DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 6/22/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 16-21 are withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 6/22/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by USPAP 2017/0175313 to Song or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over USPAP 2017/0175313 to Song in view of USPAP 2022/0364281 to Ramaratnam and/or USPAP 2019/0161897 to Mecl.
Claim 1, Song discloses a nonwoven fabric comprising at least one nonwoven web of filaments, wherein the nonwoven fabric has an embossing pattern consisting of a plurality of embossments that each have an embossing area of 0.05 to 0.3 mm2 (see entire document including [0002], [0045] and [0046]).
Claim 2, Song discloses that the smallest spacing between two embossments of the embossing pattern is to be 0.25 to 2 mm [0011]. In addition, Mecl discloses that it is known in the art to space embossments by 0.5 to 2.5 mm and that an embossment arrangement significantly influences the final properties of an embossed nonwoven fabric (see entire document including [0002] and [0098]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to space the embossments by the claimed amount, because it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select embossment spacing on the basis of suitability and desired nonwoven fabric characteristics.
Claim 3, the proportion of the total embossing area of the embossing pattern to the total surface area of the nonwoven web is 2 to 12% [0009].
Claim 4, the embossments in plan view each have at least one geometry selected from the group: “punctuate or circular, elliptical, square, rectangular, diamond-shaped, polygonal, linear, wavy” ([0010] and [0037])
Claim 5, the aspect ratio of the embossing area of each embossments may be less than 4 (the Figures, [0010] and [0037]).
Claim 6, the filaments of the at least one nonwoven web are crimped and continuous multicomponent or bicomponent filaments ([0031] and [0038]).
Claim 7, the multicomponent filaments or bicomponent filaments each have a first component that substantially consists of at least one thermoplastic polyolefin material or the multicomponent filaments or bicomponent filaments each have a second or further component that substantially consists of at least one thermoplastic material ([0038] and [0053]).
Claim 8, the multicomponent filaments or bicomponent filaments are of side-by-side configuration or core-sheath configuration ([0038] and [0053]).
Claim 9, Song does not appear to specifically mention the nonwoven fabric weight but Ramaratnam and Mecl discloses that it is known in the art to construct a nonwoven fabric with a mass per unit area of less than 200 g/m2 (Table 2 of Ramaratnam and [0025] of Mecl). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the nonwoven fabric with any suitable weight, such as claimed, because it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a nonwoven fabric weight on the basis of its suitability and desired characteristics.
Claim 10, Song does not appear to specifically mention the nonwoven fabric thickness but Ramaratnam discloses that it is known in the art to construct a nonwoven fabric with a thickness of 0.1 to 0.85 mm. (Table 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the nonwoven fabric with any suitable thickness, such as claimed, because it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a nonwoven fabric thickness on the basis of its suitability and desired characteristics.
Claim 11, Song does not appear to specifically mention the nonwoven fabric abrasion resistance or stiffness but Song does disclose that abrasion resistance may be varied as desired ([0003]-[[0005]). The examiner takes official notice that the claimed abrasion resistance and stiffness are common in the art. In addition, Mecl discloses that abrasion resistance may be varied as desired [0191] and Ramaratnam discloses that Martindale abrasion resistance and stiffness may be varied as desired ([0190] and [0196]-[0204]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the nonwoven fabric with any suitable abrasion resistance and stiffness, such as claimed, because it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select an abrasion resistance and stiffness on the basis of the intended use and the desired/required properties.
Claim 12, Song does not appear to specifically mention the nonwoven fabric MD strength but Ramaratnam discloses that it is known in the art to construct a nonwoven fabric with a MD strength of at least 8 N/5 cm (Table 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the nonwoven fabric with any suitable MD strength, such as claimed, because it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a nonwoven fabric thickness on the basis of its suitability and desired characteristics
Claim 13, Song does not appear to specifically mention the nonwoven fabric embossment depth but Mecl discloses that it is known in the art to construct a nonwoven fabric with a depth of the 0.1 to 0.8 mm ([0072] of Mecl). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the nonwoven fabric with any suitable embossment depth, such as claimed, because it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a nonwoven fabric embossment depth on the basis of its suitability and desired characteristics.
Claim 14, the nonwoven fabric is a nonwoven laminate composed of at least two nonwoven webs or nonwoven fabric layers [0012].
Claim 15, the nonwoven fabric is consolidated with at least one calender roller for making the embossing pattern [0013].
Conclusion
/ANDREW T PIZIALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789