DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a” should be changed to “the” in line 9 (consistent with line 7). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-14, 17-19, 21, 22, 39 and 43-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 106949304) in view of Swain et al (US 3,861,158).
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses a method (e.g. claim 1), comprising: submerging a crossing bridge in water (e.g. 1, Fig. 1, claim 1, paragraph 0035), wherein the crossing bridge comprises a shell (e.g. 3/4, Fig. 2) having one or more chambers, defining one or more voids in the shell, into which water enters when the shell is submerged (e.g. inner layer 3 forms a chamber/void for water 6, Fig. 2, claim 1, paragraph 0036), and the shell further comprises a second passageway (e.g. curved passageway supporting conduit 2, Fig. 2), arranged to enable a second submerged conduit to pass over the shell (e.g. 2, Fig. 2); moving the crossing bridge into position (e.g. Fig. 2, claim 1, paragraphs 0035 and 0037); and moving a second submerged conduit into position such that the second submerged conduit passes along the second passageway (e.g. 2, Fig.’s 1 and 2, paragraphs 000036 and 0037). Wang does not disclose that the shell comprises a first passageway arranged to enable a first submerged conduit to pass under the shell. Swain teaches a method, comprising: submerging a crossing bridge in water (e.g. 10, Fig. 1, col. 3, lines 22-23, or in the alternative 42, Fig. 2, col. 5, lines 17-18), wherein the crossing bridge comprises a shell having one or more chambers, defining one or more voids in the shell, into which material enters when the shell is submerged (e.g. 20, Fig. 1, col. 3, lines 28-35, or in the alternative 52, Fig. 2, col. 4, lines 44-49), and the shell further comprises a first passageway (e.g. curved passageway above pipe 12, Fig. 1, or in the alternative 48, Fig. 2), arranged to enable a first submerged conduit to pass under the shell (e.g. 12, Fig. 1, col. 4, lines 6-8, or in the alternative 12, Fig. 2), and a second passageway (e.g. curved passageway supporting pipe 14, Fig. 1, or in the alternative 50, Fig. 2), arranged to enable a second submerged conduit to pass over the shell and over the first submerged conduit (e.g. 14, Fig. 1, col. 4, lines 6-8, or in the alternative 14, Fig. 2); moving the crossing bridge into position such that the first submerged conduit passes under the shell and along the first passageway (e.g. Fig. 1, col. 3, lines 38-42, or in the alternative Fig. 2, col. 5, lines 20-21); and moving a second submerged conduit into position such that the second submerged conduit passes along the second passageway and over the first submerged conduit (e.g. Fig. 1, col. 3, lines 63-67, or in the alternative Fig. 2, col. 5, lines 23-24). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add a first passageway as taught by Swain to enable a first submerged conduit to pass under the shell of Wang because such is a known configuration in the art that would provide the expected benefit of supporting the second submerged conduit in locations where the second submerged conduit crosses over another submerged conduit and maintaining space between the conduits (e.g. Swain, col. 4, lines 6-8).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Wang and Swain further discloses after submerging the crossing bridge in water, sealing the water in the one or more chambers (e.g. Wang, paragraph 0038).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Wang and Swain further discloses that the crossing bridge comprises one or more valves which enable the water to enter the one or more chambers (e.g. Wang, 5, Fig. 2, paragraph 0040), and sealing the water in the one or more chambers comprises closing the one or more valves (e.g. Wang, paragraph 0040, wherein the one-way valve automatically closes to avoid removal of liquid and thereby seal the chambers).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Wang and Swain further discloses that the crossing bridge is submerged in the water by dropping the crossing bridge into the water (e.g. Wang, claim 1, wherein placing the crossing bridge under an underwater pipeline requires lowering/dropping the crossing bridge into the water).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Wang and Swain further discloses that moving the crossing bridge into position comprises moving the crossing bridge while the crossing bridge is submerged in water (e.g. Wang, claim 1, wherein placing the crossing bridge under an underwater pipeline requires moving the crossing bridge while the crossing bridge is submerged).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Wang and Swain further discloses a remotely operated underwater vehicle (e.g. Wang, ROV, paragraph 0026) but does not explicitly disclose that the crossing bridge is moved by the remotely operated underwater vehicle. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the ROV to move the crossing bridge for the expected benefit of controlling the installation from the surface thereby avoiding the dangerous requirement for divers.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Wang and Swain further discloses that the first passageway is a tunnel under the crossing bridge (e.g. Swain, Fig. 1 or Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Wang and Swain further discloses that at least a portion of the second passageway is substantially perpendicular to at least a portion of the first passageway (e.g. Swain, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 39, Wang discloses a crossing bridge for submersion in a liquid (e.g. 1, Fig. 1, claim 1), the crossing bridge comprising: a shell (e.g. 3/4, Fig. 2), comprising: a second passageway, defined at least in part by a floor of the shell (e.g. curved passageway supporting conduit 2, Fig. 2), arranged to enable a second submerged conduit to pass over the shell (e.g. 2, Fig. 2); one or more chambers, defining one or more voids in the shell, for storing liquid when the shell is submerged in liquid (e.g. inner layer 3 forms a chamber/void for water 6, Fig. 2, claim 1, paragraph 0036); and wherein the crossing bridge further comprises: one or more valves configured to enable liquid to enter the one or more chambers when the shell is submerged in liquid (e.g. 5, Fig. 2, paragraph 0040). Wang does not disclose that the shell comprises a first passageway arranged to enable a first submerged conduit to pass under the shell. Swain teaches a crossing bridge for submersion in a liquid (e.g. 10, Fig. 1, or in the alternative 42, Fig. 2), the crossing bridge comprising: a shell (e.g. 20, Fig. 1, or in the alternative 52, Fig. 2), comprising: a first passageway arranged to enable a first submerged conduit to pass under the shell (e.g. curved passageway above pipe 12, Fig. 1, or in the alternative 48 above pipe 12, Fig. 2); a second passageway, defined at least in part by a floor of the shell, arranged to enable a second submerged conduit to pass over the shell and over the first submerged conduit (e.g. curved passageway supporting pipe 14, Fig. 1, or in the alternative 50 supporting pipe 14, Fig. 2); and one or more chambers, defining one or more voids in the shell, for storing liquid when the shell is submerged in liquid (e.g. 20, Fig. 1, col. 3, lines 28-35, or in the alternative 52, Fig. 2, col. 4, lines 44-49). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add a first passageway as taught by Swain to the shell of Wang because such is a known configuration in the art that would provide the expected benefit of supporting the second submerged conduit in locations where the second submerged conduit crosses over another submerged conduit and maintaining space between the conduits (e.g. Swain, col. 4, lines 6-8).
Regarding claim 43, Wang discloses a crossing bridge for submersion in a liquid (e.g. 1, Fig. 1, claim 1), the crossing bridge comprising: a second passageway arranged to enable a second submerged conduit to pass over the crossing bridge (e.g. curved passageway supporting conduit 2, Fig. 2); one or more chambers for storing liquid when the crossing bridge is submerged in liquid (e.g. inner layer 3 forms a chamber/void for water 6, Fig. 2, claim 1, paragraph 0036); and one or more valves configured to enable liquid to enter the one or more chambers when the crossing bridge is submerged in liquid (e.g. 5, Fig. 2, paragraph 0040). Wang does not disclose a first passageway arranged to enable a first submerged conduit to pass under the crossing bridge. Swain teaches a crossing bridge for submersion in a liquid (e.g. 10, Fig. 1, or in the alternative 42, Fig. 2), the crossing bridge comprising: a first passageway arranged to enable a first submerged conduit to pass under the crossing bridge (e.g. curved passageway above pipe 12, Fig. 1, or in the alternative 48 above pipe 12, Fig. 2); a second passageway arranged to enable a second submerged conduit to pass over the crossing bridge and over the first submerged conduit (e.g. curved passageway supporting pipe 14, Fig. 1, or in the alternative 50 supporting pipe 14, Fig. 2); and one or more chambers for storing liquid when the crossing bridge is submerged in liquid (e.g. 20, Fig. 1, col. 3, lines 28-35, or in the alternative 52, Fig. 2, col. 4, lines 44-49). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add a first passageway as taught by Swain to the crossing bridge of Wang because such is a known configuration in the art that would provide the expected benefit of supporting the second submerged conduit in locations where the second submerged conduit crosses over another submerged conduit and maintaining space between the conduits (e.g. Swain, col. 4, lines 6-8).
Regarding claim 44, the combination of Wang and Swain further discloses that the water is seawater (e.g. Wang, paragraph 0036).
Regarding claim 45, the combination of Wang and Swain further discloses at least one structural support configured to support the floor of the shell defining, at least in part, the second passageway (e.g. Wang, 7, Fig. 2, paragraph 0046).
Regarding claim 46, the combination of Wang and Swain further discloses that in use, at least a portion of the floor of the shell is located above the first passageway (e.g. Swain, Fig.’s 1 or 2).
Claims 15, 16, 40, 41, 47 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 106949304) in view of Swain et al (US 3,861,158) as applied to claims 14, 39 and 43 above, and further in view of Pan et al (CN 204647378).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Wang and Swain discloses the invention substantially as applied above but does not explicitly disclose that the one or more valves comprise one or more hydrophilic valves. Pan teaches a valve that enables water to enter and seals the water by closing the valve (e.g. paragraph 0018), wherein the valve comprises a hydrophilic valve (e.g. paragraph 0018). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a hydrophilic valve as taught by Pan for the valve of Wang and Swain because such is a known type of valve that would provide the expected benefit of preventing leakage and/or seepage (e.g. Pan, claim 1, paragraph 0018).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Wang, Swain and Pan further discloses that each of the hydrophilic valves comprises at least one seal that expands in response to absorption of water and thereby closes the hydrophilic valve (e.g. Pan, hydrophilic coating, paragraph 0018).
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Wang and Swain discloses the invention substantially as applied above but does not explicitly disclose that the one or more valves comprise one or more hydrophilic valves. Pan teaches a valve that enables liquid to enter (e.g. paragraph 0018), wherein the valve comprises a hydrophilic valve (e.g. paragraph 0018). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a hydrophilic valve as taught by Pan for the valve of Wang and Swain because such is a known type of valve that would provide the expected benefit of preventing leakage and/or seepage (e.g. Pan, claim 1, paragraph 0018).
Regarding claim 41, the combination of Wang, Swain and Pan further discloses that each of the hydrophilic valves comprises at least one seal that is configured to expand in response to absorption of seawater and close the hydrophilic valve (e.g. Pan, hydrophilic coating, paragraph 0018).
Regarding claim 47, the combination of Wang and Swain discloses the invention substantially as applied above but does not explicitly disclose that the one or more valves comprise one or more hydrophilic valves. Pan teaches a valve that enables liquid to enter (e.g. paragraph 0018), wherein the valve comprises a hydrophilic valve (e.g. paragraph 0018). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a hydrophilic valve as taught by Pan for the valve of Wang and Swain because such is a known type of valve that would provide the expected benefit of preventing leakage and/or seepage (e.g. Pan, claim 1, paragraph 0018).
Regarding claim 48, the combination of Wang, Swain and Pan further discloses that each of the hydrophilic valves comprises at least one seal that is configured to expand in response to absorption of seawater and close the hydrophilic valve (e.g. Pan, hydrophilic coating, paragraph 0018).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 106949304) in view of Swain et al (US 3,861,158) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Olsen et al (US 2019/0011062).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Wang and Swain discloses the invention substantially as applied above but does not explicitly disclose laying rocks over the first submerged conduit, the second submerged conduit and the crossing bridge. Olsen teaches a method, comprising: submerging a bridge in water (e.g. 12, Fig. 6), wherein the crossing bridge comprises a shell (e.g. 12, Fig. 6), and the shell further comprises a first passageway, arranged to enable a first submerged conduit to pass under the shell (e.g. 14, Fig. 6); moving the crossing bridge into position such that the first submerged conduit passes under the shell and along the first passageway (e.g. Fig. 6), and laying rocks over the first submerged conduit and the bridge (e.g. 20, Fig. 7). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add rocks as taught by Olsen to the submerged conduits and crossing bridge of the combination of Wang and Swain because such is a known construction in the art that would provide the expected benefit of increasing stability (e.g. Olsen, paragraph 0023).
Conclusion
/S.N.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3678
/AMBER R ANDERSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3678