DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The term “the past” in claims 15 and 31 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “the past” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “it” in claims 11 and 24-31 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “it” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Examiner respectfully suggest amending claims to resolve the issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 16-17, 20-21, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moon et al. (US20170055248 hereinafter Moon).
Regarding claim 1. Moon teaches a method characterized by re-transmission by a device of a telecommunication network (fig. 2 and pars. 0050-0054, teaches the receiver 100 and the transmitter 200),
after a transmitted original concatenation packet, wherein an original concatenation packet transmitted in a downlink from a base station to a terminal device comprises several sub-packets (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches the receiver 100 receives a concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Wherein, the receiver 100 reads as a terminal device within the context of pars. 0009-0013, which teaches the UE may receive data and conduct processing, such as encoding or decoding, on the received data. Moreover, the transmitter 200 reads as the base station within the context of fig. 10 and par. 0093, which teaches the receiver 100 transmitting a NACK or ACK to the transmitter 200. Furthermore, pars. 0009-0013, teaches the UE transmits data to the base station. Whereas it is obvious to one skilled in the art that any signal from the base station (transmitter 200) to a UE (receiver 100) would be a downlink signal. Par. 0010, teaches transmission time interval (TTI), and par. 0012 teaches acknowledgement (ACK)/negative ACK (NACK)),
wherein based on re-transmission criteria, a decision on a re-transmission mode is made (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches the receiver 100 determines whether the decoding succeeds. When decoding the short TTI packet fails, the receiver 100 feeds back to the transmitter 200 a NACK responsive to the short TTI packet in operation 1007. Moreover, when decoding the short TTI packet succeeds in operation 1005, the receiver 100 feeds back to the transmitter 200 an ACK responsive to the short TTI packet in operation 1017. Thus, when the transmitter 200 receives a NACK the transmitter determines the concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet must be retransmitted reads as a decision on a re-transmission mode. Furthermore, fig. 5 and pars. 0063-0064, teaches the transmitter 200 determines whether to retransmit data based on a received ACK or NACK),
the re-transmission mode defining how to transmit at least one re- transmission concatenation packet (The examiner notes that the claims are not limited by “…defining how to transmit at least one re- transmission concatenation packet”, as this limitation is simply expressing the intended result of a positively recited limitation. See Minton v. Nat' IAss' n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614,1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003). The examiner suggests positively reciting these limitations to ensure the limitations are given patentable weight. However, Moon teaches in figs. 5 & 10 and pars. 0063-0064 & 0093, the decision on a re-transmission mode includes whether to retransmit the concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet. Which using the broadest reasonable interpolation of the claim language would read on the limitation “the re-transmission mode defining how to transmit at least one re- transmission concatenation packet”),
wherein transmission of at least one re-transmission concatenation packet by a base station device to at least one terminal device is done after a transmission failure indication representing at least one failed transmission of an original concatenation packet and/or sub-packet to at least one terminal device (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches in response to a NACK responsive when decoding the short TTI packet fails, the receiver 100 receives retransmission packets including the short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Wherein, the concatenated packet includes a short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Thus, the receiver 100 receives a retransmission of the concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet. Moreover, the NACK response reads as a transmission failure indication representing at least one failed transmission of an original concatenation packet and/or sub-packet within the context of this passage).
Regarding claim 4. Moon teaches the method of claim 1. Moon further teaches a re-transmitted concatenation packet comprises either all or less than all of the sub-packets transmitted in the original transmitted concatenation packet (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches the receiver 100 receives retransmission packets including the short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Wherein, the concatenated packet includes a short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Thus, the receiver 100 receives a retransmission of the concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet, reads as a re-transmitted concatenation packet comprises all of the sub-packets transmitted in the original transmitted concatenation packet. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art).
Regarding claim 5. Moon teaches the method of claim 1. Moon further teaches a re-transmitted concatenation packet comprises either only sub-packets transmitted in the original transmitted concatenation (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches the receiver 100 receives retransmission packets including the short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Wherein, the concatenated packet includes a short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Thus, the receiver 100 receives a retransmission of the concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet, reads as a re-transmitted concatenation packet comprises either only sub-packets transmitted in the original transmitted concatenation), or sub-packets transmitted in the original transmitted concatenation packet and new sub-packets that were not transmitted in the original transmitted concatenation packet (Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art).
Regarding claim 7. Moon teaches the method of claim 1. Moon further teaches an original concatenation packet is sent by a base station device to one terminal device or a group of terminal devices of a telecommunication network (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches the receiver 100 receives a concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Wherein, the receiver 100 reads as a terminal device within the context of pars. 0009-0013, which teaches the UE may receive data and conduct processing, such as encoding or decoding, on the received data. Moreover, the transmitter 200 reads as the base station within the context of fig. 10 and par. 0093, which teaches the receiver 100 transmitting a NACK or ACK to the transmitter 200. Furthermore, pars. 0009-0013, teaches the UE transmits data to the base station. Whereas it is obvious to one skilled in the art that any signal form the base station (transmitter 200) to a UE (receiver 100) would be a downlink signal. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art), and wherein a re-transmitted concatenation packet is sent by the base station device to one or more terminal devices (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches in response to a NACK responsive when decoding the short TTI packet fails, the receiver 100 receives retransmission packets including the short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Wherein, the concatenated packet includes a short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Thus, the receiver 100 receives a retransmission of the concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art).
Regarding claim 16. Moon teaches the apparatus for a device, characterized by being configured to decide, based on re-transmission criteria, on a re-transmission mode representing how to transmit in a downlink from a base station to a terminal device at least one re-transmission concatenation packet after a transmission failure indication representing at least one failed transmission of an original concatenation packet and/or of a sub-packet to at least one terminal device (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches the receiver 100 feeds back to the transmitter 200 a NACK responsive to the short TTI packet decoding failures. Then, the receiver 100 receives retransmission packets including the short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Wherein, the concatenated packet includes a short TTI packet and long TTI packet. Moreover, fig. 5 and par. 0064 teaches when receiving a NACK from the receiver 100 in operation 503, the transmitter 200 goes to operation 505 to transmit retransmission data. Whereas, both pars. 0093 and 0064, teaches if the transmitter 200 receives an ACK the transmitter 200 does not retransmit the concatenated packet. Therefore, the received ACK/NACK reads as the re-transmission criteria that decides the “re-transmission mode” of whether to retransmit or not. Wherein, the receiver 100 reads as a terminal device within the context of pars. 0009-0013, which teaches the UE may receive data and conduct processing, such as encoding or decoding, on the received data. Moreover, the transmitter 200 reads as the base station within the context of fig. 10 and par. 0093, which teaches the receiver 100 transmitting a NACK or ACK to the transmitter 200. Furthermore, pars. 0009-0013, teaches the UE transmits data to the base station. Whereas it is obvious to one skilled in the art that any signal form the base station (transmitter 200) to a UE (receiver 100) would be a downlink signal. Par. 0010, teaches transmission time interval (TTI), and par. 0012 teaches acknowledgement (ACK)/negative ACK (NACK). The examiner notes that the claims are not limited by “re-transmission mode representing how to transmit…”, as this limitation is simply expressing the intended result of a positively recited limitation. See Minton v. Nat' IAss' n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614,1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003). The examiner suggests positively reciting these limitations to ensure the limitations are given patentable weight).
Regarding claim 17. Moon teaches the method of claim 16. Moon further teaches the device is configured to do and/or trigger a transmission of at least one re-transmission concatenation packet to at least one terminal device after a transmission failure representing at least one failed transmission of an original concatenation packet and/or of a sub-packet to at least one terminal device (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches in response to a NACK responsive when decoding the short TTI packet fails, the receiver 100 receives retransmission packets including the short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Wherein, the concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Thus, the receiver 100 receives a retransmission of the concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet. Moreover, the NACK response reads as a transmission failure indication representing at least one failed transmission of an original concatenation packet and/or sub-packet within the context of this passage. Moreover, fig. 5 and par. 0064 teaches when receiving a NACK from the receiver 100 in operation 503, the transmitter 200 goes to operation 505 to transmit retransmission data. Thus, after receiving a NACK (transmission failure representing at least one failed transmission of an original concatenation packet and/or of a sub-packet to at least one terminal device) the transmitter device 200 re-transmits the original concatenation packet to the terminal device), wherein a decided re-transmission defines how to transmit the at least one re-transmission concatenation packet (The examiner notes that the claims are not limited by “…defining how to transmit at least one re- transmission concatenation packet”, as this limitation is simply expressing the intended result of a positively recited limitation. See Minton v. Nat' IAss' n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614,1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003). The examiner suggests positively reciting these limitations to ensure the limitations are given patentable weight. However, Moon teaches in figs. 5 & 10 and pars. 0063-0064 & 0093, the decision on a re-transmission mode includes whether to retransmit the concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet. Which using the broadest reasonable interpolation of the claim language would read on the limitation “the re-transmission mode defining how to transmit at least one re- transmission concatenation packet”).
Regarding claim 20. Moon teaches the method of claim 16. Moon further teaches a re-transmitted concatenation packet comprises either all or less than all of the sub-packets transmitted in the original transmitted concatenation packet (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches the receiver 100 receives retransmission packets including the short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Wherein, the concatenated packet includes a short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Thus, the receiver 100 receives a retransmission of the concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet, reads as a re-transmitted concatenation packet comprises all of the sub-packets transmitted in the original transmitted concatenation packet. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art).
Regarding claim 21. Moon teaches the method of claim 16. Moon further teaches a re-transmitted concatenation packet comprises either only sub-packets transmitted in the original transmitted concatenation (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches the receiver 100 receives retransmission packets including the short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Wherein, the concatenated packet includes a short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Thus, the receiver 100 receives a retransmission of the concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet, reads as a re-transmitted concatenation packet comprises either only sub-packets transmitted in the original transmitted concatenation), or sub-packets transmitted in the original transmitted concatenation packet and new sub-packets that were not transmitted in the original transmitted concatenation packet (Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art).
Regarding claim 32. Moon teaches the method of claim 16. Moon further teaches the device comprises or is telecommunication network (fig. 2 and pars. 0050-0054, teaches a wireless communication system) or a base station (fig. 2 and pars. 0050-0054, teaches a wireless communication system including transmitter 200) or a terminal (Interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record. However, Moon teaches in fig. 2 and pars. 0050-0054, a wireless communication system including receiver 100), the terminal device being a mobile phone (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), smartphone (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), metering device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), car TCU (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), wearable (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), USB device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record) or module (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (US20170055248 hereinafter Moon) in view of Lee et al. (US20220174695 hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 2. Moon teaches the method of claim 1. Moon further teaches the re-transmission criteria … of transmission of concatenation packets (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches the receiver 100 determines whether the decoding succeeds. When decoding the short TTI packet fails, the receiver 100 feeds back to the transmitter 200 a NACK responsive to the short TTI packet in operation 1007. Moreover, when decoding the short TTI packet succeeds in operation 1005, the receiver 100 feeds back to the transmitter 200 an ACK responsive to the short TTI packet in operation 1017. Thus, when the transmitter 200 receives a NACK the transmitter determines the concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet must be retransmitted reads as a decision on a re-transmission mode. Furthermore, fig. 5 and pars. 0063-0064, teaches the transmitter 200 determines whether to retransmit data based on a received ACK or NACK).
However, the apparatus and methods of Moon explicitly fails to disclose, the re-transmission criteria comprise one or two or three or four of: a terminal device priority, a terminal device latency budget, a base station overload status, criteria according to a target concatenation packet Quality Of Service or QoS profile category of transmission of concatenation packets.
Lee disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for re-transmission criteria, so Lee is analogous to Moon. Furthermore, Lee teaches the re-transmission criteria comprise one or two or three or four of: a terminal device priority (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), a terminal device latency budget (par. 0169, teaches based on the remaining latency budget related to the at least one sidelink transmission being equal to or less than a pre-configured threshold value, the first device 100 may perform a mode 2-based retransmission. Wherein, the mode 2-based retransmission is performed based on resources allocated by the first device 100 for sidelink transmission to the second device 200. Wherein, par. 0174, teaches a first user equipment (UE) may perform at least one sidelink transmission to a second UE. Thus, the re-transmission criteria comprises a terminal device latency budget), a base station overload status (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), criteria according to a target concatenation packet Quality Of Service or QoS profile category of transmission of concatenation packets (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the re-transmission criteria comprise one or two or three or four of a terminal device latency budget, as disclosed by Lee with the method and apparatus of Moon. The motivations for doing so would be to improve efficiency. (see par. 0016)
Regarding claim 18. Moon teaches the method of claim 16. Moon further teaches the re-transmission criteria … of transmission of concatenation packets (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches the receiver 100 determines whether the decoding succeeds. When decoding the short TTI packet fails, the receiver 100 feeds back to the transmitter 200 a NACK responsive to the short TTI packet in operation 1007. Moreover, when decoding the short TTI packet succeeds in operation 1005, the receiver 100 feeds back to the transmitter 200 an ACK responsive to the short TTI packet in operation 1017. Thus, when the transmitter 200 receives a NACK the transmitter determines the concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet must be retransmitted reads as a decision on a re-transmission mode. Furthermore, fig. 5 and pars. 0063-0064, teaches the transmitter 200 determines whether to retransmit data based on a received ACK or NACK).
However, the apparatus and methods of Moon explicitly fails to disclose, the re-transmission criteria comprise one or two or three or four of: a terminal device priority, a terminal device latency budget, a base station overload status, criteria according to a target concatenation packet Quality Of Service or QoS profile category of transmission of concatenation packets.
Lee disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for re-transmission criteria, so Lee is analogous to Moon. Furthermore, Lee teaches the re-transmission criteria comprise one or two or three or four of: a terminal device priority (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), a terminal device latency budget (par. 0169, teaches based on the remaining latency budget related to the at least one sidelink transmission being equal to or less than a pre-configured threshold value, the first device 100 may perform a mode 2-based retransmission. Wherein, the mode 2-based retransmission is performed based on resources allocated by the first device 100 for sidelink transmission to the second device 200. Wherein, par. 0174, teaches a first user equipment (UE) may perform at least one sidelink transmission to a second UE. Thus, the re-transmission criteria comprises a terminal device latency budget), a base station overload status (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), criteria according to a target concatenation packet Quality Of Service or QoS profile category of transmission of concatenation packets (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the re-transmission criteria comprise one or two or three or four of a terminal device latency budget, as disclosed by Lee with the method and apparatus of Moon. The motivations for doing so would be to improve efficiency. (see par. 0016)
Claims 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (US20170055248 hereinafter Moon) in view of Hou et al. (US20240121827 hereinafter Hou).
Regarding claim 3. Moon teaches the method of claim 1. Moon further teaches a re-transmission of the base station comprises one or two or three or more of: …, either --re-transmission of at least one full concatenation packet with original and/or whole sub-packets in the re-transmission (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches in response to a NACK responsive when decoding the short TTI packet fails, the receiver 100 receives retransmission packets including the short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Wherein, the concatenated packet includes a short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Thus, the receiver 100 receives a retransmission of the full concatenated packet including whole sub-packets (a short TTI packet and long TTI packet)) or --re-transmission of at least one only at least one partial concatenation packet with preferably at the original transmission undecoded sub-packets (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record) or --re-transmission of at least one hybrid concatenation packet (5) with preferably at the original transmission undecoded sub-packets and/or additionally with newly added sub-packet(s) (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), a second mode: representing radio access re-transmission schemes (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), including either --re-transmission of at least one concatenation packet using packet duplication (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record)or --re-transmission of at least one concatenation packet using mTRP or multiple Transmission and Reception Point transmission (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), - a third mode representing a re-transmission concatenation packet source (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), including --re-transmission of at least one concatenation packet from a base station device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record)or --re-transmission of at least one concatenation packet from a terminal device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
However, although Moon teaches re-transmission of at least one full concatenation packet with original and/or whole sub-packets in the re-transmission (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches in response to a NACK responsive when decoding the short TTI packet fails, the receiver 100 receives retransmission packets including the short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Wherein, the concatenated packet includes a short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Thus, the receiver 100 receives a retransmission of the full concatenated packet including whole sub-packets (a short TTI packet and long TTI packet)), the apparatus and methods of Moon explicitly fails to disclose, a re-transmission mode … comprises one or two or three or more of: a first mode representing re-transmission concatenation packet types, either --re-transmission of at least one full concatenation packet with original and/or whole sub-packets in the re-transmission or --re-transmission of at least one only at least one partial concatenation packet with preferably at the original transmission undecoded sub-packets or --re-transmission of at least one hybrid concatenation packet (5) with preferably at the original transmission undecoded sub-packets and/or additionally with newly added sub-packet(s), a second mode: representing radio access re-transmission schemes, including either --re-transmission of at least one concatenation packet using packet duplication or --re-transmission of at least one concatenation packet using mTRP or multiple Transmission and Reception Point transmission, - a third mode representing a re-transmission concatenation packet source, including --re-transmission of at least one concatenation packet from a base station device or --re-transmission of at least one concatenation packet from a terminal device.
Hou disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for re-transmission, so Hou is analogous to Moon. Furthermore, Hou teaches a re-transmission mode … comprises one or two or three or more of: a first mode representing re-transmission concatenation packet types (par. 0109, teaches chase combining (CC) mode a retransmission mode in which a retransmission data frame sent by the transmit end includes several segments of an original data frame), either --re-transmission of at least one full concatenation packet with original (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record) and/or whole sub-packets in the re-transmission (par. 0109, teaches chase combining (CC) mode a retransmission mode in which a retransmission data frame sent by the transmit end includes several segments of an original data frame. Wherein, the language “several segments of an original data frame” reads as whole sub-packets in the re-transmission) or --re-transmission of at least one only at least one partial concatenation packet with preferably at the original transmission undecoded sub-packets (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record) or --re-transmission of at least one hybrid concatenation packet (5) with preferably at the original transmission undecoded sub-packets and/or additionally with newly added sub-packet(s) (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), a second mode: representing radio access re-transmission schemes (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), including either --re-transmission of at least one concatenation packet using packet duplication (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record)or --re-transmission of at least one concatenation packet using mTRP or multiple Transmission and Reception Point transmission (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), - a third mode representing a re-transmission concatenation packet source (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), including --re-transmission of at least one concatenation packet from a base station device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record)or --re-transmission of at least one concatenation packet from a terminal device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a re-transmission mode … comprises one or two or three or more of: a first mode representing re-transmission concatenation packet types, … whole sub-packets in the re-transmission, as disclosed by Hou with the method and apparatus of Moon. The motivations for doing so would be to improve the data throughput. (see Hou par. 0005)
Regarding claim 19. Moon teaches the method of claim 16. Moon further teaches a re-transmission… of the base station comprises one or two or three or more of: …, either --re-transmission of at least one full concatenation packet with original and/or whole sub-packets in the re-transmission (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches in response to a NACK responsive when decoding the short TTI packet fails, the receiver 100 receives retransmission packets including the short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Wherein, the concatenated packet includes a short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Thus, the receiver 100 receives a retransmission of the full concatenated packet including whole sub-packets (a short TTI packet and long TTI packet)) or --re-transmission of at least one only at least one partial concatenation packet with preferably at the original transmission undecoded sub-packets (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record) or --re-transmission of at least one hybrid concatenation packet (5) with preferably at the original transmission undecoded sub-packets and/or additionally with newly added sub-packet(s) (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), a second mode: representing radio access re-transmission schemes (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), including either --re-transmission of at least one concatenation packet using packet duplication (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record)or --re-transmission of at least one concatenation packet using mTRP or multiple Transmission and Reception Point transmission (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), - a third mode representing a re-transmission concatenation packet source (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), including --re-transmission of at least one concatenation packet from a base station device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record)or --re-transmission of at least one concatenation packet from a terminal device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
However, although Moon teaches re-transmission of at least one full concatenation packet with original and/or whole sub-packets in the re-transmission (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches in response to a NACK responsive when decoding the short TTI packet fails, the receiver 100 receives retransmission packets including the short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Wherein, the concatenated packet includes a short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Thus, the receiver 100 receives a retransmission of the full concatenated packet including whole sub-packets (a short TTI packet and long TTI packet)), the apparatus and methods of Moon explicitly fails to disclose, a re-transmission mode… comprises one or two or three or more of: a first mode representing re-transmission concatenation packet types, either --re-transmission of at least one full concatenation packet with original and/or whole sub-packets in the re-transmission or --re-transmission of at least one only at least one partial concatenation packet with preferably at the original transmission undecoded sub-packets or --re-transmission of at least one hybrid concatenation packet (5) with preferably at the original transmission undecoded sub-packets and/or additionally with newly added sub-packet(s), a second mode: representing radio access re-transmission schemes, including either --re-transmission of at least one concatenation packet using packet duplication or --re-transmission of at least one concatenation packet using mTRP or multiple Transmission and Reception Point transmission, - a third mode representing a re-transmission concatenation packet source, including --re-transmission of at least one concatenation packet from a base station device or --re-transmission of at least one concatenation packet from a terminal device.
Hou disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for re-transmission, so Hou is analogous to Moon. Furthermore, Hou teaches a re-transmission mode … comprises one or two or three or more of: a first mode representing re-transmission concatenation packet types (par. 0109, teaches chase combining (CC) mode a retransmission mode in which a retransmission data frame sent by the transmit end includes several segments of an original data frame), either --re-transmission of at least one full concatenation packet with original (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record) and/or whole sub-packets in the re-transmission (par. 0109, teaches chase combining (CC) mode a retransmission mode in which a retransmission data frame sent by the transmit end includes several segments of an original data frame. Wherein, the language “several segments of an original data frame” reads as whole sub-packets in the re-transmission) or --re-transmission of at least one only at least one partial concatenation packet with preferably at the original transmission undecoded sub-packets (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record) or --re-transmission of at least one hybrid concatenation packet (5) with preferably at the original transmission undecoded sub-packets and/or additionally with newly added sub-packet(s) (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), a second mode: representing radio access re-transmission schemes (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), including either --re-transmission of at least one concatenation packet using packet duplication (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record)or --re-transmission of at least one concatenation packet using mTRP or multiple Transmission and Reception Point transmission (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), - a third mode representing a re-transmission concatenation packet source (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), including --re-transmission of at least one concatenation packet from a base station device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record)or --re-transmission of at least one concatenation packet from a terminal device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a re-transmission mode … comprises one or two or three or more of: a first mode representing re-transmission concatenation packet types, … whole sub-packets in the re-transmission, as disclosed by Hou with the method and apparatus of Moon. The motivations for doing so would be to improve the data throughput. (see Hou par. 0005)
Claims 6 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (US20170055248 hereinafter Moon) in view of Shrestha et al. (US20220322131 hereinafter Shrestha).
Regarding claim 6. Moon teaches the method of claim 1. Moon further teaches an original concatenation packet is sent by a base station device (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches the receiver 100 receives a concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Wherein, the receiver 100 reads as a terminal device within the context of pars. 0009-0013, which teaches the UE may receive data and conduct processing, such as encoding or decoding, on the received data. Moreover, the transmitter 200 reads as the base station within the context of fig. 10 and par. 0093, which teaches the receiver 100 transmitting a NACK or ACK to the transmitter 200. Furthermore, pars. 0009-0013, teaches the UE transmits data to the base station) and wherein a re-transmitted concatenation packet is … received by one or at least two terminal devices (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches in response to a NACK responsive when decoding the short TTI packet fails, the receiver 100 receives retransmission packets including the short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Wherein, the concatenated packet includes a short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Thus, the receiver 100 receives a retransmission of the concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art).
However, the apparatus and methods of Moon explicitly fails to disclose, a re-transmitted concatenation packet is sent by a terminal device.
Shrestha disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a re-transmitted concatenation packet, so Shrestha is analogous to Moon. Furthermore, Shrestha teaches a re-transmitted concatenation packet is sent by a terminal device (par. 0110, teaches the UE 215 may retransmit the concatenated packet including the first packet and the second packet for a threshold quantity of transmissions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a re-transmitted concatenation packet is sent by a terminal device, as disclosed by Shrestha with the method and apparatus of Moon. The motivations for doing so would be to improve efficiency. (see Shrestha par. 0050)
Regarding claim 22. Moon teaches the method of claim 16. Moon further teaches a base station device is configured to send an original concatenation packet (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches the receiver 100 receives a concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Wherein, the receiver 100 reads as a terminal device within the context of pars. 0009-0013, which teaches the UE may receive data and conduct processing, such as encoding or decoding, on the received data. Moreover, the transmitter 200 reads as the base station within the context of fig. 10 and par. 0093, which teaches the receiver 100 transmitting a NACK or ACK to the transmitter 200. Furthermore, pars. 0009-0013, teaches the UE transmits data to the base station) and …wherein one or at least two terminal devices … are configured to receive the re-transmitted concatenation packet (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches in response to a NACK responsive when decoding the short TTI packet fails, the receiver 100 receives retransmission packets including the short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Wherein, the concatenated packet includes a short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Thus, the receiver 100 receives a retransmission of the concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art).
However, the apparatus and methods of Moon explicitly fails to disclose, a terminal device of a telecommunication network is configured to re- transmit a re-transmitted concatenation packet and wherein one or at least two terminal devices of the telecommunication network are configured to receive.
Shrestha disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a re-transmitted concatenation packet, so Shrestha is analogous to Moon. Furthermore, Shrestha teaches a terminal device of a telecommunication network is configured to re- transmit a re-transmitted concatenation packet (par. 0110, teaches the UE 215 may retransmit the concatenated packet including the first packet and the second packet for a threshold quantity of transmissions. Thus, if the threshold for the quantity of transmissions is greater than 1 then there could be re-transmitting of a re-transmitted concatenation packet. Furthermore, par. 0099, teaches the UE 215 may be an example of a UE 115 described with reference to FIG. 1. Wherein, pars. 0059-0060, teaches the UE 115 is within a telecommunication system) and wherein one or at least two terminal devices of the telecommunication network are configured to receive (fig. 1 and pars. 0052-0054, teaches wireless communications system 100 includes one or more base stations 105, one or more UEs 115, and a core network 130. Wherein, pars. 0057-0060, teaches the wireless communications system 100 is a telecommunication system and UEs 115 described herein may be able to communicate with various types of devices, such as other UEs 115 that may sometimes act as relays as well as the base stations 105 and the network equipment. Furthermore, par. 0090, teaches UEs 115 are configured to receive).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a terminal device of a telecommunication network is configured to re- transmit a re-transmitted concatenation packet and wherein one or at least two terminal devices of the telecommunication network are configured to receive, as disclosed by Shrestha with the method and apparatus of Moon. The motivations for doing so would be to improve efficiency. (see Shrestha par. 0050)
Claims 9, 13, 23, 25, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (US20170055248 hereinafter Moon) in view of Bejerano et al. (US20120213097 hereinafter Bejerano).
Regarding claim 9. Moon teaches the method of claim 1. Moon further teaches the original concatenation packet is sent by a base station device to a terminal device (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches the receiver 100 receives a concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Wherein, the receiver 100 reads as a terminal device within the context of pars. 0009-0013, which teaches the UE may receive data and conduct processing, such as encoding or decoding, on the received data. Moreover, the transmitter 200 reads as the base station within the context of fig. 10 and par. 0093, which teaches the receiver 100 transmitting a NACK or ACK to the transmitter 200. Furthermore, pars. 0009-0013, teaches the UE transmits data to the base station), and wherein the re-transmitted concatenation packet is sent by the base station device or by a terminal device a terminal device (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches in response to a NACK responsive when decoding the short TTI packet fails, the receiver 100 receives retransmission packets including the short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Wherein, the concatenated packet includes a short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Thus, the receiver 100 receives a retransmission of the concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet).
However, the apparatus and methods of Moon explicitly fails to disclose, sending by a base station device to more than one group of terminal devices, and wherein the re-transmitted …packet is sent by the base station device or by a terminal device to more than one group of terminal devices.
Bejerano disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for re-transmitting, so Bejerano is analogous to Moon. Furthermore, Bejerano teaches sending by a base station device to more than one group of terminal devices (fig. 5 and par. 0074, teaches a station transmits (501) a multicast packet to a plurality of mobile devices that includes a group of feedback mobile devices), and wherein the re-transmitted …packet is sent by the base station device or by a terminal device to more than one group of terminal devices (fig. 5 and par. 0074, teaches the station retransmits the multicast packet (503) to the plurality of mobile devices and to the group of feedback mobile devices. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize sending by a base station device to more than one group of terminal devices, and wherein the re-transmitted …packet is sent by the base station device to more than one group of terminal devices, as disclosed by Bejerano with the method and apparatus of Moon. The motivations for doing so would be to improve multicast operations. (see Bejerano par. 0014)
Regarding claim 13. Moon teaches the method of claim 1. Moon further teaches after the original concatenation packet was sent to a terminal device (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches the receiver 100 receives a concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Wherein, the receiver 100 reads as a terminal device within the context of pars. 0009-0013, which teaches the UE may receive data and conduct processing, such as encoding or decoding, on the received data. Moreover, the transmitter 200 reads as the base station within the context of fig. 10 and par. 0093, which teaches the receiver 100 transmitting a NACK or ACK to the transmitter 200. Furthermore, pars. 0009-0013, teaches the UE transmits data to the base station)…, and after the re-transmitted concatenation packet was sent by the base station device or by a terminal device to a terminal device (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches in response to a NACK responsive when decoding the short TTI packet fails, the receiver 100 receives retransmission packets including the short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Wherein, the concatenated packet includes a short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Thus, the receiver 100 receives a retransmission of the concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet), a re-re-transmitted concatenation packet is sent by the base station device or by a terminal device to a terminal device (figs. 10-11 and pars. 0093 & 0095, teaches the additional retransmission of the concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet is performed after the first retransmission of the concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet).
However, the apparatus and methods of Moon explicitly fails to disclose, after the original … packet was sent to a group of terminal devices of a telecommunication network, including a cellular telecommunication network, and after the re-transmitted … packet was sent by the base station device or by a terminal device to terminal devices, a re-re-transmitted … packet is sent by the base station device or by a terminal device to terminal devices.
Bejerano disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for re-transmitting, so Bejerano is analogous to Moon. Furthermore, Bejerano teaches after the original … packet was sent to a group of terminal devices of a telecommunication network (fig. 5 and par. 0074, teaches a station transmits (501) a multicast packet to a plurality of mobile devices that includes a group of feedback mobile devices), including a cellular telecommunication network (fig. 5 and par. 0074, teaches a station and a group of feedback mobile devices communicating. Wherein, par. 0003, teaches mobile devices are WiFi enabled, including laptops, PDAs and smartphones. Furthermore, par. 0046, teaches WiFi network with numerous mobile devices that are listening to a given multicast feed. Since every mobile is associated with a single AP, we consider a single multicast AP and only the mobiles that are associated with this AP. Thus, a cellular telecommunication network), and
after the re-transmitted … packet was sent by the base station device or by a terminal device to terminal devices (fig. 5 and par. 0074, teaches the station retransmits the multicast packet (503) to the plurality of mobile devices and to the group of feedback mobile devices. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art), a re-re-transmitted … packet is sent by the base station device or by a terminal device to terminal devices (fig. 5 and par. 0074, teaches a station re-transmitting the multicast packet to the plurality of mobile devices and to the group of feedback mobile devices after receiving the first NACK. Wherein, par. 0027, teaches in case of a NACK, the AP has to retransmit the message again until all receivers receive the data frame correctly during the same transmission. Thus, it is obvious the first re-transmission corresponding to a first received NACK is prior to the second re-transmission corresponding to a second received NACK. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize after the original … packet was sent to a group of terminal devices of a telecommunication network, including a cellular telecommunication network, and after the re-transmitted … packet was sent by the base station device or by a terminal device to terminal devices, a re-re-transmitted … packet is sent by the base station device or by a terminal device to terminal devices, as disclosed by Bejerano with the method and apparatus of Moon. The motivations for doing so would be to improve multicast operations. (see Bejerano par. 0014)
Regarding claim 23. Moon teaches the method of claim 16. Moon further teaches the original concatenation packet is sent by a base station device to a terminal device (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches the receiver 100 receives a concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Wherein, the receiver 100 reads as a terminal device within the context of pars. 0009-0013, which teaches the UE may receive data and conduct processing, such as encoding or decoding, on the received data. Moreover, the transmitter 200 reads as the base station within the context of fig. 10 and par. 0093, which teaches the receiver 100 transmitting a NACK or ACK to the transmitter 200. Furthermore, pars. 0009-0013, teaches the UE transmits data to the base station), and wherein the re-transmitted concatenation packet is sent by the base station device or by a terminal device a terminal device (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches in response to a NACK responsive when decoding the short TTI packet fails, the receiver 100 receives retransmission packets including the short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Wherein, the concatenated packet includes a short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Thus, the receiver 100 receives a retransmission of the concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet).
However, the apparatus and methods of Moon explicitly fails to disclose, sending by a base station device to more than one group of terminal devices, and wherein the re-transmitted …packet is sent by the base station device or by a terminal device to more than one group of terminal devices.
Bejerano disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for re-transmitting, so Bejerano is analogous to Moon. Furthermore, Bejerano teaches sending by a base station device to more than one group of terminal devices (fig. 5 and par. 0074, teaches a station transmits (501) a multicast packet to a plurality of mobile devices that includes a group of feedback mobile devices), and wherein the re-transmitted …packet is sent by the base station device or by a terminal device to more than one group of terminal devices (fig. 5 and par. 0074, teaches the station retransmits the multicast packet (503) to the plurality of mobile devices and to the group of feedback mobile devices. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize sending by a base station device to more than one group of terminal devices, and wherein the re-transmitted …packet is sent by the base station device to more than one group of terminal devices, as disclosed by Bejerano with the method and apparatus of Moon. The motivations for doing so would be to improve multicast operations. (see Bejerano par. 0014)
Regarding claim 25. Moon teaches the method of claim 16. Moon further teaches a base station device configured to send the original concatenation packet to a terminal device (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches the receiver 100 receives a concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Wherein, the receiver 100 reads as a terminal device within the context of pars. 0009-0013, which teaches the UE may receive data and conduct processing, such as encoding or decoding, on the received data. Moreover, the transmitter 200 reads as the base station within the context of fig. 10 and par. 0093, which teaches the receiver 100 transmitting a NACK or ACK to the transmitter 200. Furthermore, pars. 0009-0013, teaches the UE transmits data to the base station)…, and wherein a base station device or a terminal device is configured to send the re-transmitted concatenation packet to a terminal device (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches in response to a NACK responsive when decoding the short TTI packet fails, the receiver 100 receives retransmission packets including the short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Wherein, the concatenated packet includes a short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Thus, the receiver 100 receives a retransmission of the concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet).
However, the apparatus and methods of Moon explicitly fails to disclose, a base station device configured to send the original … packet to more than one group of terminal devices of a telecommunication network, and wherein a base station device or a terminal device is configured to send the re-transmitted … packet to more than one group of terminal devices.
Bejerano disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for re-transmitting, so Bejerano is analogous to Moon. Furthermore, Bejerano teaches a base station device configured to send the original … packet to more than one group of terminal devices of a telecommunication network (fig. 5 and par. 0074, teaches a station transmits (501) a multicast packet to a plurality of mobile devices that includes a group of feedback mobile devices. Wherein, par. 0003, teaches mobile devices are WiFi enabled, including laptops, PDAs and smartphones. Furthermore, par. 0046, teaches WiFi network with numerous mobile devices that are listening to a given multicast feed. Since every mobile is associated with a single AP, we consider a single multicast AP and only the mobiles that are associated with this AP. Thus, a cellular telecommunication network), and wherein a base station device or a terminal device is configured to send the re-transmitted … packet to more than one group of terminal devices (fig. 5 and par. 0074, teaches the station retransmits the multicast packet (503) to the plurality of mobile devices and to the group of feedback mobile devices. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a base station device configured to send the original … packet to more than one group of terminal devices of a telecommunication network, and wherein a base station device or a terminal device is configured to send the re-transmitted … packet to more than one group of terminal devices, as disclosed by Bejerano with the method and apparatus of Moon. The motivations for doing so would be to improve multicast operations. (see Bejerano par. 0014)
Regarding claim 29. Moon teaches the method of claim 16. Moon further teaches a base station device or a terminal device and it is configured to send re-re-transmitted concatenation packet to a terminal device after the original concatenation packet was sent by a base station device to a terminal device (fig. 10 and par. 0093, teaches the receiver 100 receives a concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Then in response to a NACK responsive when decoding the short TTI packet fails, the receiver 100 receives retransmission packets including the short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200 (step 1009). Wherein, the concatenated packet includes a short TTI packet and long TTI packet from the transmitter 200. Thus, the receiver 100 receives a retransmission of the concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet. Then, in step 1015, the decoding the long TTI packet fails, the receiver 100 feeds back to the transmitter 200 a NACK responsive to the long TTI packet. Wherein, fig. 11 and par. 0095, teaches when the transmitter 200 receives a NACK responsive to the long TTI packet the transmitter 200 may perform a transmission of an additional retransmission. Wherein the “transmitter 200 may perform a transmission of an additional retransmission” reads as a base station device is configured to send re-re-transmitted concatenation packet to a terminal device after the original concatenation packet was sent by a base station device to a terminal device. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art), and after the re-transmitted concatenation packet was sent by a base station device or by a terminal device to terminal devices (figs. 10-11 and pars. 0093 & 0095, teaches the additional retransmission of the concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet is performed after the first retransmission of the concatenated packet including a short TTI packet and long TTI packet).
However, the apparatus and methods of Moon explicitly fails to disclose, sending by a base station device to more than one group of terminal devices, and wherein the re-transmitted …packet is sent by the base station device or by a terminal device to more than one group of terminal devices.
Bejerano disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for re-transmitting, so Bejerano is analogous to Moon. Furthermore, Bejerano teaches a base station device or a terminal device and it is configured to send re-re-transmitted …packet to terminal devices (fig. 5 and par. 0074, teaches a station receives an indication of whether the multicast packet was received by that feedback mobile device is received (502) from each feedback mobile device of the group of feedback mobile devices. When the indication received from at least one feedback mobile device of the group of feedback mobile devices indicates that the multicast packet was not received (e.g., receiving a negative acknowledgment or no acknowledgment at all), the multicast packet is retransmitted (503) to the plurality of mobile devices and to the group of feedback mobile devices. Wherein, par. 0027, teaches in case of a NACK, the AP has to retransmit the message again until all receivers receive the data frame correctly during the same transmission. Thus, if the station receives a second NACK then the station must “re-re-transmit” the original packet) after the original … packet was sent by a base station device to a group of terminal devices of a cellular telecommunication network (fig. 5 and par. 0074, teaches a station first transmits (501) a multicast packet to a plurality of mobile devices that includes a group of feedback mobile devices prior to any re-transmitions), and after the re-transmitted .. packet was sent by a base station device or by a terminal device to terminal devices (fig. 5 and par. 0074, teaches a station re-transmitting the multicast packet to the plurality of mobile devices and to the group of feedback mobile devices after receiving the first NACK. Wherein, par. 0027, teaches in case of a NACK, the AP has to retransmit the message again until all receivers receive the data frame correctly during the same transmission. Thus, it is obvious the first re-transmission corresponding to a first received NACK is prior to the second re-transmission corresponding to a second received NACK. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize sending by a base station device to more than one group of terminal devices, and wherein the re-transmitted …packet is sent by the base station device to more than one group of terminal devices, as disclosed by Bejerano with the method and apparatus of Moon. The motivations for doing so would be to improve multicast operations. (see Bejerano par. 0014)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 10, 12, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11, 15, 24, 26- 28, and 30-31 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TRACY LAUREN RAIMONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474