DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-9, 18, 23-26, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cogliano, et al. (US 3,874,964).
In reference to Claim 1, Cogliano discloses foamed polyurethane resin texture treated by rolls by heating (3:29-37) (a process for texturizing a surface made of a thermoplastic polymeric material to obtain a textured surface having regions of different roughness, the process comprising: providing a foamed surface made of foamed thermoplastic polymeric material), the foam surface has a textured surface (3:59-63) (the foamed surface having a first roughness grade); and the foam surface is heat and pressure treated to emboss the surface with a smooth or textured finish (4:4-10) (melting the foamed thermoplastic material at one or more regions of the foamed surface to cause reduction of roughness in said one or more regions to a second roughness grade, thereby obtaining the textured surface), the amount of heat applied about 150-200°C (4:16-19) (wherein said melting is obtained by contacting said foamed surface with at least one textured heated surface, said heated surface having a texture which has said second roughness grade, said textured heated surface is heated to a temperature of at least about 140°C).
In reference to Claim 4, Cogliano discloses the process of Claim 1, as described above.
Cogliano discloses the lower and upper sections are texturized by different rollers (3:29-37) (said textured heated surface comprises a pattern having at least two zones differing therebetween by roughness grade).
In reference to Claim 5, Cogliano discloses the process of Claim 4, as described above.
Cogliano discloses the lower and upper sections are texturized by different rollers (3:29-37) (said textured heated surface comprises first zones having said second roughness grade, and second zones having a third roughness grade smaller than said second roughness grade).
In reference to Claim 6, Cogliano discloses the process of Claim 1, as described above.
Cogliano discloses the textured roller is heated (3:32-33) (said textured heated surface is a heated roller).
In reference to Claim 7, Cogliano discloses the process of Claim 1, as described above.
Cogliano discloses polyurethane resin (3:30) (said thermoplastic polymeric material is a composition comprising polypropylene or a copolymer thereof).
In reference to Claim 8, Cogliano discloses the process of Claim 1, as described above.
Cogliano discloses polyurethane with amines for foaming (4:37-50) (said foamed thermoplastic polymeric material is obtained by exothermal foaming).
In reference to Claim 9, Cogliano discloses the process of Claim 8, as described above.
Cogliano discloses polyurethane with amines for foaming (4:37-50) (said thermoplastic polymeric material is a composition of one or more thermoplastic polymers and one or more exothermal blowing agents, said exothermal foaming comprises exposing said composition to conditions permitting exothermal decomposition of said exothermal blowing agent to obtain said foamed thermoplastic polymeric material).
In reference to Claim 18, Cogliano discloses foamed polyurethane resin texture treated by rolls by heating (3:29-37) the lower and upper sections are texturized by different rollers (3:29-37) (a process for providing an article having a textured surface comprising regions of different light reflectivity), the process comprising: polyurethane with amines for foaming (4:37-50) (providing a foamed surface made of foamed thermoplastic polymeric material to obtain a first light reflectivity of the surface); and the foam surface is heat and pressure treated to emboss the surface with a smooth or textured finish (4:4-10) (melting the foamed thermoplastic material at one or more regions of the foamed surface to cause reduction in roughness in said one or more regions, thereby obtaining a second light reflectivity of said one or more regions, said second light reflectivity being larger than said first light reflectivity wherein said foamed surface has a first roughness grade, and said melting is obtained by contacting said foamed surface with at least one textured heated surface), the lower and upper sections are texturized by different rollers (3:29-37) (said heated surface having a texture which has at least one second roughness grade, said heated surface comprising a pattern having at least two zones differing therebetween by roughness grade).
In reference to Claim 23, Cogliano discloses the process of Claim 18, as described above.
Cogliano discloses the foam surface is heat and pressure treated to emboss the surface with a smooth or textured finish (4:4-10) (said textured heated surface is a heated roller).
In reference to Claim 24, Cogliano discloses the process of Claim 18, as described above.
Cogliano discloses polyurethane resin (3:30) (said thermoplastic material is a composition comprising polypropylene or a copolymer thereof).
In reference to Claim 25, Cogliano discloses the process of Claim 18, as described above.
Cogliano discloses polyurethane with amines for foaming (4:37-50) (said foamed thermoplastic polymeric material is obtained by exothermal foaming).
In reference to Claim 26, Cogliano discloses the process of Claim 25, as described above.
Cogliano discloses polyurethane with amines for foaming (4:37-50) (the thermoplastic polymeric material is a composition of one or more thermoplastic polymers and one or more exothermal blowing agents, said exothermal foaming comprises exposing said composition to conditions permitting exothermal decomposition of said exothermal blowing agent to obtain said foamed thermoplastic polymeric material).
In reference to Claim 28, Cogliano discloses the process of Claim 18, as described above.
Cogliano discloses foamed polyurethane resin texture treated by rolls by heating (3:29-37) (said article is made of said foamed thermoplastic polymeric material).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cogliano, et al. (US 3,874,964) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Lin (US 2017/0120497).
In reference to Claim 11, Cogliano discloses the process of Claim 1, as described above.
Cogliano does not disclose said textured surface is a surface of an extruded article.
Lin discloses extruding before roll pressing and embossing the extruded product ([0018]) (said textured surface is a surface of an extruded article).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to complete the process of Cogliano using the extrusion process of Lin because Lin is extruding a polyurethane product with a final texture. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to extrude the polyurethane product of Cogliano like Lin because it allows for a foamed polyurethane product. The reasonable expectation of success of using Lin’s polyurethane extrusion using Cogliano’s texturizing process is a foamed polyurethane product with textured surface.
In reference to Claim 12, Cogliano discloses the process of Claim 11, as described above.
Cogliano discloses extruding the polyurethane before roll pressing and embossing the extruded product ([0018]) (said extruded article is made of said foamed thermoplastic polymeric material).
In reference to Claim 27, Cogliano discloses the process of Claim 18, as described above.
Cogliano does not disclose said article is obtained by extrusion.
Lin discloses extruding before roll pressing and embossing the extruded product ([0018]) (said article is obtained by extrusion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to complete the process of Cogliano using the extrusion process of Lin because Lin is extruding a polyurethane product with a final texture. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to extrude the polyurethane product of Cogliano like Lin because it allows for a foamed polyurethane product. The reasonable expectation of success of using Lin’s polyurethane extrusion using Cogliano’s texturizing process is a foamed polyurethane product with textured surface.
Claims 13, 15-16, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cogliano, et al. (US 3,874,964) in view of Lin (US 2017/0120497) as applied to Claim 11 above, and further in view of Baker, et al. (US 2007/0148432).
In reference to Claim 13, modified Cogliano discloses the process of Claim 11, as described above.
Modified Cogliano does not disclose said extruded article comprises a core made of a non-foamed thermoplastic material, and said surface is made of said foamed thermoplastic polymeric material
Baker discloses winding a foamed thermoplastic material around a core 82 ([0057]-[0058]) (said extruded article comprises a core made of a non-foamed thermoplastic material, and said surface is made of said foamed thermoplastic polymeric material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to complete the process of Cogliano using the non-foam core of Baker because it allows for the foam to absorb without changing the core. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include a core with the polyurethane product of Cogliano like Baker because it allows for pre-saturation. The reasonable expectation of success of using Baker’s non-foamed core using Cogliano’s texturizing process is a foamed polyurethane product with textured surface and non-foamed core.
In reference to Claim 15, modified Cogliano discloses the process of Claim 11, as described above.
Baker discloses winding a foamed thermoplastic material around a core 82 ([0057]-[0058]) (said extruded article comprises a core made of non-polymeric thermoplastic composition, coated by said foamed thermoplastic polymeric material).
In reference to Claim 16, modified Cogliano discloses the process of Claim 13, as described above.
Baker discloses tandem extrusion process ([0059]) (said extruded article is manufactured by co-extrusion of the foamed thermoplastic polymeric material onto the core).
In reference to Claim 29, Cogliano discloses the process of Claim 18, as described above.
Cogliano does not disclose said article comprises a core made of a non-foamed thermoplastic material, and said surface is made of said foamed thermoplastic polymeric material.
Baker discloses winding a foamed thermoplastic material around a core 82 ([0057]-[0058]) (said article comprises a core made of a non-foamed thermoplastic material, and said surface is made of said foamed thermoplastic polymeric material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to complete the process of Cogliano using the non-foam core of Baker because it allows for the foam to absorb without changing the core. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include a core with the polyurethane product of Cogliano like Baker because it allows for pre-saturation. The reasonable expectation of success of using Baker’s non-foamed core using Cogliano’s texturizing process is a foamed polyurethane product with textured surface and non-foamed core.
In reference to Claim 30, modified Cogliano discloses the process of Claim 29, as described above.
Baker discloses tandem extrusion process ([0059]) (said article is obtained by co-extrusion).
Claims 17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cogliano, et al. (US 3,874,964) further in view of Baker, et al. (US 2007/0148432).
In reference to Claim 17, Cogliano discloses the process of Claim 1, as described above.
Cogliano does not disclose digitally printing one or more printing inks over at least one region of the textured surface.
Baker discloses printing inks on the surface ([0115]) (digitally printing one or more printing inks over at least one region of the textured surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to complete the process of Cogliano using the printing inks of Baker because it allows for the surface to be printed on. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include printing inks on the polyurethane product of Cogliano like Baker because it allows for ink on a surface. The reasonable expectation of success of using Baker’s printing inks using Cogliano’s texturizing process is a foamed polyurethane product with a printed surface.
In reference to Claim 22, Cogliano discloses the process of Claim 1, as described above.
Cogliano discloses the lower and upper sections are texturized by different rollers (3:29-37) (said heated surface comprises first zones having said second roughness grade).
Cogliano does not disclose second zones having a third roughness grade smaller than said second roughness grade.
Baker discloses winding a foamed thermoplastic material around a core 82 ([0057]-[0058]) (second zones having a third roughness grade smaller than said second roughness grade).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to complete the process of Cogliano using the non-foam core of Baker because it allows for the foam to absorb without changing the core. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include a core with the polyurethane product of Cogliano like Baker because it allows for pre-saturation. The reasonable expectation of success of using Baker’s non-foamed core using Cogliano’s texturizing process is a foamed polyurethane product with textured surface and non-foamed core.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 19 would be allowable because the prior art of record does not specifically disclose a second light reflectivity is larger than said first light reflectivity by at least 20 Gloss Units (as measured according to ASTM D2457).
Conclusion
KELSEY C. GRACE
Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1742