Non-Art Rejection
2. 35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
3. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to nonstatutory subject matter as not falling within one of the four statutory categories of invention (i.e., a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter).
Claims 1-5 are not directed to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter. The claimed element’s “collector” and “comparison and determiner” are non-structural limitations, and in light of the specification these can be implemented as software, i.e., computer program to be executed by a generic computer (see paragraph 0052). Therefore, the claimed subject matter as a whole fails to fall within the definition of a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter, patentable eligible category subject matter.
The claims may be amended by adding specific structural hardware elements.
4. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea, law of nature, or nature phenomenon) without significant more.
Claim 6 recites an abstract idea. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because claim 6 is directed to a broad plan, concept or mental process that can be performed in human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper, i.e., collecting and performing data comparison/calculation on a sheet of paper. The instant claim is not positively tied to a particular machine that accomplishes the claimed method (or apparatus) and therefore do not qualify as a statutory process. Particularly, claim 6 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the computer as recited is a generic computer component rather than specific computer component that transforms underlying subject matter. Accordingly claim 6 is ineligible.
6. Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The following language is vague and indefinite:
In claim 1, lines 4-5, “a comparison and determiner configured to perform comparison and determination using a plurality of responses”, it is not clear as to which data comparison being performed, e.g., comparing each response to a predetermined data or comparing responses against each other.
Art Rejection
9. Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunasekara, U.S. pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2019/0149443, in view of Zioulas, U.S. pat. No. 7,593,351.
Per claim 1, Gunasekara discloses a system comprising:
a) a collector, e.g., controller, configured to collect a response to a signal transmitted to each of a plurality of remote devices to be remotely monitored, e.g., APs (see par 0192-0193);
b) a comparison and determiner configured to perform a determination using a plurality of responses obtained from the plurality of remote devices at a timing when the responses have been obtained from all of the plurality of remote devices, i.e., determining whether all responses received at predetermined interval (see par 0194, 0199).
Gunasekara does not explicitly teach performing a comparison function, e.g., comparing time stamps. However, use of timestamp comparison to determine whether a response is received within a predetermined interval is known in the art as disclosed by Zioulas (see Zioulas, col 1, ln 43-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize such timestamp comparison in Gunasekara because it would have enabled determining whether a response is received during the predetermine interval (see par 0194, 0199).
Claim 6 is similar in scope as that of claim 1 and hence is rejected for the same rationale set forth above.
10. Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunasekara and Zioulas, and further in view of Edstrom, U.S. pat. No. 3,798,613.
Per claims 2-3, Gunasekara does not teach holding a flag indicating whether or not a response has been obtained for each remote device and outputting an activation signal to perform comparison and determination using the obtained plurality of responses when the state of the flag indicating that responses have been obtained from all of the remote devices, wherein each time a response is obtained from a remote device, a state of flag corresponding to the remote device is changed to indicate that the responses have been obtained. However, such use of flags to control a series of chained processes executed by a processor is well known in the art as disclosed by Edstrom, wherein execution of a previous process/command would set/hold a flag that is used to activate execution of a next process/command (see Edstrom, col 12, ln 18-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize such control flags in Gunasekara because it would have enabled controlling execution of series of processes including receiving response signals from remote devices, determining whether one or more responses are received at a predetermined interval in response to receiving the response signals, and other subsequent actions (see par 0193, 0199).
Per claim 4, Gunasekara teaches computing and adjusting a predicted time interval at which a response is received next from the remote device on the basis of information on the reception completion time (see par 0194).
Per claim 5, Gunasekara teaches adjusting the time by adding time required for processing of a response to the predicted reception time (see par 0176).
Conclusion
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/Viet D Vu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455
3/23/26