a set of resource”, “perform at least one of uplink transmission or downlink reception in the set of resource associated with the set of TCI state.”
Claim 2: “wherein the set of resource is a set of slots and each slot in the set of slot is a downlink slot or uplink slot.”
Claim 3: wherein a mapping between the set of TCI state and the set of slots
Claim 13: “determined by a number of symbol between adjacent PTRS symbols”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KIM et al. US 2023/0045971 (hereinafter KIM).
Regarding claim 1, KIM teaches a radio access network (RAN) node,
([KIM, Fig. 12, ¶244] KIM teaches a RAN node such as the UE which is also referred to as The Second Wireless Device 200, or Second Device 200)
comprising: at least one memory; and
([Fig. 12. UE/Second Device 200, Memory 204])
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and
([KIM, Fig. 12. UE/Second Device 200, Processor 202 and Memory 204, ¶282] The memory 204 may be connected to a processor 202 and may store a variety of information related to an operation of a processor 202. For example, a memory 204 may store a software code including commands for performing all or part of processes controlled by a processor 202.)
configured to cause the RAN to:
receive information indicating a set of resource in at least one of time domain or frequency domain associated with a set of transmission configuration indication (TCI) state, wherein each TCI state of the set of TCI state is associated at least a part of the set of resource, and
([KIM, Figs. 10-12, Steps S1101-S1102 and ¶215-¶216 and ¶259-¶271] The UE operating as a RAN node as indicated in the Figures 10 and 12 operate according to the flowchart of Fig. 11 to receive information (DCI or higher layer signaling) indicating a set of resource (for scheduling PUSCH/resource allocation information (i.e., … frequency/time resources), which are a set or resource in at least one or time domain or frequency domain associated with a set of TCI state, wherein each TCI state of the set of TCI state is associated at least with a part of the set of resource as disclosed by the DCI’s inclusion of indication information related to a configuration of a transmission occasion (TO) (or slot), information related to a mapping of a TO/slot of an uplink channel and a TCI state (e.g. mapping order).)
perform at least one of uplink transmission or downlink reception in the set of resource associated with the set of TCI state.
([KIM, Fig. 11, Step S1103, ¶215 and ¶267-¶275] The UE transmits the plurality of scheduled PUSCH TO/slots associated with the set of TCI state.)
Regarding claim 14, KIM teaches a radio access network (RAN) node, comprising:
([KIM, Fig. 12, ¶244 and ¶251] KIM teaches a RAN node such as the TRP/base station which is also referred to as The First Wireless Device 100, or Second Device 100)
at least one memory; and
([Fig. 12. TRP/Base Station/Second Device 100, Memory 104])
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and
([KIM, Fig. 12. TRP/Base Station/First Device 100, Processor 102 and Memory 104, ¶281] The memory 104 may be connected to a processor 102 and may store a variety of information related to an operation of a processor 102. For example, a memory 104 may store a software code including commands for performing all or part of processes controlled by a processor 102.)
configured to cause the RAN to:
transmit information indicating a set of resource in at least one of time domain or frequency domain associated with a set of transmission configuration indication (TCI) state, wherein each TCI state of the set of TCI state is associated at least a part of the set of resource, and
([KIM, Figs. 10-12, Steps S1101-S1102 and ¶215-¶216 and ¶259-¶271] The TRP/base station operating as a RAN node as indicated in the Figures 10 and 12 operate according to the flowchart of Fig. 11 to transmit for reception information (DCI or higher layer signaling) indicating a set of resource (for scheduling PUSCH/resource allocation information (i.e., … frequency/time resources), which are a set or resource in at least one or time domain or frequency domain associated with a set of TCI state, wherein each TCI state of the set of TCI state is associated at least with a part of the set of resource as disclosed by the DCI’s inclusion of indication information related to a configuration of a transmission occasion (TO) (or slot), information related to a mapping of a TO/slot of an uplink channel and a TCI state (e.g. mapping order).)
perform uplink reception or downlink transmission in the set of resource associated with the set of TCI state.
([KIM, Fig. 11, Step S1103, ¶215 and ¶267-¶275] The UE transmits the plurality of scheduled PUSCH TO/slots associated with the set of TCI state which is received by the TRP/base station.)
Regarding claim 15, KIM teaches a method performed by a radio access network (RAN) node,
([KIM, Fig. 12, ¶244] KIM teaches a RAN node such as the UE which is also referred to as The Second Wireless Device 200, or Second Device 200)
the method comprising:
receiving information indicating a set of resource in at least one of time domain or frequency domain associated with a set of transmission configuration indication (TCI) state, wherein each TCI state of the set of TCI state is associated at least a part of the set of resource, and
([KIM, Figs. 10-12, Steps S1101-S1102 and ¶215-¶216 and ¶259-¶271] The UE operating as a RAN node as indicated in the Figures 10 and 12 operate according to the flowchart of Fig. 11 to receive information (DCI or higher layer signaling) indicating a set of resource (for scheduling PUSCH/resource allocation information (i.e., … frequency/time resources), which are a set or resource in at least one or time domain or frequency domain associated with a set of TCI state, wherein each TCI state of the set of TCI state is associated at least with a part of the set of resource as disclosed by the DCI’s inclusion of indication information related to a configuration of a transmission occasion (TO) (or slot), information related to a mapping of a TO/slot of an uplink channel and a TCI state (e.g. mapping order).)
performing at least one of uplink transmission or downlink reception in the set of resource associated with the set of TCI state.
([KIM, Fig. 11, Step S1103, ¶215 and ¶267-¶275] The UE transmits the plurality of scheduled PUSCH TO/slots associated with the set of TCI state.)
Regarding claim 20, KIM teaches a method performed by a radio access network (RAN) node, the method comprising:
([KIM, Fig. 12, ¶244 and ¶251] KIM teaches a RAN node such as the TRP/base station which is also referred to as The First Wireless Device 100, or Second Device 100)
transmitting information indicating a set of resource in at least one of time domain or frequency domain associated with a set of transmission configuration indication (TCI) state, wherein each TCI state of the set of TCI state is associated at least a part of the set of resource, and
([KIM, Figs. 10-12, Steps S1101-S1102 and ¶215-¶216 and ¶259-¶271] The TRP/base station operating as a RAN node as indicated in the Figures 10 and 12 operate according to the flowchart of Fig. 11 to transmit for reception information (DCI or higher layer signaling) indicating a set of resource (for scheduling PUSCH/resource allocation information (i.e., … frequency/time resources), which are a set or resource in at least one or time domain or frequency domain associated with a set of TCI state, wherein each TCI state of the set of TCI state is associated at least with a part of the set of resource as disclosed by the DCI’s inclusion of indication information related to a configuration of a transmission occasion (TO) (or slot), information related to a mapping of a TO/slot of an uplink channel and a TCI state (e.g. mapping order).)
performing uplink reception or downlink transmission in the set of resource associated with the set of TCI state.
([KIM, Fig. 11, Step S1103, ¶215 and ¶267-¶275] The UE transmits the plurality of scheduled PUSCH TO/slots associated with the set of TCI state which is received by the TRP/base station.)
Regarding claim 2 and claim 16, KIM teaches the RAN node of claim 1 and the method of claim 15, wherein the set of resource is a set of slots and each slot in the set of slot is a downlink slot or uplink slot. [KIM, Fig. 11, ¶215, ¶229 and ¶237 (PUSCH slots/TOs)]
Regarding claim 3 and claim 17, KIM teaches the RAN node of claim 2 and the method of claim 16, wherein a mapping between the set of TCI state and the set of slots is configured or predefined, and the mapping is cyclic or sequential. [KIM, ¶204-¶206, ¶215-¶216 (TCI state mapping to slots in a circulated or sequential manner)]
Regarding claim 4 and claim 18, KIM teaches the RAN node of claim 2 and the method of claim 16, wherein a time domain position of the set of slot is configured by a duration in time domain or by a set of slot index.
([KIM, ¶215] The time domain position of a set of slot is configured by a slot index in the teachings of KIM ¶215)
Regarding claim 5 and claim 19, KIM teaches the RAN node of claim 1 and the method of claim 15, wherein the set of resource is a set of frequency domain resource divided into a plurality of physical resource block (PRB) groups by a PRB group size, and each PRB group is associated with a TCI state. [KIM, ¶143 (different frequency domain resources in the form of a RB set (or otherwise referred to as a PRB set)) ¶219 and ¶242 (RBs may be grouped and the TCI state is may be mapped sequentially in a manner to whenever the order of the group increases)]
Regarding claim 6, KIM teaches the RAN node of claim 5, wherein the set of frequency domain resource is a set of frequency domain resource for a cell or a carrier, and a frequency domain starting position of the set of frequency domain resource is at least one of a frequency domain starting position of the cell, a frequency domain starting position of the carrier, a frequency domain starting position of a lowest indexed bandwidth part (BWP) for the cell or the carrier, or a frequency domain starting position of SSB for the cell or the carrier.
[KIM, Fig. 3, ¶95-¶101 (the frequency domain resource is a set of frequency domain resource for a cell/carrier, and a frequency domain starting position is shown in Fig. 3 as a starting position of a carrier)]
Regarding claim 7, KIM teaches the RAN node of claim 5, wherein the set of frequency domain resource is a set of frequency domain resource for a cell or a carrier, and a frequency domain length of the set of frequency domain resource is determined by bandwidth of the cell or the carrier.
([See KIM, Figs. 3-4, and ¶95] KIM discloses wherein the set of frequency domain resources is a set of frequency domain resource for a cell/carrier as indicated in Figs. 3 and 4 of KIM, and the frequency domain length of the set of frequency domain resource is determined by the bandwidth of the cell/carrier (12 consecutive subcarriers in a frequency domain for the RB of Figs. 3-4.)
Regarding claim 9, KIM teaches the RAN node of claim 1, wherein subcarrier spacing (SCS) to determine a physical resource block (PRB) of a set of resource in frequency domain is configured, based on a frequency band of a cell or a carrier, based on synchronization signal (SS)/physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block (SSB) for a cell or carrier, based on a lowest indexed bandwidth part (BWP) configuration for a cell or a carrier, or based on SCS of a corresponding BWP associated with the set of resource in frequency domain.
[See KIM, Fig. 4, ¶88-¶89 and ¶104 (The SCS to corresponding to a PRB of a set of resource in the frequency domain is configured in the table based on SCS of a corresponding BWP associated with the set of resource in frequency domain).]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of SAKHNINI et al. US 2022/002188 (hereinafter SAKHNINI).
Regarding claim 8, KIM The RAN node of claim 1, wherein a set of resources is associated with the set of TCI state (See the rejection of claim 1 above)
But it does not teach, wherein the set of resource is associated with the set of TCI state via at least one pair of values, and for each pair of values, a value corresponds to a frequency domain starting position of at least part of the set of frequency domain resource associated with a TCI state of the at least one TCI states and the other value corresponds to a frequency domain length of the at least part of the set of frequency domain resource.
However, SAKHNINI teaches wherein the set of resource is associated with the set of TCI state via at least one pair of values, and for each pair of values, a value corresponds to a frequency domain starting position of at least part of the set of frequency domain resource associated with a TCI state of the at least one TCI states and the other value corresponds to a frequency domain length of the at least part of the set of frequency domain resource. (SAKHNINI teaches in Fig. 4 that the set of resource is associated with the set of TCI state via at least one pair of values, and the for each pair of values, a value corresponds to the frequency domain starting position as shown in the 2 dimensional figure of Fig. 4 of SAKHNINI (the lowest point on the Frequency Axis) associated with a TCI state (shown according to its TCI state index) of the at least one TCI states and the over value corresponds to the frequency domain length (the displacement/range along the Frequency axis from the lowest position on the Frequency axis corresponding to the associated TCI state (TCI state index) to the highest position on the Frequency axis corresponding to the associated TCI state (TCI state index)) of the at least part of the set of frequency domain resources (BWPs shown as bandwidth regions 402-406 along the Frequency axis.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of KIM, indicating the set of TCI state associated with a resource, with the teachings of SAKHNINI, disclosing that the TCI states of the set of TCI state are associated with a frequency range having a starting point and length of the frequency domain resource. The resulting benefit of the combination would have been the ability to utilize different frequency ranges that are associated with more favorable capabilities and/or properties for achieving reduced interference [SAKHNINI, ¶78] and facilitating the efficient exchange of communication between a base station and UE based on application of different sets of parameters when communicating in respective frequency regions [SAKHNINI, ¶143 and ¶156].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Khoshnevisan et al. US 2021/0226754 (hereinafter Khosh).
Regarding claim 10, KIM teaches the RAN node of claim 1, wherein the set of resource is a set of resource element (RE) of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) code division multiplexing (CDM) group [KIM, Figs. 3-4 (The set of resources in Figs. 3-4 of KIM are the set of RE), ¶142 (different layer groups are respectively transmitted through DMRS ports belonging to different CDM groups.)].
But it does not teach in the case that there are two DMRS CDM groups and two TCI states, REs corresponding to a first one of the two DMRS CDM groups is associated with a first one of the two TCI states, and REs corresponding to a second one of the two DMRS CDM groups is associated with a second one of the two TCI states.
However, Khosh teaches, wherein the set of resource is a set of resource element (RE) of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) code division multiplexing (CDM) group, and in the case that there are two DMRS CDM groups and two TCI states, REs corresponding to a first one of the two DMRS CDM groups is associated with a first one of the two TCI states, and REs corresponding to a second one of the two DMRS CDM groups is associated with a second one of the two TCI states.
[Khosh, ¶40 and ¶215]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of KIM, indicating that DMRS ports belong to different CDM groups, with the teachings of Khosh, disclosing that set of REs of a DMRS CDM group, and in the case that there are two DRMS CDM groups and two TCI states, REs corresponding to a first DMRS group is associated with a first TCI state and REs corresponding to a second one or the two DMRS CDM groups is associated with a second one of the two TCI states. The resulting benefit of the combination would have been the ability use the described techniques to improve the diversity and reliability of a downlink control channel [Khosh, ¶72].
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM, in view of Khosh as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of KIM, in view of Khosh
KIM et al.US 2017/0373735 (hereinafter KIM2)
Regarding claim 11, KIM, in view of Khosh teaches the RAN node of claim 10, wherein a time or frequency position of the REs within a physical resource block (PRB) (See the rejection of claim 1 and Figs. 3-4 of KIM)
But it does not teach wherein a time or frequency position of the REs within a physical resource block (PRB) is determined based on a number of additional DMRS, a number of front loaded DMRS symbols, time domain position of the additional DMRS, and a number of DMRS ports.
However, KIM2 teaches wherein a time or frequency position of the REs within a physical resource block (PRB) is determined based on a number of additional DMRS, a number of front loaded DMRS symbols, time domain position of the additional DMRS, and a number of DMRS ports [KIM2, ¶222].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of KIM, in view of Khosh, indicating with the teachings of KIM2, disclosing wherein a time or frequency position of the REs within a physical resource block (PRB) is determined based on a number of additional DMRS, a number of front loaded DMRS symbols, time domain position of the additional DMRS, and a number of DMRS ports (as the each of number of DMRS ports are transmitted in a corresponding RE of the REs on the frequency axis). The resulting benefit of the combination would have been the ability to stabilize PARR (Peak-to-Average Power Ratio) [KIM, ¶225].
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Falkenberg US 2024/0187291 (hereinafter Falken).
Regarding claim 12, KIM teaches the RAN node of claim 1, wherein the set of resource is a set of resource element (RE) [KIM, Figs. 3-4],
but it does not teach wherein in the case that there are two demodulation reference signal (DMRS) code division multiplexing (CDM) groups, two TCI states and two PTRS ports, a first one of the two PTRS ports is associated with a first one of the two TCI states and a lowest indexed DMRS port in a first one of the two DMRS CDM groups, and a second one of the two PTRS ports is associated with a second one of the two TCI states and a lowest indexed DMRS port in a second one of the two DMRS CDM groups.
However, Falken teaches wherein the set of resource is a set of resource element (RE) of a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) port, and in the case that there are two demodulation reference signal (DMRS) code division multiplexing (CDM) groups, two TCI states and two PTRS ports, a first one of the two PTRS ports is associated with a first one of the two TCI states and a lowest indexed DMRS port in a first one of the two DMRS CDM groups, and a second one of the two PTRS ports is associated with a second one of the two TCI states and a lowest indexed DMRS port in a second one of the two DMRS CDM groups [Falken, ¶166].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of KIM, indicating a RAN node of a wireless communication system, wherein the set of resources is a set of RE, with the teachings of Falken, disclosing wherein the set of resource is a set of resource element (RE) of a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) port, and in the case that there are two demodulation reference signal (DMRS) code division multiplexing (CDM) groups, two TCI states and two PTRS ports, a first one of the two PTRS ports is associated with a first one of the two TCI states and a lowest indexed DMRS port in a first one of the two DMRS CDM groups, and a second one of the two PTRS ports is associated with a second one of the two TCI states and a lowest indexed DMRS port in a second one of the two DMRS CDM groups. The benefiting result of the combination would have been the ability to exploit the importance of phase tracking for the correct functioning of the wireless system by enhancing the PTRS signal generation in downlink, uplink and sidelink based on utilizing a chirp signal and enhancing the phase tracking performance at the UE or base station to counter phase differences that may otherwise occur because clocks of remote devices are not perfectly aligned which if not countered would produce phase errors/frequency discrepancies which may lead to delays between the transmitter and receiver signals translating into phase offsets which would result in higher bit error rates and thus degraded performance of the wireless communication system [Falken, ¶168].
Regarding claim 13, the combination of KIM, in view of Falken teaches the RAN node of claim 12, wherein REs within a resource block (RB) or RBs of each PTRS port are determined by a number of symbol between adjacent PTRS symbols, a number of RBs between adjacent RBs containing PTRS port, a subcarrier level offset with respect to an associated DMRS port. [Falken, Fig. 16-17, ¶117 (Fig. 16 depicts the REs within a resource block or and Fig. 17 also shows RBs of each PTRS port, which are determined by a number of symbol between adjacent PTRS symbols)].
The rational of obviousness and motivation to combine KIM, in view of Falken is the same as that which is applied to the rejection of claim 12 above.
Conclusion
/LONNIE V SWEET/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467