DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN 202210420961.2, filed on 04/20/2022.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 10/21/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 2, 3, 4, 13, 18, 19, 20, 28, 32, 33, 35 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Liao et al. (Hereinafter “Liao”, US 20130039199).
Regarding to Claim 1, and 32: Liao discloses:
An information processing device, which is a first device, comprising: a memory, a transceiver, and a processor;
wherein the memory is used to store a computer program; the transceiver is used to transmit and receive data under the control of the processor; the processor is used to read the computer program in the memory and perform the following operations: , (i.e., FIG. 3 is a simplified block diagram of a UE 301 and an eNB 302 in accordance with one novel aspect. UE 301 and eNB 302 may operate following any communication protocol. For illustrative purposes, the disclosed embodiment operates according to the LTE protocol. UE 301 comprises a transceiver antenna 310 coupled to RF Module 311. Transceiver antenna 310 receives or transmits RF signals. Although only one antenna is shown for UE 301, it is known to the skilled in the art that wireless terminals may have multiple antennas for transmission and reception. RF Module 311 receives signals from either transceiver antenna 310 or baseband module 312, and converts the received signals to baseband frequency. The baseband module 312 processes the signals transmitted from or received by UE 301. Such processing includes, for example, modulation/demodulation, channel coding/decoding, and source coding/decoding. UE 301 further comprises processor 313 that processes digital signals and provides other control functionalities. Memory 314 stores program instructions and data to control the operations of UE 301. Similarly, eNB 302 comprises a transceiver antenna 330 coupled to RF module 331, a baseband module 332, a processor 333, and memory 334. As described in paragraph [0026]).
obtaining access point information; wherein the access point information includes access point information detected by a second device (i.e., In step 616, UE 601 performs channel estimation and measures CSI on the new CSI-RS configurations. In step 617, UE 601 reports CSI measurement results to the current uplink receiving point 604. CSI measurement results contain rank indicator (RI), channel quality indicator (CQI), and precoding matrix indicator (PMI) of the selected serving points. As described in paragraph [0041]), and/or access point information obtained based on monitoring a request signal transmitted by the second device;
determining an access point set corresponding to the second device according to the access point information. (i.e., Finally, the serving base station can perform UE-specific MIMO precoding based on the CSI feedback reporting. As described in paragraph [0041]).
Regarding to Claim 2, and 33 : Liao discloses: wherein the obtaining access point information includes:
controlling a candidate access point to transmit a reference signal; (i.e., In a first novel aspect, multiple CSI-RS configurations with non-zero transmission power are configured for the UE to perform measurements for serving point selection, and the reference signal received power (RSRP) of the configured CSI reference signals are measured for serving point selection (step 212). As described in paragraph [0025]).
and receiving the access point information transmitted by the second device after the second device detects the reference signal. (i.e., In step 616, UE 601 performs channel estimation and measures CSI on the new CSI-RS configurations. In step 617, UE 601 reports CSI measurement results to the current uplink receiving point 604. As described in paragraph [0041]).
Regarding to Claim 3 : Liao discloses: wherein the receiving the access point information transmitted by the second device after the second device detects the reference signal, includes:
receiving the access point information transmitted by the second device through an uplink signal; (i.e., Based on the reported RSRP measurement results, the serving eNB selects serving points for CSI reporting (step 614). The serving points include both downlink and uplink serving points. As described in paragraph [0037]).
wherein the uplink signal is obtained by the second device via modulation according to the access point information. (i.e., The baseband module 312 processes the signals transmitted from or received by UE 301. Such processing includes, for example, modulation/demodulation, channel coding/decoding, and source coding/decoding. As described in paragraph [0026] ).
Regarding to Claim 4 : Liao discloses: wherein the access point information is carried through a carrying item of the reference signal;
the carrying item includes at least one of time-frequency resource location, power, sequence or spatial characteristics;
or, wherein the access point information includes at least one of identifier information of the access point, cell identity information corresponding to the access point, or location information of the second device. (i.e., FIG. 9 is a flow chart of a method of measurement and feedback configuration from CoMP deployment scenario 4 in accordance with one novel aspect. In step 901, a serving base station macro-eNB configures a UE by higher layer signaling through downlink transmission points. The higher-layer configuration defines a CoMP resource management set to be used by the UE for serving point selection. The higher-layer configuration contains multiple Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) configurations, and each CSI-RS configuration indicates a set of resource elements (REs) or subcarriers in both frequency domain and time domain as one CSI-RS resource with non-zero transmission power. In step 902, the UE measures Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) of the multiple configured CSI-RS resources. As described in paragraph [0046]).
Regarding to Claim 13 : Liao discloses wherein the determining an access point set corresponding to the second device according to the access point information, includes:
determining the access point set corresponding to the second device according to the access point information and service information of other access point;
wherein other access point is an access point other than the access point corresponding to the access point information; (i.e., FIG. 2 illustrates three novel aspects of point association for cooperative multiple point transmission in mobile communication network 200. UE 201 establishes a radio resource control (RRC) connection with a serving base station (step 211). With CoMP technology, UE 201 may communicate with one or more serving points 202. In a first novel aspect, multiple CSI-RS configurations with non-zero transmission power are configured for the UE to perform measurements for serving point selection, and the reference signal received power (RSRP) of the configured CSI reference signals are measured for serving point selection (step 212). As described in paragraph [0025]).
the service information of the other access point includes at least one of the following:
a current resource occupancy ratio of other access point;
a current traffic amount of other access point;
(i.e., In step 616, UE 601 performs channel estimation and measures CSI on the new CSI-RS configurations. In step 617, UE 601 reports CSI measurement results to the current uplink receiving point 604. CSI measurement results contain rank indicator (RI), channel quality indicator (CQI), and precoding matrix indicator (PMI) of the selected serving points. As described in paragraph [0041] ).
or, wherein after determining an access point set corresponding to the second device according to the access point information, the method includes:
transmitting an initial access signal through an access point in the access point set;
receiving a random access signal transmitted by the second device according to the initial access signal;
wherein frequency and/or time of the initial access signal are associated with the request signal; or,
wherein the access point information is access point information corresponding to a first reference signal;
wherein the first reference signal is a reference signal that satisfies a second condition among all reference signals detected by the second device.
Regarding to Claim 18, and 35: Liao discloses: An information processing method, applied to a second device, comprising:
obtaining third information; wherein the third information includes part or all of access point information detected by a second device, and/or information carried in a request signal to be transmitted by the second device; (i.e., FIG. 2 illustrates three novel aspects of point association for cooperative multiple point transmission in mobile communication network 200. UE 201 establishes a radio resource control (RRC) connection with a serving base station (step 211). With CoMP technology, UE 201 may communicate with one or more serving points 202. In a first novel aspect, multiple CSI-RS configurations with non-zero transmission power are configured for the UE to perform measurements for serving point selection, and the reference signal received power (RSRP) of the configured CSI reference signals are measured for serving point selection (step 212). As described in paragraph [0025]).
performing information transmission according to the third information; wherein the third information is used to determine an access point set corresponding to the second device. (i.e., In step 617, UE 601 reports CSI measurement results to the current uplink receiving point 604. CSI measurement results contain rank indicator (RI), channel quality indicator (CQI), and precoding matrix indicator (PMI) of the selected serving points. As described in paragraph [0041]).
Regarding to Claim 19, and 36: Liao discloses: wherein the obtaining the third information includes:
detecting a reference signal transmitted by a candidate access point;
determining the access point information based on part or all of detected reference signals; (i.e., In a first novel aspect, multiple CSI-RS configurations with non-zero transmission power are configured for the UE to perform measurements for serving point selection, and the reference signal received power (RSRP) of the configured CSI reference signals are measured for serving point selection (step 212). As described in paragraph [0025]).
wherein the performing information transmission according to the third information includes:
transmitting the access point information to the first device. (i.e., In step 617, UE 601 reports CSI measurement results to the current uplink receiving point 604. CSI measurement results contain rank indicator (RI), channel quality indicator (CQI), and precoding matrix indicator (PMI) of the selected serving points. As described in paragraph [0041]).
Regarding to Claim 20: Liao discloses: wherein the transmitting the access point information to the first device, includes:
transmitting the access point information to the first device through an uplink signal; (i.e., Based on the reported RSRP measurement results, the serving eNB selects serving points for CSI reporting (step 614). The serving points include both downlink and uplink serving points. As described in paragraph [0037]).
wherein the uplink signal is obtained by the second device via modulation according to the access point information. (i.e., The baseband module 312 processes the signals transmitted from or received by UE 301. Such processing includes, for example, modulation/demodulation, channel coding/decoding, and source coding/decoding. As described in paragraph [0026] ).
or, wherein the access point information is carried through a carrying item of the reference signal;
the carrying item includes at least one of time-frequency resource location, power, sequence or spatial characteristics; or,
wherein the access point information includes at least one of identifier information of the access point, cell identity information corresponding to the access point, or location information of the second device-; wherein when the access point information includes at least one of identifier information of the access point or cell identity information corresponding to the access point, the access point information further includes at least one of a measurement result of the second device on the reference signal corresponding to the access point information, or location information of the access point.
Regarding to Claim 28: Liao discloses: wherein after performing information transmission according to the third information, the method further includes:
receiving an initial access signal transmitted by the first device through an access point in the access point set; (i.e., In a first embodiment, downlink control signaling point 803 sends a transmit power control (TPC) command to UE 801 (step 811). The TPC command includes a CSI-RS index or CSI-RS port, which UE 801 can utilize for PL estimation. As described in paragraph [0044]).
and transmitting a random access signal to the first device according to the initial access signal; (i.e., The estimated pathloss is then used by UE 801 for uplink transmission to uplink receiving point 804 (step 813). As described in paragraph [0044]).
wherein the access point set is determined by the first device according to the third information.; (i.e., With CoMP technology, UE 201 may communicate with one or more serving points 202. In a first novel aspect, multiple CSI-RS configurations with non-zero transmission power are configured for the UE to perform measurements for serving point selection, and the reference signal received power. As described in paragraph [0025]).
wherein frequency and/or time of the initial access signal are associated with the request signal; (i.e., FIG. 5 illustrates one example of CSI-RS configuration indexes and corresponding CSI-RS resource configurations. When eNB sends CSI-RS configuration signaling to UE, the signaling includes 1) Single CSI-RS configuration index with non-zero transmission power, and corresponding antenna port count/transmission power/time location, and 2) Multiple 4-port CSI-RS configuration indices with zero transmission power, and corresponding time location and the scrambling code sequence over reference signals is determined by physical cell ID in Release 10. As described in paragraph [0032]).
or, wherein the access point information is access point information corresponding to a first reference signal;
wherein the first reference signal is a reference signal that satisfies a second condition among all reference signals detected by the second device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Liao et al. (Hereinafter “Liao”, US 20130039199), in view of Mochizuki et al. (Hereinafter “Mochizuki”, US 20150036658).
Regarding to Claim 6 : Liao discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above. But does not expressly disclose features of these claims:
wherein when the access point information includes at least one of identifier information of the access point or cell identity information corresponding to the access point, the access point information further includes at least one of a measurement result of the second device on the reference signal corresponding to the access point information, or location information of the access point; the determining an access point set corresponding to the second device according to the access point information includes at least one of the following:
determining location information of the second device according to at least one of the identifier information of the access point or the cell identity information, and the measurement result; determining a candidate access point located in a first target area based on the location information of the second device; determining an element of the access point set corresponding to the second device according to the determined candidate access point or, determining, based on at least one of the identifier information of the access point or the cell identity information, and the measurement result, a candidate access point whose signal quality meets a first condition; determining an element of the access point set corresponding to the second device according to the determined candidate access point; or,
determining, based on at least one of the identifier information of the access point or cell identity information, and the location information of the access point, a candidate access point located in a second target area; determining an element of the access point set corresponding to the second device based on the determined candidate access point. or,
wherein when the access point information includes location information of the second device, the determining an access point set corresponding to the second device according to the access point information, includes:
according to the location information of the second device, determining a candidate access point located in a third target area;
determining an element of the access point set corresponding to the second device based on the determined candidate access point.
In similarly endeavor, Mochizuki discloses: wherein when the access point information includes at least one of identifier information of the access point or cell identity information corresponding to the access point, the access point information further includes at least one of a measurement result of the second device on the reference signal corresponding to the access point information, or location information of the access point; the determining an access point set corresponding to the second device according to the access point information includes at least one of the following:
determining location information of the second device according to at least one of the identifier information of the access point or the cell identity information, and the measurement result; determining a candidate access point located in a first target area based on the location information of the second device; determining an element of the access point set corresponding to the second device according to the determined candidate access point or, determining, based on at least one of the identifier information of the access point or the cell identity information, and the measurement result, a candidate access point whose signal quality meets a first condition; determining an element of the access point set corresponding to the second device according to the determined candidate access point; or,
determining, based on at least one of the identifier information of the access point or cell identity information, and the location information of the access point, a candidate access point located in a second target area; determining an element of the access point set corresponding to the second device based on the determined candidate access point. or,
wherein when the access point information includes location information of the second device, the determining an access point set corresponding to the second device according to the access point information, includes: (i.e., In this case, the serving cell may successively receive the information related to the UE location from the provide location message from the UE to update the UE location information obtained by decoding. This allows the serving cell to always obtain the latest UE location information. Thus, the serving cell is capable of always using the latest UE location information when selecting a CoMP measurement set. As described in paragraph [0373]
according to the location information of the second device, determining a candidate access point located in a third target area; (i.e., The CoMP measurement set is selected using the obtained location information. For example, in the sequence shown in FIGS. 15 and 16, the serving cell obtains the location information of the UE1 before performing the process of Step ST1530. In Step ST1530, the serving cell selects a CoMP measurement set using the obtained location information. The serving cell can recognize the positional relationship between the cell and the UE by obtaining the UE location information. Therefore, a CoMP measurement set can be selected using the indicator decided geographically, namely, the positional relationship, rather than using the varying indicator such as the radio wave environment. This allows for the selection of a CoMP measurement set more suitable for CoMP. As described in paragraph [0333] ).
And Liao further discloses: determining an element of the access point set corresponding to the second device based on the determined candidate access point. , (i.e., FIG. 9 is a flow chart of a method of measurement and feedback configuration from CoMP deployment scenario 4 in accordance with one novel aspect. In step 901, a serving base station macro-eNB configures a UE by higher layer signaling through downlink transmission points. The higher-layer configuration defines a CoMP resource management set to be used by the UE for serving point selection. The higher-layer configuration contains multiple Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) configurations, and each CSI-RS configuration indicates a set of resource elements (REs) or subcarriers in both frequency domain and time domain as one CSI-RS resource with non-zero transmission power. In step 902, the UE measures Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) of the multiple configured CSI-RS resources. As described in paragraph [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Mochizuki into the invention of Liao in order to provide a more reliable communication and flexibility resource allocation.
Regarding to Claim 8: Liao and Mochizuki discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above.
And Liao further discloses: wherein the determining an element of the access point set corresponding to the second device based on the determined candidate access point, includes:
obtaining service information of the determined candidate access point; .(i.e., The higher-layer configuration defines a CoMP resource management set to be used by the UE for serving point selection. The higher-layer configuration contains multiple Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) configurations. As described in paragraph [0046]).
obtaining the element of the access point set corresponding to the second device according to the service information of the determined candidate access point.(i.e., and each CSI-RS configuration indicates a set of resource elements (REs) or subcarriers in both frequency domain and time domain as one CSI-RS resource with non-zero transmission power. In step 902, the UE measures Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) of the multiple configured CSI-RS resources. As described in paragraph [0046]).
Anh Mochizuki further discloses: wherein the service information of the determined candidate access point includes at least one of the following:
a current resource occupancy rate of the determined candidate access point; .(i.e., The PDSCH to one UE may be transmitted from one point among multiple points or may be transmitted from points among multiple points. In DL CoMP, a serving cell refers to a single cell that transmits resource allocation over the PDCCH. As described in paragraph [0083]).
a current traffic amount of the determined candidate access point.
(i.e., [0864] The source cell and the non-serving cell that have received the request in Steps ST10408 and ST10455 confirm the traffic of itself and the situation regarding other communication resource and, in Steps ST10409 and ST10456, notify the target cell of the results as a CoMP response. As described in paragraph [0864])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9, 10, 24, 25, 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regard to Claim 9, 10, 24, 25, and 34, rely on limitation, which recite "access point information obtained based on monitoring a request signal transmitted by the second device", which is the second part of the first limitation in claim 1, 18, and 32. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Because claim 1, 18, and 32 are rejected on the first part of the first limitation, which recite “the access point information includes part or all of access point information detected by a second device”.
Conclusion
/Eric M. Vo/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644