DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 10 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/21/2024 and 08/04/2025 were filed before the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takeda (JP 2021107101 A) as cited by Applicant – see Machine Translation.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Takeda teaches an electric tool (disc grinder, 1) comprising: a motor (motor, 5) configured to rotate a tip tool (grinding wheel, P); a switch unit (electronic switch, 11) configured to selectively provide or cut off supply of power to the motor (5; Paragraph [0127]); a housing (motor housing, 21) that houses the motor (5; Fig. 2); an operating member (paddle lever, 41) provided outside the housing (21; Fig. 1) and configured to be displaced between a first position (Fig. 11) and a second position (Fig. 12) in response to an operation (Paragraph [0141]); and an interlocking member (intervening portion, 42) configured to be displaced between a third position and a fourth position in response to displacement of the operating member (41; the lever 422 of the intervening portion 42 is pushed upward and as a result, the lever 422 rotates counterclockwise around the pin 423 in the direction shown in Figure 11 (Paragraph [0145]) and on the other hand, the lever 422 of the intervening part 42 rotates around the pin 423 in a clockwise direction as shown in the figure due to the biasing force of the leaf spring 11B of the electronic switch 11 (Paragraph [0148]), the housing (21) being arranged to house the switch unit (11, Fig. 12) and the switch unit (11) being configured to cut off the supply of the power to the motor (5) when the interlocking member (42) is located at the third position (Paragraphs [0148] – [0150]) and provide the supply of the power to the motor (5) when the interlocking member (42) is located at the fourth position (Paragraph [0145]).
Regarding Claim 6, Takeda teaches the electric tool (disc grinder, 1) wherein the operating member (41) is provided removably with respect to the housing (11; Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 7, Takeda teaches the electric tool (disc grinder, 1) wherein the interlocking member (42) includes a magnet, and the switch unit (11) includes a magnetic sensor configured to detect magnetism produced by the magnet (Paragraph [0128]), and the switch unit (11) is configured to selectively provide or cut off the supply of the power to the motor in response to detection of the magnetism by the magnetic sensor (Paragraph [0128]).
Regarding Claim 8, Takeda teaches the electric tool (disc grinder, 1) wherein the switch unit (11; Fig. 12) includes a displaceable portion (leaf spring, 11B) configured to be displaced between a fifth position (Fig. 12) and a sixth position (Fig. 11), the switch unit (11) is configured to cut off the supply of the power to the motor (5) when the displaceable portion is located at the fifth position (Paragraph [0127]) and provide the supply of the power to the motor (5) when the displaceable portion is located at the sixth position (Paragraph [0127]), and the interlocking member (42) is configured to, when located at the third position, cause the displaceable portion (11B) of the switch unit (11) to be displaced to the fifth position (Paragraph [0129]), and when located at the fourth position, cause the displaceable portion (11B) of the switch unit (11) to be displaced to the sixth position (Paragraphs [0141] – [0146]).
Regarding Claim 9, Takeda teaches the electric tool (disc grinder, 1) wherein the interlocking member (42) is configured to be rotatable, around a rotary shaft, between the third position and the fourth position (Paragraphs [0119] and [0122]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda (JP 2021107101 A) as cited by Applicant – see Machine Translation.
Regarding Claim 10, Takeda teaches the electric tool (disc grinder, 1) of claim 1 as discussed above.
Takeda does not teach the electric tool further comprising a second switch unit provided separately from a first switch unit serving as the switch unit, wherein the second switch unit is configured to, when the tip tool is displaced toward the motor, provide the supply of the power to the motor; however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool of Takeda to further include a second switch unit, as claimed, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the
Art (MPEP 2144.04).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although Takeda teaches an electric tool, the reference does not teach, suggest or make obvious the housing has a through hole, the through hole is arranged to face the operating member, the interlocking member includes a cover portion, the cover portion is arranged to close the through hole, the operating member is configured to, when displaced from the first position to the second position, displace the cover portion in a direction in which the through hole extends, and the interlocking member is configured to, when the cover portion is displaced by the operating member, be displaced from the third position to the fourth position.
Claims 3 – 5 are further objected to as dependents of objected claim 2.
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723