DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to claims filed on 10/21/2024. Claims 1-16, 28-30, and 38 are pending for evaluation.
Note: The claims are presented with independent claims listed first in numerical order, followed by dependent claims also in numerical order; any dual or mirror claims are grouped with the lowest-numbered claim in their respective pairing.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/25/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The preliminary Amendment filed on 10/21/2024 has been entered. Claims 3, 6, 7, 10, 11 12, 14, 15, 16 and 30 have been amended; Claims 17-27 and 31-37 have been canceled. Claim 38 is newly added. Claims 1-16, 28-30, and 38 remain pending for evaluation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record does not teach or suggest, in the configuration where the first and second repetition parameters are both set to ON, determining not to report a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) for either the first CMR set or the second CMR set. Although the prior art teaches configurable repetition parameters and various techniques for selectively reporting CMR/CRI information, it does not disclose the claimed combination of active repetition for both CMR sets with omission of CRI reporting for both sets.
Claims 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 12, the prior art of record teaches scheduling first and second CMR sets within a common slot. However, it does not teach or suggest scheduling the two CMR sets such that their respective signals occupy a number of overlapping symbols within that slot. This overlapping-symbol relationship distinguishes the claimed arrangement from the prior art of record. Accordingly, Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims
Claims 13-15 are objected to because they depend on Claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 7, 28-30, and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shao et al. (US 20230232389).
Regarding Claim 1, Shao teaches one or more processors configured to execute instructions that cause a user equipment (UE) to perform operations comprising (Fig. 2, elements 204 and 236, Para. [0027-0036]):
receiving, from a base station, a beam report configuration that configures a UE to report measurements for a predetermined number of beam pairs, wherein the one or more beam pairs are arranged in a first Channel Measurement Resource (CMR) set and a second CMR set (Fig. 8, step 802, Para. [0095] - FIG. 8 shows a flow diagram illustrating a method 800 performed by wireless communication device 104 or 204 for channel measurement and beam management, according to example embodiments of the current disclosure. In overview, the method 800 can include the wireless communication device 104 or 204 receiving configuration of at least one radio resource control (RRC) parameter for X CMR resource sets or X CMR resource subsets of CMRs from a CMR resource set (STEP 802). The method 800 can include the wireless communication device 104 or 204 measuring channel quality for the X CMR resource sets or the X CMR resource subsets according to the configuration (STEP 804), and sending a report to the wireless communication node 102 or 202 (STEP 806). The parameter X can be an integer greater than one. The report may include at least one of a CMR index or a channel quality; See Also: Fig. 3, Para. [0037-0052]; Figs. 4-7, Para. [0053-0092]; Figs. 8-9, Para. [0093-0104]; Para. [0105-0108]; Para. [0109-0121]; Para. [0122-0126]; Fig. 10, Para. [0127-0148]);
determining that the first CMR set corresponds to a first repetition parameter and the second CMR set corresponds to a second repetition parameter (Para. [0109-0121] - [0109] The wireless communication node may support or use one or more methods/processes for configuring parameters of the CMR resource sets/subsets. According to a first configuration method/process, the wireless communication node 102 or 202 or the network can configure, for each CMR resource set/subset, a separate/corresponding set of RRC parameters, and send/transmit/communicate/broadcast the configured sets of RRC parameters to the wireless communication device 104 or 204. Accordingly, the wireless communication device 104 or 204 can receive a separate set of configuration parameters, or a separate set of RRC parameters, (e.g., denoted as NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet) for each of the X CMR resource sets or the X CMR resource subsets…………. [0111] As can be seen from the example above, all the parameters (nzp-CSI-ResourceSetId, nzp-CSI-RS-Resources, repetition, aperiodicTriggeringOffset and trs-Info) are configured/indicated under each set according to corresponding requirement, no matter whether their values are the same or different across different CMR resource sets/subsets. In general, and regardless of the configuration method/process used, the configuration received by the wireless communication device 104 or 204 can include a plurality of configurations parameters with each parameter being for, or corresponding to, one or more of the X CMR resource sets or the X CMR resource subsets. Each of the plurality of parameters can be set to the same value across various CMR resource sets/subsets (e.g., across the X CMR resource sets/subsets). In some implementations, each (or at least one) of the plurality of parameters can be set to different values across different CMR resource sets and/or CMR resource subsets; See Also: Fig. 3, Para. [0037-0052]; Figs. 4-7, Para. [0053-0092]; Figs. 8-9, Para. [0093-0104]; Para. [0105-0108]; Para. [0109-0121]; Para. [0122-0126]; Fig. 10, Para. [0127-0148] );
and transmitting, based on the first and second repetition parameters, a beam report to the base station (Fig. 8, step 806, Para. [0095] - FIG. 8 shows a flow diagram illustrating a method 800 performed by wireless communication device 104 or 204 for channel measurement and beam management, according to example embodiments of the current disclosure. In overview, the method 800 can include the wireless communication device 104 or 204 receiving configuration of at least one radio resource control (RRC) parameter for X CMR resource sets or X CMR resource subsets of CMRs from a CMR resource set (STEP 802). The method 800 can include the wireless communication device 104 or 204 measuring channel quality for the X CMR resource sets or the X CMR resource subsets according to the configuration (STEP 804), and sending a report to the wireless communication node 102 or 202 (STEP 806). The parameter X can be an integer greater than one. The report may include at least one of a CMR index or a channel quality; See Also: Fig. 3, Para. [0037-0052]; Figs. 4-7, Para. [0053-0092]; Figs. 8-9, Para. [0093-0104]; Para. [0105-0108]; Para. [0109-0121]; Para. [0122-0126]; Fig. 10, Para. [0127-0148]).
Examiner’s Note for Claim 1: Shao’s CMR-pair reporting framework maps to the claimed beam pair reporting configuration. Shao configures CMRs associated with first and second CMR group/sets and maps respective CMRs and CMR pairs with the number of CMRS/pairs being configurable, and the UE performs measurements according to the received configuration and reports measurements for the configured CMRs/CMR pairs (Shao Para. [0101-0104]).
For the claimed first and second repetition parameters, Shao further teaches that the UE receives a separate set of RRC configuration parameters (NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet) for each of the X CMR resource sets/subsets, and that repetition is one of the parameters configured for each respective set. (Shao Para. [0109-0111]).
Thus, the first and second CMR sets correspond respectively to first and second repetition parameters. Due to Shao measuring the CMR resources according to the received configuration and transmits the resulting report, and the repetition parameters form part of that configuration, the transmitted beam report is “based on the first and second repetition parameters” under the broadest reasonable interpretation of “based on.”
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1: Exemplary Set 1 and Set 2 configuration/RRC parameters for CMR resource set/subsets in Para. [0110] of Shao (US 20230232389). Each set includes a repetition field. Further, Para. [0111] expressly provides that the parameters may have the same or different values across the CMR resource sets/subsets.)]
Regarding Claim 28, Shao teaches a user equipment (UE) in communication with a base station, the UE comprising (Fig. 2, elements 202 and 204, Para. [0027-0036]):
a receiver that receives, from the base station, a beam report configuration that configures the UE to report measurements for a predetermined number of beam pairs, wherein the one or more beam pairs are arranged in a first Channel Measurement Resource (CMR) set and a second CMR set (Fig. 2, element 230, Para. [0027-0036]; Fig. 8, step 802, Para. [0095]; See Also: Fig. 3, Para. [0037-0052]; Figs. 4-7, Para. [0053-0092]; Figs. 8-9, Para. [0093-0104]; Para. [0105-0108]; Para. [0109-0121]; Para. [0122-0126]; Fig. 10, Para. [0127-0148]);
a processor that determines that the first CMR set corresponds to a first repetition parameter and the second CMR set corresponds to a second repetition parameter (Fig. 2, element 236, Para. [0027-0036]; Para. [0109-0121]; See Also: Fig. 3, Para. [0037-0052]; Figs. 4-7, Para. [0053-0092]; Figs. 8-9, Para. [0093-0104]; Para. [0105-0108]; Para. [0109-0121]; Para. [0122-0126]; Fig. 10, Para. [0127-0148]);
and a transmitter that transmits, based on the first and second repetition parameters, a beam report to the base station (Fig. 2, element 230, Para. [0027-0036]; Fig. 8, step 802, Para. [0095]; See Also: Fig. 3, Para. [0037-0052]; Figs. 4-7, Para. [0053-0092]; Figs. 8-9, Para. [0093-0104]; Para. [0105-0108]; Para. [0109-0121]; Para. [0122-0126]; Fig. 10, Para. [0127-0148]).
Regarding Claim 38, Shao teaches a method comprising (Fig. 8, Para. [0095]):
receiving, from a base station, a beam report configuration that configures a UE to report measurements for a predetermined number of beam pairs, wherein the one or more beam pairs are arranged in a first Channel Measurement Resource (CMR) set and a second CMR set (Fig. 8, step 802, Para. [0095]; See Also: Fig. 3, Para. [0037-0052]; Figs. 4-7, Para. [0053-0092]; Figs. 8-9, Para. [0093-0104]; Para. [0105-0108]; Para. [0109-0121]; Para. [0122-0126]; Fig. 10, Para. [0127-0148]);
determining that the first CMR set corresponds to a first repetition parameter and the second CMR set corresponds to a second repetition parameter (Para. [0109-0121]; See Also: Fig. 3, Para. [0037-0052]; Figs. 4-7, Para. [0053-0092]; Figs. 8-9, Para. [0093-0104]; Para. [0105-0108]; Para. [0109-0121]; Para. [0122-0126]; Fig. 10, Para. [0127-0148]);
transmitting, based on the first and second repetition parameters, a beam report to the base station (Fig. 8, step 802, Para. [0095]; See Also: Fig. 3, Para. [0037-0052]; Figs. 4-7, Para. [0053-0092]; Figs. 8-9, Para. [0093-0104]; Para. [0105-0108]; Para. [0109-0121]; Para. [0122-0126]; Fig. 10, Para. [0127-0148]).
Regarding Claims 2 and 29, Shao teaches Claims 1 and 28.
Shao further teaches
performing/performs the measurements based on the beam report configuration (Fig. 8, step 804, Para. [0095] - FIG. 8 shows a flow diagram illustrating a method 800 performed by wireless communication device 104 or 204 for channel measurement and beam management, according to example embodiments of the current disclosure. In overview, the method 800 can include the wireless communication device 104 or 204 receiving configuration of at least one radio resource control (RRC) parameter for X CMR resource sets or X CMR resource subsets of CMRs from a CMR resource set (STEP 802). The method 800 can include the wireless communication device 104 or 204 measuring channel quality for the X CMR resource sets or the X CMR resource subsets according to the configuration (STEP 804), and sending a report to the wireless communication node 102 or 202 (STEP 806). The parameter X can be an integer greater than one. The report may include at least one of a CMR index or a channel quality; See Also: Fig. 3, Para. [0037-0052]; Figs. 4-7, Para. [0053-0092]; Figs. 8-9, Para. [0093-0104]; Para. [0105-0108]; Para. [0109-0121]; Para. [0122-0126]; Fig. 10, Para. [0127-0148]).
Regarding Claim 3, Shao teaches Claim 1.
Shao further teaches
determining that the first repetition parameter is set to ON and the second repetition parameter is set to OFF (Para. [0105-0108] – [0105]………….The configuration of CMR resources can be determined by the parameter NZP-CSI-RS-Resource. The configuration can include a periodicity and offset (periodicityAndOffset) parameter which defines the CMR periodicity and slot offset for periodic/semi-persistent CSI-RS. All the CMRs from X CMR resource sets or X CMR resource subsets can be configured with the same periodicity, while the slot offset can be same or different for different CMR resources. [0106] With regard to the parameter repetition, if the corresponding field (in the configuration received by the UE) is set to off or is absent, the wireless communication device 104 or 204 may not assume that the NZP-CSI-RS resources within the CMR resource set are transmitted with the same downlink spatial domain transmission filter. The parameter repetition of each CMR resource set/sub-set can be set to the same or different value; See Also: Fig. 3, Para. [0037-0052]; Figs. 4-7, Para. [0053-0092]; Figs. 8-9, Para. [0093-0104]; Para. [0105-0108]; Para. [0109-0121]; Para. [0122-0126]; Fig. 10, Para. [0127-0148]).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 2: The NZP CSI Resource set from Shao Para. [0108] shows the repetition field is selectable as {on, off}. Para. [0106] further teaches that the repetition parameter for each CMR resource set/subset may be set to the same or a different value. Thus, for the first and second CMR resource sets having different repetition values, the first repetition parameter may be ON while the second repetition parameter is OFF.)]Examiner’s Note for Claim 3:
Regarding Claim 30, Shao teaches Claim 28.
Shao further teaches
the processor determines that the first repetition parameter is set to ON and the second repetition parameter is set to OFF,_or the processor determines that the first repetition parameter is set to ON and the second repetition parameter is set to ON (Para. [0105-0108]; See Also: Fig. 3, Para. [0037-0052]; Figs. 4-7, Para. [0053-0092]; Figs. 8-9, Para. [0093-0104]; Para. [0105-0108]; Para. [0109-0121]; Para. [0122-0126]; Fig. 10, Para. [0127-0148]).
Regarding Claim 7, Shao teaches Claim 1.
Shao further teaches
determining that the first repetition parameter is set to ON and the second repetition parameter is set to ON (Para. [0105-0108]; See Also: Fig. 3, Para. [0037-0052]; Figs. 4-7, Para. [0053-0092]; Figs. 8-9, Para. [0093-0104]; Para. [0105-0108]; Para. [0109-0121]; Para. [0122-0126]; Fig. 10, Para. [0127-0148]).
Regarding Claim 10, Shao teaches Claim 7.
Shao further teaches
reporting one Layer One Reference Signal Received Power (L1-RSRP) for either the first CMR set or the second CMR set (Para. [0053-0060] - [0053] In some embodiments, the wireless communication device may send/transmit/communicate the report to the wireless communication node 102 or 202 according to (or based on) at least one CMR. The at least one CMR can be configured by a wireless communication node. In some embodiments, the report may include: [0054] A CMR index, such as: [0055] One or more indices of CSI-RS, a SS/PBCH block, and/or other signals/resources (e.g., a SRS). [0056] Channel quality information, such as: [0057] a reference signal received power (RSRP). [0058] a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR). [0059] channel quality information (CQI). [0060] In some embodiments, the parameters to be reported may depend on a higher-layer configuration; See Also: Fig. 3, Para. [0037-0052]; Figs. 4-7, Para. [0053-0092]; Figs. 8-9, Para. [0093-0104]; Para. [0105-0108]; Para. [0109-0121]; Para. [0122-0126]; Fig. 10, Para. [0127-0148]; See Also: Fig. 3, Para. [0037-0052]; Figs. 4-7, Para. [0053-0092]; Figs. 8-9, Para. [0093-0104]; Para. [0105-0108]; Para. [0109-0121]; Para. [0122-0126]; Fig. 10, Para. [0127-0148]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 and 8, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao in view of Khoshnevisan et al. (WO2022151026), Khoshnevisan hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 4, Shao teaches Claim 3.
Yet, Shao does not expressly teach reporting a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resource Indicator (CRI) for the first CMR set in the beam report; and determining not to report the CRI for the second CMR set.
However, Khoshnevisan teaches
reporting a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resource Indicator (CRI) for the first CMR set in the beam report; and determining not to report the CRI for the second CMR set (Fig. 6, Para. [0096-0109] - [0099] As further shown in Fig. 6, in some aspects, process 600 may include transmitting, to the base station, a first CSI report, based at least in part on one or more joint channel measurements based at least in part on the first CSI report configuration and the second CSI report configuration (block 630) . For example, the UE (e.g., using transmission component 1004, depicted in Fig. 10) may transmit the first CSI report, based at least in part on one or more joint channel measurements based at least in part on the first CSI report configuration and the second CSI report configuration, as described above. In some aspects, the first CSI report includes a CRI that indicates whether a CMR is selected from the first set of CMRs; See Also: Fig. 2, Para. [0048-0063]; Fig. 3, Para. [0064-0068]; Fig. 4, Para. [0069-0079]; Fig. 5, Para. [0080-0095]; Fig. 6, Para. [0096-0109]; Fig. 7, Para. [0110-0123]; Fig. 8, Para. [0124-0133]; Fig. 9, Para. [0134-0143]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shao’s invention of “systems and methods for channel measurement and beam management” (Shao Para. [0002]) with Khoshnevisan’s invention of “techniques and apparatuses for determining channel resource indicators for linked channel state information measurement reports” (Khoshnevisan Para. [0002]) because Khoshnevisan’s invention provides methods which “enable a UE (e.g., UE 120) to determine a CRI to use in a CSI report associated with a CSI report configuration included in two or more linked CSI report configurations,” thereby allowing UEs to “accurately indicate a selected CMR from the first CSI report configuration using the CRI” and “improve quality and/or reliability of communications with a base station (e.g., base station 110) by ensuring accurate CRIs in CSI reports for the linked CSI report configurations” (Khoshnevisan Para. [0078]).
Regarding Claim 5, Shao teaches Claim 3.
Yet, Shao does not expressly teach reporting a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resource Indicator (CRI) for both the first CMR set and the second CMR set.
However, Khoshnevisan teaches
reporting a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resource Indicator (CRI) for both the first CMR set and the second CMR set (Fig. 5, steps 515 and 520, Para. [0080-0095] - [0084] As shown in connection with reference number 515, the UE 120 may transmit, and the base station 110 may receive, a first CSI report, based at least in part on the one or more joint channel measurements, that includes a CRI that indicates whether a CMR is selected from the first set of CMRs. In some aspects, the CRI may indicate a CMR selected from the first set of CMRs and may include a quantity of bits based at least in part on a quantity of CMRs in the first set of CMRs. ……….[0092] As shown in connection with reference number 520, the UE 120 may transmit, and the base station 110 may receive, a second CSI report, based at least in part on the one or more joint channel measurements, that includes a CRI that indicates whether a CMR is selected from the second set of CMRs. The CRI for the second CSI report may be determined similarly to the CRI for the first CSI report, as described above. Moreover, when the UE 120 does not select a CMR from the second set of CMRs (e.g., because the UE 120 selected a CMR from the first set of CMRs, as described above) , the UE 120 may lack an RI, a CQI, an LI, and/or a PMI to include report in the second CSI report. Accordingly, the UE 120 may encode values for the RI, the CQI, the LI, and/or the PMI similarly as described above for the first CSI report. Additionally, in some aspects, the UE 120 may refrain from transmitting, and the base station 110 may refrain from monitoring for, CSI part 2 information; See Also: Fig. 2, Para. [0048-0063]; Fig. 3, Para. [0064-0068]; Fig. 4, Para. [0069-0079]; Fig. 5, Para. [0080-0095]; Fig. 6, Para. [0096-0109]; Fig. 7, Para. [0110-0123]; Fig. 8, Para. [0124-0133]; Fig. 9, Para. [0134-0143]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shao’s invention of “systems and methods for channel measurement and beam management” (Shao Para. [0002]) with Khoshnevisan’s invention of “techniques and apparatuses for determining channel resource indicators for linked channel state information measurement reports” (Khoshnevisan Para. [0002]) because Khoshnevisan’s invention provides methods which “enable a UE (e.g., UE 120) to determine a CRI to use in a CSI report associated with a CSI report configuration included in two or more linked CSI report configurations,” thereby allowing UEs to “accurately indicate a selected CMR from the first CSI report configuration using the CRI” and “improve quality and/or reliability of communications with a base station (e.g., base station 110) by ensuring accurate CRIs in CSI reports for the linked CSI report configurations” (Khoshnevisan Para. [0078]).
Regarding Claim 6, Shao teaches Claim 3.
Shao further teaches
reporting a Layer One Reference Signal Received Power (L1-RSRP) for the first CMR set (Para. [0053-0060] - [0053] In some embodiments, the wireless communication device may send/transmit/communicate the report to the wireless communication node 102 or 202 according to (or based on) at least one CMR. The at least one CMR can be configured by a wireless communication node. In some embodiments, the report may include: [0054] A CMR index, such as: [0055] One or more indices of CSI-RS, a SS/PBCH block, and/or other signals/resources (e.g., a SRS). [0056] Channel quality information, such as: [0057] a reference signal received power (RSRP). [0058] a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR). [0059] channel quality information (CQI). [0060] In some embodiments, the parameters to be reported may depend on a higher-layer configuration; See Also: Fig. 3, Para. [0037-0052]; Figs. 4-7, Para. [0053-0092]; Figs. 8-9, Para. [0093-0104]; Para. [0105-0108]; Para. [0109-0121]; Para. [0122-0126]; Fig. 10, Para. [0127-0148]),
and reporting the predetermined number of L1-RSRPs for the second CMR set (Para. [0053-0060] - [0053] In some embodiments, the wireless communication device may send/transmit/communicate the report to the wireless communication node 102 or 202 according to (or based on) at least one CMR. The at least one CMR can be configured by a wireless communication node. In some embodiments, the report may include: [0054] A CMR index, such as: [0055] One or more indices of CSI-RS, a SS/PBCH block, and/or other signals/resources (e.g., a SRS). [0056] Channel quality information, such as: [0057] a reference signal received power (RSRP). [0058] a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR). [0059] channel quality information (CQI). [0060] In some embodiments, the parameters to be reported may depend on a higher-layer configuration; See Also: Fig. 3, Para. [0037-0052]; Figs. 4-7, Para. [0053-0092]; Figs. 8-9, Para. [0093-0104]; Para. [0105-0108]; Para. [0109-0121]; Para. [0122-0126]; Fig. 10, Para. [0127-0148]).
Yet, Shao does not expressly teach and reporting the predetermined number of CRIs for the second CMR set.
However, Khoshnevisan teaches
and reporting the predetermined number of CRIs for the second CMR set (Fig. 5, steps 515 and 520, Para. [0080-0095] - [0084] As shown in connection with reference number 515, the UE 120 may transmit, and the base station 110 may receive, a first CSI report, based at least in part on the one or more joint channel measurements, that includes a CRI that indicates whether a CMR is selected from the first set of CMRs. In some aspects, the CRI may indicate a CMR selected from the first set of CMRs and may include a quantity of bits based at least in part on a quantity of CMRs in the first set of CMRs. [0085] In some aspects, the CRI may further indicate whether a CMR is selected from the second set of CMRs. For example, the quantity of CMRs in the first set of CMRs may be represented by N1 such that a size of the CRI in bits is set to
[
log
2
N
1
]
+
1
by the UE 120. In this example, the UE 120 must select a CMR from the first set of CMR when selecting a CSI hypothesis and can indicate whether the CSI hypothesis also includes a CMR from the second set of CMRs using the additional bit (e.g., provided by the +1). Furthermore, a TRP of the base station 110 corresponding to the first CSI report configuration may be aware when the UE 120 selects a CSI hypothesis with a CMR from the second set of CMRs but is not aware of which CMR was selected from the second set of CMRs. Similarly, the UE 120 may map possible CSI hypotheses to codepoints such that a size of the CRI in bits may be set to
[
log
2
(
2
N
1
)
]
by the UE 120. ……….[0092] As shown in connection with reference number 520, the UE 120 may transmit, and the base station 110 may receive, a second CSI report, based at least in part on the one or more joint channel measurements, that includes a CRI that indicates whether a CMR is selected from the second set of CMRs. The CRI for the second CSI report may be determined similarly to the CRI for the first CSI report, as described above. Moreover, when the UE 120 does not select a CMR from the second set of CMRs (e.g., because the UE 120 selected a CMR from the first set of CMRs, as described above) , the UE 120 may lack an RI, a CQI, an LI, and/or a PMI to include report in the second CSI report. Accordingly, the UE 120 may encode values for the RI, the CQI, the LI, and/or the PMI similarly as described above for the first CSI report. Additionally, in some aspects, the UE 120 may refrain from transmitting, and the base station 110 may refrain from monitoring for, CSI part 2 information; See Also: Fig. 2, Para. [0048-0063]; Fig. 3, Para. [0064-0068]; Fig. 4, Para. [0069-0079]; Fig. 5, Para. [0080-0095]; Fig. 6, Para. [0096-0109]; Fig. 7, Para. [0110-0123]; Fig. 8, Para. [0124-0133]; Fig. 9, Para. [0134-0143]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shao’s invention of “systems and methods for channel measurement and beam management” (Shao Para. [0002]) with Khoshnevisan’s invention of “techniques and apparatuses for determining channel resource indicators for linked channel state information measurement reports” (Khoshnevisan Para. [0002]) because Khoshnevisan’s invention provides methods which “enable a UE (e.g., UE 120) to determine a CRI to use in a CSI report associated with a CSI report configuration included in two or more linked CSI report configurations,” thereby allowing UEs to “accurately indicate a selected CMR from the first CSI report configuration using the CRI” and “improve quality and/or reliability of communications with a base station (e.g., base station 110) by ensuring accurate CRIs in CSI reports for the linked CSI report configurations” (Khoshnevisan Para. [0078]).
Regarding Claim 8, Shao teaches Claim 7.
Yet, Shao does not expressly teach reporting a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resource Indicator (CRI) for at least one of the first CMR set and the second CMR set.
However, Khoshnevisan teaches
reporting a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resource Indicator (CRI) for at least one of the first CMR set and the second CMR set (Fig. 6, Para. [0096-0109]; See Also: Fig. 2, Para. [0048-0063]; Fig. 3, Para. [0064-0068]; Fig. 4, Para. [0069-0079]; Fig. 5, Para. [0080-0095]; Fig. 6, Para. [0096-0109]; Fig. 7, Para. [0110-0123]; Fig. 8, Para. [0124-0133]; Fig. 9, Para. [0134-0143]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shao’s invention of “systems and methods for channel measurement and beam management” (Shao Para. [0002]) with Khoshnevisan’s invention of “techniques and apparatuses for determining channel resource indicators for linked channel state information measurement reports” (Khoshnevisan Para. [0002]) because Khoshnevisan’s invention provides methods which “enable a UE (e.g., UE 120) to determine a CRI to use in a CSI report associated with a CSI report configuration included in two or more linked CSI report configurations,” thereby allowing UEs to “accurately indicate a selected CMR from the first CSI report configuration using the CRI” and “improve quality and/or reliability of communications with a base station (e.g., base station 110) by ensuring accurate CRIs in CSI reports for the linked CSI report configurations” (Khoshnevisan Para. [0078]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao in view of Park et al. (US 20210014893), Park hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 11, Shao teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Shao does not expressly teach wherein the beam report comprises an indicator that indicates whether the UE identifies the beam pairs.
However, Park teaches
wherein the beam report comprises an indicator that indicates whether the UE identifies the beam pairs (Fig. 13, Para. [0173-0176] - [0176] In a beam management procedure, a UE may assess (e.g., measure) a channel quality of one or more beam pair links, a beam pair link comprising a transmitting beam transmitted by a base station and a receiving beam received by the UE. Based on the assessment, the UE may transmit a beam measurement report indicating one or more beam pair quality parameters comprising, e.g., one or more beam identifications (e.g., a beam index, a reference signal index, or the like), RSRP, a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a channel quality indicator (CQI), and/or a rank indicator (RI); See Also: Fig. 21A-D, Para. [0258-0259]; Fig. 22, 26, 27, and 28, Para. [0260-0263]; Fig. 23, Para. [0264-0267]; Fig. 24-25, Para. [0268-0271]; Fig. 29-32, Para. [0272-0293]; Fig. 33-35, Para. [0294-0308]; Fig. 36-40, Para. [0309-0331] ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shao’s invention of “systems and methods for channel measurement and beam management” (Shao Para. [0002]) with Park’s invention of “enhanced signaling mechanisms for wireless network nodes that support sidelink communications and/or use an unlicensed spectrum” (Park Para. [0256]) because Park’s invention provides methods which allow a base station to determine “based on the reported measurement results, one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states comprising a number of reference signals” (Park Para. [0175]).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao in view of Jin et al. (US 20190229781), Jin hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 16, Shao teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Shao does not expressly teach wherein the first CMR set and the second CMR set are scheduled within one slot without overlapping each other.
However, Jin teaches
wherein the first CMR set and the second CMR set are scheduled within one slot without overlapping each other (Fig. 7, Para. [0155-0161] - [0157] For CSI measurement, a plurality of times of measurement and reporting (such as CSI measurement 1 and CSI measurement 2) may be performed in consideration of various factors (for example, an interference change). For the CSI measurement 1, a quantity of reporting settings configured for the UE for reporting is 2, respectively corresponding to a CMR set 1 and an IMR set 1, and a CMR set 2 and an IMR set 2. The access node configures, in the first slot unit (slot 0), the CMR set 1 that includes 8 ports and that is used for CSI measurement, configures, in the second slot unit (slot 1), the CMR set 2 including 16 ports, configures, in the fourth slot unit (slot 3), the IMR set 1 that includes 8 ports and that is used for CSI measurement, and configures, in the fifth slot unit (slot 4), the IMR set 2 including 16 ports. It can be learned that a total calculation amount for the CSI measurement 1 to be calculated by the UE is 8+16+8+16=48 ports; See Also: Fig. 1, Para. [0081-0084]; Figs. 2-5, Para. [0085-0151]; Fig. 6, Para. [0152-0154]; Fig. 7, Para. [0155-0161]; Fig. 8, Para. [0162-0166]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shao’s invention of “systems and methods for channel measurement and beam management” (Shao Para. [0002]) with Jin’s invention of “a terminal device capability transmission technology in a communications system” (Jin Para. [0002]) because Jin’s invention provides means such that “a network side can learn an actual CSI reporting capability of a terminal device through transferring of capability information that represents a more actual calculation capability of the terminal device in terms of CSI reporting, thereby effectively and flexibly performing CSI measurement related configuration” (Jin Para. [0006]).
Examiner’s Note for Claim 16:
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 3: Fig. 7 from Jin (US 20190229781). Highlights and annotations show mappings to Claim 16.)]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Noh et al. (US 20180102822) teaches resolving overlapping/colliding periodic CSI reports by selecting a CSI report according to reporting type, CSI process, and eMIMO type priorities, including dropping or compressing a lower priority CSI report (Figs. 10-11, Para. [0134-0141]).
Zhang et al. (US 20220182865) teaches dynamically configuring CMR/IMR time restrictions and a number of CSI-RS resources or CSI-RS slots used by a UE for channel measurements and generation of a CSI report based on the configuration (Figs. 3-4, Para. [0057, 0065-0075, 0077-0081]).
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468