DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response/communication filed 10/21/2024.
No claims have been cancelled.
No claims have been added.
Claims(s) 1-20 is/are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/21/2024 and 10/8/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 10/21/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. The limitation, “at least one action delay configured to…”, as noted in claim 1 and similarly in claim 10, is considered as having an implied structure and therefore 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is NOT invoked.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awoniyi-Oteri et al. (US 20230033336 A1) Li et al. (US 20240413870 A1) and in further view of BI et al. (US 20230318693 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Awoniyi-Oteri et al. teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: a transceiver; and a processor configured to, receive, via the transceiver, at least one indication to activate at least one transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (Paragraphs: 108-113, 157, The passage teaches the UE receiving, via its communication circuitry, a MAC-CE/DCI indication activating one or more TCI states corresponding to beam configurations), the at least one TCI state identifies at least one beam that is predicted to be of satisfactory quality for at least one transmission between the UE (Paragraphs: 59, 79-80, 100, 107-108, The passage teaches TCI states corresponding to predicted future beams selected from predictive position information and scheduled for future use to maintain reliable communication quality between the UE and the serving base station/cell); and at least one action delay configured to activate the at least one TCI state (Paragraphs: 107, 109-113, The passage teaches activation of TCI states according to associated timing information, including slot offsets and timer values); and activate the at least one TCI state in accord with the at least one action delay (Paragraphs: 107, 109-114, The passage teaches activating TCI states according to scheduled timing information so that beam activation occurs at the corresponding delayed future times).
Awoniyi-Oteri et al. does not explicitly teach and at least one cell at a future time, identify the at least one beam in accord with the TCI state.
However, Li et al. teaches identify the at least one beam in accord with the TCI state (Paragraphs: 72, 76, The passage expressly teaches identifying and selecting the beam corresponding to the indicated TCI state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide identify the at least one beam in accord with the TCI state as taught by Li et al. in the system of Awoniyi-Oteri et al., so that the UE can directly associate the activated TCI state with its corresponding beam and reliably perform future beam-based communications using the correct beam configuration while reducing ambiguity and improving the accuracy and efficiency of scheduled beam activation.
Neither Awoniyi-Oteri et al. nor Li et al. explicitly teach and at least one cell at a future time.
However, BI et al. teaches and at least one cell at a future time (Paragraphs: 129-136, 146, 148-153, 163-170, 179, 191-202, 214-224, 235-244, the passage repeatedly identifies one or more candidate target cell IDs, selects to-be-switched target cell, and associates that identified target cell with a specified future moment (t--2) at which the UE switches communication to that cell, thereby teaching at least one cell at a future time rather than merely communication with a base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide and at least one cell at a future time as taught by BI et al. in the combined system of Awoniyi-Oteri et al. and Li et al., so that it would enable the UE to associate predicted future beam and TCI state activation with a specific future serving cell. Thereby supporting seamless cell transitions, maintaining reliable communication continuity, and ensuring the appropriate beam configuration is available when communication occurs with the identified future cell.
Regarding claim 2, Awoniyi-Oteri et al. teaches the at least one indication to activate the at least one TCI state is received in at least one medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (MAC CE) (Paragraphs: 108-109, The passage teaches that the UE receives a beam change confirmation from the base station, where the confirmation is provided in a MAC-CE that indicates TCIs to activate).
Regarding claim 3, Awoniyi-Oteri et al. teaches a MAC CE of the at least one MAC CE identifies a number of TCI states or TCI codepoints corresponding to the at least one TCI state; and the MAC CE identifies an action delay that applies to each TCI state or TCI codepoint of the number of TCI states or TCI codepoints identified in the MAC CE (Paragraphs: 101-113, The passage teaches a MAC CE carrying a plurality of identified TCI states, with each listed TCI state associated with a corresponding activation time (e.g., absolute time, slot offset, or timer value), which functions as an action delay specifying when the action for that identified TCI state is to occur).
Regarding claim 4, Awoniyi-Oteri et al. teaches a MAC CE of the at least one MAC CE identifies multiple TCI states or TCI codepoints corresponding to the at least one TCI state; and the MAC CE identifies an action delay per TCI state or TCI codepoint in the multiple TCI states or TCI codepoints (Paragraphs: 101-113, The passage teaches a MAC CE identifying multiple TCI states, with each TCI state individually associated with corresponding timing information (e.g., absolute time, slot offset, or timer value) indicating when that TCI state is to be activated).
Regarding claim 5, Awoniyi-Oteri et al. teaches a MAC CE of the at least one MAC CE identifies a number of TCI states or TCI codepoints corresponding to the at least one TCI state; and the processor is configured to receive, via the transceiver, downlink control information (DCI) to schedule a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) containing the MAC CE, the DCI identifies an action delay that applies to each TCI state or TCI codepoint of the number of TCI states or TCI codepoints identified in the MAC CE (Paragraphs: 75, 101-113, The passage teaches a MAC CE identifying multiple TCI states, DCI signaling associated with activating those TCI states using timing information that applies to each listed TCI state, and receipt of DCI and PDSCH transmissions).
Regarding claim 6, Awoniyi-Oteri et al. teaches the at least one MAC CE is one MAC CE; the MAC CE identifies at least one TCI codepoint corresponding to the at least one TCI state; each TCI codepoint of the at least one TCI codepoint is associated with multiple TCI states; and different action delays are indicated for different TCI states of the multiple TCI states (Paragraphs: 101, 107, 109-113, The passage teaches a MAC-CE carrying multiple TCI states and corresponding timing information for beam activation).
Regarding claim 7, Awoniyi-Oteri et al. teaches the at least one action delay is, selected from a predefined first set of at least one candidate action delay; or selected from a set of a second set of at least one candidate action delay configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Paragraphs: 78, 92, 96-98, 102-113, 119, 128, The passage teaches selecting action timing values from preconfigured candidate values and from sets configured through RRC signaling by disclosing preconfigured timing/beam parameter ranges, RRC-configured measurement and grant configurations, and beam change messages containing selectable timing values for future actions).
Regarding claim 8, Awoniyi-Oteri et al. teaches the processor is configured to receive, via the transceiver, a second indication, the second indication indicates whether the at least one indication to activate the at least one TCI state overwrites previous indications to activate the at least one TCI state (Paragraphs: 108-109, 130, receiving a second indication via the transceiver that indicates activation of one or more TCI states through MAC-CE/DCI signaling).
Regarding claim 9, Awoniyi-Oteri et al. teaches the processor is configured to automatically overwrite previous indications to activate the at least one TCI state upon receiving the indication to activate the at least one TCI state (Paragraphs: 109-114, 130, The passage teaches that upon receiving a MAC-CE or DCI indicating TCI state activation, the UE activates the newly indicated TCI state or sequence of TCI states for subsequent communications).
Regarding claim 10, Awoniyi-Oteri et al. teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: a transceiver; and a processor configured to, receive, via the transceiver, at least one indication of at least one transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (Paragraphs: 108-113, 130, 147, The UE receives, through its receiver/transceiver, MAC-CE or DCI indications containing one or more TCI states), the at least one TCI state identifies at least one beam that is predicted to be of satisfactory quality for at least one transmission between the UE (Paragraphs: 73, 79-80, 91-92, 100, 107-108, The passage teaches AI/model-based prediction of preferred future beams and associates those predicted future beams with TCI states used for future communications); and at least one action delay configured to apply the at least one TCI state (Paragraphs: 103-114, The disclosed timing values, slot offsets, timer values, and beam activation timing teach an action delay that controls when each received TCI state is applied); and apply the at least one TCI state to the at least one transmission in accord with the at least one action delay (Paragraphs: 107-114, 130-134, The disclosed timed activation of TCI states and subsequent communications using the corresponding beams teach applying the TCI state to transmissions according to the specified activation delay).
Awoniyi-Oteri et al. does not explicitly teach and at least one cell at a future time, identify the at least one beam in accord with the TCI state.
However, Li et al. teaches identify the at least one beam in accord with the TCI state (Paragraphs: 72, 76, The passage expressly teaches identifying and selecting the beam corresponding to the indicated TCI state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide identify the at least one beam in accord with the TCI state as taught by Li et al. in the system of Awoniyi-Oteri et al., so that the UE can directly associate the activated TCI state with its corresponding beam and reliably perform future beam-based communications using the correct beam configuration while reducing ambiguity and improving the accuracy and efficiency of scheduled beam activation.
Neither Awoniyi-Oteri et al. nor Li et al. explicitly teach and at least one cell at a future time.
However, BI et al. teaches and at least one cell at a future time (Paragraphs: 129-136, 146, 148-153, 163-170, 179, 191-202, 214-224, 235-244, the passage repeatedly identifies one or more candidate target cell IDs, selects to-be-switched target cell, and associates that identified target cell with a specified future moment (t--2) at which the UE switches communication to that cell, thereby teaching at least one cell at a future time rather than merely communication with a base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide and at least one cell at a future time as taught by BI et al. in the combined system of Awoniyi-Oteri et al. and Li et al., so that it would enable the UE to associate predicted future beam and TCI state activation with a specific future serving cell. Thereby supporting seamless cell transitions, maintaining reliable communication continuity, and ensuring the appropriate beam configuration is available when communication occurs with the identified future cell.
Regarding claim 11, Awoniyi-Oteri et al. teaches the at least one indication of the at least one TCI state is received in at least one medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (MAC CE) (Paragraphs: 108-109, The passage teaches that the UE receives a beam change confirmation from the base station, where the confirmation is provided in a MAC-CE that indicates TCIs to activate).
Regarding claim 12, Awoniyi-Oteri et al. teaches the at least one indication of the at least one TCI state is received in downlink control information (DCI) (Paragraphs: 75, 109-113, The passage teaches that the UE receives indications of TCI states through DCI signaling, with the DCI carrying the TCI state information (including one or more TCI states and associated timing) used to activate beam configurations).
Regarding claim 13, Awoniyi-Oteri et al. teaches the DCI includes at least one dedicated field that identifies the at least one action delay (Paragraph 109-113, 130-134, The passage teaches DCI carrying explicit timing information fields ("Time 1," "Time 2," "Time N") associated with beam actions, where each timing field identifies when the corresponding action is to occur).
Regarding claim 14, Awoniyi-Oteri et al. teaches the processor is configured to, before the at least one TCI state is applied to the at least one transmission, measure a set of channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resources transmitted from at least one antenna port associated with the at least one TCI state; and refine at least one UE beam associated with the at least one TCI state (Paragraphs: 80, 82, 96-100, 102-109, 114, The passage teaches that, before TCI state activation and use for communication, the UE measures multiple preconfigured CSI-RS resources associated with candidate beams, determines and refines its UE beam based on those measurements and channel modeling, associates the selected beam with TCI states, and only then activates the TCI state for subsequent transmissions).
Regarding claim 15, Awoniyi-Oteri et al. teaches the processor is configured to, before the at least one TCI state is applied to the at least one transmission, determine a reference signal received power (RSRP) for at least one channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource transmitted from at least one antenna port associated with the at least one TCI state; and transmit, via the transceiver, after a TCI state in the at least one TCI state is applied to the at least one transmission, at least one report based on the RSRP (Paragraphs: 92, 97, 99, 101-109, 114, The UE measures CSI-RS resources to determine RSRP for beams associated with candidate TCI states, transmits a beam report identifying TCI states based on the RSRP measurements, the selected TCI state is activated by the network, and communications proceed using the applied TCI state).
Regarding claim 16, Awoniyi-Oteri et al. teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: a transceiver; and a processor configured to, predict, using artificial intelligence, at least one beam that should be of satisfactory quality for at least one transmission at a future time (Paragraphs: 79, 80, 83, 90-91, 100, The passage teaches a UE using AI/machine learning models with predictive information to determine future beam(s) for subsequent communications based on predicted channel and position conditions); and transmit, via the transceiver and to a base station, an indication of at least one transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state for use at a future time (Paragraphs: 99, 101-107, 143, The UE transmits to the base station, via its transmitter/transceiver, an indication including one or more TCI states together with future activation times), the at least one TCI state identifies the at least one beam that should be of satisfactory quality for the at least one transmission (Paragraphs: 99, 102-108, 114, The disclosed TCI states directly correspond to selected beams that are predicted to be used for future communications, thereby identifying the beams for the future transmissions).
Awoniyi-Oteri et al. does not explicitly teach between the UE and at least one cell, at a future time; the artificial intelligence based at least partly on non-current measurements for a set of candidate beams.
However, Li et al. teaches the artificial intelligence based at least partly on non-current measurements for a set of candidate beams (Paragraphs: 81, 85, 86, 93, 106, The AI prediction is based on historical (non-current) measurements and predicted measurement values derived from CSI-RS resources associated with candidate beams).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the artificial intelligence based at least partly on non-current measurements for a set of candidate beams as taught by Li et al. in the system of Awoniyi-Oteri et al., so that it would improve the accuracy and reliability of future beam prediction by leveraging historical beam measurement information in addition to current network conditions, thereby enabling more robust transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state selection for future communications.
Neither Awoniyi-Oteri et al. nor Li et al. explicitly teach between the UE and at least one cell, at a future time.
However, BI et al. teaches between the UE and at least one cell, at a future time (Paragraphs: 129-136, 146, 148-153, 163-170, 179, 191-202, 214-224, 235-244, the passage repeatedly identifies one or more candidate target cell IDs, selects to-be-switched target cell, and associates that identified target cell with a specified future moment (t--2) at which the UE switches communication to that cell, thereby teaching at least one cell at a future time rather than merely communication with a base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide between the UE and at least one cell, at a future time as taught by BI et al. in the combined system of Awoniyi-Oteri et al. and Li et al., so that it would enable the UE to associate predicted future beam and TCI state activation with a specific future serving cell. Thereby supporting seamless cell transitions, maintaining reliable communication continuity, and ensuring the appropriate beam configuration is available when communication occurs with the identified future cell.
Regarding claim 17, Awoniyi-Oteri et al. teaches the processor is configured to transmit, via the transceiver, UE capability information indicating a most distant future time for which beam prediction is supported (Paragraphs: 73, 79, 83, 96, 100, 102-107, 141-149, The passage teaches a UE with a transmitter that communicates its beam prediction capability by transmitting beam requests containing predicted future beam timing information for multiple future time periods).
Regarding claim 18, Awoniyi-Oteri et al. teaches the processor is configured to, receive, via the transceiver, a configuration for transmitting the indication of the at least one TCI state; and transmit the indication of the at least one TCI state in accord with the configuration (Paragraphs: 96-99, 101-107, The UE receives a base-station configuration defining reporting resources and signaling for transmitting beam requests, and then transmits an indication including one or more TCI states using the configured signaling resources and format).
Regarding claim 19, Awoniyi-Oteri et al. teaches the processor is configured to, monitor a set of conditions including at least one of, whether beam prediction or TCI state recommendation is enabled by a base station; whether the at least one TCI state differs from a currently activated or indicated TCI state; or whether a predicted beam measurement for the at least one beam differs from an actual beam measurement for a currently activated or indicated TCI state; and transmit the indication of the at least one TCI state after the set of conditions is met (Paragraphs: 91, 92, 96, 98-107, 140, The passage teaches a UE operating only after a base-station configuration enables beam prediction, monitoring beam measurements and predicted channel conditions, determining when predicted/preferred TCI states differ from current measured conditions, and transmitting a TCI-state indication or beam request once those monitored conditions warrant an update).
Regarding claim 20, Awoniyi-Oteri et al. teaches the processor is configured to predict the at least one beam based on a mobility criterion of the UE (Paragraphs: 59, 77, 79, 82-83, 85, 87-92, 99-100, These passages teach predicting beam selection based on UE mobility characteristics, including movement magnitude, movement rate, rate of change, predicted movement, and predicted position, which collectively constitute mobility criteria used by the processor to predict one or more beams).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Awoniyi-Oteri et al. (US 20230057661 A1) discloses beam monitoring and beam prediction using future time periods
/A.S.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/MICHAEL K PHILLIPS/Examiner, Art Unit 2464