DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Application No. 18858480, filed on 10/21/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/21/2024 was filed after the filing date of the application on 10/21/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, it is unclear if limitations after “optionally” is required by the claim or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Obiol (US 7171885 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Obiol teaches a clamping device (see Figures 1-2) for clamping a die board onto a die holding cylinder of a rotary die cutting machine, the clamping device comprising a fluid pressure cylinder (5) with an axially displaceable piston,
a clamping bolt (3) being attached to the piston, the clamping bolt comprising a shank (near 7) and a head (7) extending radially from the shank (see Figure 1),
wherein the fluid pressure cylinder is configured for displacing the piston axially outwards in response to injection of fluid into the fluid pressure cylinder (see Figure 1),
the clamping device further comprising a clamping spring (14) arranged to bias the piston axially inwards, characterized in that wherein the clamping bolt comprises a threaded portion by which the clamping bolt is attached to the piston by a threaded connection (thread near 4, see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 2, Obiol teaches the head of the clamping bolt is configured to facilitate the application of torque to the clamping bolt for releasing the clamping bolt from the piston by unscrewing (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Obiol teaches a nut (4) is provided in the piston, the threaded portion of the clamping bolt being engaged with an internal thread of the nut (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Obiol teaches the nut is arranged within the piston in an axially displaceable manner, the nut being biased axially outwards by a nut supporting spring (see Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Obiol (US 7171885 B1) in view of Sandford (US 5515749).
Regarding claim 5, Obiol teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 3 above.
Obiol fails to teach the nut is blocked against rotation, and wherein the nut an external shape matching an internal shape of a portion of the piston, so that the nut can slide in the axial direction within the piston, but is blocked against.
Sandford teaches the nut is blocked against rotation (33 and 12), and wherein the nut an external shape matching an internal shape of a portion of a part (see Figure 2), so that the nut can slide in the axial direction within the part, but is blocked against (col. 4 lines 61-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Obiol to add the matching shape for the nut, as taught by Sandford, in order to prevent rotation during mounting (col. 4 lines 61-67 of Sandford).
Regarding claim 6, Obiol teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 3 above.
Obiol fails to teach the piston is blocked against rotation in relation to the fluid pressure cylinder.
Sandford teaches the nut is blocked against rotation (33 and 12), and wherein the nut an external shape matching an internal shape of a portion of a part (see Figure 2), so that the nut can slide in the axial direction within the part, but is blocked against (col. 4 lines 61-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Obiol to add the matching shape for the nut, as taught by Sandford, in order to prevent rotation during mounting (col. 4 lines 61-67 of Sandford).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Obiol (US 7171885 B1) in view of Rozniecki (US 4621962).
Regarding claim 7, Obiol teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 1 above.
Obiol fails to teach the head of the clamping bolt comprises a portion with a circumference having a non-circular cross section.
Rozniecki teaches the head of the clamping bolt comprises a portion with a circumference having a non-circular cross section (26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Obiol to add the non-circular cross section, as taught by Rozniecki. One of ordinary skill in the art understand the a non-circular cross section can help with rotation of the bolt during mounting.
Regarding claim 8, Obiol teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 3 above.
Obiol fails to teach the head of the clamping bolt comprises a recessed portion adapted for insertion of a tool for unscrewing the clamping bolt.
Rozniecki teaches the head of the clamping bolt comprises a portion with a circumference having a non-circular cross section (26), the head of the clamping bolt comprises a recessed portion adapted for insertion of a tool for unscrewing the clamping bolt (at the edge of 26.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Obiol to add the non-circular cross section, as taught by Rozniecki. One of ordinary skill in the art understand the a non-circular cross section can help with rotation of the bolt during mounting.
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Obiol (US 7171885 B1) in view of Sharp (US 1088105).
Regarding claim 9, Obiol teaches an assembly comprising a clamping device according to claim 1, wherein the assembly further comprises an interface member of a die board, the interface member comprising an opening having a wider portion shaped and dimensioned to allow the head of the clamping bolt to pass through the wider portion (see Figure 1 of Obiol), and a narrower portion shaped and dimensioned so as not to allow the head of the clamping bolt to pass through the narrower portion (see Figure 1 of Obiol), so as to allow the clamping bolt to apply a clamping force onto the interface member (see Figure 1 of Obiol).
Obiol fails to teach an interface member coupled to a die board.
Sharp teach an interface member (17) coupled to a part (see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Obiol to make the interface member into a separated part, as taught by Sharp. Since the courts have held that making parts separable of an invention involves only routine skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dulberg MEPE 2144.04 V. C.
Regarding claim 10, modified Obiol further teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 9 above.
Modified Obiol fails to teach the interface member is of metal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Obiol to make the interface member out of metal. Since the court have held that choosing a known material for its intended use involves only routine skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. MEPE 2144.07
Regarding claim 11, modified Obiol further teaches the interface member is an insert to be inserted into a through hole in a die board, the insert comprising a bottom with the opening (as modified by Sharp, see Figure 5 of Sharp).
Regarding claim 12, modified Obiol further teaches a laterally extending rim portion surrounding at least part of the upper end of the insert, the rim portion being configured for being supported on an upper surface of a die board when the insert is placed in a through hole in the die board (as modified by Sharp, see Figure 5 of Sharp).
Regarding claim 13, modified Obiol further teaches the interface member is configured to be attached to an inner surface of a die board, wherein the clamping device and/or the die holding cylinder optionally comprises a recess for receiving at least part of the interface member, and wherein the interface member optionally is arc-shaped (as modified by Sharp, see Figure 5 of Sharp).
Regarding claim 14, modified Obiol further teaches a die cutting machine comprising a die holding-cylinder and a plurality of clamping devices and/or a plurality of assemblies according to claim 9, wherein the clamping devices are inserted in recesses in the die holding cylinder (see Figure 2 of Obiol).
Regarding claim 15, modified Obiol further teaches a plurality of die boards, wherein the die cutting machine comprises a plurality of assemblies, and wherein: each die board comprises a plurality of through holes, wherein the interface members of at least some of the assemblies are arranged in at least some of the through holes, or wherein the interface members of at least some of the assemblies are attached to an inner surface of at least one of the die boards, wherein the interface members are arranged to fit into recesses in the clamping device and/or into recesses in the die holding cylinder (see Figure 2 of Obiol).
Regarding claim 16, modified Obiol further teaches a method of preparing a die cutting machine, comprising the steps of: providing a die holding cylinder with a plurality of recesses; providing a plurality of die boards; arranging the clamping device of an assembly according to claim 9 in each of at least some of the recesses; and arranging an insert to be inserted into a through hole in a die board, the insert comprising a bottom with the opening, in each of at least some through holes in at least one of the die boards; or attaching at least one interface member configured to be attached to an inner surface of a die board, wherein the clamping device and/or the die holding cylinder optionally comprises a recess for receiving at least part of the interface member, and wherein the interface member optionally is arc-shaped to an inner surface of at least one of the die boards (see Figure 2 of Obiol).
Conclusion
/LIANG DONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 6/18/2026