DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to claims filed on 09/11/2026. Claims 1-8, 10-15 and 17-20 are pending for evaluation.
Note: The claims are presented with independent claims listed first in numerical order, followed by dependent claims also in numerical order; any dual or mirror claims are grouped with the lowest-numbered claim in their respective pairing.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/21/2024 and 07/18/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The preliminary Amendment filed on 09/11/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4, 10-15 and 17-20 have been amended. Claims 9 and 16 are canceled. Claims 1-8, 10-15 and 17-20 remain pending for evaluation.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: The limitation “at least one of a media access control (MAC) address, an associated identifier (AID), an identifier of an associated access point (AP), a supported capability, a physical (PHY) version, an operating channel width and a location of either or both of the third communication apparatus and a neighboring communication apparatus of the third communication apparatus” should include “or” before the final alternative to clearly identify the recited items as alternatives. For example, the claim may be amended to recite “at least one of a media access control (MAC) address, an associated identifier (AID), an identifier of an associated access point (AP), a supported capability, a physical (PHY) version, or an operating channel width and a location of either or both of the third communication apparatus and a neighboring communication apparatus of the third communication apparatus.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: The phrase “a criterion for selecting the third communication apparatus about at least one of” is grammatically unclear because the term “about” does not clearly define the relationship between the criterion and the subsequently recited alternatives. Further, the limitation “at least one of a supported capability, a physical (PHY) version, a link quality indicator and an associated AP” should include “or” before the final alternative to clearly identify the recited items as alternatives. For example, the claim may be amended to recite “a criterion for selecting the third communication apparatus based on at least one of a supported capability, a physical (PHY) version, a link quality indicator, or an associated AP of the third communication apparatus.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite because the phrases “the request of the first frame” and the “request of the second frame” lack proper antecedent basis. Claims 1 and 5 recite transmitting the first frame and the second frame, respectively, to request information, but do not previously recite a “request” as an element or content of either frame. Accordingly, it is unclear whether Claim 6 requires the first and/or second frame itself to be encapsulated in a data frame, or requires separate request information contained within the first and/or second frame to be encapsulated in the data frame. For the purposes of examination, the examiner interprets Claim 6 as reciting that the first frame and the second frame are encapsulated in a data frame.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) because it depends on Claim 6.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record does not teach or suggest the claimed arrangement in which the request frame received by the second communication apparatus further requests the third communication apparatus to collect and report information concerning its neighboring communication apparatuses, and the second communication apparatus generates a response frame comprising the information collected and reported by the third communication apparatus. Although Katla teaches multi-STA sensing in which responder STAs perform and report sensing measurements, Katla uses separate sensing-setup/trigger signaling to initiate that collection and reporting rather than the request frame used to identify the responder. Accordingly, the cited combination does not teach the claimed request driven collection and reporting of neighboring apparatus information by the third communication apparatus.
Claims 8 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record does not teach or suggest the claimed validation exchange in which the second communication apparatus requests verification that the first communication apparatus is authorized to obtain information of the third communication apparatus, and the first communication apparatus returns verification information responsive to that request. Although Shu discloses AP-side confirmation of whether a neighboring STA is a valid neighbor based on stored status/authentication information, Shu validates the third/neighbor STA, rather than the first apparatus’s authorization to obtain information concerning that STA.
Katla similarly discloses request/response exchanges for determining whether a responder possesses desired sensing capabilities, but does not verify whether a requesting apparatus is authorized to obtain information concerning another apparatus.
Accordingly, neither Shu nor Katla teaches or suggests the claimed second apparatus initiated verification of the first apparatus’s authorization to obtain third apparatus information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 10, 12, 17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shu (US 20140133355) in view of Katla et al. (US 20240291536), Katla hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Shu teaches a first communication apparatus comprising (Fig. 6; See Also Fig. 7):
transmits the first frame to a second communication apparatus to request for information of a third communication apparatus (Fig. 3, S302, Para. [0051-0072] - [0051] FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram showing an application of the method for determining a neighbor station according to the first embodiment of the present invention in a wireless local area network. As shown in FIG. 3, when needing to perform neighbor discovery, in S300, an STA that needs to perform neighbor discovery (marked as STAx in FIG. 3) sends an association request message to an AP, so as to indicate an automatic neighbor discovery capability to the AP. In S301, the STAx receives an association response message from the AP, thereby completing an initial network entry process. In S302, the STAx sends a neighbor discovery request message to the AP, and as described above, the neighbor discovery request message may include information of an objective and/or a cause of neighbor discovery. In S303, the AP allocates, according to wake-up time of the STA in the coverage range, one or more channel use time periods used for neighbor discovery to the STAx. In 304, the AP notifies the STAx of the allocated one or more channel use time periods through a neighbor discovery response message. And in S305, the AP notifies all or a part of STAs of the allocated one or more channel use time periods. In S306, the STAx broadcasts a neighbor discovery message in the allocated one or more channel use time periods at power corresponding to an expected neighbor distance. In S307, the STA receiving the neighbor discovery message returns a neighbor response message to the STAx, and as described above, if multiple STAs returns the neighbor response messages to the STAx, mutual interference may be reduced based on a time division or frequency division manner. In S308, the STAx receives the neighbor response messages, and generates a neighbor list based on the neighbor STA information. In S309, the STAx sends a neighbor report request message to the AP, where the neighbor report request message includes the neighbor list generated in the STAx. In S310, the AP confirms the neighbor list of the STAx based on the stored STA information, thereby, for example, excluding an STA not associated with the AP. In S311, the AP notifies the STAx of an available neighbor list through a neighbor report response message, and in this case, the STAx needing to perform neighbor discovery may automatically discover a neighbor STA for relaying data transmission; See Also: Para. [0026-0028]; Fig. 1, Para. [0029-0041]; Fig. 2, Para. [0042-0050]; Fig. 3, Para. [0051-0072]; Fig. 4, Para. [0073-0084]; Fig. 5, Para. [0085-0094]),
and the first communication apparatus and the third communication apparatus are non-access- point (non-AP) stations and the second communication apparatus is an access point (AP) (Fig. 3, Para. [0051-0072] - [0051] FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram showing an application of the method for determining a neighbor station according to the first embodiment of the present invention in a wireless local area network. As shown in FIG. 3, when needing to perform neighbor discovery, in S300, an STA that needs to perform neighbor discovery (marked as STAx in FIG. 3) sends an association request message to an AP, so as to indicate an automatic neighbor discovery capability to the AP. In S301, the STAx receives an association response message from the AP, thereby completing an initial network entry process. In S302, the STAx sends a neighbor discovery request message to the AP, and as described above, the neighbor discovery request message may include information of an objective and/or a cause of neighbor discovery. In S303, the AP allocates, according to wake-up time of the STA in the coverage range, one or more channel use time periods used for neighbor discovery to the STAx. In 304, the AP notifies the STAx of the allocated one or more channel use time periods through a neighbor discovery response message. And in S305, the AP notifies all or a part of STAs of the allocated one or more channel use time periods. In S306, the STAx broadcasts a neighbor discovery message in the allocated one or more channel use time periods at power corresponding to an expected neighbor distance. In S307, the STA receiving the neighbor discovery message returns a neighbor response message to the STAx, and as described above, if multiple STAs returns the neighbor response messages to the STAx, mutual interference may be reduced based on a time division or frequency division manner. In S308, the STAx receives the neighbor response messages, and generates a neighbor list based on the neighbor STA information. In S309, the STAx sends a neighbor report request message to the AP, where the neighbor report request message includes the neighbor list generated in the STAx. In S310, the AP confirms the neighbor list of the STAx based on the stored STA information, thereby, for example, excluding an STA not associated with the AP. In S311, the AP notifies the STAx of an available neighbor list through a neighbor report response message, and in this case, the STAx needing to perform neighbor discovery may automatically discover a neighbor STA for relaying data transmission; See Also: Para. [0026-0028]; Fig. 1, Para. [0029-0041]; Fig. 2, Para. [0042-0050]; Fig. 3, Para. [0051-0072]; Fig. 4, Para. [0073-0084]; Fig. 5, Para. [0085-0094]).
Yet, Shu does not expressly teach circuitry, which, in operation, is configured to generate a first frame, a transmitter, which, in operation, wherein the first frame comprises a field indicating a criterion about an operating channel width for selecting the third communication apparatus.
However, Katla teaches
circuitry, which, in operation, is configured to generate a first frame (Fig. 1B, element 118, Para. [0055-0064]);
a transmitter, which, in operation (Fig. 1B, element 120, Para. [0055-0064]),
wherein the first frame comprises a field indicating a criterion about an operating channel width for selecting the third communication apparatus (Fig. 3, step 310, Para. [0121-0129] - [0122] In step 310, a sensing initiator transmits a probe request frame to identify sensing responders and whether they are also sensing transmitters or receivers. In some implementations, the probe request frame includes an indication of sensing capabilities (e.g., PHY sensing capabilities) that the initiator desires of desired sensing responder; Fig. 4A, element 425, Fig. 4C, Para. [0130-0137] - [0130] FIG. 4A illustrates an example format for a capabilities element 400 of a probe request frame. Capabilities element 400 includes an element ID field 405, length field 410, element ID extension 415, Medium Access Control (MAC) capabilities information field 420, physical layer (PHY) capability information field 425, supported MCS field 430, and PPE threshold field 435. It is noted that in some implementations, a capabilities element of a probe request frame may include more fields, a subset of these fields, and/or different fields………. [0132] FIG. 4C illustrates an example format for the PHY capability element information field 455 illustrated in FIG. 4A. PHY capability information field 425 includes a PHY data capability information subfield 460 and a PHY sensing capability information subfield 465. It is noted that in some implementations, a PHY capability information field may include more fields, a subset of these fields, and/or different fields. In some implementations, a PHY Sensing capability information subfield indicates optional MAC features that a STA may support for the sensing function. [0133] In some implementations, if a sensing initiator is sensing transmitter, the sensing initiator may send a probe request frame indicating the PHY sensing capabilities desired of the sensing responder (e.g., sensing bandwidth, sensing resolution, angle of arrival resolution, sensing SNR, field-of-view, etc.) to identify sensing responder receivers' sensing capabilities Rx. The capabilities element of the probe request frame is shown in FIGS. 4A, 4B, and 4C; See Also: Para. [0037-0040]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0100-0120]; Fig. 3, Para. [0121-0129]; Fig. 4A-C, Para. [0130-0137]; Fig. 5, Para. [0138-0147]; Fig. 6-7, Para. [0148-0165]; Fig. 8, Para. [0166-0168]; Fig. 9-10, Para. [0169-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0175-0178]; Fig. 12-13, Para.[0179-0181]; Fig. 14, Para. [0182-0184]; Fig. 15-16, Para. [0185-0188]; Fig. 17, Para. [0189-0191]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0192-0215]; Fig. 20, Para. [0216-0231]; Fig. 21, Para. [0232-0285]; Fig. 22, Para. [0286]; Fig. 23, Para. [0287-0293])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shu’s invention of “a method for determining a neighbor station in a wireless local area network” (Shu Para. [0002]) with Katla’s invention of methods for “configuring multiple station (multi-STA) sensing-specific feedback using Null Data Packet (NDP) Announcement (NADPA) and trigger frames” (Katla Para. [0003]) because Katla’s invention provides techniques for “multi-STA assisted sensing, e.g., for improving sensing resolution” (Katla Para. [0120]).
Examiner’s Note for Claim 1: Shu provides the claimed communication arrangement: STAx corresponds to the first non-AP communication apparatus, the AP corresponds to the second communication apparatus, and a neighboring STA corresponds to the third non-AP communication apparatus.
Shu’s neighbor discovery request at Fig. 3, S302 is the claimed first frame because STAx transmits the request to the AP for information used to identify/select a neighboring STA.
Katla supplies the particular implementation and content missing from Shu. Katla’s processor/transceiver generates and transmits a probe request frame specifying desired PHY sensing capabilities of a responder, including sensing bandwidth; thus, the bandwidth information provides the claimed criterion concerning an operating channel width for selecting a responder/third communication apparatus having the desired capability.
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1: Fig. 3 from Shu (US 20140133355). Highlights and annotations show mappings to Claims 1 and 12. Shu Fig. 3 provides the overall signaling framework between a first non-AP STA and an AP regarding a third non-AP STA.)]
Accordingly, in the combination, Katla’s bandwidth selection field is incorporated into Shu’s STA-to-AP neighbor discovery request so that the AP assisted neighbor discovery procedure identifies a neighboring non-AP STA satisfying the specified bandwidth criterion.
Regarding Claim 12, Shu teaches a second communication apparatus comprising (Fig. 6; See Also Fig. 7):
receives a request frame from a first communication apparatus requesting for information of a third communication apparatus (Fig. 3, S302, Para. [0051-0072]; See Also: Para. [0026-0028]; Fig. 1, Para. [0029-0041]; Fig. 2, Para. [0042-0050]; Fig. 3, Para. [0051-0072]; Fig. 4, Para. [0073-0084]; Fig. 5, Para. [0085-0094])
and the first communication apparatus and the third communication apparatus are non-access- point (non-AP) stations and the second communication apparatus is an access point (AP) (Fig. 3, Para. [0051-0072]; See Also: Para. [0026-0028]; Fig. 1, Para. [0029-0041]; Fig. 2, Para. [0042-0050]; Fig. 3, Para. [0051-0072]; Fig. 4, Para. [0073-0084]; Fig. 5, Para. [0085-0094]).
Yet, Shu does not expressly teach a receiver, which, in operation, circuitry, which, in operation, is configured to process the request frame and generate a response frame comprising the information, and a transmitter, which in operation, transmits the response frame to the first communication apparatus, wherein the request frame comprises a field indicating a criterion about an operating channel width for selecting the third communication apparatus, the response frame comprises the information of the third communication apparatus meeting the criterion.
However, Katla teaches
a receiver, which, in operation, (Fig. 1B, element 120, Para. [0055-0064]);
circuitry, which, in operation, is configured to process the request frame and generate a response frame comprising the information (Fig. 1B, element 118, Para. [0055-0064]; Fig. 3, step 320, Para. 0121-0129] - [0123] In step 320, the initiator receives a probe response frame from each sensing responder. In some implementations, a probe response is only received from sensing responders that include at least one sensing capability indicated in the probe request frame. In some implementations, each probe response frame indicates the sensing capabilities (e.g., PHY sensing capabilities) of the sensing responder from which it was received; See Also: Para. [0037-0040]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0100-0120]; Fig. 3, Para. [0121-0129]; Fig. 4A-C, Para. [0130-0137]; Fig. 5, Para. [0138-0147]; Fig. 6-7, Para. [0148-0165]; Fig. 8, Para. [0166-0168]; Fig. 9-10, Para. [0169-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0175-0178]; Fig. 12-13, Para.[0179-0181]; Fig. 14, Para. [0182-0184]; Fig. 15-16, Para. [0185-0188]; Fig. 17, Para. [0189-0191]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0192-0215]; Fig. 20, Para. [0216-0231]; Fig. 21, Para. [0232-0285]; Fig. 22, Para. [0286]; Fig. 23, Para. [0287-0293]);
and a transmitter, which in operation, transmits the response frame to the first communication apparatus (Fig. 1B, element 120, Para. [0055-0064]; Fig. 3, step 320, Para. 0121-0129] - [0123] In step 320, the initiator receives a probe response frame from each sensing responder. In some implementations, a probe response is only received from sensing responders that include at least one sensing capability indicated in the probe request frame. In some implementations, each probe response frame indicates the sensing capabilities (e.g., PHY sensing capabilities) of the sensing responder from which it was received; See Also: Para. [0037-0040]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0100-0120]; Fig. 3, Para. [0121-0129]; Fig. 4A-C, Para. [0130-0137]; Fig. 5, Para. [0138-0147]; Fig. 6-7, Para. [0148-0165]; Fig. 8, Para. [0166-0168]; Fig. 9-10, Para. [0169-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0175-0178]; Fig. 12-13, Para.[0179-0181]; Fig. 14, Para. [0182-0184]; Fig. 15-16, Para. [0185-0188]; Fig. 17, Para. [0189-0191]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0192-0215]; Fig. 20, Para. [0216-0231]; Fig. 21, Para. [0232-0285]; Fig. 22, Para. [0286]; Fig. 23, Para. [0287-0293] ),
wherein the request frame comprises a field indicating a criterion about an operating channel width for selecting the third communication apparatus (Fig. 3, step 310, Para. [0121-0129]; Fig. 4A, element 425, Fig. 4C, Para. [0130-0137]; See Also: Para. [0037-0040]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0100-0120]; Fig. 3, Para. [0121-0129]; Fig. 4A-C, Para. [0130-0137]; Fig. 5, Para. [0138-0147]; Fig. 6-7, Para. [0148-0165]; Fig. 8, Para. [0166-0168]; Fig. 9-10, Para. [0169-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0175-0178]; Fig. 12-13, Para.[0179-0181]; Fig. 14, Para. [0182-0184]; Fig. 15-16, Para. [0185-0188]; Fig. 17, Para. [0189-0191]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0192-0215]; Fig. 20, Para. [0216-0231]; Fig. 21, Para. [0232-0285]; Fig. 22, Para. [0286]; Fig. 23, Para. [0287-0293]),
the response frame comprises the information of the third communication apparatus meeting the criterion (Fig. 3, step 320, Para. 0121-0129] - [0123] In step 320, the initiator receives a probe response frame from each sensing responder. In some implementations, a probe response is only received from sensing responders that include at least one sensing capability indicated in the probe request frame. In some implementations, each probe response frame indicates the sensing capabilities (e.g., PHY sensing capabilities) of the sensing responder from which it was received; See Also: Para. [0037-0040]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0100-0120]; Fig. 3, Para. [0121-0129]; Fig. 4A-C, Para. [0130-0137]; Fig. 5, Para. [0138-0147]; Fig. 6-7, Para. [0148-0165]; Fig. 8, Para. [0166-0168]; Fig. 9-10, Para. [0169-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0175-0178]; Fig. 12-13, Para.[0179-0181]; Fig. 14, Para. [0182-0184]; Fig. 15-16, Para. [0185-0188]; Fig. 17, Para. [0189-0191]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0192-0215]; Fig. 20, Para. [0216-0231]; Fig. 21, Para. [0232-0285]; Fig. 22, Para. [0286]; Fig. 23, Para. [0287-0293]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shu’s invention of “a method for determining a neighbor station in a wireless local area network” (Shu Para. [0002]) with Katla’s invention of methods for “configuring multiple station (multi-STA) sensing-specific feedback using Null Data Packet (NDP) Announcement (NADPA) and trigger frames” (Katla Para. [0003]) because Katla’s invention provides techniques for “multi-STA assisted sensing, e.g., for improving sensing resolution” (Katla Para. [0120]).
Regarding Claim 19, Shu teaches a communication method implemented by a first communication apparatus comprising (Fig. 3, Para. [0051-0072]; See Also: Para. [0026-0028]; Fig. 1, Para. [0029-0041]; Fig. 2, Para. [0042-0050]; Fig. 3, Para. [0051-0072]; Fig. 4, Para. [0073-0084]; Fig. 5, Para. [0085-0094]):
generating a first frame (Fig. 3, S302, Para. [0051-0072]; See Also: Para. [0026-0028]; Fig. 1, Para. [0029-0041]; Fig. 2, Para. [0042-0050]; Fig. 3, Para. [0051-0072]; Fig. 4, Para. [0073-0084]; Fig. 5, Para. [0085-0094]);
and transmitting the first frame to a second communication apparatus to request for information of a third communication apparatus (Fig. 3, S302, Para. [0051-0072]; See Also: Para. [0026-0028]; Fig. 1, Para. [0029-0041]; Fig. 2, Para. [0042-0050]; Fig. 3, Para. [0051-0072]; Fig. 4, Para. [0073-0084]; Fig. 5, Para. [0085-0094]),
and the first communication apparatus and the third communication apparatus are non-access- point (non-AP) stations and the second communication apparatus is an access point (AP) (Fig. 3, Para. [0051-0072]; See Also: Para. [0026-0028]; Fig. 1, Para. [0029-0041]; Fig. 2, Para. [0042-0050]; Fig. 3, Para. [0051-0072]; Fig. 4, Para. [0073-0084]; Fig. 5, Para. [0085-0094]).
Yet, Shu does not expressly teach wherein the first frame comprises a field indicating a criterion about an operating channel width for selecting the third communication apparatus.
However, Katla teaches
wherein the first frame comprises a field indicating a criterion about an operating channel width for selecting the third communication apparatus (Fig. 3, step 310, Para. [0121-0129]; Fig. 4A, element 425, Fig. 4C, Para. [0130-0137]; See Also: Para. [0037-0040]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0100-0120]; Fig. 3, Para. [0121-0129]; Fig. 4A-C, Para. [0130-0137]; Fig. 5, Para. [0138-0147]; Fig. 6-7, Para. [0148-0165]; Fig. 8, Para. [0166-0168]; Fig. 9-10, Para. [0169-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0175-0178]; Fig. 12-13, Para.[0179-0181]; Fig. 14, Para. [0182-0184]; Fig. 15-16, Para. [0185-0188]; Fig. 17, Para. [0189-0191]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0192-0215]; Fig. 20, Para. [0216-0231]; Fig. 21, Para. [0232-0285]; Fig. 22, Para. [0286]; Fig. 23, Para. [0287-0293]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shu’s invention of “a method for determining a neighbor station in a wireless local area network” (Shu Para. [0002]) with Katla’s invention of methods for “configuring multiple station (multi-STA) sensing-specific feedback using Null Data Packet (NDP) Announcement (NADPA) and trigger frames” (Katla Para. [0003]) because Katla’s invention provides techniques for “multi-STA assisted sensing, e.g., for improving sensing resolution” (Katla Para. [0120]).
Regarding Claim 20, Shu teaches a communication method implemented by a second communication apparatus comprising (Fig. 3, Para. [0051-0072]; See Also: Para. [0026-0028]; Fig. 1, Para. [0029-0041]; Fig. 2, Para. [0042-0050]; Fig. 3, Para. [0051-0072]; Fig. 4, Para. [0073-0084]; Fig. 5, Para. [0085-0094]):
receiving a request frame from a first communication apparatus requesting for information of a third communication apparatus (Fig. 3, S302, Para. [0051-0072]; See Also: Para. [0026-0028]; Fig. 1, Para. [0029-0041]; Fig. 2, Para. [0042-0050]; Fig. 3, Para. [0051-0072]; Fig. 4, Para. [0073-0084]; Fig. 5, Para. [0085-0094]);
and the first communication apparatus and the third communication apparatus are non-access- point (non-AP) stations and the second communication apparatus is an access point (AP) (Fig. 3, Para. [0051-0072]; See Also: Para. [0026-0028]; Fig. 1, Para. [0029-0041]; Fig. 2, Para. [0042-0050]; Fig. 3, Para. [0051-0072]; Fig. 4, Para. [0073-0084]; Fig. 5, Para. [0085-0094]).
Yet, Shu does not expressly teach processing the request frame, generating a response frame comprising the information, and transmitting the response frame to the first communication apparatus, wherein the request frame comprises a field indicating a criterion about an operating channel width for selecting the third communication apparatus, the response frame comprises the information of the third communication apparatus meeting the criterion.
However, Katla teaches
processing the request frame (Fig. 3, step 320, Para. 0121-0129]; See Also: Para. [0037-0040]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0100-0120]; Fig. 3, Para. [0121-0129]; Fig. 4A-C, Para. [0130-0137]; Fig. 5, Para. [0138-0147]; Fig. 6-7, Para. [0148-0165]; Fig. 8, Para. [0166-0168]; Fig. 9-10, Para. [0169-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0175-0178]; Fig. 12-13, Para.[0179-0181]; Fig. 14, Para. [0182-0184]; Fig. 15-16, Para. [0185-0188]; Fig. 17, Para. [0189-0191]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0192-0215]; Fig. 20, Para. [0216-0231]; Fig. 21, Para. [0232-0285]; Fig. 22, Para. [0286]; Fig. 23, Para. [0287-0293]);
generating a response frame comprising the information (Fig. 3, step 320, Para. 0121-0129]; See Also: Para. [0037-0040]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0100-0120]; Fig. 3, Para. [0121-0129]; Fig. 4A-C, Para. [0130-0137]; Fig. 5, Para. [0138-0147]; Fig. 6-7, Para. [0148-0165]; Fig. 8, Para. [0166-0168]; Fig. 9-10, Para. [0169-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0175-0178]; Fig. 12-13, Para.[0179-0181]; Fig. 14, Para. [0182-0184]; Fig. 15-16, Para. [0185-0188]; Fig. 17, Para. [0189-0191]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0192-0215]; Fig. 20, Para. [0216-0231]; Fig. 21, Para. [0232-0285]; Fig. 22, Para. [0286]; Fig. 23, Para. [0287-0293]);
and transmitting the response frame to the first communication apparatus (Fig. 3, step 320, Para. 0121-0129]; See Also: Para. [0037-0040]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0100-0120]; Fig. 3, Para. [0121-0129]; Fig. 4A-C, Para. [0130-0137]; Fig. 5, Para. [0138-0147]; Fig. 6-7, Para. [0148-0165]; Fig. 8, Para. [0166-0168]; Fig. 9-10, Para. [0169-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0175-0178]; Fig. 12-13, Para.[0179-0181]; Fig. 14, Para. [0182-0184]; Fig. 15-16, Para. [0185-0188]; Fig. 17, Para. [0189-0191]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0192-0215]; Fig. 20, Para. [0216-0231]; Fig. 21, Para. [0232-0285]; Fig. 22, Para. [0286]; Fig. 23, Para. [0287-0293]),
wherein the request frame comprises a field indicating a criterion about an operating channel width for selecting the third communication apparatus (Fig. 3, step 310, Para. [0121-0129]; Fig. 4A, element 425, Fig. 4C, Para. [0130-0137]; See Also: Para. [0037-0040]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0100-0120]; Fig. 3, Para. [0121-0129]; Fig. 4A-C, Para. [0130-0137]; Fig. 5, Para. [0138-0147]; Fig. 6-7, Para. [0148-0165]; Fig. 8, Para. [0166-0168]; Fig. 9-10, Para. [0169-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0175-0178]; Fig. 12-13, Para.[0179-0181]; Fig. 14, Para. [0182-0184]; Fig. 15-16, Para. [0185-0188]; Fig. 17, Para. [0189-0191]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0192-0215]; Fig. 20, Para. [0216-0231]; Fig. 21, Para. [0232-0285]; Fig. 22, Para. [0286]; Fig. 23, Para. [0287-0293]),
the response frame comprises the information of the third communication apparatus meeting the criterion (Fig. 3, step 320, Para. 0121-0129]; See Also: Para. [0037-0040]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0100-0120]; Fig. 3, Para. [0121-0129]; Fig. 4A-C, Para. [0130-0137]; Fig. 5, Para. [0138-0147]; Fig. 6-7, Para. [0148-0165]; Fig. 8, Para. [0166-0168]; Fig. 9-10, Para. [0169-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0175-0178]; Fig. 12-13, Para.[0179-0181]; Fig. 14, Para. [0182-0184]; Fig. 15-16, Para. [0185-0188]; Fig. 17, Para. [0189-0191]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0192-0215]; Fig. 20, Para. [0216-0231]; Fig. 21, Para. [0232-0285]; Fig. 22, Para. [0286]; Fig. 23, Para. [0287-0293])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shu’s invention of “a method for determining a neighbor station in a wireless local area network” (Shu Para. [0002]) with Katla’s invention of methods for “configuring multiple station (multi-STA) sensing-specific feedback using Null Data Packet (NDP) Announcement (NADPA) and trigger frames” (Katla Para. [0003]) because Katla’s invention provides techniques for “multi-STA assisted sensing, e.g., for improving sensing resolution” (Katla Para. [0120]).
Regarding Claim 3, Shu in view of Katla teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Shu does not expressly teach wherein the information comprises at least one of a media access control (MAC) address, an associated identifier (AID), an identifier of an associated access point (AP), a supported capability, a physical (PHY) version, an operating channel width and a location of either or both of the third communication apparatus and a neighboring communication apparatus of the third communication apparatus.
However, Katla teaches wherein the information comprises at least one of
a media access control (MAC) address (Fig. 4A, element 420, Para. [0130-0137] - [0130] FIG. 4A illustrates an example format for a capabilities element 400 of a probe request frame. Capabilities element 400 includes an element ID field 405, length field 410, element ID extension 415, Medium Access Control (MAC) capabilities information field 420, physical layer (PHY) capability information field 425, supported MCS field 430, and PPE threshold field 435. It is noted that in some implementations, a capabilities element of a probe request frame may include more fields, a subset of these fields, and/or different fields; See Also: Para. [0037-0040]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0100-0120]; Fig. 3, Para. [0121-0129]; Fig. 4A-C, Para. [0130-0137]; Fig. 5, Para. [0138-0147]; Fig. 6-7, Para. [0148-0165]; Fig. 8, Para. [0166-0168]; Fig. 9-10, Para. [0169-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0175-0178]; Fig. 12-13, Para.[0179-0181]; Fig. 14, Para. [0182-0184]; Fig. 15-16, Para. [0185-0188]; Fig. 17, Para. [0189-0191]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0192-0215]; Fig. 20, Para. [0216-0231]; Fig. 21, Para. [0232-0285]; Fig. 22, Para. [0286]; Fig. 23, Para. [0287-0293] ),
an associated identifier (AID), an identifier of an associated access point (AP),
a supported capability (Fig. 3, step 310, Para. [0121-0129]; Fig. 4A, element 425, Fig. 4C, Para. [0130-0137]; See Also: Para. [0037-0040]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0100-0120]; Fig. 3, Para. [0121-0129]; Fig. 4A-C, Para. [0130-0137]; Fig. 5, Para. [0138-0147]; Fig. 6-7, Para. [0148-0165]; Fig. 8, Para. [0166-0168]; Fig. 9-10, Para. [0169-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0175-0178]; Fig. 12-13, Para.[0179-0181]; Fig. 14, Para. [0182-0184]; Fig. 15-16, Para. [0185-0188]; Fig. 17, Para. [0189-0191]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0192-0215]; Fig. 20, Para. [0216-0231]; Fig. 21, Para. [0232-0285]; Fig. 22, Para. [0286]; Fig. 23, Para. [0287-0293]),
a physical (PHY) version,
an operating channel width and a location of either or both of the third communication apparatus and a neighboring communication apparatus of the third communication apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shu’s invention of “a method for determining a neighbor station in a wireless local area network” (Shu Para. [0002]) with Katla’s invention of methods for “configuring multiple station (multi-STA) sensing-specific feedback using Null Data Packet (NDP) Announcement (NADPA) and trigger frames” (Katla Para. [0003]) because Katla’s invention provides techniques for “multi-STA assisted sensing, e.g., for improving sensing resolution” (Katla Para. [0120]).
Regarding Claim 4, Shu in view of Katla teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Shu does not expressly teach wherein the field further indicates and the criterion for selecting the third communication apparatus about at least one of a supported capability, a physical (PHY) version, a link quality indicator and an associated AP of the third communication apparatus.
However, Katla teaches wherein the field further indicates and the criterion for selecting the third communication apparatus about at least one of
a supported capability, a physical (PHY) version, a link quality indicator and an associated AP of the third communication apparatus (Fig. 3, step 310, Para. [0121-0129]; Fig. 4A, element 425, Fig. 4C, Para. [0130-0137]; See Also: Para. [0037-0040]; Fig. 2A-B, Para. [0100-0120]; Fig. 3, Para. [0121-0129]; Fig. 4A-C, Para. [0130-0137]; Fig. 5, Para. [0138-0147]; Fig. 6-7, Para. [0148-0165]; Fig. 8, Para. [0166-0168]; Fig. 9-10, Para. [0169-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0175-0178]; Fig. 12-13, Para.[0179-0181]; Fig. 14, Para. [0182-0184]; Fig. 15-16, Para. [0185-0188]; Fig. 17, Para. [0189-0191]; Fig. 18-19, Para. [0192-0215]; Fig. 20, Para. [0216-0231]; Fig. 21, Para. [0232-0285]; Fig. 22, Para. [0286]; Fig. 23, Para. [0287-0293]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shu’s invention of “a method for determining a neighbor station in a wireless local area network” (Shu Para. [0002]) with Katla’s invention of methods for “configuring multiple station (multi-STA) sensing-specific feedback using Null Data Packet (NDP) Announcement (NADPA) and trigger frames” (Katla Para. [0003]) because Katla’s invention provides techniques for “multi-STA assisted sensing, e.g., for improving sensing resolution” (Katla Para. [0120]).
Regarding Claim 5, Shu in view of Katla teaches Claim 1.
Shu further teaches
wherein the third communication apparatus is one of a plurality of third communication apparatuses (Para. [0036]; See Also: Para. [0026-0028]; Fig. 1, Para. [0029-0041]; Fig. 2, Para. [0042-0050]; Fig. 3, Para. [0051-0072]; Fig. 4, Para. [0073-0084]; Fig. 5, Para. [0085-0094]).
and the circuitry is configured to further generate a second frame and the transmitter transmits the second frame to request for information of the plurality of third communication apparatuses (Fig. 3, S302, Para. [0051-0072]; See Also: Para. [0026-0028]; Fig. 1, Para. [0029-0041]; Fig. 2, Para. [0042-0050]; Fig. 3, Para. [0051-0072]; Fig. 4, Para. [0073-0084]; Fig. 5, Para. [0085-0094]).
Regarding Claims 10 and 17, Shu in view of Katla teaches Claims 1 and 12.
Shu further teaches
wherein the first communication apparatus (Para. [0031-0032] - [0031] In the foregoing method for determining a neighbor station in a wireless local area network, before the sending, by an STA performing neighbor discovery, a neighbor discovery request message to an AP, the method further includes: sending, by the STA performing neighbor discovery, an association request message to the AP, where the association request message includes information indicating that the STA performing neighbor discovery supports an automatic neighbor discovery capability. [0032] Specifically, when an STA is initially deployed in an area covered by the AP, the STA firstly needs to perform an initial network entry process. Therefore, before sending the neighbor discovery request message to the AP, the STA firstly needs to communicate with the AP, so as to perform the initial network entry process, such as authentication and association, and the STA may indicate, to the AP through a message (such as an association request message) in the initial network entry process, that the STA supports the automatic neighbor discovery capability. In this case, the AP may obtain a list of STAs in the coverage area that are capable of performing automatic neighbor discovery, which is further convenient for managing the STAs in the coverage range; See Also: Para. [0026-0028]; Fig. 1, Para. [0029-0041]; Fig. 2, Para. [0042-0050]; Fig. 3, Para. [0051-0072]; Fig. 4, Para. [0073-0084]; Fig. 5, Para. [0085-0094])
and the third communication apparatus (Fig. 3, Para. [0051] - FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram showing an application of the method for determining a neighbor station according to the first embodiment of the present invention in a wireless local area network. As shown in FIG. 3, when needing to perform neighbor discovery, in S300, an STA that needs to perform neighbor discovery (marked as STAx in FIG. 3) sends an association request message to an AP, so as to indicate an automatic neighbor discovery capability to the AP. In S301, the STAx receives an association response message from the AP, thereby completing an initial network entry process. In S302, the STAx sends a neighbor discovery request message to the AP, and as described above, the neighbor discovery request message may include information of an objective and/or a cause of neighbor discovery. In S303, the AP allocates, according to wake-up time of the STA in the coverage range, one or more channel use time periods used for neighbor discovery to the STAx. In 304, the AP notifies the STAx of the allocated one or more channel use time periods through a neighbor discovery response message. And in S305, the AP notifies all or a part of STAs of the allocated one or more channel use time periods. In S306, the STAx broadcasts a neighbor discovery message in the allocated one or more channel use time periods at power corresponding to an expected neighbor distance. In S307, the STA receiving the neighbor discovery message returns a neighbor response message to the STAx, and as described above, if multiple STAs returns the neighbor response messages to the STAx, mutual interference may be reduced based on a time division or frequency division manner. In S308, the STAx receives the neighbor response messages, and generates a neighbor list based on the neighbor STA information. In S309, the STAx sends a neighbor report request message to the AP, where the neighbor report request message includes the neighbor list generated in the STAx. In S310, the AP confirms the neighbor list of the STAx based on the stored STA information, thereby, for example, excluding an STA not associated with the AP. In S311, the AP notifies the STAx of an available neighbor list through a neighbor report response message, and in this case, the STAx needing to perform neighbor discovery may automatically discover a neighbor STA for relaying data transmission; See Also: Para. [0026-0028]; Fig. 1, Para. [0029-0041]; Fig. 2, Para. [0042-0050]; Fig. 3, Para. [0051-0072]; Fig. 4, Para. [0073-0084]; Fig. 5, Para. [0085-0094])
are not associated with the second communication apparatus.
Examiner’s Note for Claims 10 and 17: Claims 10 and 17 do not require the first and third communication apparatuses be unassociated with the AP at any particular time. Shu teaches that the first communication apparatus, STAx, is initially unassociated with the AP and subsequently performs an initial network entry process including association before neighbor discovery (Shu Para. [0032]).
Shu further teaches that the third communication apparatus may a STA not associated with the AP because Para, [0051] teaches the AP confirms the neighbor list and may exclude a STA that is not associated with the AP; thus, the STA in Fig. 3 may be unassociated with the AP.
Regarding Claim 14, Shu in view of Katla teaches Claim 13.
Yet, Shu does not expressly teach wherein the request frame further requests the third communication apparatus to collect and report the information of the one or more neighboring communication apparatuses, and the circuitry is configured to generate the response frame comprising the information of the one or more neighboring communication apparatuses collected and reported by the third communication apparatus.
However, Katla teaches
wherein the request frame further requests the third communication apparatus to collect and report the information of the one or more neighboring communication apparatuses (),
and the circuitry is configured to generate the response frame comprising the information of the one or more neighboring communication apparatuses collected and reported by the third communication apparatus ().
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shu’s invention of “a method for determining a neighbor station in a wireless local area network” (Shu Para. [0002]) with Katla’s invention of methods for “configuring multiple station (multi-STA) sensing-specific feedback using Null Data Packet (NDP) Announcement (NADPA) and trigger frames” (Katla Para. [0003]) because Katla’s invention provides techniques for “multi-STA assisted sensing, e.g., for improving sensing resolution” (Katla Para. [0120]).
Claim(s) 2 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shu in view Katla, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20260019930), Lee hereinafter, Patil et al. (US 20150249954), Patil hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 2 and 13, Shu in view of Katla teaches Claims 1 and 12.
Yet, neither Shu nor Katla expressly teach wherein the information comprises information of one or more neighboring communication apparatuses of the third communication apparatus.
However, Lee teaches
wherein the information comprises information of one or more neighboring communication apparatuses (Fig. 4, Para. [0075-0100] - [0090] Referring to FIG. 4, the STA selects a next channel to be scanned based on the information included in the received probe response frame. The probe response frame may include neighbor AP information such as an AP channel report element, a neighbor report element, or the like. The AP channel report element is an element defined in the IEEE 802.11k technology, which includes a list of channels in which the STA has high probability of discovering an AP. [0091] For example, after the STA transmits a probe request frame with respect to a first channel at an initial stage of active scanning, if a probe response frame received from an AP includes an AP channel report element, a neighbor report element, or the like, the channels reported to be included in the element have a high probability of having APs. Thus, when the STA selects a channel to be scanned next from the list of channels on which the STA performs active scanning, the STA preferentially selects a channel included in the AP channel report element or a neighbor report element. Also, the STA checks an AP channel report element of a probe response frame received via scanned channel each time, and first scans a channel (i.e., a channel on the channel list undergoing active scanning, which has not been scanned yet) among channels included therein. Namely, the STA preferentially uses channel information of an AP channel report element included in the most recently received probe response frame. When a channel to be selectively scanned is selected, an appropriate AP can be more quickly discovered, and when an appropriate AP is discovered, scanning abort may be instructed to abort scanning; See Also: Para. [0026-0028]; Fig. 1, Para. [0029-0041]; Fig. 2, Para. [0042-0050]; Fig. 3, Para. [0051-0072]; Fig. 4, Para. [0073-0084]; Fig. 5, Para. [0085-0094]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the information comprises information of one or more neighboring communication apparatuses as taught by Lee, in the combined system of Shu/Katla, so that it would provide methods for the “transfer of operation of wireless devices between different frequency bands in a wireless communications network” (Lee Para. [0001]), thereby providing a “a scanning method in a wireless local area network (WLAN)” (Lee Para. [0002]), thereby providing means for “reducing flooding of probe response frames and shortening time required for performing scanning” (Lee Para. [0008]).
Yet, Shu, Katla, nor Lee teach wherein the information comprises information of one or more neighboring communication apparatuses of the third communication apparatus.
However, Patil teaches
wherein the information comprises information of one or more neighboring communication apparatuses of the third communication apparatus (Para. [0057] - Accordingly, because the second neighbor report 134 identifies access points that are one hop away (e.g., the access points 110, 260, 270, and 280) and multiple hops away (e.g., the sixth access point 290), the first report message 150 provided from the second access point 130 to the station 120 may also identify each of these access points. Thus, based on the second report message 152, which is generated based on the first report message 150, the first access point 110 may receive neighbor information that identifies an access point, such as the sixth access point 290, that is multiple hops away from the first access point 110. The first access point 110 may generate, maintain, or update the first neighbor report 114 based on the access points identified in the second report message 152. For example, the first access point 110 may generate the first neighbor report 114 of FIG. 1A, including identifying access points that are one hop away (e.g., the access points 130, 260, and 270), access points that are two hops away (e.g., the fifth access point 280), and access points that are three hops away (e.g., the sixth access point 290). Thus, in this example, the first neighbor report 114 may provide a network-wide access point topography; See Also: Fig. 1A, Para. [0021-0024]; Fig. 1B, Para. [0025-0050]; Fig. 2, Para. [0051-0061]; Fig. 3, Para. [0062-0066]; Fig. 4, Para. [0067-0075]; Fig. 5, Para. [0076-0078]).
Examiner’s Note for Claims 2 and 13: Lee teaches a STA requesting neighbor information form an AP using probe/neighbor report signaling. Patil further teaches that neighbor report may identify multi-hop neighbors (i.e., neighbors of the third communication apparatus), including APs that are two hops away. Thus, incorporating Patil’s multi-hop neighbor information into Lee’s neighbor report exchange results in the requested information including one or more neighboring communication apparatuses of the third communication apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the information comprises information of one or more neighboring communication apparatuses of the third communication apparatus as taught by Patil, in the combined system of Shu/Katla/Lee, so that it would provide methods for the “transfer of operation of wireless devices between different frequency bands in a wireless communications network” (Patil Para. [0001]), thereby enabling “an access point to quickly gather information about its neighboring access points by delegating such information gathering to individual stations associated with the access point” (Patil Para. [0008]).
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shu in view Katla, and further in view of Chu et al. (US 20130266136), Chu hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 6, Shu in view of Katla teaches Claim 5.
Yet, neither Shu nor Katla expressly teach wherein the request of the first frame and/or the request of the second frame is encapsulated in a data frame.
However, Chu teaches
wherein the request of the first frame and/or the request of the second frame is encapsulated in a data frame (Fig. 6, Para. [0028-0042] - [0041] There is one fast session transfer FST use case in which two stations STA communicate with each other through AP forwarding in the current OBand if the two stations are in the same BSS and at least one of them does not support TDLS. The two stations STA need to exchange FST Setup frames with each other. The IEEE 802.11 specification does not allow two stations STA to exchange management frames directly. Moreover, fast session transfer FST Setup management frames and other fast session transfer FST related action frames can't be forwarded by an access point AP since management frame forwarding by an access point AP is not available in the IEEE 802.11 specification. To solve this problem, fast session transfer FST Setup management frames and other FST related action frames are encapsulated as data frames. After being encapsulated as data frames, an access point AP can forward the encapsulated fast session transfer FST Setup management frames transparently; See Also: Para. [0011-0012]; Fig. 1, Para. [0013]; Fig. 2, Para. [0014-0018]; Fig. 3, Para. [0019-0021]; Fig. 4, Para. [0022-0027]; Fig. 5-6, Para. [0028-0042]; Fig. 7, Para. [0043-0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the request of the first frame and/or the request of the second frame is encapsulated in a data frame as taught by Chu, in the combined system of Shu/Katla, so that it would provide methods for the “transfer of operation of wireless devices between different frequency bands in a wireless communications network” (Chu Para. [0001]), thereby providing “efficient methods of switching the operation of stations STA, APs and PCPs among the available frequency bands” (Chu Para. [0002]).
Regarding Claim 7, Shu in view of Katla and Chu teaches Claim 6.
Yet, neither Shu nor Katla expressly teach wherein the data frame comprises an Ethertype 89-Od data frame.
However, Chu teaches
wherein the data frame comprises an Ethertype 89-Od data frame (Fig. 6, Para. [0028-0042] - [0042] The two stations STA need to be able to identify the encapsulated fast session transfer FST Setup management frames. EtherType 89-0d is already used by IEEE 802.11 to encapsulate management frames in data frames, as will be understood by those skilled in the art. Briefly, "EtherType" is a two-octet field in an Ethernet frame that is used to indicate which protocol is encapsulated in the payload portion of the Ethernet Frame. As a result, a new payload type, e.g., payload type 3, is defined to identify the encapsulated fast session transfer FST related management frames; See Also: Para. [0011-0012]; Fig. 1, Para. [0013]; Fig. 2, Para. [0014-0018]; Fig. 3, Para. [0019-0021]; Fig. 4, Para. [0022-0027]; Fig. 5-6, Para. [0028-0042]; Fig. 7, Para. [0043-0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the data frame comprises an Ethertype 89-Od data frame as taught by Chu, in the combined system of Shu/Katla, so that it would provide methods for the “transfer of operation of wireless devices between different frequency bands in a wireless communications network” (Chu Para. [0001]), thereby providing “efficient methods of switching the operation of stations STA, APs and PCPs among the available frequency bands” (Chu Para. [0002]).
Claim(s) 11 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shu in view Katla, and further in view of Kneckt et al. (US 20220167256), Kneckt hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 11 and 18, Shu in view of Katla teaches Claims 1 and 12.
Yet, neither Shu nor Katla expressly teach wherein the first communication apparatus is affiliated with a non-AP multi-link device (MLD) and the second communication apparatus is affiliated with an AP MLD.
However, Kneckt teaches
wherein the first communication apparatus is affiliated with a non-AP multi-link device (MLD) and the second communication apparatus is affiliated with an AP MLD (Fig. 6B, Para. [0126] - In some embodiments, e.g., as illustrated by FIG. 6B, an associated non-AP MLD (e.g., such as wireless station 106 and or wireless node 107) may send a robust ML query request to query available APs and associated parameters in the AP MLD. In other words, the associated non-AP MLD may perform secure multilink scanning. As shown, non-AP MLD 614 may be associated with ML entity 604 and may include STAs 606a-c. STA 606a may send a robust ML query request 620 to AP 612a. AP 612a may respond with a response 622. The response 622 may be a unicast ML query response to STA 606a or may be a broadcast (ML) probe response that responds to request 620 as well as one or more additional requests (e.g., from other STAs). Additionally, as shown, STA 606b may have an established link 624 with AP 612b; See Also: Para. [0011-0012]; Fig. 1, Para. [0013]; Fig. 2, Para. [0014-0018]; Fig. 3, Para. [0019-0021]; Fig. 4, Para. [0022-0027]; Fig. 5-6, Para. [0028-0042]; Fig. 7, Para. [0043-0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first communication apparatus is affiliated with a non-AP multi-link device (MLD) and the second communication apparatus is affiliated with an AP MLD as taught by Kneckt, in the combined system of Shu/Katla, so that it would provide “methods for performing robust discovery of a new access point (AP) in AP MLD, robust link addition to an AP MLD association, AP beaconing modes when the AP is added or deleted to/from an AP MLD, and robust BSS transition management (BTM) signaling to steer a non-AP MLD to a best AP MLD and to most suitable APs, as well as privacy improvements for associated non-AP MLD” (Kneckt §Abstract).
Conclusion
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468