DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
In response to the application filed on 10/21/2024, claims 1-17 are currently pending for the examination. The present application, filed on or after March 1wl16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "wherein the first multicast service is at least one of: that the terminal is interested in, or that the terminal has joined."
The limitation is unclear because the recited alternatives, "that the terminal is interested in" and "that the terminal has joined," do not clearly identify the subject matter of the alternatives as expressed in the claim. The claim identifies "the first multicast service" but subsequently characterizes the service using incomplete relative clauses without clearly specifying the relationship between the service and each alternative. Consequently, clarification is required as to whether the first multicast service refers to a multicast service in which the terminal is interested, a multicast service that the terminal has joined, or both.
Thus, the claim is indefinite and should be rejected. It is recommended that the claim language be amended such that the exact meaning of the above quoted limitation is clear. Independent claims 9, 11 and 17 are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, para. 2, based on the same/similar reason as discussed in above. Dependent claims 2-16 are also rejected as being dependency upon the rejected base claims. It is recommended that the claim language be amended such that the exact meaning of the above quoted limitation is clear. For examinations, Examiner will interpret the claims as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7-11, 14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei et al. (US 2023/0370905 A1) in view of Yilmaz et al. (US 2018/0262954 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Babaei et al. teaches a method for service processing, performed by a terminal (See Fig. 18 and the discussion of a UE operating in RRC_INACTIVE), comprising:
determining that the terminal is to receive a first multicast service in an RRC_INACTIVE state (Babaei: See Fig. 18: a UE in RRC_INACTIVE determines to be configured with measurement and triggering events and the UE may indicate to the RAN about need for MBS service continuity when the UE moving to a target cell while in RRC Idle or RRC Inactive states. Babaei further teaches that the UE may initiate a random access procedure in response to determining the MBS service-continuity trigger and transmit a request for MBS configuration information associated with the target service. See ¶ [0146]-¶ [0148]); and
transmitting an RRC resume request message to a network device (See Fig. 18: a UE in RRC inactive state, based on observing the MBS SC triggers, may send an update to RAN, e.g. based on RAN Notification Area (RNA) update RNA Update in RRCResumeRequest or other procedures to indicate their transition to a target cell without leaving the RRC inactive state. ¶ [0148]);
wherein the first multicast service is at least one of: that the terminal is interested in (Babaei-See Fig. 18: the first message may identify MBS services the UE is receiving from its current cell or MBS services the UE is interested in receiving from the target cell, including service identifiers such as TMGIs. ¶ [0107]).
Although Babaei teaches determining an Multicast MBS service-continuity trigger and transmitting an RRC resume request associated with that trigger, Babaei does not expressly state, in the language of the claim, that the trigger is a determination that the UE is unable to receive the first service in RRC_INACTIVE.
Yilmaz et al. further teaches the UE is unable to receive the multicast service in RRC_INACTIVE state (Yilmaz-See Fig. 15: the UE 120 in an RRC_INACTIVE state with both suspended MCG and SCG configurations (i.e., unable to perform receiving communications with both MCG and SCG) initiates an RRC Resume procedure e.g. due to UL data, arrival, RNA update, voice call, emergency call, or paging from the network 100. Cf. Action 1. ¶ [0323]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide that the UE is unable to receive the multicast service in RRC_INACTIVE state as taught by Yilmaz to have incorporated in the system of Babaei, so that it would provide that the signaling required for security activation and bearer establishment is avoided, which signaling is normally required when transitioning from RRC_IDLE to RRC_CONNECTED. This improves latency and reduces the signaling overhead. Yilmaz-¶ [0029].
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “…or…”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 5; Babaei discloses the method wherein the determining that the terminal is unable to receive the first multicast service in the radio resource control (RRC)_INACTIVE state, and
transmitting the RRC resume request message (Babaei: See Fig. 18: a UE in RRC_INACTIVE determines to be configured with measurement and triggering events and the UE may indicate to the RAN about need for MBS service continuity when the UE moving to a target cell while in RRC Idle or RRC Inactive states. Babaei further teaches that the UE may initiate a random access procedure in response to determining the MBS service-continuity trigger and transmit a request for MBS configuration information associated with the target service. See ¶ [0146]-¶ [0148] to the network device comprises:
determining whether multicast service transmission of a first cell changes, wherein the first cell is a cell on which the terminal camps in RRC_INACTIVE state (Babaei-the UE may initiate the signaling with source cell and the source cell may request MBS configuration of the target cell. The source cell may receive the MBS configuration of the target cell and may second the MBS configurations of the target cell to the UE. In some examples, the UE may initiate the signaling first with the target cell and the target cell may get UE's MBS context from source cell. The UE may continue receiving its MBS data during the transition. ¶ [0149]); and
transmitting the RRC resume request message to the network device in a case that it is determined that the multicast service transmission of the first cell changes (Babaei- FIG. 19 , a UE may be in an RRC Inactive or an RRC Idle state. The UE may transition to the RRC Inactive or the RRC Idle state from an RRC connected state based on receiving an RRC message (e.g., an RRC release message) indicating release of the RRC configurations or suspending the RRC configurations. For example, a suspend configuration information element in the RRC release message may indicate one or more RNTIs for identifying suspended UE context in the RRC Inactive state. ¶ [0150]).
Regarding claim 7; Babaei teaches the method wherein the RRC resume request message comprises: information about interest of the terminal in multicast service; wherein the information about interest comprises one of the following:
identification information of the first multicast service (See Fig. 19: the first message may comprise one or more service identifiers associated with one or more MBS services provided by a current cell that the UE is camped on. In some embodiments, the one or more MBS configuration parameters may indicate one or more first service identifiers of the one or more MBS service identifiers, wherein the one or more first service identifiers are provided by the target cell. ¶ [0166]).
Regarding claim 8; Babaei teaches the method wherein after the transmitting the RRC resume request message to the network device, the method further comprises:
receiving configuration information transmitted by the network device, wherein the configuration information is used for configuring the terminal to receive the first multicast service;
wherein the configuration information is used for configuring one of the following:
the terminal to receive the first multicast service in an RRCconnected state (Babaei-RRC_INACTIVE state may be used to reduce network signaling load and reduce latency involved in transitioning to RRC_CONNECTED state. In RRC_INACTIVE state, the AS context may be stored by both UE and gNB. The state transition from inactive state to connected state may be faster than state transition from RRC IDLE state to RRC Connected state. In some examples, the core network connection may be maintained in RRC Inactive state (e.g., the UE may remain in CMCONNECTED). ¶ [0124]).
Regarding claim 9; Babaei teaches a method for service processing, performed by a network device, comprising:
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) resume request message transmitted by a terminal (See Fig. 18: transmitting a first message indicating a request for MBS configuration parameters associated with the one or more MBS services. See Abstract and ¶ [0154]), wherein the RRC resume request message is transmitted in a case that the terminal is unable to receive a first multicast service in RRC_INACTIVE state (Babaei: See Fig. 18: a UE in RRC_INACTIVE determines to be configured with measurement and triggering events and the UE may indicate to the RAN about need for MBS service continuity when the UE moving to a target cell while in RRC Idle or RRC Inactive states. Babaei further teaches that the UE may initiate a random access procedure in response to determining the MBS service-continuity trigger and transmit a request for MBS configuration information associated with the target service. See ¶ [0146]-¶ [0148]) wherein the first multicast service is at least one of: that the terminal is interested in (Babaei-See Fig. 18: the first message may identify MBS services the UE is receiving from its current cell or MBS services the UE is interested in receiving from the target cell, including service identifiers such as TMGIs. ¶ [0107]); and
transmitting an RRC resume message to the terminal based on the RRC resume request (See FIG. 16A-FIG. 16E, in response to a request to resume the RRC connection, the network may resume the suspended RRC connection and may send UE to RRC_CONNECTED, or may reject the request to resume and send UE to RRC_INACTIVE (e.g., with a wait timer), or may re-suspend the RRC connection and may send UE to RRC_INACTIVE, or may release the RRC connection and send UE to RRC_IDLE, or may instruct the UE to initiate NAS level recovery (in this case the network may send an RRC setup message). ¶ [0131]);
Although Babaei teaches determining a Multicast MBS service-continuity trigger and transmitting an RRC resume request associated with that trigger, Babaei does not expressly state, in the language of the claim, that the trigger is a determination that the UE is unable to receive the first service in RRC_INACTIVE.
Yilmaz et al. further teaches the UE is unable to receive the multicast service in RRC_INACTIVE state (Yilmaz-See Fig. 15: the UE 120 in an RRC_INACTIVE state with both suspended MCG and SCG configurations (i.e., unable to perform receiving communications with both MCG and SCG) initiates an RRC Resume procedure e.g. due to UL data, arrival, RNA update, voice call, emergency call, or paging from the network 100. Cf. Action 1. ¶ [0323]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide that the UE is unable to receive the multicast service in RRC_INACTIVE state as taught by Yilmaz to have incorporated in the system of Babaei, so that it would provide that the signaling required for security activation and bearer establishment is avoided, which signaling is normally required when transitioning from RRC_IDLE to RRC_CONNECTED. This improves latency and reduces the signaling overhead. Yilmaz-¶ [0029].
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “…or…”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 10; Babaei teaches the method wherein after the receiving the radio resource control (RRC) resume request message transmitted by the terminal, the method further comprises: obtaining context information about the terminal from an anchor base station, to obtain identification information of the first multicast service that the terminal has joined (Yilmaz-See Figs. 15-16: the object is achieved by a method performed in a Master Node (MN or Anchor node) for handling of a Secondary Cell Group (SCG) for a User Equipment (UE) operable in a dual connectivity mode with the MN and a Secondary Node (SN) operating in a wireless communication network. A Master Cell Group (MCG) is associated with the MN and the SCG is associated with the SN. The ID information is inherently required to perform communication. ¶ [0133]).
Regarding claim 11; Babaei teaches a terminal, comprising a memory, a transceiver, and a processor; wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under control of the processor, and the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory to perform following operation:
determining that the terminal is to receive a first multicast service in an RRC_INACTIVE state (Babaei: See Fig. 18: a UE in RRC_INACTIVE determines to be configured with measurement and triggering events and the UE may indicate to the RAN about need for MBS service continuity when the UE moving to a target cell while in RRC Idle or RRC Inactive states. Babaei further teaches that the UE may initiate a random access procedure in response to determining the MBS service-continuity trigger and transmit a request for MBS configuration information associated with the target service. See ¶ [0146]-¶ [0148]); and
transmitting an RRC resume request message to a network device (See Fig. 18: a UE in RRC inactive state, based on observing the MBS SC triggers, may send an update to RAN, e.g. based on RAN Notification Area (RNA) update RNA Update in RRCResumeRequest or other procedures to indicate their transition to a target cell without leaving the RRC inactive state. ¶ [0148]);
wherein the first multicast service is at least one of: that the terminal is interested in (Babaei-See Fig. 18: the first message may identify MBS services the UE is receiving from its current cell or MBS services the UE is interested in receiving from the target cell, including service identifiers such as TMGIs. ¶ [0107]).
Although Babaei teaches determining an Multicast MBS service-continuity trigger and transmitting an RRC resume request associated with that trigger, Babaei does not expressly state, in the language of the claim, that the trigger is a determination that the UE is unable to receive the first service in RRC_INACTIVE.
Yilmaz et al. further teaches the UE is unable to receive the multicast service in RRC_INACTIVE state (Yilmaz-See Fig. 15: the UE 120 in an RRC_INACTIVE state with both suspended MCG and SCG configurations (i.e., unable to perform receiving communications with both MCG and SCG) initiates an RRC Resume procedure e.g. due to UL data, arrival, RNA update, voice call, emergency call, or paging from the network 100. Cf. Action 1. ¶ [0323]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide that the UE is unable to receive the multicast service in RRC_INACTIVE state as taught by Yilmaz to have incorporated in the system of Babaei, so that it would provide that the signaling required for security activation and bearer establishment is avoided, which signaling is normally required when transitioning from RRC_IDLE to RRC_CONNECTED. This improves latency and reduces the signaling overhead. Yilmaz-¶ [0029].
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “…or…”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 14; Babaei discloses the terminal wherein the determining that the terminal is unable to receive the first multicast service in the radio resource control (RRC)_INACTIVE state, and
transmitting the RRC resume request message (Babaei: See Fig. 18: a UE in RRC_INACTIVE determines to be configured with measurement and triggering events and the UE may indicate to the RAN about need for MBS service continuity when the UE moving to a target cell while in RRC Idle or RRC Inactive states. Babaei further teaches that the UE may initiate a random access procedure in response to determining the MBS service-continuity trigger and transmit a request for MBS configuration information associated with the target service. See ¶ [0146]-¶ [0148] to the network device comprises:
determining whether multicast service transmission of a first cell changes, wherein the first cell is a cell on which the terminal camps in RRC_INACTIVE state (Babaei-the UE may initiate the signaling with source cell and the source cell may request MBS configuration of the target cell. The source cell may receive the MBS configuration of the target cell and may second the MBS configurations of the target cell to the UE. In some examples, the UE may initiate the signaling first with the target cell and the target cell may get UE's MBS context from source cell. The UE may continue receiving its MBS data during the transition. ¶ [0149]); and
transmitting the RRC resume request message to the network device in a case that it is determined that the multicast service transmission of the first cell changes (Babaei- FIG. 19 , a UE may be in an RRC Inactive or an RRC Idle state. The UE may transition to the RRC Inactive or the RRC Idle state from an RRC connected state based on receiving an RRC message (e.g., an RRC release message) indicating release of the RRC configurations or suspending the RRC configurations. For example, a suspend configuration information element in the RRC release message may indicate one or more RNTIs for identifying suspended UE context in the RRC Inactive state. ¶ [0150]).
Regarding claim 16; Babaei teaches the terminal wherein after the transmitting the RRC resume request message to the network device, the method further comprises:
receiving configuration information transmitted by the network device, wherein the configuration information is used for configuring the terminal to receive the first multicast service;
wherein the configuration information is used for configuring one of the following:
the terminal to receive the first multicast service in an RRCconnected state (Babaei-RRC_INACTIVE state may be used to reduce network signaling load and reduce latency involved in transitioning to RRC_CONNECTED state. In RRC_INACTIVE state, the AS context may be stored by both UE and gNB. The state transition from inactive state to connected state may be faster than state transition from RRC IDLE state to RRC Connected state. In some examples, the core network connection may be maintained in RRC Inactive state (e.g., the UE may remain in CMCONNECTED). ¶ [0124]).
Regarding claim 17: Babaei teaches a network device, comprising a memory, a transceiver, and a processor; wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under control of the processor, and the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory to perform the method comprising:
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) resume request message transmitted by a terminal (See Fig. 18: transmitting a first message indicating a request for MBS configuration parameters associated with the one or more MBS services. See Abstract and ¶ [0154]), wherein the RRC resume request message is transmitted in a case that the terminal is unable to receive a first multicast service in RRC_INACTIVE state (Babaei: See Fig. 18: a UE in RRC_INACTIVE determines to be configured with measurement and triggering events and the UE may indicate to the RAN about need for MBS service continuity when the UE moving to a target cell while in RRC Idle or RRC Inactive states. Babaei further teaches that the UE may initiate a random access procedure in response to determining the MBS service-continuity trigger and transmit a request for MBS configuration information associated with the target service. See ¶ [0146]-¶ [0148]) wherein the first multicast service is at least one of: that the terminal is interested in (Babaei-See Fig. 18: the first message may identify MBS services the UE is receiving from its current cell or MBS services the UE is interested in receiving from the target cell, including service identifiers such as TMGIs. ¶ [0107]); and
transmitting an RRC resume message to the terminal based on the RRC resume request (See FIG. 16A-FIG. 16E, in response to a request to resume the RRC connection, the network may resume the suspended RRC connection and may send UE to RRC_CONNECTED, or may reject the request to resume and send UE to RRC_INACTIVE (e.g., with a wait timer), or may re-suspend the RRC connection and may send UE to RRC_INACTIVE, or may release the RRC connection and send UE to RRC_IDLE, or may instruct the UE to initiate NAS level recovery (in this case the network may send an RRC setup message). ¶ [0131]);
Although Babaei teaches determining a Multicast MBS service-continuity trigger and transmitting an RRC resume request associated with that trigger, Babaei does not expressly state, in the language of the claim, that the trigger is a determination that the UE is unable to receive the first service in RRC_INACTIVE.
Yilmaz et al. further teaches the UE is unable to receive the multicast service in RRC_INACTIVE state (Yilmaz-See Fig. 15: the UE 120 in an RRC_INACTIVE state with both suspended MCG and SCG configurations (i.e., unable to perform receiving communications with both MCG and SCG) initiates an RRC Resume procedure e.g. due to UL data, arrival, RNA update, voice call, emergency call, or paging from the network 100. Cf. Action 1. ¶ [0323]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide that the UE is unable to receive the multicast service in RRC_INACTIVE state as taught by Yilmaz to have incorporated in the system of Babaei, so that it would provide that the signaling required for security activation and bearer establishment is avoided, which signaling is normally required when transitioning from RRC_IDLE to RRC_CONNECTED. This improves latency and reduces the signaling overhead. Yilmaz-¶ [0029].
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “…or…”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 6, 12-13, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon the rejected base claims but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jung et al. (US 2025/0287195 A1 to discuss the method for Supporting UE Supporting Multiple SIMS in Wireless).
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Noel Beharry can be reached on 571-270-5630. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAI AUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416