DETAILED ACTION
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
4. Claims 1-8, 12, 14, and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Each of Claims 1-8, 12, 14, and 16-22 recites an abstract idea. Specifically,
Independent Claim 1 recites a method, performed by a control device (additional element), for estimating a driving range for a vehicle, the method comprising:
based on available driving energy for the vehicle, estimating the driving range taking into account an estimated variation in rolling resistance of the vehicle (observation or evaluation, which is a mental process under the 2019 PEG),
wherein the estimated variation in rolling resistance of the vehicle is determined using a predetermined transient rolling resistance model into which transient tire rubber temperature effects on rolling resistance are incorporated (judgement or evaluation, which is a mental process under the 2019 PEG).
Independent Claim 12 recites a computer program product stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium, said computer program product for estimating a driving range for a vehicle, wherein said computer program product (additional element) comprising computer instructions to cause one or more computing devices to perform the following operations:
based on available driving energy for the vehicle, estimating the driving range taking into account an estimated variation in rolling resistance of the vehicle (observation or evaluation, which is a mental process under the 2019 PEG),
wherein the estimated variation in rolling resistance of the vehicle is determined using a predetermined transient rolling resistance model into which transient tire rubber temperature effects on rolling resistance are incorporated (judgement or evaluation, which is a mental process under the 2019 PEG).
Independent Claim 14 recites a control device configured to estimate a driving range for a vehicle, wherein the control device configured to (additional element):
based on available driving energy for the vehicle, estimating the driving range taking into account an estimated variation in rolling resistance of the vehicle (observation or evaluation, which is a mental process under the 2019 PEG),
wherein the estimated variation in rolling resistance of the vehicle is determined using a predetermined transient rolling resistance model into which transient tire rubber temperature effects on rolling resistance are incorporated (judgement or evaluation, which is a mental process under the 2019 PEG).
Independent Claim 16 recites a vehicle comprising a control device configured to estimate a driving range for a vehicle, wherein the control device configured to (additional element):
based on available driving energy for the vehicle, estimating the driving range taking into account an estimated variation in rolling resistance of the vehicle (observation or evaluation, which is a mental process under the 2019 PEG),
wherein the estimated variation in rolling resistance of the vehicle is determined using a predetermined transient rolling resistance model into which transient tire rubber temperature effects on rolling resistance are incorporated (judgement or evaluation, which is a mental process under the 2019 PEG).
Further, dependent claims 2-8 and 17-22 merely include limitations that either further define the abstract idea (and thus don’t make the abstract idea any less abstract) or amount to no more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use because they’re merely incidental or token additions to the claims that do not alter or affect how the process steps are performed.
Accordingly, as indicated above, each of the above-identified Claims 1-8, 12, 14, and 16-22 recites an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-12, 14, and 16-22, as far as understood are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CORDONNIER et al. (US 2020/0164889 A1) in view of Yokota et al. (US 2005/0085987 A1).
Regarding claim 1, notes Figure 1, CORDONNIER invention teaches a method, performed by a control device (5), para. 0009 teaches the hybrid motor vehicle comprising several sources of energy, it is particularly beneficial to make use of the future evolution of the rolling resistance coefficient of the tyres in order to determined source of energy needs to be utilized and/or recharged, and according to what operation. As an ancillary issue, it also becomes possible to better determine the autonomy of energy source used and be better able to inform the user of the motor vehicle], para. 0040 teaches the higher the speed and/or the longer the running time (it is possible to derive the driving range), the more quickly the rolling resistance coefficient will approach its minimum value] taking into account an estimated variation in rolling resistance of the vehicle [para. 0003 teaches a method for managing a powertrain of a motor vehicle that makes it possible better to predict the way in which tyre will behave in order to assist with optimizing the energy consumption of the motor vehicle; and para. 0065 teaches it is notably possible to carry out the methods using an indirect stream of information via a server in which there are performed statistical processing operations regarding the history of the information and an analysis of massive data that would make it possible to address the problem of how the rolling resistance evolves with tyre wear by using remote sources of information…when the motor vehicle is being serviced or passes through an automatic-detection gantry that increments the distance covered by the tyre (it is possible to know as the driving range)], wherein the estimated variation in rolling resistance of the vehicle is determined using a predetermined transient rolling resistance model into which transient tire rubber temperature effects on rolling resistance are incorporated [para. 0037, 0046 and para. 0049 which describes a method for determine a predictive rolling resistance using a time-dependent model based on ambient temperature and driving conditions and determining the autonomy of the vehicle according to the predictive rolling resistance].
CORDONNIER invention does not specifically teaches estimating the driving range.
Yokota invention teaches a method and apparatus for estimating the running state of a tire and the condition of a road in contact with the tire at the time of running. Since the driving range The running state of a tire and/or the tire at time of running would have been considered and/or equivalent to the driving range.
Since the prior art references are both from the same field endeavor. The purpose disclosed by CORDONIER invention would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Yokota.
It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skilled in the art to have provided a step for estimating the running state or running time of a tire which known as the driving range taught by Yokota invention into CORDONNIER method for the purpose of providing a considerable reduction of the manufacturing cost as well as total cost of the vehicle during the service life.
Regarding claim 2, as discussed and motivated in claim 1, CORDONNIER invention further teaches the predetermined transient rolling resistance model takes into account ambient temperature [see SUMMARY OF INVENTION and para. 0039-0040].
Regarding claim 3, as discussed and motivated in claim 2, CORDONNIER invention further teaches the predetermined transient rolling resistance model takes into account at least one parameter causing cooling of the tire during driving of the vehicle (1) [see SUMMARY OF INVENTION and para. 0039-0040 which teaches rolling resistance coefficient of a tyre decreases between the tyre being cold and the tyre being hot down to a minimum value that is specific to the tyre dependent on the above characteristics].
Regarding claim 4, as discussed and motivated in claim 1, CORDONNIER invention further teaches the at least one parameter causing cooling of the tire during driving comprises rain, wet road condition and/or aerodynamic cooling [para. 0046 teaches a rolling resistance coefficient of a tyre will therefore be deduced from prior measurements of the tyre conducted on test beds and/or from simulations by varying the running conditions in order, for example, to obtain thermomechanical finite element models].
Regarding claim 5, as discussed and motivated in claim 2, CORDONNIER invention further teaches the predetermined transient rolling resistance model takes into account vehicle speed [SUMMARY OF INVENTION and para. 0039-0040, 0051-0060].
Regarding claim 6, as discussed and motivated in claim 1, CORDONNIER invention further teaches the predetermined transient rolling resistance model takes into account vehicle speed [SUMMARY OF INVENTION, para. 0039-0040 and 0046].
Regarding claim 7, as discussed and motivated in claim 1, CORDONNIER invention further teaches the predetermined transient rolling resistance model takes into account a predicted or measured initial temperature of the tire rubber at a start of a planned driving event, and/or a predicted temperature of the tire rubber at the start of a portion of the planned upcoming driving event [SUMMARY OF INVENTION and para. 0039-0040, 0051-0060].
Regarding claim 8, as discussed and motivated in claim 1, CORDONNIER invention further teaches the predetermined transient rolling resistance model is adapted to calculate a time-dependent adjusted rolling resistance coefficient based on a predetermined rolling resistance coefficient determined according to a standardized procedure [SUMMARY OF INVENTION and para. 0039-0040, 0051-0060].
Regarding claim 9, as discussed and motivated in claim 1, CORDONNIER invention further teaches approving or adjusting the planned upcoming driving event in dependence of whether the estimated driving range is determined to be sufficient or not for completing the planned upcoming driving event [para.0007 teaches the method makes it possible to determine the future evolution of the rolling resistance coefficient of a tyre incorporated into a motor vehicle; para. 0008 teaches the method notably makes it possible to control the powertrain of the motor vehicle more finely, by having available the future evolution of the rolling resistance coefficient for each tyre; and para. 0009 teaches it is particularly beneficial to make use of the future evolution of the rolling resistance coefficient of the tyres in order to determine which source of energy needs to be utilized and/or recharged, and according to what operation].
Regarding claim 10, as discussed and motivated in claim 9, CORDONNIER invention further teaches the upcoming driving event comprises a plurality of portions, each being associated with a variation in tire rubber temperature [para. 0010 and 0049-0059].
Regarding claim 11, as discussed and motivated in claim 9, CORDONNIER invention further teaches the planned upcoming driving event comprises at least one planned stop [para. 0060 teaches the advantage of the invention, which takes account of the predictive rolling resistance coefficient Crr, notably after the tyre becomes stationary after running for several hours, can be immediately deduced therefrom. Thus, instead of considering the tyre as being cold once it becomes stationary, namely once the motor vehicle (1) has come to a standstill, the method advantageously makes it possible to take into consideration the predictive rolling resistance coefficient Crr that is far closer to reality].
Regarding claim 12, as discussed and motivated in claim 1, CORDONNIER invention further teaches a computer program product stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium [para. 0051 teaches the monitoring system (51) may further comprise a prediction module (57) designed to estimate the predictive rolling resistance coefficient of the tyre (10). Step a) could therefore be carried out by the prediction module (57) with the aid of an element (56) for storing the characteristics of the tyre (10), of an element (61) for calculating the data of the monitoring module (55) with respect to those of the element (56) that stores the characteristics of the tyre (10), making it possible to determine the future evolution of the rolling resistance coefficient of the tyre. Each calculation may then be recorded on a storage element (58) in order to know the history of the calculations and feed, for example, external massive data to the motor vehicle (1). Specifically, it will therefore be appreciated that, after a certain length of time, the monitoring system (51) contains a compilation of values of the predictive rolling resistance coefficient Crr recorded in the storage element (58) that makes it possible to monitor the evolution of the estimated values of the rolling resistance coefficient of each tyre (10) over the course of time; and para. 0065 teaches it is notably possible to carry out the methods using an indirect stream of information via a server in which there are performed statistical processing operations regarding the history of the information and an analysis of massive data that would make it possible to address the problem of how the rolling resistance evolves with tyre wear by using remote sources of information].
Regarding claims 14 and 16, see discussion and motivation in claim 1.
Regarding claims 17-20, as discussed and motivated in claims 12 and 2-6.
Regarding claims 21 and 22, see discussion and motivation in claims 2 and 3.
Conclusion
To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/J.H.H./
December 9, 2025
/Johnny H. Hoang/
Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LOGAN M KRAFT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747