DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (Pub. No.: 2019/0380123 A1).
1) In regard to claim 1, Yang discloses the claimed processor (fig. 4: 466, 458, 464 and 480) of a user equipment (figs. 1 & 4: 120) configured with multi- panel simultaneous physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission with spatial domain multiplexing (¶0008), the processor configured to perform operations (¶0100) comprising:
receiving sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration information from a base station (fig. 9: 902-904 and ¶0124);
transmitting a first beam using a first panel of the UE, wherein the first beam comprises at least one of SRS or PUSCH (fig. 11: 1102-1110 and ¶0143); and
transmitting a second beam using a second panel of the UE, wherein the second beam comprises at least one of SRS or PUSCH and wherein the first beam and the second beam are transmitted simultaneously (fig. 11: 1102-1110 and ¶0143).
2) In regard to claim 2 (dependent on claim 1), Yang further discloses the processor of claim 1, the operations further comprising: reporting UE capability information to the base station, the UE capability information indicating the UE supports transmitting SRS resources simultaneously from the first panel and the second panel (¶0145).
3) In regard to claim 3 (dependent on claim 2), Yang further discloses the processor of claim 2, wherein the capability information further indicates a maximum number of multiple input multiple output (MIMO) layers for PUSCH operation across the first panel and the second panel (¶0088).
4) In regard to claim 4 (dependent on claim 2), Yang further discloses the processor of claim 2, wherein the capability information further indicates a maximum number of ports for uplink transmission for each panel (¶0088).
5) In regard to claim 5 (dependent on claim 2), Yang further discloses the processor of claim 2, wherein the capability information further indicates a maximum number of ports for uplink transmission across the first panel and the second panel (¶0088).
6) In regard to claim 6 (dependent on claim 1), Yang further discloses the processor of claim 1, the operations further comprising: transmitting a group based beam report to the base station comprising multiple groups, wherein each group comprises two beams that are suitable for simultaneous downlink reception and two beams that are suitable for multi-panel simultaneous uplink transmission (¶0118).
7) In regard to claim 7 (dependent on claim 1), Yang further discloses the processor of claim 1, the operations further comprising: transmitting a group based beam report to the base station comprising multiple groups, wherein each group comprises two beams that are suitable for multi-panel simultaneous uplink transmission (¶0118).
8) In regard to claim 8 (dependent on claim 1), Yang further discloses the processor of claim 1, wherein the SRS configuration information comprises a first SRS resource set to be used by the first panel for uplink based beam management and a second SRS resource set to be used by the second panel for uplink based beam management (¶0145).
9) In regard to claim 9 (dependent on claim 1), Yang further discloses the processor of claim 1, wherein the first beam and the second based are configured to use a same SRS resource (¶0143).
10) In regard to claim 10 (dependent on claim 9), Yang further discloses the processor of claim 9, wherein the SRS resource is configured for codebook based SRS transmission and wherein one or more SRS ports are mapped to the first panel and one or more SRS ports are mapped to the second panel (¶0136).
11) In regard to claim 11 (dependent on claim 1), Yang further discloses the processor of claim 1, wherein the first panel and the second panel are mapped to a same SRS resource set, the SRS resource set comprising a first group of SRS resources configured for the first panel and a second group of SRS resources configured for the second panel (¶0158).
12) In regard to claim 12 (dependent on claim 1), Yang further discloses the processor of claim 1, wherein the first panel and the second panel are mapped to different SRS resource sets (¶0049).
13) In regard to claim 13 (dependent on claim 1), Yang further discloses the processor of claim 1, wherein the UE is configured to transmit a same SRS resource simultaneously from the first panel and the second panel and wherein the first panel and the second panel have a same power control (fig. 4: 480, 464, and 466 shows the same power control device controls both panels).
14) In regard to claim 14, Yang discloses the processor (fig. 4: 420, 430, 438, and 440) of a base station (figs. 1 & 4: 110) configured to support multi- panel simultaneous physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission with spatial domain multiplexing (¶0008) by a user equipment (figs. 1 & 4: 120), the processor configured to perform operations (¶0124) comprising:
transmitting sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration information to the UE (fig. 9: 902);
receiving a first beam from a first panel of the UE, wherein the first beam comprises at least one of SRS or PUSCH (fig. 9: 908); and
receiving a second beam from a second panel of the UE, wherein the second beam comprises at least one or SRS or PUSCH and wherein the first beam and the second beam are transmitted simultaneously (fig. 9: 908).
15) In regard to claim 15 (dependent on claim 14), Yang further discloses the processor of claim 14, the operations further comprising: receiving UE capability information, the UE capability information indicating that the UE supports transmitting SRS resources simultaneously from the first panel and the second panel (¶0145).
16) In regard to claim 16 (dependent on claim 15), Yang further discloses the processor of claim 15, wherein the capability information further indicates a maximum number of multiple input multiple output (MIMO) layers for PUSCH operation across the first panel and the second panel (¶0088).
17) In regard to claim 17 (dependent on claim 15), Yang further discloses the processor of claim 15, wherein the capability information further indicates a maximum number of ports for uplink transmission for each panel (¶0088).
18) In regard to claim 18 (dependent on claim 15), Yang further discloses the processor of claim 15, wherein the capability information further indicates a maximum number of ports for uplink transmission across the first panel and the second panel (¶0088).
19) In regard to claim 19 (dependent on claim 14), Yang further discloses the processor of claim 14, the operations further comprising: receiving a group based beam report comprising multiple groups, wherein each group comprises two beams that are suitable for simultaneous downlink reception and two beams that are suitable for multi-panel simultaneous uplink transmission (¶0118).
20) In regard to claim 20 (dependent on claim 14), Yang further discloses the processor of claim 14, the operations further comprising: receiving a group based beam report comprising multiple groups, wherein each group comprises two beams that are suitable for multi-panel simultaneous uplink transmission (¶0118).
Conclusion
/CURTIS J KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685