DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/21/2024 and 1/8/2026 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 10, 11, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mikawa (WO 2019198702 A1; see translation).
With regards to claim 1. Mikawa disclose(s):
(Original) A communication system (figs 14-24), comprising:
a base station (11; fig 14) configured to transmit and receive a radio wave [0078];
a terminal (12; fig 14) configured to transmit and receive the radio wave to and from the base station [0078];
and a plurality of radio wave refraction plates (9; fig 22; [0102]) installed on the same plane (103) between the base station and the terminal and configured to refract the radio wave and emit a refracted radio wave in a direction of the terminal when the radio wave transmitted from the base station passes through each of the plurality of radio wave refraction plates ([0102-0103]).
With regards to claim 2. Mikawa disclose(s):
(Original) The communication system according to claim 1,
wherein each of the plurality of radio wave refraction plates (9; fig 22) is installed, on an installation plane (103) that passes through a geometric center of the plurality of radio wave refraction plates (9) and is orthogonal to a line connecting an antenna of the base station and an antenna of the terminal (see plane of 103 being orthogonal to at least one of the electromagnetic propagation which involves signal from base station to terminal), in a region defined by a first linear distance between the antenna of the base station and a geometric center of each of the plurality of radio wave refraction plates and a second linear distance between the antenna of the terminal and the geometric center of each of the plurality of radio wave refraction plates (see electromagnetic propagation towards 103 and electromagnetic propagation coming out of 103 which involves linear distance between antenna of base station or terminal to refraction plate).
With regards to claim 7. Mikawa disclose(s):
(Currently Amended) The communication system according to claim 1,
wherein coordinates of a plurality of unit structures included in the plurality of radio wave refraction plates are plotted on a graph indicating a position on a horizontal axis and a transmission phase on a vertical axis (see xyz in fig 22),
and the plurality of radio wave refraction plates (9) is installed with the coordinates placed on a straight line (see coordinate Y).
With regards to claim 10. Mikawa disclose(s):
(Original) A radio wave refraction plate (figs 22),
comprising a plurality of radio wave refraction plates (9; fig 22; [0102]) installed on the same plane (103) between a base station configured to transmit and receive a radio wave and a terminal configured to transmit and receive the radio wave to and from the base station and configured to refract the radio wave and emit a refracted radio wave in a direction of the terminal when the radio wave transmitted from the base station passes through each of the plurality of radio wave refraction plates ([0102-0103]).
With regards to claim 11. Mikawa disclose(s):
(Original) The radio wave refraction plate according to claim 10,
wherein each of the plurality of radio wave refraction plates is installed (fig 22),
on an installation plane (103) that passes through a geometric center of the plurality of radio wave refraction plates (9) and is orthogonal to a line connecting an antenna of the base station and an antenna of the terminal (see plane of 103 being orthogonal to at least one of the electromagnetic propagation which involves signal from base station to terminal),
in a region defined by a first linear distance between the antenna of the base station and a geometric center of each of the plurality of radio wave refraction plates and a second linear distance between the antenna of the terminal and the geometric center of each of the plurality of radio wave refraction plates (see electromagnetic propagation towards 103 and electromagnetic propagation coming out of 103 which involves linear distance between antenna of base station or terminal to refraction plate).
With regards to claim 16. Mikawa disclose(s):
(Currently Amended) The radio wave refraction plate according to claim 10,
wherein coordinates of a plurality of unit structures included in the plurality of radio wave refraction plates are plotted on a graph indicating a position on a horizontal axis and a transmission phase on a vertical axis (see xyz in fig 22),
and the plurality of radio wave refraction plates (9) is installed with the coordinates placed on a straight line (see coordinate Y).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 19 is/are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With regards to claim(s) 19: the prior art fails to disclose a/an method requiring:
projecting the plurality of refraction plates on the plane; and calculating installation positions of the plurality of radio wave refraction plates with an area of each of the plurality of radio wave refraction plates included in an odd-order Fresnel zone being larger than an area of each of the plurality of radio wave refraction plates included in an even-order Fresnel zone, in combination with other limitations of the claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3-6, 8-9, 12-14, 15, and 17-18 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Polehn (US 20200144717 A1) discloses:
A radio frequency (RF) transceiver transmits a radio signal to the phased array antenna. The phased array antenna deflects the radio signal that is arriving at the phased array antenna in a particular direction indicated by the optical control beam. The particular direction of the deflected radio signal is toward a particular user device. The radio signal includes an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) signal over a Fifth Generation carrier.
/RENAN LUQUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845