DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 line 10 calls for “at least one cable”; claim 1 line 7 calls for “at least one respective cable”; it is unclear if and how they are related.
Claim 8 line 4, “the drift”, “the chamber” lacks clear antecedent basis.
Claim 13 line 1 calls for “the one or more winches”; claim 1 line 7 calls for “at least one winch”; it is unclear if and how they are related.
The remaining claims are solely rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,5,10,11,18,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Korean document (KR 100743453).
Korean document discloses a modular platform system for vertical ore stope mining,
comprising: a top platform (see Fig. 2b,2c) having an access opening formed therein for accessing a raise opening of a raise above a stope of a mine; an equipment deck adapted to receive equipment (see Fig. 2b,2c); and, at least one winch (51) having at least one respective cable (52) coupled thereto, the at least one winch mounted on the
top platform, the at least one cable extendable through the access opening, the at least one cable having at least one respective cable end coupled to the equipment deck;
wherein the at least one winch is operable to move the equipment deck and the equipment between a raised position proximate a top of the raise at the top platform
and a lowered position proximate a bottom of the raise at a top of or within the stope.
Re claim 2, wherein the mine is an underground mine (see Figs.2b,2c).
Re claim 3, wherein the top platform (Figs. 2b,2c) is adapted to be moved between raises in a drift or chamber of the underground mine.
Re claim 5, comprising a control system (50, see machine translation describing Fig. 2b) for controlling components of the modular platform system, the at least one winch, and the equipment.
Re claim 10, wherein the equipment includes at least one of mobile or stationary
drilling equipment and mobile or stationary blasting equipment (C,D, Fig. 2b).
Re claim 11, wherein the equipment deck includes a power supply for providing power to the equipment (see machine translation description of Fig. 2b).
Re claim 18, wherein the power supply is an optional battery (this limitation is met since optional battery is not a required limitation).
Re claim 20, wherein the equipment includes mobile equipment and stationary equipment (see Figs. 2b,2c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean document ‘453 in view of Lepley et al. (US 3757701).
Korean document ‘453 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Korean document ‘453 is silent wherein the control system supports local and remote control of the components of the modular platform system, the at least one winch, and the equipment. Lepley et al. teaches a control system (see Figs 4,11) supports local and remote control of the components of the modular platform system, the at least one winch, and the equipment.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Korean document ‘453 to include
a control system to support local and remote control of the components of the modular platform system, the at least one winch, and the equipment as taught by Lepley et al. since such a modification provides protection of the user by enabling them to operate the system from a safe distance.
Re claim 7, Korean document ‘453 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Korean document ‘453 is silent wherein the control system has a local user interface or control panel mounted on the top platform for local control.
Lepley et al. teaches a control system has a local user interface or control panel mounted on the top platform for local control (see Figs. 4,11).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Korean document ‘453 to include
a control system that has a local user interface or control panel mounted on the top platform for local control as taught by Lepley et al. since such a modification
provides protection of the user by enabling them to operate the system from a safe distance.
Re claim 8, Korean document ‘453 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Korean document ‘453 is silent wherein the control system has a remote user interface or control panel located at a remote location at a distance from the raise,
drift, chamber, or mine for remote control. Lepley et al. teaches a control system has a remote user interface or control panel located at a remote location at a distance from the raise, drift, chamber, or mine for remote control (see Figs. 4,11).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Korean document ‘453 to include
a control system that has a remote user interface or control panel located at a remote location at a distance from the raise, drift, chamber, or mine for remote control as taught by Lepley et al. since such a modification provides protection of the user by enabling them to operate the system from a safe distance.
Re claim 9, Korean document ‘453 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Korean document ‘453 is silent wherein a wired or wireless network communicatively coupling the control system to the components of the modular
platform system, the at least one winch, and the equipment. Lepley et al. teaches
wherein a wired or wireless network communicatively coupling the control system to the components of the modular platform system, the at least one winch, and the equipment (see Figs. 4,11-13).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Korean document ‘453 to include
a control a wired or wireless network communicatively coupling the control system to the components of the modular platform system, the at least one winch, and the equipment as taught by Lepley et al. since such a modification enhances reliability, speed and security.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean document ‘453 in view of Jordaan (US 20160201396).
Korean document ‘453 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Korean document ‘453 is silent wherein the power supply is electrically coupled to the top platform via power cabling. Jordaan teaches wherein the power supply is electrically coupled to the top platform via power cabling (para 0024, 0038).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Korean document ‘453 to wherein the power supply is electrically coupled to the top platform via power cabling as taught by Jordaan since such a modification would reduce weight and increase space on the equipment deck.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 13-17,19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SUNIL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
SS
3/7/2026