DETAILED ACTION
Upon updated search and further consideration, the previous office action (3/13/2026) that indicated some allowable subject matter has been hereby withdrawn the following rejection(s) apply below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5,10,11,18,19,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean document (KR 100743453) in view of British document
(GB 2585124).
Korean document discloses a modular platform system for vertical ore stope mining,
comprising: a top platform (see Fig. 2b,2c) having an access opening formed therein for accessing a raise opening of a raise above a stope of a mine; an equipment deck adapted to receive equipment (see Fig. 2b,2c); and, at least one winch (51) having at least one respective cable (52) coupled thereto, the at least one winch mounted on the
top platform, the at least one cable extendable through the access opening, the at least one cable having at least one respective cable end coupled to the equipment deck;
wherein the at least one winch is operable to move the equipment deck and the equipment between a raised position proximate a top of the raise at the top platform
and a lowered position proximate a bottom of the raise at a top of or within the stope.
Korean document ‘453 discloses the invention substantially. However, Korean document ‘453 is silent about the at least one winch is four synchronized winches.
British document ‘124 teaches at least one winch is four winches (see Figs. 2-4, 9).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Korean document ‘453 to
have the at least one winch be four winches as taught by British document ‘124 since such a modification provides more effective lifting power. With regards to the “synchronized” limitation, it would have been considered obvious to have synchronized winches since such a modification allows for the platform to be level when raising and lowering.
Re claim 2, wherein the mine is an underground mine (see Figs.2b,2c).
Re claim 3, wherein the top platform (Figs. 2b,2c) is adapted to be moved between raises in a drift or chamber of the underground mine.
Re claim 5, comprising a control system (50, see machine translation describing Fig. 2b) for controlling components of the modular platform system, the at least one winch, and the equipment.
Re claim 10, wherein the equipment includes at least one of mobile or stationary
drilling equipment and mobile or stationary blasting equipment (C,D, Fig. 2b).
Re claim 11, wherein the equipment deck includes a power supply for providing power to the equipment (see machine translation description of Fig. 2b).
Re claim 18, wherein the power supply is an optional battery (this limitation is met since optional battery is not a required limitation).
Re claim 19, wherein the equipment deck (19) includes a top deck having a slot formed therein for receiving a removable cassette deck (43), the removable cassette deck for receiving the equipment, and one or more respective guide wheels (Fig. 2b) mounted to the top deck and adapted and oriented to engage a side wall of the raise.
Re claim 20, wherein the equipment includes mobile equipment and stationary equipment (see Figs. 2b,2c).
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean document ‘453 in view of British document ‘124 as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Lepley et al. (US 3757701).
Korean document ‘453 (as modified above) discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Korean document ‘453 (as modified above) is silent wherein the control system supports local and remote control of the components of the modular platform system, the at least one winch, and the equipment. Lepley et al. teaches a control system (see Figs 4,11) supports local and remote control of the components of the modular platform system, the at least one winch, and the equipment.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Korean document ‘453 (as modified above) to include a control system to support local and remote control of the components of the modular platform system, the at least one winch, and the equipment as taught by Lepley et al. since such a modification provides protection of the user by enabling them to operate the system from a safe distance.
Re claim 7, Korean document ‘453 (as modified above) discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Korean document ‘453 (as modified above) is silent wherein the control system has a local user interface or control panel mounted on the top platform for local control.
Lepley et al. teaches a control system has a local user interface or control panel mounted on the top platform for local control (see Figs. 4,11).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Korean document ‘453 (as modified above) to include a control system that has a local user interface or control panel mounted on the top platform for local control as taught by Lepley et al. since such a modification provides protection of the user by enabling them to operate the system from a safe distance.
Re claim 8, Korean document ‘453 (as modified above) discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Korean document ‘453 (as modified above) is silent wherein the control system has a remote user interface or control panel located at a remote location at a distance from the raise or mine for remote control. Lepley et al. teaches a control system has a remote user interface or control panel located at a remote location at a distance from the raise or mine for remote control (see Figs. 4,11).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Korean document ‘453 (as modified above) to include a control system that has a remote user interface or control panel located at a remote location at a distance from the raise or mine for remote control as taught by Lepley et al. since such a modification provides protection of the user by enabling them to operate the system from a safe distance.
Re claim 9, Korean document ‘453 (as modified above) discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Korean document ‘453 (as modified above) is silent wherein a wired or wireless network communicatively coupling the control system to the components of the modular platform system, the at least one winch, and the equipment. Lepley et al. teaches wherein a wired or wireless network communicatively coupling the control system to the components of the modular platform system, the at least one winch, and the equipment (see Figs. 4,11-13).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Korean document ‘453 (as modified above) to include a control a wired or wireless network communicatively coupling the control system to the components of the modular platform system, the at least one winch, and the equipment as taught by Lepley et al. since such a modification enhances reliability, speed and security.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean document ‘453 in view of British document ‘124 as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Jordaan (US 20160201396).
Korean document ‘453 (as modified above) discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Korean document ‘453 (as modified above) is silent wherein the power supply is electrically coupled to the top platform via power cabling. Jordaan teaches wherein the power supply is electrically coupled to the top platform via power cabling (para 0024, 0038).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Korean document ‘453 (as modified above) to wherein the power supply is electrically coupled to the top platform via power cabling as taught by Jordaan since such a modification would reduce weight and increase space on the equipment deck.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean document ‘453 in view of British document ‘124 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chinese document (CN 116255151) or German (DE 102013018796).
Korean document ‘453 (as modified above) discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Korean document ‘453 (as modified above) is silent wherein the access opening and equipment deck are circular or approximately circular in shape and wherein the equipment deck is sized to dock and mate with the access opening when in the raised position. Chinese document ‘151 and German document ‘796 both teach
wherein the access opening and equipment deck are circular or approximately circular in shape (see Fig. 1; Fig. 2). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Korean document ‘453 (as modified above) to the access opening and equipment deck are circular or approximately circular in shape as taught by either Chinese document ‘151 or German document ‘796 since a majority of the mining shafts are circular in shape. The limitation “wherein the equipment deck is sized to dock and mate with the access opening” is met by Korean document ‘453 when member 40 is aligned with the top of the opening via the wheels.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4,14,16,17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on at least one reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/SUNIL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
SS
8/26/2026