DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 19, 20, 22, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 2023/0261843 A1)(hereinafter “Liu”).
Regarding claim 16, Liu discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (Fig. 1, [0029]: a user equipment 120), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station (Fig. 4, [0079]: a network entity 405 (e.g., a base station 110, a CU 310, a DU 330, an RU 340, or the like) and a UE 120 may communicate. In some aspects, the network entity 405 and the UE 120 may be part of a wireless network (e.g., wireless network 100).), configuration information indicating a second hybrid automatic repeat acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) reporting mode (Fig. 4, [0080]: as shown by reference number 410, the network entity 405 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, configuration information. [0081]: in some aspects, the configuration information may indicate a codebook type that the UE 120 is to use for HARQ feedback for multicast transmissions.), wherein the second HARQ- ACK reporting mode is associated with negative acknowledgement (NACK)-only feedback for multicast ([0105]: in some aspects, the UE 120 may be configured to use different HARQ feedback types for different multicast RNTIs configured for the UE 120. For example, the UE 120 may be configured to use ACK/NACK-based feedback for one or more first multicast RNTIs (e.g., G-RNTIs) configured for the UE 120, and the UE 120 may be configured to use NACK-only-based feedback for one or more second multicast RNTIs (e.g., G-RNTIs) configured for the UE 120.);
determining time domain overlapping among a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) associated with the second HARQ-ACK reporting mode and a second PUCCH or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ([0053]: in some aspects, the UE includes means for receiving, from a network entity, an uplink grant for a PUSCH that is to overlap in time with a PUCCH used for HARQ feedback for at least multicast, the uplink grant including a UL-DAI indication that indicates at least one of: whether the HARQ feedback of the PUCCH is to be multiplexed on the PUSCH, or a size for the HARQ feedback; and/or means for communicating, with the network entity, in accordance with the UL-DAI indication.);
in case that the first PUCCH is overlapped with the second PUCCH or the PUSCH, multiplexing HARQ-ACK information for the first PUCCH with the second PUCCH or the PUSCH ([0070]: for multicast, HARQ-ACK feedback may be configured as ACK/NACK-based feedback or NACK-only-based feedback per G-RNTI or per G-CS-RNTI. When a PUCCH for multicast feedback is overlapping with PUSCH, ACK/NACK-based feedback, if configured for a G-RNTI, may be multiplexed in the PUSCH, and NACK-only-based feedback, if configured for a G-RNTI, may be transformed into ACK/NACK-based feedback and multiplexed in the PUSCH); and
transmitting, to the base station, the multiplexed HARQ-ACK information ([0077]: in some scenarios, a PUCCH carrying multicast HARQ-ACK feedback may overlap (e.g., in time, or in time and in frequency) with a PUSCH of the same priority. Here, the HARQ-ACK feedback of the PUCCH may be multiplexed on the PUSCH. However, in such scenarios, wireless networks generally lack support for techniques to indicate, in an uplink grant, a UL-DAI applicable for multicast HARQ-ACK feedback associated with multiple G-RNTIs. In some scenarios, a PUCCH carrying unicast and multicast HARQ-ACK feedback may overlap (e.g., in time, or in time and in frequency) with a PUSCH of the same priority. Here, the HARQ-ACK feedback of the PUCCH may be multiplexed on the PUSCH. Fig. 4, [0107]: as shown by reference number 425, the UE 120 may communicate with the network entity 405 in accordance with the UL-DAI indication. For example, as described herein, the UL-DAI indication may indicate whether the UE 120 is to multiplex the HARQ feedback on the PUSCH and/or a size (e.g., a quantity of bits) for the HARQ feedback. Thus, the UE 120 may interpret the UL-DAI indication, as described herein, to determine whether to multiplex HARQ feedback associated with multiple multicast RNTIs, whether to multiplex HARQ feedback associated with unicast and multicast, and/or a size for the HARQ feedback that is to be multiplexed.).
Regarding claim 19, Liu discloses all features of claim 16 as outlined above.
Liu also discloses wherein all values of the HARQ-ACK information for the first PUCCH are ACKs ([0073]: if a PUCCH carrying only multicast HARQ-ACK overlaps with a PUSCH associated with the same priority as the PUCCH, the UE may use an uplink (UL)-DAI (e.g., a DAI indicated in an uplink grant) that indicates the quantity of HARQ-ACK bits for multicast (e.g., in a similar manner in which a UL-DAI is used for unicast HARQ-ACK).).
Regarding claim 20, Liu discloses all features of claim 16 as outlined above.
Liu also discloses wherein multiplexing the HARQ-ACK information for the first PUCCH with the second PUCCH or the PUSCH comprises converting the HARQ-ACK information based on a first HARQ-ACK reporting mode ([0070]: for multicast, HARQ-ACK feedback may be configured as ACK/NACK-based feedback or NACK-only-based feedback per G-RNTI or per G-CS-RNTI. When a PUCCH for multicast feedback is overlapping with PUSCH, ACK/NACK-based feedback, if configured for a G-RNTI, may be multiplexed in the PUSCH, and NACK-only-based feedback, if configured for a G-RNTI, may be transformed into ACK/NACK-based feedback and multiplexed in the PUSCH)), and
wherein the first HARQ-ACK reporting mode is for reporting an ACK value or a NACK value ([0070]: for multicast, HARQ-ACK feedback may be configured as ACK/NACK-based feedback.).
Referring now to claim 22, Liu discloses a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (Fig. 1, [0029]: a user equipment 120), the UE comprising:
a transceiver configured to transmit and receive signals (Fig. 7, [0150]: reception component 702, transmission component 704); and
a controller coupled to the transceiver and configured to (Fig. 7, [0150]: communication manager 710):
receive, from a base station (Fig. 4, [0079]: a network entity 405 (e.g., a base station 110, a CU 310, a DU 330, an RU 340, or the like) and a UE 120 may communicate. In some aspects, the network entity 405 and the UE 120 may be part of a wireless network (e.g., wireless network 100).), configuration information indicating a second hybrid automatic repeat acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) reporting mode (Fig. 4, [0080]: as shown by reference number 410, the network entity 405 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, configuration information. [0081]: in some aspects, the configuration information may indicate a codebook type that the UE 120 is to use for HARQ feedback for multicast transmissions.), wherein the second HARQ-ACK reporting mode is associated with negative acknowledgement (NACK)-only feedback for multicast ([0105]: in some aspects, the UE 120 may be configured to use different HARQ feedback types for different multicast RNTIs configured for the UE 120. For example, the UE 120 may be configured to use ACK/NACK-based feedback for one or more first multicast RNTIs (e.g., G-RNTIs) configured for the UE 120, and the UE 120 may be configured to use NACK-only-based feedback for one or more second multicast RNTIs (e.g., G-RNTIs) configured for the UE 120.),
determine time domain overlapping among a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) associated with the second HARQ-ACK reporting mode and a second PUCCH or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) [0053]: in some aspects, the UE includes means for receiving, from a network entity, an uplink grant for a PUSCH that is to overlap in time with a PUCCH used for HARQ feedback for at least multicast, the uplink grant including a UL-DAI indication that indicates at least one of: whether the HARQ feedback of the PUCCH is to be multiplexed on the PUSCH, or a size for the HARQ feedback; and/or means for communicating, with the network entity, in accordance with the UL-DAI indication.),
in case that the first PUCCH is overlapped with the second PUCCH or the PUSCH, multiplex HARQ-ACK information for the first PUCCH with the second PUCCH or the PUSCH ([0070]: for multicast, HARQ-ACK feedback may be configured as ACK/NACK-based feedback or NACK-only-based feedback per G-RNTI or per G-CS-RNTI. When a PUCCH for multicast feedback is overlapping with PUSCH, ACK/NACK-based feedback, if configured for a G-RNTI, may be multiplexed in the PUSCH, and NACK-only-based feedback, if configured for a G-RNTI, may be transformed into ACK/NACK-based feedback and multiplexed in the PUSCH), and
transmit, to the base station, the multiplexed HARQ-ACK information ([0077]: in some scenarios, a PUCCH carrying multicast HARQ-ACK feedback may overlap (e.g., in time, or in time and in frequency) with a PUSCH of the same priority. Here, the HARQ-ACK feedback of the PUCCH may be multiplexed on the PUSCH. However, in such scenarios, wireless networks generally lack support for techniques to indicate, in an uplink grant, a UL-DAI applicable for multicast HARQ-ACK feedback associated with multiple G-RNTIs. In some scenarios, a PUCCH carrying unicast and multicast HARQ-ACK feedback may overlap (e.g., in time, or in time and in frequency) with a PUSCH of the same priority. Here, the HARQ-ACK feedback of the PUCCH may be multiplexed on the PUSCH. Fig. 4, [0107]: as shown by reference number 425, the UE 120 may communicate with the network entity 405 in accordance with the UL-DAI indication. For example, as described herein, the UL-DAI indication may indicate whether the UE 120 is to multiplex the HARQ feedback on the PUSCH and/or a size (e.g., a quantity of bits) for the HARQ feedback. Thus, the UE 120 may interpret the UL-DAI indication, as described herein, to determine whether to multiplex HARQ feedback associated with multiple multicast RNTIs, whether to multiplex HARQ feedback associated with unicast and multicast, and/or a size for the HARQ feedback that is to be multiplexed.).
Regarding claim 25, Liu discloses all features of claim 22 as outlined above.
Liu also discloses wherein all values of the HARQ-ACK information for the first PUCCH are ACKs ([0073]: if a PUCCH carrying only multicast HARQ-ACK overlaps with a PUSCH associated with the same priority as the PUCCH, the UE may use an uplink (UL)-DAI (e.g., a DAI indicated in an uplink grant) that indicates the quantity of HARQ-ACK bits for multicast (e.g., in a similar manner in which a UL-DAI is used for unicast HARQ-ACK).).
Regarding claim 26, Liu discloses all features of claim 22 as outlined above.
Liu also discloses wherein the controller is further configured to multiplex the HARQ-ACK information for the first PUCCH with the second PUCCH or the PUSCH comprises converting the HARQ-ACK information based on a first HARQ-ACK reporting mode ([0070]: for multicast, HARQ-ACK feedback may be configured as ACK/NACK-based feedback or NACK-only-based feedback per G-RNTI or per G-CS-RNTI. When a PUCCH for multicast feedback is overlapping with PUSCH, ACK/NACK-based feedback, if configured for a G-RNTI, may be multiplexed in the PUSCH, and NACK-only-based feedback, if configured for a G-RNTI, may be transformed into ACK/NACK-based feedback and multiplexed in the PUSCH)), and
wherein the first HARQ-ACK reporting mode is for reporting an ACK value or a NACK value ([0070]: for multicast, HARQ-ACK feedback may be configured as ACK/NACK-based feedback.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-18 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Lee et al. (US 2023/0096989 A1)(hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 17, Liu discloses all features of claim 16 as outlined above.
Liu discloses configuring semi persistent scheduling for PDSCH in association with NACK-only based HARQ feedback (See Liu [0085]). However, Liu does not specifically disclose wherein a PUCCH resource table for the first PUCCH is configured for a semi persistent scheduling (SPS) physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). However, Lee discloses wherein a PUCCH resource table for the first PUCCH is configured for a semi persistent scheduling (SPS) physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) ([0167]: for group common SPS, group common PUCCH resources used for NACK only based HARQ-ACK may be semi-statically configured per SPS configuration for SPS PDSCH transmissions.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SPS configuration for PDSCH, as taught by Liu, to include a PUCCH resource table for the PUCCH configured for SPS PDSCH, as taught by Lee. Doing so allows for more efficient allocation of PUCCH resources used for NACK only based HARQ (see Lee [0167]).
Regarding claim 18, Liu in view of Lee discloses all features of claim 17 as outlined above.
Liu does not disclose wherein states of HARQ-ACK information and PUCCH resources in the PUCCH resource table have a one-one correspondence. However, discloses wherein states of HARQ-ACK information and PUCCH resources in the PUCCH resource table have a one-one correspondence ([0167]: for group common SPS, group common PUCCH resources used for NACK only based HARQ-ACK may be semi-statically configured per SPS configuration for SPS PDSCH transmissions. Examiner respectfully submits that per SPS configuration for the PUCCH resources is equivalent to a one-one correspondence.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SPS configuration for PDSCH, as taught by Liu, to include wherein states of HARQ-ACK information and PUCCH resources in the PUCCH resource table have a one-one correspondence, as taught by Lee. Doing so allows for more efficient allocation of PUCCH resources used for NACK only based HARQ (see Lee [0167]).
Regarding claim 23, Liu discloses all features of claim 22 as outlined above.
Liu discloses configuring semi persistent scheduling for PDSCH in association with NACK-only based HARQ feedback (See Liu [0085]). However, Liu does not specifically disclose wherein a PUCCH resource table for the first PUCCH is configured for a semi persistent scheduling (SPS) physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). However, Lee discloses wherein a PUCCH resource table for the first PUCCH is configured for a semi persistent scheduling (SPS) physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) ([0167]: for group common SPS, group common PUCCH resources used for NACK only based HARQ-ACK may be semi-statically configured per SPS configuration for SPS PDSCH transmissions.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SPS configuration for PDSCH, as taught by Liu, to include a PUCCH resource table for the PUCCH configured for SPS PDSCH, as taught by Lee. Doing so allows for more efficient allocation of PUCCH resources used for NACK only based HARQ (see Lee [0167]).
Regarding claim 24, Liu in view of Lee discloses all features of claim 23 as outlined above.
Liu does not disclose wherein states of HARQ-ACK information and PUCCH resources in the PUCCH resource table have a one-one correspondence. However, discloses wherein states of HARQ-ACK information and PUCCH resources in the PUCCH resource table have a one-one correspondence ([0167]: for group common SPS, group common PUCCH resources used for NACK only based HARQ-ACK may be semi-statically configured per SPS configuration for SPS PDSCH transmissions. Examiner respectfully submits that per SPS configuration for the PUCCH resources is equivalent to a one-one correspondence.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SPS configuration for PDSCH, as taught by Liu, to include wherein states of HARQ-ACK information and PUCCH resources in the PUCCH resource table have a one-one correspondence, as taught by Lee. Doing so allows for more efficient allocation of PUCCH resources used for NACK only based HARQ (see Lee [0167]).
Claims 21 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of NTT Docomo et al. (“Discussion on HARQ-ACK feedback for multicast for RRC_CONNECTED UEs”, R1-2112129, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG1 #107-e, November 11-19, 2021.) (hereinafter “NTT Docomo”)(cited with IDS filed 07/02/2025).
Regarding claims 21 and 27, Liu discloses all features of claims 16 and 22 as outlined above.
Liu does not disclose wherein all PUCCH resources associated with the second HARQ-ACK reporting mode have a same starting symbol and a same number of symbols. However, NTT Docomo discloses wherein all PUCCH resources associated with the second HARQ-ACK reporting mode have a same starting symbol and a same number of symbols (page 4, section 2.3.1: with respect to NACK-only based HARQ feedback and the use of multiple HARQ-ACL bits in NACK-only based feedback: NTT Docomo discloses that “to avoid blind detection, gNB should configure the same OFDM symbols for all PUCCH resources for NACK-only based feedback.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modify the PUCCH resources associated with the NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback reporting mode, as taught by Liu, to include wherein all PUCCH resources associated with the NACK-only based HARQ-ACK reporting mode have a same starting symbol and a same number of symbols, as taught by NTT Docomo. Doing so allows for avoiding blind detection to reduce resource usage within the communication system (see NTT Docomo: page 4, section 2.3.1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li et al. (US 2024/0405922 A1) – Response Feedback Method and Apparatus, and Terminal – discloses a HARQ NACK only feedback mode in which when time domain resources of PUCCH and PUSCH carrying HARQ-ACK/NACK overlap, the HARQ-ACK/NACK is multiplexed on the PUSCH.
Elmali et al. (US 2024/0396759 A1) – Devices, Methods and Computer Readable Media For Multiplexing NACK-Only HARQ Feedback – discloses converting HARQ feedback bits for multicast transmissions, multiplexing the converted HARQ feedback bits into a multiplexed HARQ feedback, selecting a PUCCH resource for transmission of the multiplexed HARQ feedback, and transmitting the multiplexed HARQ feedback using the selected PUCCH resource.
/MICHAEL WAYNE MADDOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/CHI TANG P CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463