DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Currently, claims 1-10 & 16-20 are pending in the application. Claims 1-15 are amended. Claims 11-15 are canceled. Claims 16-20 are added.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 1.
Response to Arguments / Amendments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are rendered moot in view of the new ground of rejection necessitated by amendments initiated by the applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 & 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pellegrin et al. (EP3751852A1 [Also published as US 20220248057 A1], hereinafter Pellegrin) in view of XIU et al. (US 20250133208, hereinafter XIU).
Regarding Claim 1, Pellegrin discloses a video encoder adapted to encode a sequence of frames so as to obtain an encoded sequence of frames ([0022], FIG. 1), the video encoder comprising:
-an encoding assembly adapted to encode at least one portion of a present frame by generating a differential representation of the at least one portion of the present frame with respect to at least one corresponding portion of a representation of a previously encoded frame, and by applying a first lossy compression to the differential representation of the at least one portion of the present frame ([0022], FIG. 1, encode the respective sub-band frames 301-307 independently with encoding mode selection module 105, the quantization module 106, the de-quantization module 110, as well as the entropy coding module 107 may sequentially process the respective sub-band frames 301-307 independently Or the encoding assembly 102 may comprise multiple modules of the following type: encoding mode selection, quantization, de- quantization, and entropy coding. Namely, there may be one such module for each sub-band frame comprised in the linearly transformed frame ; [0053], packages several types of data into the encoded video stream 114 including the entropy coded sub-band frame data that the entropy coding module 107 provides such as entropy coded GCLI values, as well as encoding mode flags and quantization factors that the quantization module 106 has applied); and
- a frame buffer assembly adapted to provide, for the present frame to be encoded, the representation of the previously encoded frame by applying a second lossy compression involving quantization to a decoded version of the previously encoded frame to produce a compressed version of the decoded version of the previously encoded frame ([0022], FIG. 1, sub-band frames 301-307, encoding mode selection module 105, the quantization module 106, the de-quantization module 110, as well as the entropy coding module 107 may sequentially process the respective sub-band frames 301-307 independently Or the encoding assembly 102 may comprise multiple modules of the following type: encoding mode selection, quantization, de- quantization, and entropy coding. Namely, there may be one such module for each sub-band frame comprised in the linearly transformed frame; [0023], FIG. 3, sub-band frames 301-307 , to encode a sub-band frame, reference frame buffer assembly 112 comprises a representation of a corresponding sub-band frame related to another frame in the video stream 113 that has previously been encoded. The representation of the corresponding sub-band frame related to frame that has previously been encoded will hereinafter be referred to as corresponding previous sub-band frame for the sake of convenience and conciseness), by storing the compressed version of the decoded version of the previously encoded frame, at least temporarily, and then by decompressing the compressed version of the decoded version of the previously encoded frame ([0063], buffer memory 702 stores the compressed reconstructed version of the sub-band frame portion and stores compressed reconstructed sub-band frame portions that may jointly form a compressed reconstructed sub-band frame); and
- the video encoder being arranged to produce a data set constituting encoded video decodable by a video decoder, the data set comprising the encoded sequence of frames the data set having a structure providing -a first specific location that contains an indication on the first lossy compression that has been applied by the encoding assembly ([0050]-[0053], The Greatest Coded Line Index (GCLI) coding values indicate zero-bit planes in the quantized sub-band frame data and the zero-bit planes are replaced by the GCLI coding values indicating where these bit planes lie in the sub-band frame data. Packages several types of data into the encoded video stream 114 including the entropy coded sub-band frame data that the entropy coding module 107 provides such as entropy coded GCLI values, as well as encoding mode flags and quantization factors that the quantization module 106 has applied); and
Pellegrin does not explicitly disclose a second specific location that contains an indication on the second lossy compression that has been applied by the frame buffer assembly.
XIU teaches a second specific location that contains an indication on the second lossy compression that has been applied by the frame buffer assembly ([0217], after receiving a first syntax element from the video data, video decoder 30 receives a second syntax element from the video data, wherein the second syntax element indicates a variable internal coding bit-depth used in the clipping operation; [0218], receiving a second syntax element from the video data, wherein the second syntax element indicates a first internal coding bit-depth, and a second internal coding bit-depth used in the clipping operation is the first internal coding bit-depth plus 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of a second indication on the second lossy compression that has been applied as taught by XIU ([0217]) into the encoding & decoding system of Pellegrin in order to provide systems for achieving better complexity/performance trade-off, and hence improving coding efficiency of the video data in an efficient manner while maintaining the image quality of the decoded video data (XIU, [0006]).
Regarding Claims 2-8, Dependent claims 2-8 recite quite generic steps or processes in standards encoding steps such that Pellegrin in view of XIU discloses adapting and signaling a quantization step or target amount of data ( [0050]-[0053]).
Regarding Claim 2, Pellegrin in view of XIU discloses the video encoder according to claim 1,
Pellegrin discloses wherein the second lossy compression is adaptable so that one portion of the decoded version of the previously encoded frame can be compressed to a greater extent than another portion of the decoded version of the previously encoded frame ([0050]-[0053]).
Regarding Claim 3, Pellegrin in view of XIU discloses the video encoder according to claim 1,
Pellegrin discloses wherein the indication on the second lossy compression comprises an indication of a target amount of data to be obtained by the lossy compression of the decoded version of the previously encoded frame([0050]-[0053]).
Regarding Claim 4, Pellegrin in view of XIU discloses the video encoder according to claim 3,
Pellegrin discloses wherein the target amount of data relates to a fixed-sized portion of the representation of the previously encoded frame([0050]-[0053]).
Regarding Claim 5, Pellegrin in view of XIU discloses the video encoder according to claim 1,
Pellegrin discloses wherein the indication on the second lossy compression comprises at least one parameter defining quantization of samples in the decoded version of the previously encoded frame([0050]-[0053]).
Regarding Claim 6, Pellegrin in view of XIU discloses the video encoder according to claim 5,
Pellegrin discloses wherein the indication on the second lossy compression comprises a quantization step size([0050]-[0053]).
Regarding Claim 7, Pellegrin in view of XIU discloses the video encoder according to claim 6,
Pellegrin discloses wherein the indication on the second lossy compression comprises respective quantization step sizes for respective portions in the decoded version of the previously encoded frame ([0050]-[0053]).
Regarding Claim 8, Pellegrin in view of XIU discloses the video encoder according to claim 5,
Pellegrin discloses wherein the quantization of the samples comprises a truncation of binary values, the indication on the second lossy compression comprising a truncation level indicating a number of least significant bits that have been discarded in the truncation ([0050]-[0053]).
Regarding Claim 9, Pellegrin in view of XIU discloses the video encoder according to claim 1,
Pellegrin discloses wherein the encoding assembly comprises:
a linear transform module adapted to apply a linear transform to the present frame so as to provide the present frame in a transform domain ([0023], FIG. 3, in order to encode a linearly transformed frame, the reference frame buffer assembly 112 may comprise a representation of another linearly transformed frame that has previously been encoded; [0028], sub-band frame portion as present in the linearly transformed frame to the quantization module 106 illustrated in FIG. 1.)
an inter-mode application module adapted to provide a differential representation of a portion of the present frame in the transform domain, the differential representation corresponding with a difference between, on the one hand, the portion of the present frame in the transform domain and, on the other hand, a corresponding portion in the representation of the previously encoded frame in the transform domain ([0028], encode the sub-band frame portion either in an intra mode or in an inter mode. In the inter mode, the multiplexer 406 passes the differential representation of the sub-band frame portion to the quantizer. Accordingly, in the inter mode, the differential representation of the sub-band frame portion is encoded, which equally involves data compression by the quantization module 106 and the entropy coding module 107); and
a data compression module adapted to apply the first lossy compression to the differential representation of the portion of the present frame in the transform domain, the frame buffer assembly being adapted to apply the second lossy compression to the decoded version of the previously encoded frame in the transform domain ([0028] FIG. 1, in the inter mode, the differential representation of the sub-band frame portion is encoded, which equally involves data compression by the quantization module 106 and the entropy coding module 107)
Regarding Claim 10, Pellegrin in view of XIU discloses the video encoder according to claim 9,
Pellegrin discloses the video encoder being arranged to encode another portion of the present frame in the transform domain by applying the first lossy compression directly to the other portion of the present frame in the transform domain ([0031] The encoding mode selection module 105 decides to encode a sub-band frame portion in the intra mode or in the inter mode in the following manner. The inter-mode GCLI extractor 402 provides a set of eight GCLI values pertaining to eight groups of four samples comprised in the differential representation of the sub-band frame portion. These GCLI values will hereinafter be referred to as inter-mode GCLI values for the sake of convenience.
Regarding Claims 16, Method claim 16 of using the corresponding device claimed in claims 1, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above.
Regarding Claims 17, Computer readable claim 17 of using the corresponding device claimed in claims 1, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above.
Regarding Claims 18, Computer readable decoder claim 18 of using the corresponding device claimed in claims 12, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above.
Regarding Claims 19, A video decoder claim 19 of using the corresponding device claimed in claims 13, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above.
Regarding Claims 20, A video decoder claim 20 of using the corresponding device claimed in claims 3, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL D FEREJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487