DETAILED ACTION
This is responsive to Application 18/858,766 filed 10/22/2024 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abdelghaffar et al (US 2023/0198725 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Abdelghaffar teaches a method, comprising:
determining, by a processor of an apparatus, a set of resource units from a plurality of resource units, wherein the plurality of resource units is time-frequency based (Abdelghaffar: Fig. 11; [0118], UE receives CSI resource configuration from a base station; The CSI resource configuration may include a CSI resource configuration bitmap 1160); and
reporting, by the processor, one or more channel state information (CSI) for the set of resource units to at least one network node of a wireless network (Abdelghaffar: Fig. 11-12; [0130], UE transmits CSI report to the base station).
Regarding claim 13, Abdelghaffar teaches an apparatus, comprising: a transceiver which, during operation, wirelessly communicates with at least one network node of a wireless network; and a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver such that, during operation, the processor performs operations comprising:
determining a set of resource units from a plurality of resource units, wherein the plurality of resource units is time-frequency based (Abdelghaffar: Fig. 11; [0118], UE receives CSI resource configuration from a base station; The CSI resource configuration may include a CSI resource configuration bitmap 1160); and
reporting, via the transceiver, one or more channel state information (CSI) for the set of resource units to the at least one network node (Abdelghaffar: Fig. 11-12; [0130], UE transmits CSI report to the base station).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Abdelghaffar teaches wherein each resource unit of the plurality of resource units consist of one or more resource blocks (RBs) in frequency domain and one or more slots in time domain (Abdelghaffar: Fig. 11; [0118]).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Abdelghaffar teaches wherein the set of resource units includes non-contiguous resource units in the plurality of resource units (Abdelghaffar: Fig. 11; [0118], [0123]).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Abdelghaffar teaches receiving, by the processor, a bitmap of the plurality of the resource units from the at least one network node; wherein the set of resource units is determined according to the bitmap (Abdelghaffar: Fig. 11; [0118]).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Abdelghaffar teaches receiving, by the processor, a number of resource unit from the at least one network node; wherein the set of resource units is determined according to the number of resource unit (Abdelghaffar: Fig. 11; [0118]).
Regarding claim 9, Abdelghaffar teaches wherein the plurality of resource units starts from a specific slot, the specific slot is an uplink slot of CSI reporting or a slot after a number of slot after the uplink slot, and the number of slot is configured by the at least one network node (Abdelghaffar: Fig. 5; [0125]-[0126]).
Regarding claim 10, Abdelghaffar teaches wherein one CSI is reported for one resource unit in the set of resource units or one CSI is reported for multiple resource units in the set of resource units (Abdelghaffar: Fig. 11-12; [0130], UE transmits CSI report to the base station).
Regarding claim 11, Abdelghaffar teaches wherein the plurality of resource units are divided into a plurality of resource unit groups, and one CSI is reported for resource units in a same resource unit group (Abdelghaffar: Fig. 11-12; [0118]; [0130], UE transmits CSI report to the base station).
Regarding claim 12, Abdelghaffar teaches wherein each of the plurality of resource units includes a plurality of sub-resource units, and one CSI is reported for: one resource unit in the set of resource units; multiple resource units in the set of resource units; or one sub-resource unit of the plurality of sub-resource units (Abdelghaffar: Fig. 11-12; [0118]; [0130], UE transmits CSI report to the base station).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdelghaffar et al (US 2023/0198725 A1) in view of Han et al (US 2019/0297519 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Abdelghaffar does not teach reporting, by the processor, an index corresponding to the set of resource units to the at least one network node wherein the index corresponds to one combination of the number of resource unit of the plurality of resource units.
Han teaches reporting, by the processor, an index corresponding to the set of resource units to the at least one network node wherein the index corresponds to one combination of the number of resource unit of the plurality of resource units (Han: [0165], CSI reporting with bitmap/index of the resources).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Abdelghaffar by reporting, by the processor, an index corresponding to the set of resource units to the at least one network node wherein the index corresponds to one combination of the number of resource unit of the plurality of resource units as disclosed by Han to provide a system for channel state information reporting (Han: Abstract).
Claims 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdelghaffar et al (US 2023/0198725 A1) in view of Li et al (US 2025/0088887 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Abdelghaffar does not teach but Li teaches wherein the set of resource units is determined according to at least one of a capability of throughput of the apparatus and a transmission prediction (Li: [0006]-[0007]).
. It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Abdelghaffar wherein the set of resource units is determined according to at least one of a capability of throughput of the apparatus and a transmission prediction as disclosed by Li to provide a system for channel state information reporting (Li: Abstract).
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdelghaffar et al (US 2023/0198725 A1) in view of Li et al (US 2025/0088887 A1) in further view of Han et al (US 2019/0297519 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Abdelghaffar in view of LI does not teach by Han teaches transmitting, by the processor, a bitmap of the plurality of the resource units to the at least one network node, wherein the bitmap corresponds to the set of resource units (Han: [0165], CSI reporting with bitmap/index of the resources).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Abdelghaffar in view of Li transmitting, by the processor, a bitmap of the plurality of the resource units to the at least one network node, wherein the bitmap corresponds to the set of resource units as disclosed by Han to provide a system for channel state information reporting (Han: Abstract).
Conclusion
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478